Sunday Faith Blog

This is so beautiful that God cannot be denied….he simply can’t be.

I hope you love it as much as I do.

“One thing I have asked from the LORD, that I shall seek: That I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, To behold the beauty of the LORD And to meditate in His temple.”  Psalm 27:4

Have a beautiful Sunday,

Z

Also, please pray for little Henry, a small boy with seizures who survived surgery but is not doing as well as hoped.  If you could keep him in  your prayers, for healing and comfort, and for peace for his parents, I know it would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks  from me and my friend, Marie.

xx

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. Alec says:

    Have a wonderful Sunday, Z.

  2. Will pray. You know how I feel about seizures.

  3. Our church held Henry in prayer today.

  4. bunkerville says:

    Beautiful indeed. I did much damage to Chopin’s work in my youth as I “took’ piano lessons.

  5. Bunkerville: That makes 2 of us. 🙂

  6. Baysider says:

    Sublimity itself. Rubenstein was such a musician and living proof that the “it” in performance is more than technical perfection. (Otherwise he’d sound like Alfred Brendel.) For that he lacked (in fact badly early in his career, then he knuckled down). Yet the whole experience of listening to his music transcends all the individual parts. If only we could have our relationship to our sovereign arrive to such sweet and perfected imperfection.

    BTW, remember he was a celebrated pianist in the ’40’s. Invited to play at the opening of the United Nations he vocally noted the absence of his native country, Poland, and proceeded to play the Polish national anthem first. Talent AND chutzpah!

  7. Mal says:

    Beautiful, indeed, Z. I’ve always been a fan of modern jazz; however, when all four of our children took lessons on their respective instruments, they always started learning the classics and my wife and I loved every minute of it. Ken, our oldest son, loved the classics and won the Orange County competition 3 years in a row when in high school then went on and studied at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music.
    I will probably get some static on this next statement, but to me, one of the greatest, if not THE greatest, pianist was Oscar Peterson. Yes, he was a jazz pianist but he had a good background in the classics which gave him his incredible talent. He came on the jazz scene in his early 20’s in 1953 and won the Downbeat Magazine award for the best pianist. That award is voted on by all musicians, so it was quite a compliment. Oscar said “No! It’s too soon! It’s too soon!” A very humble man.

  8. geeez2014 says:

    Mal! I you get no static from ME on the VERY GREAT Oscar Peterson, who I had the privilege of hearing in Munich at their new music hall. FABULOUS. I listen to jazz radio in my car and classical CD’s…….Friends tell me I’m the most eclectic music lover they know….I love C&W, too….the only thing I really don’t love is Hawaiian or shmaltzy mariachi music!

    Baysider, I find him to be very good, but I mostly find him to be one of the few who’s recorded this, which I LOVE. And he plays with no music.
    As a classical pianist myself for many years, that boggles my mind, but it’s because I sight read way too easily as a kid and poo-poo’d my coaches trying to get me to MEMORIZE. Memorizing without a good grasp of theory (which I also ignored due to my sight reading abilities) is nearly impossible. Rubenstein was 88 when this was recorded.
    I find this recording a tinge self indulgent with the exaggerated trills, etc., but it’s so beautiful I put up with it. And, truly, that self indulgence is often the ‘stamp’ of a particular pianist. ..his ‘signature’.
    I’m a huge Argerich fan…and Murray Pariah lover.

    Bunkerville and Ed…my mother used to say “You’ll thank me for this” as she tortured me to STUDY STUDY STUDY…and I am SO GLAD I did and thank her frequently for not giving up the piano. It gives me great pleasure and I’m the music at Comm. Bible Study and various other places.

    Singing is my first love…but piano’s a close second.

    Ed, THANK YOU SO MUCH! I will let my friend Marie know….I am so grateful.
    I told Marie my readers would definitely be praying… and you didn’t let me down..or Henry (or the Lord)

    Alec, you, too, my friend.

  9. Baysider says:

    I always figured you could sight read well. Dotty could have some esoteric picks for her lecture. The excellent gal before you needed more advance time to practice than a late Wednesday night call — as most of us would! It’s a real gift. I went the memory route. But how hard is that for 2 pages? 😊

  10. geeez2014 says:


    I have that piece memorized…have since I was 15 and played it for the Armenian Primate of all Churches…that’s when I told my parents “I’m not doing this anymore” 🙂 Not worth the nerves.
    This is QUITE a piece.
    Neat story: I heard a guy named Aram Guzelimian play this at the Dorothy Chandler years ago and Aram Khachaturian was sitting behind me. Literally.

    I have probably 5 other pieces, and that is IT, memorized.
    As for Dotty, she was THRILLED that I could just come in THursday morning and play what she wanted….I felt so good being that blessing for her…making it that much easier for her to do all she did.

  11. Bob says:

    Very interesting Z about playing for the Primate of All Churches. When my daughter was about the same age, she played the Grieg in a concerto competition. She didn’t win, but went on to score a great scholarship at a great university. Even thought her first love was piano, she entered college as a vocal performance major. After a couple of years, she changed to a music major with a fine arts minor. Today, she is a music teacher in the Fulton County, GA school system and loves it.

    Music performance is one of the most demanding careers. In school you have to spend countless hours in practice rooms, and then you are expected to have recitals every year along with juries to determine your progress.

    Undoubtedly, you piano background gave you an understanding for the music you would later sing.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Piano_Concerto_(Grieg)

  12. I memorized a few Scott Joplin pieces to dazzle dates.
    Latet, I wished I’d picked up chording for when I played in church.
    We interviewed our pastor 20 yrs ago, and I asked his wife if she could play.
    Everyone laughed, knowing I wanted out of it. She couldn’t.
    She does now.
    Leaves me free to sing.

  13. Baysider says:

    And definitely, Oscar Peterson is amazing! I never thought of KhachaturIAN as ArmenIAN. duh!

  14. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider, YUP, Russian Armenian, but Armenian , nonethless! NOT a pleasant man, I’ve been told. But thrilling to sit in front of him. He was a terrible taskmaster and, having played the piece above, and hearing Aram play it FOR THE COMPOSER, I was a wreck for him…imagine playing it FOR THE COMPOSER? A piece that astonishingly tricky?

    Ed, I was interim organ player (I never call myself an organIST because I didn’t play the pedals!) for 2 weeks that stretched into TWO YEARS and led the choir and praise folks, too. I LOVED LOVED LOVED preparing the Easter and, especially, Christmas Eve programs…. I’m in charge of music at my Bible study now….it’s a lot more work than it appears but I love it. ..on top of leading a group, doing their FB page and writing the weekly comminiques!

    Bob, that Grieg is quite a piece! Lovely that your daughter’s so talented and loving what she’s doing now!

Leave a Reply

