Sunday Faith Blog

A poem by Annie Johnson Flint.   The meaning of it goes without saying to those of us who have lived for more than five minutes in Christian faith.

I prayed for strength, and then I lost awhile
All sense of nearness, human and divine;
The love I leaned on failed and pierced my heart,
The hands I clung to loosed themselves from mine;
But while I swayed, weak, trembling, and alone,
The everlasting arms upheld my own.

I prayed for light; the sun went down in clouds,
The moon was darkened by a misty doubt,
The stars of heaven were dimmed by earthly fears,
And all my little candle flames burned out;
But while I sat in shadow, wrapped in night,
The face of Christ made all the darkness bright.

candle

I prayed for peace, and dreamed of restful ease,
A slumber drugged from pain, a hushed repose;
Above my head the skies were black with storm,
And fiercer grew the onslaught of my foes;
But while the battle raged, and wild winds blew,
I heard His voice and perfect peace I knew.

I thank Thee, Lord, Thou wert too wise to heed
My feeble prayers, and answer as I sought,
Since these rich gifts Thy bounty has bestowed
Have brought me more than all I asked or thought;
Giver of good, so answer each request
With Thine own giving, better than my best.

cloud heart

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  Jeremiah 29:11

Happy Pentacost Sunday!   Let’s celebrate this important church holiday and try to put aside politics, negativity and unhappiness  at least for this one happy day!

Blessings…Z

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. We most often find Christ in the storm because we stop looking in the calm.
    Many recognize Pentecost as the birthday of the Church.
    If so, Happy Birthday us.

    Like

  2. Baysider says:

    A beautiful reminder that life isn’t fair or easy, but we are held securely in 2 sets of hands – the Father’s and the Son’s. Or is that One? And Ed – soooo right.

    Like

  3. Baysider says:

    This is even more beautiful if you know the life of the author. http://www.preceptaustin.org/annie_johnson_flint's_biography.htm

    Like

  4. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider, so MANY Christian poets were so badly afflicted…truly TRULY inspiring. Amy Carmichael is another of my favorites but there are many. Thanks.

    Today in church, for Pentacost, about 10 members stood and read John 3:16 in their ethnic languages…very moving.

    Yes,Ed, it is indeed the birthday of the Church.

    Like

  5. Baysider says:

    The crush that bruises the rose releases its lovely scent even more.

    Like

  6. Mal says:

    Yeah, Baysider, but in order to smell it, that same foot has to step on your face!

    ;o)

    Like

  7. Sparky says:

    That was lovely Z. Thank you. Hope your day is blessed.

    Like

  8. geeez2014 says:

    Mal, what if the rose Baysider’s smelling is in a vase? What’s with the foot!? 🙂

    Sparky, you’re the best. XXX

    Like

  9. Beautiful post, Z.

    Like

  10. Baysider,
    This is even more beautiful if you know the life of the author.

    Thank you for that link!

    Like

  11. Mal says:

    The saying I had heard is about the heel that crushes the rose is still left with the scent of the rose, or something like that, Z. That’s what i was alluding to.

    Like

Leave a Reply

