Memorial Day

THIS is the best thing I’ve read on Memorial Day ever…….What a hero, he’s so right.

soldiers

May God bless all those who lost their lives fighting for this country and their grieving families….and may He bless and protect our living veterans to whom we owe SO MUCH.

I salute you.   I admire you.  I will never understand the courage of combat veterans.  Ever.   I am humbled.

PRAY FOR THEM.

Also, I wanted to mention that Turner Classic Movies had a lot of war movies on all weekend…the amount of patriotism seemed to wane as newer war films were made.  The WWII films included words like “Bombardiers! We’ll give them HELL, we’ll make them YELL!  BOMB! BOMB! BOMB!”   “Well put out fire with FIRE!” The soundtracks often used hymns or patriotic songs like “The Battle Hymn of the Republic”… Those were the days.

(And, please, everybody;  don’t buy a mattress today.)

Z

This entry was posted in America, holiday, Memories, war. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Memorial Day

  1. The battlefield is a different reality. Those of us who haven’t fought there cannot possibly fully understand that reality.

  2. From the blog The Old Jarhead:

    Memorial Day

    The troubled world can offer no award
    To you who sleep beneath the chiseled stone.
    You died because we handed you the sword,
    And we are free because you sleep alone.

    The tides of history well may change the cause,
    And time may blunt the sharpness of the debt,
    For sacrifice, a nation under laws
    Is gathered here today, lest we forget.

    –Robert A. Hall

    I composed this poem while marching in the Fitchburg, MA Memorial Day Parade in 1975, then used it in my speech at the upper common.

    Simple and eloquent.

  3. Not all who died in service, died in combat.
    The Cole comes to mind.
    The Khobar Towers bombing.
    The Marine barracks in Lebanon.
    A guy I knew walking down a street in Turkey, shot by Kurd terrorists because he was American military.
    Training accidents.

    Your link author says he hates “Happy Memorial Day”
    Constitutional Insurgent said that at his blog..
    Like I commented there:
    Not to argue, but I will have a happy Memorial Day. It was bought and paid for by men I never knew, but grateful to and mindful of.

    Let us honor them as they honored us with their sacrifice, and enjoy what they bought for us.

    I never lost someone in service. That’s amazing, given the number of vets in my family.
    I’m grateful for that too.

  4. geeez2014 says:

    AOW, thanks, I saw that at your blog….such a sacrifice of our dead, and the grief of their families, must be honored…forever.

    Ed, have a happy day, I hope we all do….we’re all grateful and mindful. I’m thinking of the survivors of soldiers they loved, this is a very tough day. I am not sure what argument you’re alluding to; we all appreciate this day. But to spend it buying mattresses and barbecuing without mention of the dead is what this honorable person writes about and I support that.
    Anything bought and paid for by brave Americans should be truly honored, not just the first official day kicking off Summer or a better sleep through a mattress sale, right?

    I’ve never lost anyone in service, either, thank God. But I believe my high school class lost some to Vietnam, or older brothers,not sure. I know my birthday was at the top of the list when they started drafting….I’ll never forget my mother’s face when I came down for breakfast and she had the newspaper in her hand and said “I’m so glad you’re a girl!” 🙂 I couldn’t blame her.

  5. I’m sorry, that “argue” was a residue from the comment at CIs.
    I had a low draft number, 36. Sure to go. I enlisted.
    I was in tech school when Nixon ended the draft at 34.
    Wow, I just remembered to lower my flag. Have a Blessed Memorial Day.

  6. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, good to lower the flag…thanks for doing that!
    You have a wonderful day, too……..

    I’m listening to Obama’s speech at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier…He’s telling terribly sad personal stories of soldiers who’ve died recently…starting with the hopes of their mothers in raising them, how great a kid he was, etc….and how a Marine came one day to the door and told his mother he’d died. When other presidents say this, I’m touched and so so so sad…when Obama says these things, it sounds like he’s telling our young men and women never to enlist, your mother’s heart will be broken when you lose your life for nothing.

    I have to work on this!

  7. geeez2014 says:

    Actually, the end of his speech does honor the fallen greatly and talks about how much we owe them….he redeemed himself in my eyes/ears. Wonder of wonders.

  8. bunkerville says:

    God bless America and all those whose sacrifice has allowed us enjoy this day. Thanks again so that we still speak English as opposed to Jap of German. Yes glad we blowed them kingdom come. Too bad they didn’t do it sooner and maybe I would have gotten to know my Uncle.

  9. geeez2014 says:

    Bunkerville…that is one POWERFUL comment…..thanks…really reminds us of loss.
    Thanks to your uncle and your family for such HUGE sacrifice.
    I’m not sure many of us quite understand what so many went through.
    Imagine WWII when there was no email and wives and mothers didn’t hear from their loved one for months and months, which DID happen. Then hearing on the radio about battles in areas they were pretty sure their loved one was. And then to jump out of your skin each time someone rang the doorbell…telegram or in person.
    Pregnant women expecting their first baby, mothers of sons they got through childhood and school…and now their man is GONE. Honestly, I don’t know how they survived.
    And, today, everybody gets grief counseling and everything else they can imagine and somehow don’t seem to be handling it one bit better…even worse, if nobody minds my saying so.

    God bless such astonishing courage as that of your family,

    Actually, I DO speak German (smile!)….I DO know what you mean 😉

  10. bunkerville says:

    My mothers cousin was a POW in a German camp. Stalag 17. He was tortured. He was never right again and had terrible health issues. We never understood PSTD. He was just considered odd.

  11. bocopro says:

    Tho it’s appropriate for the office of PotUS to present high praise for valor such as the MOH and deliver moving remarks at traditional ceremonies honoring military service and sacrifice, I find his mere presence in the company of wounded or KIA veterans and their families to be the zenith of hypocrisy.

    Soetoro despises the military and considers the US a primary source of global conflict. He has wrought incalculable damage on our readiness, destroyed our prestige, and severely wounded the morale of our troops. He has done nothing of practical value toward correcting the problems in the VA, and he sullies the ceremonies involving the military by laying his hand on the flag and the medals.

    Were I being considered for decoration by the PotUS while Soetoro is occupying the office, I’d ask for Joe Biden or Paul Ryan to do the honors.

    To me he’s no better than those creeps who vandalized the ‘Nam Wall in Venice. And like Barry’s handling of the VA and other military issues, the LAPD has no plan to investigate or take any action involving the graffiti, and you KNOW they know exactly who’s responsible for it.

  12. Imp says:

    I offer this today. God Bless America and all our vets here and everywhere….especially those still in conflicts today.

    “May we, as Abraham Lincoln said, “highly resolve that these dead shall not have died in vain—that this nation, under God, shall have a new birth of freedom—and that government of the people, by the people, for the people, shall not perish from the earth.”

  13. geeez2014 says:

    https://bunkerville.wordpress.com/2016/05/29/sunday-respite-arlington-2/?c=44980#comment-44980

    This is a must hear song and an absolutely MUST READ letter from the Civil War..you have to read it; the letter embodies the best of everything American….love of God, Country and family…and actually written well. Those were the days.

    Bunkerville, I know of situations like that…one elderly woman I know’s brother came back from war and never left his room after that. Ever.
    I can’t imagine what the stalags were like…
    PTSD does exist, but I think, in general, our men and women handled it astonishingly well back then. But, maybe I’m wrong and it just got shoved down and shouldn’t have.

  14. geeez2014 says:

    THanks, Imp….so touching. Poor Mr. Lincoln; good thing he’s not seeing America today.

    Bocopro: “Were I being considered for decoration by the PotUS while Soetoro is occupying the office, I’d ask for Joe Biden or Paul Ryan to do the honors.” I’ve thought that very thing when I’ve seen soldiers decorated by Obama as he ties a medal’s ribbons at the back of their necks….it’d be hard for me to not turn around and spit.
    God forgive me.

  15. geeez2014 says:

    WOW…I just saw Col. North on FOX nearly break into tears talking about how his wife sacrificed and worried for him …home with their 4 children while he put himself in harm’s way for years. He had a hard time controlling himself for a second….
    All 14 of his grandkids are homeschooled. He gets it. His wife must be quite a woman! Betsy North…I salute YOU.

  16. I listened to Dave Roever today on Focus on the Family. speak about ministering to dying vets.
    Dave is an evangelist who was left for dead on a pile of bodies in Vietnam after a phosphorous grenade blew most of his face off.
    Dave Roever Testimony

  17. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, that’s interesting, thanks. I don’t quite get how a strong Christian can be a “resiliency coach” in our military and not get booted out for mentioning Jesus, do you?
    Hard to figure. Great story, however!

  18. geeez2014 says:

    Please remember three fallen today- for my friend Ray

    Jeremiah Robinson
    Rick Kellog
    Ed Koth

  19. Baysider says:

    I only know those lost in war by extension – stories of friends and relatives. My boyfriend who read me his moving poem to his dear lost friend Albert. My father who told only my mom of the indescribable loneliness of [a flight crew mechanic] waiting for over an hour at the muster point for ‘his’ bomber returning from a raid, never to see it come home. My brother-in-law – a battlefield medic; and my father-in-law, a battlefield surgeon from Normandy to the Bulge to the End.

    The moving stories and tributes Dennis Prager’s listeners give on his Memorial Day show should be a required assignment and discussion in every high school. We must always know how precious our freedom it.

  20. Baysider says:

    Mr. Lincoln’s government perished from the earth on December 23, 1913 (federal reserve act signed), if not March 4, 1913 (Wilson inaugurated). The impulse to preserve the Union that led to a terrible war and a grammatical shift from saying “the United States are” (antebellum) to “the United States IS” (post bellum) has been supplanted by a terrible war to balkanize the country and neuter the most powerful political idea in history. God bless our vets … and Hillsdale College!

  21. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider…such bad luck started in 1913 it almost makes you believe in the superstition of the number 13!

    Prager and Hillsdale..QUITE a combination and I was thinking just today, literally, that I’d like to start a blog ONLY quoting from Prager’s talk show…things he says that all Americans really NEED to hear.

  22. Baysider: Do you listen to Hewitt and Larry Arnn on Fridays?

  23. geeez2014 says:

    They’re MARVELOUS together… good friend/colleagues….great stuff.
    But you’re not fond of Hewitt, right?

  24. Baysider says:

    Yes, Ed, I do!! I podcast it from Hillsdale LIstening to the “Renaissance” segment from 2 years ago right now.

  25. Baysider says:

    Z, the Major Ballou you wrote of above (Bunkerville) had established himself as a lawyer and (I think) a legislator of some sort. He’s only one of many who volunteered beyond the age they might have because they so loved their country and its cause. Another was a little Jewish tailor, an immigrant who so loved the life America had given him that, even though his wife was expecting their first child, he joined the Union army. Too small to serve in combat, he worked as a tailor, and was killed in a very famous raid on the baggage train behind the union line. (And we have a good mutual friend whose father did the same and also perished.)

    I did go out shopping today for a needed medical supply, and I was shocked at how “business as usual” it was. This was a PET store! I was grateful they were open, but still…..

  26. Not fond of, but his show is informative.

Leave a Reply

