Althouse Blog

Ann Althouse has an excellent blog you might want to check out. (and then come back here…I’m WARNING YOU :-))

I found it through a friend who reads her daily and says this:

“She’s a somewhat recent convert from liberalism, not religious, very bright, and I like her in part because she completely understands the history of liberalism, sympathizers with it, and sees how it has completely gone off the rails since the 60s.  She won’t win any conservative purity tests, but what’s interesting is that, because she is an academic with a genuine curiosity about words and ideas, she is able to skewer the vapidity of the left. She has a special skill in exposing Obama’s narcissism.   She does it without bitterness or venom, which is refreshing.

She and her husband are iconoclasts who probably became Republicans after watching up close the insanity of the anti-Scott Walker protests in Madison of a few years ago.

Not much of an ego, which is also refreshing.  And finally, it’s great to read perspectives from women on the right….

she’s probably pro-choice, pro-gun control — but she thinks the left destroyed our social fabric, she votes for Republicans, and the Madison crowd reviles her.  So, she’s one of the good guys!”

Z:  and she’s a LAW PROFESSOR at the University of Wisconsin Law School…and Republican convert!?   (Can you hear me clapping?)

have you heard of Althouse before?

This entry was posted in matters of interest, women's issues. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Althouse Blog

  1. Althouse is a good blog….lot’s of posts about flowers though; but many of the commenters are the sort of rude, drive-by insult crowd that you’d expect on the ‘net…if of course, you’re not adhering to the party line.

  2. I’ve tried Althouse a few times.
    I prefer http://neoneocon.com/ particularly for the commenters

  3. John M. Berger says:

    “she’s probably pro-choice, pro-gun control — but she thinks the left destroyed our social fabric, she votes for Republicans”
    So, “she’s probably pro-choice, pro-gun control”; I guess that she’s half way there.

  4. Adrienne says:

    I haven’t read Althouse for years.

  5. I have read Althouse, on and off, over the years. She posts whatever interests her at the moment, some of which I am not interested in. But she does seem to be open to honest assessments, which makes her a rarity in academia.

  6. geeez2014 says:

    She’s astonishing…a liberal law professor turned Republican do to CAREFUL THINKING.

    I don’t know if it’s true, but she no longer comments at her blog to her commenters because the libs are totally out of control…………..
    Sadly, that’s why I had to go on WP…i had FAR FAR more readership on Blogger…but…..it wasn’t worth opening my blog in the morning to leftwingers using MY blog to spew their own stories in ‘comments’.

    The importance of ALTHOUSE is not if she’s your favorite, or does too many flower posts (she did just post one!), etc.; The important is THINKING…from lib to con…without being what I’d call one of the typical generalizations of conservatism…she’s not a Christian, not from a cons. state, teaches law at a lib university; this gal has to be TOUGH to take what she probably gets.

    MEANWHILE…they’re saying ROGER AILES WILL PROBABLY LEAVE and the MURDOCK SONS ARE GLAD BECAUSE THEY’VE NEVER LIKED HIM, WANT FOX TO BE MORE MODERATE AS THEY’RE NOT AS CONSERVATIVE.. AND THE MEDIA’S ALSO SAYING IT’S FOX THAT’S CAUSED THE DIVISION IN OUR COUNTRY THE LAST TWENTY YEARS; I’M HEARING THAT ALL OVER. Not a prob for ME to hear it, America’s hearing it………

    Apparently, BEING A CONSERVATIVE WHO IS PATRIOTIC, LOVES THE CONSTITUTION AND WANTS ALLLLL THE FACTS ON STORIES IS ‘TOO DIVISIVE’

    tHIS WILL NOT BE THE SAME AMERICA IF WE CAN’T HEAR THE IMPORTANT CONSERVATIVE VOICES LIKE KRAUTHAMMER, HUME, CAVUTO, ETC…..EVEN O’REILLY.
    THESE ARE NOT EXTREMISTS, AS YOU ALL KNOW…
    FOX is important…talk radio will NEVER take its place in importance and IMPACT.

    wow

  7. geeez2014 says:

    I know you’re probably not still reading THIS post’s comments but I had to add, just in case, that ALSO:

    A GOOD POINT ABOUT FOX IS THEIR HUUUUGE RATINGS $$$$ A FRIEND JUST CALLED AND I CRIED ON HER SHOULDER WHAT I JUST SPEWED ABOVE, AND SHE SAID “BUT THEY’RE BUSINESSMEN AND THEY’RE NOT GOING TO GIVE ALL THAT UP”

    i THINK SHE’S RIGHT… I HOPE SHE IS!!

  8. Silverfiddle says:

    Conservatism is a spent force. I’ll spare the harsh words I used over at FreeThinke’s, but the war has been lost, due to myriad factors and a thousand wounds, many self-inflicted. Regardless of who wins in November, we will not have a conservative president, and we will have to go through decades of progressivism and populism before a sufficient number of people again become interested in conservatism.

    Some future new generation of soldiers will have to pick up the fight some day. Phyllis Schlafly, Newt Gingrich and Ann Coulter will never be victorious.

    The slow-rolling coup at FOX is indicative of the changes our society is going through. The Conservative cohort is trending older and older, and the Progressive Pied Piper’s song is sweet. Only many years later will people realize the sugary fluff was content free and gave us only societal decay.

    Rupert Moloch’s spawn see the writing on the wall and they will adjust accordingly to maximize revenue.

  9. Imp says:

    11 More reasons to despise Killary Klinton….

    http://tinyurl.com/zxlks2q

  10. geeez2014 says:

    Silverfiddle, while not quite as strong as you in your beliefs here, I do agree with it….I still think there’s hope but have been watching the demographics at the convention and I know the demographic watching FOX…and it’s, shall we say, NOT YOUNG in general?
    It’s older folks, veterans, people who went to school when the constitution was revered and being taught, people who know the words to the American patriotic songs (believe me, the kids do not, and I think that’s a HUGE metaphor for what’s happening to society, funny enough…it matters not in the song but the ethos), have paid taxes, feel America IS still exceptional and deserves only those who want to come and partake, not just take.

    I absolutely believe the coup at FOX is indicative, emblematic, a clear indication of what’s happening.
    “The Pied Piper’s song is sweet” Very poetic and way too true.
    As I frequently say to Dem friends “Who wouldn’t vote for a Democrat? They’re promising FREE EVERYTHING”….They look stunned at me but I KNOW they’re thinking……….. if they think at all.

    Thanks for your excellent comment, as usual…….

    If you come back, tell me IF YOU FELT ANY HOPE AT ALL TODAY, WHAT WOULD YOU HAVE TO SEE, REALISTICALLY, THAT COULD CAUSE IT?

  11. Silverfiddle says:

    First, let me say I don’t believe we will crash or anything catastrophic like that. Rather, we are slowly changing, as all societies do. My theory for years has been that we are following Argentina’s trajectory, thanks to institutional political corruption and political demagoguery, among many other factors.

    I see no way our course is reversed. Yeats spoke an eternal truth…

    Turning and turning in the widening gyre
    The falcon cannot hear the falconer;
    Things fall apart; the centre cannot hold;
    Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world,
    The blood-dimmed tide is loosed, and everywhere
    The ceremony of innocence is drowned.
    The best lack all conviction, while the worst
    Are full of passionate intensity

    Please don’t take this as apocalyptic defeatism. Step 1 is Seeing the world as it is; not what you wish it to be. “Facing unpleasant facts,” as Orwell called it, does not come naturally to us.

  12. geeez2014 says:

    SF: America was such a positive place of hope and the continuance of life that our parents had, etc….at least as I knew her…. “the ceremony of innocence is drowned”
    The last two lines of that really describe our politics…and, of course, each side thinks IT IS THE BEST.
    But we know WE ARE :=)

  13. Sparky says:

    Nah, your blog is still better. There’s too many click here, click that, etc. for me. Plus, I like the commenters here. I had to quit following AOW because that Ducky character haunts the site. That guy is pure mean.

  14. geeez2014 says:

    Sparky, thanks so much. I just LOVE that Althouse is a LAW PROF ex LIB who totally ‘gets’ conservatism now…She had to stop commenting, from what I hear, because of the jerks on her site.

    AOW’s site is fantastic but Ducky and Beamish are ruining it for me now….I can’t see Beamish anymore; it’s all too depressing; I can’t see Conservatives working THAT HARD TO GIVE OUR COUNTRY TO HILLARY in their attempts at slamming Republicans for not being Conservative ENOUGH. The Horrible insults should be left to the Dems, especially in an election year. We don’t need Conservatives slamming ourselves…no way.

  15. bunkerville says:

    Sorry, she is not there yet for me. Time is short. No time for “probably” Didn’t mean to hurt your feelings!!

  16. geeez2014 says:

    Bunkerville…WHAT? WHO? I’m missing something 🙂 My feelings don’t feel hurt….?? Remind me!

  17. Bunk meant Althouse.
    I got a rush when I first read her, but it got old, fast.
    IIRC there was a stand she took against the IRS that cost her dearly for her principles.

  18. John M. Berger says:

    SPARKY:

    “I had to quit following AOW because that Ducky character haunts the site. That guy is pure mean.”

    Sparky: Sorry you are quitting AOW because the person from whence speak is just an over- educated psychopath and I always loved the way you put that idiot down.

    JMB

  19. Z, I’m appalled at the plot to unseat Roger Ailes. I don’t care if he hit on Gretchen or Megyn… they said no and moved to enjoy success. In Megyn’s case, Ailes championed her – gave her the highest profile possible.

    Gretchen? Would she have made these accusations if her contract had been renewed? NO!!!

    Also, there’s a reporter for the New York Magazine who wrote a book about Ailes. It’s was a hatchet job. The author is a Hillary advocate. He’s the one spewing all this dirt. This whole thing smacks of a Machiavellian plot. This is the Left trying to take down Fox News.

    If the Murdochs allow Ailes to be ousted over this kind of nonsense, after the billions and billions of dollars his stewardship generated… talk about ungrateful jerks. It will be the demise of Fox News.

  20. FB says:

    Well this evening of RNC was a lot of fun. Quite entertaining.

  21. geeez2014 says:

    ED…i have no idea what bunkerville means but don’t see it as it applies to Althouse, tho I guess you’re right. What’s the ‘probably’ part…what am I missing? I’ve had a very busy and tiring day….wake me up!!!

    JMB…I had to go to WordPress over Blogger mostly to get rid of Ducky, after 10 years of fighting with him. When I need a good fight, I go to AOW’s and he and I duke it out. I don’t think he’s a bad guy, but do you know any time I’ve tried to warm up to him, ask about the little niece he’s so fond of, etc., just to be more human, he’s never responded? THAT really shows me something so sad.
    I had readers telling me they were going to stop reading my blog cuz of him. that was it…but I TRIED to get him to be kinder to my readers, and do you know he blamed me for censorship afterwards? Amazing.

    FW…right…I wouldn’t care, either. AND it will be more than just the demise of FOX…as you know. Except I feel my friend was right in suggesting there’s no way the Murdocks will make too many changes or they’ll lose TONS and TONS of ad revenue.

    FB..I had a group here tonight..am eager to watch whatever repeats I can.
    I want to see Eric and I want to see Pence.

    I thought Ted Cruz was despicable …ALMOST as petulant as that stupid John Kasich who, as it turns out, I have been totally right on all along; he’s a spoiled whiner.
    I have no respect for either of them now.

  22. FB says:

    Newt was awesome.

  23. geeez2014 says:

    FB…was he? I will try to see it. thanks! Just heard most of Pence …CSPAN is repeating…and thought he was marvelous….

  24. FB says:

    Ailes is out by the way.

  25. FB says:

    Pence was good too.

  26. FB says:

    Maybe Megyn Kelly can go on a network where she can wear a swimsuit.

  27. FB says:

    Or yoga clothes :))

  28. geeez2014 says:

    FB: WHAT was WITH her attire? SO unlike her!! I couldn’t believe it.

    Ailes is out? Gotta put the news on this morning…then I have to leave, darn!

Leave a Reply

