Sunday Faith Blog

” The aim of our charge is love that issues from a pure heart and a good conscience and a sincere faith.”  I Timothy 1

I ran across that yesterday and thought it was so beautiful and captures the aim we all should have.  I’m in agreement with Paul (I usually am!)  I think it’s a wonderful verse to memorize and repeat to ourselves.

sincere faith

A pure heart:  doing things out of sheer love, sheer goodness, not allowing our pride, our egos, our past hurts, to color how we act toward others today.  Not to let our love become clouded with the negatives.  Open to the Word, open to the love of Christ, open to loving even the homeless, dirty man begging for a dollar.

A good conscience:  which can only be had by doing things we know are good, ethical, of value, based on Scripture.  With moral relativity is it possible to qualify a good conscience?  Would that just be doing something and seeing how you ‘feel’ about it and, if it feels good, you have a good conscience?  Wouldn’t that include, for example, an Islamic jihadist who feels he did these murders for his god?

A sincere faith:  Bible based, true, open to the edicts without judging and interpreting them.  It says what it means.  Sharing that faith in fertile grounds, knowing when not to (and yes, there are times to walk away; read Bonhoeffer.)  Sincere faith….such a beautiful expression.  Prayer for others, believing your prayers might not be answered how we want them answered but they are heard and they brought you closer to God as you prayed which, I firmly believe, is the primary reason for prayer to this heavenly God who knows all, anyway.

“The aim of our charge is love…”  How would you describe CHRISTIAN LOVE?  

Isn’t this sweet?  So pure….

pure heart

Have a very blessed Sunday, be of good conscience, of pure heart, and strengthen that faith….be sincere about that!

And HAPPY FATHERS DAY…….I’m thinking of my dear Dad who died 22 years ago.  He was the best man I EVER knew.  I’ll be forever grateful to a great and loving Father in heaven for having made me Tom’s daughter.  And for giving me the greatest bunch of sisters ever.    I miss you, Dad.

Z

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. Adrienne says:

    Lovely reflection, Geeez

  2. “How would you describe CHRISTIAN LOVE? ”
    Loving the unlovable.
    How do you that?

    Philippians 4:13 I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

  3. Imp says:

    Great Name your Dad had Ms. Z….God Bless all Dad’s today. I miss mine too.

  4. Mal says:

    As you know, Z, I knew your whole family and agree. Both your parents and your siblings were all wonderful people and I’m sure a great influence in your life, and why you turned out to be such a good and loving person and friend to many.
    As for today’s topic, sometimes its hard to help someone if they aren’t ready to accept it. I’m thinking of the lost soles addicted to either alcohol, drugs, sex, gambling, etc. To give them money when they are begging only encourages them to continue without facing their challenge, but if they truly are seeking help, I believe most folks will be willing to help them.

  5. Baysider says:

    Christian love is more of a lifestyle: fealty, benevolent compassion and selflessness expressed in following God’s commands more than our feelings. (Hopefully, over time our feelings will come into alignment with God. T-U Holy Spirit 🙂 )

  6. Angel says:

    lovely Z! Happy Fathers day to all your family hon! xoxox

  7. geeez2014 says:

    ED, as I said “open to loving even the homeless, dirty man begging for a dollar.” You’re right; one can’t really do that on one’s own; one can HELP, atheists help…but to LOVE that person isn’t from us.

    Imp…I like men with that name particularly!

    Mal, thanks. Thankfully, my siblings are still wonderful people! and you know how I love your SISTER 🙂 And how close she was to Dad and still is with Mom!
    The kicker on helping is I don’t believe it’s our place to wonder what the homeless are going to use the money for; I used to, I WAS BIG on denying anybody I thought looked like an alkie…but I don’t ask anymore. I give only a little and remind them that God loves them.

    Baysider…yes, aligning ourselves with God is the only way to really show Christian love.

    Adriennne and Angel…hugs to you both!

  8. Mal says:

    Yeah, Z, I used the past tense because of Tom, not the rest of your family. My apologies!

Leave a Reply

