Sunday Faith Blog

do not be daunted

Am quite sure this is the first thing I’ve quoted here from The Talmud…..I loved this quote and hope you see our need for this wisdom…..particularly now in our country.   I believe our world is daunted by enormous grief….and I see a kind of grief growing in many of us every day, particularly lately.  

I chose these words for today because I feel it’s of paramount importance, maybe now more than ever,  that we “be just, show mercy, be humble and stay with the work we know is most important……….” even in our fears, our concerns, our sad observations all around us in America…

Tell me what you believe the Talmud means by “work to complete”….

From our  Christian Bible “He has shown you, O mortal, what is good. And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.  Micah 6:8

HERE is a very interesting tidbit a friend just emailed me, something we haven’t much about….good for Denzel!

God’s richest blessings,

Z

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. Sparky says:

    Yes, we have enormous grief. All generations do. Look at what the prophet Elijah suffered when lamenting for his people?! He once prayed so low that he was nearly doubled over. [1 Kings 18:42] This verse says to me, recognize the grief, pray about it, and keep going. For us, it’s faith in our LORD Jesus Christ, our true Messiah. HE will work it all out. We pray, and keep witnessing for Him. That’s our message, our work for today. My mission is to get to Heaven and to take as many with me as I can. Have a blessed day sweet lady. 🙂

  2. Love that except from the Talmud!

  3. geeez2014 says:

    AOW, I hope that’s a typo for “EXCERPT” ! It’d mean something awfully different otherwise 🙂

    Sparky, I think that’s very much what that means….thanks for putting it so beautifully…I believe we Christians will be well served to remember that as the grief for our earthly nation will grow and grow, sadly. xxx

  4. I think it means to continue on your path to righteousness & don’t let tragedy, heartbreak, injustice & battle-weariness defeat you. My late husband always used to say “persistence” is the purest form of aggression. I believe God is encouraging us to persist, to be strong & resilient.

  5. I’d heard that about Denzel before.
    I always wondered how his Christianity affects role choices for him.
    He’s played some iffy characters.
    That link has attrocious grammar.
    Referring to Denzel as “he or she”?

  6. Along the “work to complete” thought.
    Our Pastor spoke this morning about working out your salvation in fear and trembling and it came to me:
    Salvation is free, but it ain’t easy and it ain’t cheap.
    God puts you in the lifeboat.
    Break out the navigation chart.
    Row.

  7. Baysider says:

    What could I possibly add? Sparky, FW, and Ed + 1. Well said!

  8. geeez2014 says:

    The article on Denzel that my friend sent is absolutely horribly written….get this “During the interview, he shared his story of how he or she uncovered religion.”

    is this the NEW GRAMMAR where you can’t say HE or you’ve offended some transgender? (i think it’s just plain stupid grammar, but i had to laugh!)

    Then there’s this:

    “As other celebrities live a liberal and free life-style, Washington has explained that he is proud of his religion..”

    Imagine being PROUD of your religion when the ‘enlightened’ live “liberal and free life styles”?

    The insults toward CHristianity just come and come and come.

    I don’t care WHAT kind of parts Denzel plays….the scroungier the better; at least he’s speaking out about REAL LIFE…and I congratulate him.

  9. Mal says:

    There are a few in Hollywood that don’t like Obama or Hillary but not all are as open about it because they want to continue getting work. I believe most of the older actors like Clint Eastwood are in that group but some of the younger ones might surprise us, also.

  10. geeez2014 says:

    Mal, they might surprise us but they have to keep quiet if they haven’t amassed the fortunes the oldsters have….

    I have a girlfriend who’s a Veterinarian and returning to her first love; Acting! Imagine? After all that schooling and about 10 years as a vet? Anyway, she did just get the lead in a film, so it’s going well…I tell you about her because she came over after a meeting with producers of a new TV show a couple of weeks ago and she did mention a Christian endeavor she’d been involved with when asked what she’s done in the past…she said one of the bristled very obviously….she did get a call-back interview but we haven’t heard anything since.

    I belonged to Friends of Abe before they finally closed it down 3 months ago….this is the Conservative group of singers/actors/comedians/producers, etc etc., who had to STAY IN THE CLOSET ….Clint Eastwood was a member and came from time to time to events (Ann Coulter spoke, Larry Elder, Cheney’s daughter, Condi Rice (AMAZING speaker), etc etc.., Kelsey Grammar was often there, Jon Voigt was a founder, Gary Senese was the head of it, Ed Ames, Patricia Heaton, Scott Bao (sp?), but mostly it was VERY scared Conservative young people one of whom, at a meeting/lunch I attended, said “I’m sitting here so fearful that papparazzi are going to come through those doors with cameras and I won’t work again!”

    True story..almost made me weep.

  11. geeez2014 says:

    Let me just add that I think it’s fair to say that Laura Ingraham and David Horowitz were two of the BIGGEST MOUTHS in exposing young Cons to the public….Horowitz never got asked to speak and couldn’t join FofA (for various reasons..I was told because he was so into himself and not dedicated to the cause as much as they’d like) and never missed a chance, particularly on her show, to mention FofA, even though they both had been asked to PLEASE NOT MENTION IT ON THE AIR.
    THey did it over and over again…………made me SO MAD.

  12. Baysider says:

    Yes, that article was very poorly written. That ‘he or she’ throws any normal reader off track.

  13. Baysider says:

    By the way, FoA withdrew their nonprofit status. There’s still a HUGE fight over disclosure or donors (even the time of somebody who volunteers to answer the phone one day). While I’ve read other ‘reasons’ for the demise, I found this statement of theirs provocative: ““We’ll still be a private organization that protects the names of our members at all costs.” So there may be more to ‘closure’ than the Trump fight. How long do you think it will be before Hollywood lionizes these brave young thespians forced into the closet by their witch hunts?

  14. Bob says:

    “You are not obligated to complete the work..”
    I am not sure what Talmud scholars say, but my interpretation is that it is whatever spiritual work is important to you. You can be a minister, teacher, lay person, etc, but your job is to serve. Noting what Ed had to say, salvation may be free, but it ain’t easy or cheap. You pay for it with your love and life.

  15. Baysider says:

    I had not heard this about Washington! Here are better views, btw, from people with better writing skills here and here, which includes his speech to a Christian gathering.

    This was my favorite quote:
    Interviewer: Say you could look back in time at anyone,… who would it be?
    Denzel: (pauses to stroke chin) JESUS!
    Interviewer: … (speechless; a rare moment)
    Denzel: And I’d say – ‘when are you coming back?’

  16. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider…. I was a member almost since its inception… this link sort of explains the different aspects of the group and its closing…though there are things and people in there I have NEVER heard of. You saw this but it’s worth posting: http://www.rawstory.com/2016/04/reclusive-hollywood-conservative-group-disbands-after-civil-war-in-slow-motion-over-trump/

    “HUGE fight”?? nnaaa…
    I found that article poorly represents the whole thing..purposefully? It almost feels like it.

    There’s no OFFICIAL organization anymore….no matter what that one person was quoted as saying….the whole thing is badly worded. All is gone, technically; the friendships and the goal of encouraging Conservatives in the arts will remain. We’ll still get emails about events…I am. I applaud less need for the dues, etc…why bother?

    I’m sorry I won’t see the people anymore…like Bill Whittle…It was great fun to talk with the celebs and guest speakers …it was comprised of a lot of excellent bloggers, etc.
    By the way, the events were in very public hotels and the staffs knew, etc., nothing was kept ‘secret’…but the gatherings of 40 or so where new members came to join, have lunch, feel comfortable talking about their conservatism without being besmirched. and even threatened….the stories I heard were horrific…Cons just don’t get hired.
    BUT, I’ve also been told there are FAR FAR more conservatives in Hollywood than most Americans think….in the closet.

    I haven’t attended much in a few years….but at 2,000, or 2,500, they hadn’t grown since I was involved…which says a lot. Hopefully, it says Cons in ‘the business’ don’t need this group anymore, that they can speak out. I don’t know.

    I also that Trump probably DID drive a wedge just like he has across our country between most conservatives….those of us who feel he’s classless, crude, boorish and stupid…and those of us who feel he’s the last guy willing to step forward and make us great again.

    Bob…well said, thanks! I think that’s right.

  17. geeez2014 says:

    Only in America would the European Cup be won by Portugal and home pages say NOTHING. We are so very, very myopic. If WE aren’t in it, the world’s biggest sport simply doesn’t exist.

  18. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider, thanks..yes, he’s amazing in his faith and fearlessness to discuss it.

    A LOT isn’t known about Conservatives, Christians, etc…anything WONDERFUL is suppressed….

    Do you know how many people think that there are almost no conservatives in California?
    You and I know PLENTY….
    I’ve known plenty over the years……….And we’ve elected some pretty terrific Conservatives …(I wish Deukmejian was back). funny, I was amazed how conservative Bobby SHriver is…heard him talk, almost fell off my seat; all about capitalism and supporting small business… some woman asked him about women in business and he said “We need to treat all the same…encourage ALL small business!” He is all over (and still working on) fixing the foster care system. He’s pretty amazing, and I’m not implying he IS a Conservative..he isn’t…but even people like him can’t really come forward with too Conservative-sounding viewpoints….
    I heard these things at a fairly small function………one didn’t read much about this in the press.

    This America isn’t the one our forefathers saw ahead….free speech, respect for all opinions…no way..

  19. Mal says:

    Z, consider Trump a typical New Yorker, an in-your-face New Yorker, like the loud spoken Judge Janeen Pierro (sp?). That’s just their style. New Yorker’s don’t pull their punches when speaking.
    I consider that a plus, esp. when compared to Lyin’ Hil”LIAR”y!

  20. “I don’t care WHAT kind of parts Denzel plays….the scroungier the better; at least he’s speaking out about REAL LIFE…and I congratulate him.”
    I’m sure my wife would not accept my excuse of “it was in the script” when I’m on screen ogling another woman’s breasts simulating sex. I doubt my pastor would let me continue to teach.
    His wife seems OK with it, I guess. She’s still with him after 34 yrs.
    It seems out of the Christian norm.

  21. geeez2014 says:

    Mal, to wonder “where the blood comes out of Megyn Kelly” or “Hillary was in the bathroom…don’t tell me what she was doing…just don’t tell me, ooooh” or mimicking a very handicapped journalist in his speaking and hand jerkiness…..I could go on for days about Trump.
    Yes, I have to vote for the jerk if it comes down to it, but to say his awfulness is typically New Yorker isn’t really fair.
    Ya, he comes off as an elocution expert in compared to that awful Judge Janine style, but she’d NEVER EVER say anything like HE does, right?

    Ed…I completely understood your point, no need to explain a scene….
    Denzel is an actor who isn’t afraid to talk about his faith…….sadly, that’s out of the “Christian norm,” too, these days. He’s got my vote.

  22. Baysider says:

    Free speech goes arm in arm with liberty. Our founders knew it. The LEFT knows it. So any guesses about why they work so aggressively to stifle it?

  23. geeez2014 says:

    http://insider.pureflix.com/movies/10-hollywood-actors-who-love-jesus?utm_medium=paidsocial&utm_source=facebook&cg=cg%3A6046676349443&c=c%3A6046676350043&a=a%3A6048490246643

    More CHristians in Hollywood…not many who speak up, but they do exist.

    Baysider: They can’t control America if Americans actually know the truth!

    By the way….why aren’t the Dallas killings known as HATE CRIME?: Odd…when it’s Whites killed, it’s not SUCH a hate crime, is it.

  24. geeez2014 says:

    http://abcnews.go.com/US/wireStory/carolina-megachurch-ousts-founder-senior-pastor-40477912?yptr=yahoo

    Imagine THIS STORY as a leading headline on a very highly read homepage like Yahoo!?
    WHO CARES ABOUT THIS other than to DEMEAN CHURCHES, PASTORS, etc… ?
    WHO CARES?
    The MEDIA cares…………They constantly post any article they can find demeaning churches….

  25. Baysider says:

    Z, I saw another article about the group, but find your link more interesting. Kamala Harris (our activist attorney general for those out of state) has been going on a witch hunt against non-profits to get their donor lists. NY state is also doing this. It’s in the courts, but she has the leftie California courts on her side. I understand a rift over Trump, but I find it significant they withdrew their non-profit status with her hunting down conservatives. She wants to out them, ruin careers.

  26. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider, I missed your point about Kamala ……..I thought you meant you thought FoA had done something wrong and that’s why they’d quit, some accounting thing they’d cheated on or something…Now I see your point….
    Wouldn’t it be wonderful if Kamala Harris DID get lists and expose them publicly and we could make hay with that? I believe the public would be livid at her and other liberals so intent on exposing conservatives….

    They’ll be so upset if a Gay is OUTED they’lll do anything to keep that quiet, but let a conservative request anonymity and it’s all hell to pay!

  27. Mal says:

    I can’t argue with you on those comments, Z, and also wished he hadn’t said them. That was months ago and he has changed his tone…….a lot, I believe, and like you implied, he’s still better than “the alternative”.
    We’re comin’ up to the convention and a decision has to be made. Think the GOP will cave in or gamble with someone deemed to be more electable?

  28. Baysider says:

    I only wish the public would get livid over the exposure and targeting of ordinary folks, but it just doesn’t happen. Where was the outcry over the website set up by those who hated Prop 8 in California where they had a google map you could use to find the address of every Prop 8 supporter? People had their homes vandalized. And, of course, lost jobs.

    There is a tradition of safety to protect individuals and their right to speech born out of assaults on NAACP members in the 1950’s. White supremacists were desperate to find the names of donors to go after them, and the Supremes shot them down. Kamala Harris is trying to do it all over again in California. Intimidation to silence all but the left.

Leave a Reply

