Mass Shootings..hmmm

mass shootings

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Mass Shootings..hmmm

  1. If I had a question, it would be a rhetorical one.

  2. bocopro says:

    Well . . . he DID promise change.

  3. Mal says:

    Yeah, Bocopro, and “change” is all that’s left in our pockets, too!

  4. bocopro says:

    I have long proposed that if mass shootings, mass murders, and other acts of violence weren’t sensationalized in the media, we’d have fewer of them.

    Something I read a few days ago resonated in my mind — go back to the 40s, or the 50s, or even the 60s, and we got our news in the morning while we were shaving or painting on the face for the day, and then again in the evening after we’d had a nosh and a hi-ball.

    We didn’t see pictures because newspaper and TV editors still had some sense of decency and were more interested in reporting facts rather than frenzy. By the time the shooter or stabber or whatever other kind of barbarian was captured and fotos became available, he’d been relegated to page 6, and nobody wants to emulate the guy who’s old news.

    Now we have a 24-hour news cycle with cameras everywhere and publish-or-perish ambulance chasers glued to their police scanners to pick up on the latest gunshot. And then, almost inevitably, Mom or Gramma or Charlie the next-door neighbor gets that obligatory 15 minutes of fame by saying, “Oh, he was a good boy. Nobody ever thought he’d do something like this. IT MUST BE SOCIETY’S FAULT. Prob’ly a rogue teacher or a brutal cop.”

    So, how ’bout we just report the facts: “A deranged moron opened fire on several innocent people today. A number people were seriously injured and some were fatally wounded. Names will be published in the local newspaper after next of kin have been notified. Since no one outside this community is likely familiar with any of the victims OR the shooter(s), names and faces of those involved will mean nothing to them, so we will not speculate or report partial information until all the facts are known, at which time pertinent summary will be available for anyone concerned on the local law-enforcement website.”

  5. geeez2014 says:

    Bocopro: “Well . . . he DID promise change.” I REALLY needed a laugh and this was a good one ๐Ÿ™‚ VERY clever.

    And yes, I’ve been saying here for YEARS that I long for the news shows that were “NEWS AT 5, FILM AT 11″…bliss.
    You added that “Since no one outside this community is likely familiar with any of the victims OR the shooter..” YES YES YES…..I say that here, too, Bocopro; it’s not hEALTHY to have to hear every single thing happening in every tiny town across this country, but WE HATE TO HEAR IT because it sells ad space, it fills the hours..$$$

    This has to STOP.
    but it won’t ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  6. bocopro says:

    Yeah, if we’re gonna argue, we’ll hafta change the subject.

    I’ve noticed that very often your topic du jour centers on or near something I’ve ranted about, sometimes almost simultaneously. I fear, however, that some of my imagery, analogies, metaphors, word choices, and recommendations might not suit this forum, so I refrain from posting them here intact.

    Spicy language doesn’t offend me, or most of my e-mail addees; hence, I sometimes use it freely. I mean, bobbycue jus’ ain’t th’ same without the sauce. And a properly placed F-bomb can focus attention with much greater surgical precision and impact than a “heck” or a “darn.”

    For all things there is a season. Still, it’s pleasant to come to a meadow with flowers and no cow pies.

  7. geeez2014 says:

    This is from very liberal Craig and I won’t release his comment directly because I can’t have the ugliness anymore…
    But I felt it’s important to show you his ‘facts’:
    Hello, Mz Z, I know how interested you are in the truth. This is a bogus graph. The murder rate hasn’t been as low as it is under Obama since the 1950’s. The good old days before cable news. This is good news, Z. Also, too, police officers killed in the line of duty has declined. “The annual per capita number of officers killed has dropped from 24 per 100,000 in the 10 years to 1980 to 7.3 per 100,000 in the 10 years to 2013 (the last year for which there is good data).”

    The truth is things have never been as bad until Obama…race-wise or cop-killing-wise and we all need to acknowledge this.
    What we all have to remember is that now police are being killed BECAUSE they ARE police, not in the kind of shoot-outs we’ve had between law enforcement and bad guys since the founding of our country.
    Also, I think it’s important to note there are stats which differ some from Craig’s.

    But, I thought I’d throw this out for discussion.
    Thanks, Craig…glad you’re reading GeeeZ and proud that you’ve only twice ‘corrected’ me…which needn’t happen often because I generally vet anything/everything I write on.

  8. geeez2014 says:

    EVERY SINGLE HOMEPAGE, Yahoo, etc etc., are NOTHING BUT anti-Republican articles one after the other. It’s ALMOST unbelievable…and picky, odd things …..
    You all know I’m the biggest critic of our hideously fascist, nondemocratic media, but this has reached new lows….
    WOW.

  9. craigx says:

    I did provide links to my sources. They are all derived from Bureau of Justice stats. If you have other information I would seriously like to see it. I’m not trying to “correct” you. I think it’s important to debate issues but it is imperative to start from a position of fact.

  10. Bob says:

    Ed: ”
    “If I had a question, it would be a rhetorical one.’ And the hits just keep coming from Bonderenka.

    With respect, Z, I don’t believe any one president has much of an effect on the number of mass shootings. It is also not a function of gun control. We have more people in the world who claim victim status, rightly or wrongly, and these are the people most likely to take out their frustrations on those around them. Of course, Obama has the habit of encouraging more and more people to see themselves as victims.

    That’s my take on the matter.

  11. Bob, If they see themselves as victims, then maybe they become victims, and the number of victims rises.

  12. geeez2014 says:

    Bob: Ed says it better than I can… you said “With respect, Z, I donโ€™t believe any one president has much of an effect on the number of mass shootings.”
    With respect, dear buddy, I think Ed’s right. There’s a pathos in particularly our Black communities that’s only got MUCH worse since Obama….

  13. geeez2014 says:

    bocopro…I’m happy and grateful for the comments you DO leave here!!

  14. Kid says:

    Racism and division has definitely heated up under obama and holder. There was a very intelligent black man that worked here for 10 years that I talked to a lot. Great guy, family man, hard working but it was really obvious how he changed when obama was elected. A couple years in he started running literally everything through a racism filter. obama created this.

    Yes, we definitely get more of whatever the crime is because the media makes these people famous.

  15. Sparky says:

    I’m old, my husband is older, and we know for a FACT that there’s more killings, drug abuse, illegals, etc. under DingleBarry Obeyme than any other Administration in our living memory.
    Lying is worse than cursing. Well, almost worse. Thank you bocopro for keeping it clean. I grew up with a foul mouth parent and won’t take it anymore. It’s thinly veiled violence and shows a direct lack of intelligence, for which I know you’re not lacking. (“It’s a good brain …” ha ha). Hope the libtard’s will stay away. They have their own forums to be nasty on.

Leave a Reply

