Sunday Faith Post

“In the Lord I take refuge;
how can you say to my soul,
    “Flee like a bird to your mountain,
for behold, the wicked bend the bow;
    they have fitted their arrow to the string
    to shoot in the dark at the upright in heart;
if the foundations are destroyed,
    what can the righteous do?”  Psalm 11

I  believe our foundations are being destroyed…and that prayer is the best thing to do.  Not the only thing, but a most important thing.

Please write a paragraph of the most important prayer you feel America can have said for her today.   Or please include Scripture you feel fits well for what you feel is most pertinent.

power of prayer1

I look forward to your ideas!

Blessings this Sunday and always,

Z

P.S….a friend just sent me THIS ARTICLE about the USA Gymnasts praising God and even having the audacity to mention (gasp!) JESUS!   kind of nice.   I keep hoping their faith/goodness/strength/integrity rub off on other kids.

 

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sunday Faith Post

  1. I spoke on a radio show yesterday.
    Gosnell was discussed.
    The barbarity of abortion was discussed.
    I remembered the movie Apocalypto that Mel Gibson had made right after The Passion.
    This movie depicted horrendous barbaric acts performed by the Mayan culture. Tattoos and body mods (self mutilation) were prevalent.
    At the end of the movie, the protagonist and his wife and child are fleeing from those who would ritual sacrifice them.
    At the coast, their escape blocked by the sea, they see Spaniards, who rescue them.
    The Christian Spaniards put an end to the barbarism.
    We need Christians to put an end to the barbarism in this country.
    Those who sacrifice their children for financial gain and self interest are no less guilty than those Mayans, except their clothing is more modern.

  2. Mal says:

    The first thing that came to my mind, Z, is our need as a people to bring God and prayer back and reject all the religious negativity that prevails in America today. This trend didn’t start with Obama, but he certainly has accelerated it with his pro-Muslim attitude and Christianity bashing.
    America has been going downhill since the 1960’s due to this trend. Our country is at a turning point in history with the upcoming election. The wrong leadership could further bury us into unrecoverable depths of destruction. It all needs to start with the people changing toward God. The rest will follow………….IMO anyway.

  3. bocopro says:

    Haven’t done any prayin since I was about 10 or so, and then it was because my grandmother, a fine Baptist woman, insisted that I do. She began every day talking to Jesus, and to her flowers.

    Wife prays daily at an altar she’s constructed in her bedroom (Roman Catholic). Talks both openly and privately with her god and goes to church at least twice a week, weather and health willing.

    Two very fine ladies, my grandmother and my wife, and I genuinely believe their steadfast faith has focused and amplified their natural goodness, one of those “greater than the sum of its parts” things.

    And I think that’s what prayer does, or at least part of it. Prayer engages the conscience and focuses the subconscious mind on issues and problems. Sometimes the mere act of laying it out for higher authority exposes the solution. As a teacher, I know you can’t teach something you don’t understand, and discussing a situation with your god would encourage you to organize your thoughts and be honest in assessing the pros and cons of whatever’s troubling you.

    So praying to a higher power would tend to clarify things while putting you on your best behavior, a plus-plus in solving interpersonal problems or dealing with uncomfortable relationships that come up from time to time. The subconscious mind can then work on things privately and let you go about your daily routine without distraction. Then later it can offer its suggestion or quick fix or set of alternatives at the proper time.

    Makes no difference if the solution is home-made in the subconscious or even the wakeful mind or on a note stuffed in a crevice on Mt. Parnassus so long as it occurs to you. And if the subconscious is in constant contact with that benign all-knowing presence, that’s even better.

    IOW, I think those who can pray for strength and guidance are actually doing what Aesop noted, whether he got it from Zeus or just observed it happening: God helps those who help themselves. I also believe that those who structure their lives by the tenets of a decent religion make better decisions than those who rely on nothing but Lady Luck or disinterested science.

    I know for sure that MY life has been enhanced and enriched by two ladies who prayed daily. I may not have tended the garden, but I have certainly enjoyed the fruits and veggies, and I thank them for it all.

  4. Mrs Grundy says:

    Matherw 4: 1-11

    1 Then Jesus was led by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted[a] by the devil. 2 After fasting forty days and forty nights, he was hungry. 3 The tempter came to him and said, “If you are the Son of God, tell these stones to become bread.”

    4 Jesus answered, “It is written: ‘Man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.’”

    5 Then the devil took him to the holy city and had him stand on the highest point of the temple. 6 “If you are the Son of God,” he said, “throw yourself down. For it is written:

    “‘He will command his angels concerning you,
    and they will lift you up in their hands,
    so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.”
    7 Jesus answered him, “It is also written:/b> ‘Do not put the Lord your God to the test.’”

    8 Again, the devil took him to a very high mountain and showed him all the kingdoms of the world and their splendor. 9 “All this I will give you,” he said, “if you will bow down and worship me.”

    10 Jesus said to him, “Away from me, Satan! For it is written: ‘Worship the Lord your God, and serve him only.’

    11 Then the devil left him, and angels came and attended him.

  5. Kid says:

    Dear God, Please take the hildebeast and deposit her soul, if she has one, where you see fit.

    Amen.

  6. geeez2014 says:

    Ed..”Those who sacrifice their children for financial gain and self interest are no less guilty than those Mayans, except their clothing is more modern.” Amen to that.

    Mal, I couldn’t agree more….the rest always follows…You’re right.
    Man, we had SUCH an Amazing service today….the young people we merged our church with have been a HUUUGE blessing; the worship time is magical. Everyone feels it.

    Bocopro; Congratulations, you have discussed prayer in fairly positive ways with barely mentioning the Great Creator. 🙂 I can’t imagine the loneliness of never praying…I remember it, and I didn’t like it. I am glad you don’t feel that.
    :”Prayer engages the conscience and focuses the subconscious mind on issues and problems. ” So does Muslim prayer.
    I rest my case.

    Kid, EXCELLENT PRAYER :-)!!!! GOOD ONE!

  7. geeez2014 says:

    Thanks, Mrs. Grundy, just saw/released you comment….very important. God bless.

  8. bocopro says:

    Kid: Kinda like what Voltaire said about prayer — “I have never made but one prayer to God, a very short one: ‘O Lord make my enemies ridiculous.’ And God granted it.”

  9. Kid says:

    We need a follow up prayer now. ‘O lord, make society see how ridiculous our enemies are’. ?

    (Disclosure: I have prayed to St Anthony, Saint of lost thngs/people/pets/whatever over the years and do not regret or discount)

  10. Baysider says:

    A story is told about WC Fields dying, flipping through a bible saying “looking for loopholes, looking for loopholes.” We are so far gone few even care about loopholes – too “sophisticated.” I guess my prayer would beLord, let us see us as you do and repent.

  11. My prayer daily:
    Lord please reveal your will for me today and help me to accomplish it.
    Please help me to advance your kingdom and draw my children to you.

    Baysider: and not fall into depression.

  12. Kid says:

    Ed, As I understand God’s plan, everything has already been decided. It’s all been worked out. The only one that doesn’t know what’s going to happen next is you and me. Which is Ok with me.

  13. Kid, years ago I read the Foundation Trilogy. There was a guy named Harry Seldon who figured out that “history” would flow in a general expected direction. But like Chaos Theory (which I didn’t hear of at the time) even though the river of events flowed in a general direction, individual eddy currents took individual paths within the stream.
    I see God’s plan in those terms.
    Mankind will get to a destination. We however must do our own part within that as He reveals it to us.
    I think.

  14. Kid says:

    Ed, I think our timeline of events in the reality we are tied to is pre-destined. At the same time, I believe every possible deviation from this timeline also exists somewhere – likely in an infinite number of other universes. Like If I’d have zigged instead of zagged, or married Joyce instead of who I’m married to now. Beyond trillions of possible outcomes, but I believe that’s how God likes it. Just look at the universe. Totally beyond description and comprehension.

  15. Sparky says:

    I’m in a drug induced stupor today trying to alleviate the severe shoulder pain, so, please forgive the brevity.
    What Mal and Mrs. Grundy said. Very well said.
    Hope your day was blessed. ~:)

  16. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider “Lord, let us see us as you do and repent.” Very nice.

    Ed, very nice…and good addition to Baysider’s because I’d hate to have God see us as we are!
    Love your Selden info…it’s really a good way to explain free will… and I’m GLAD You ‘think’…it’s usually pretty good thinking!

    Kid, except for Free Will….which can REALLY mess us up! 🙂

  17. geeez2014 says:

    Sparky, I’m SO SO sorry for your pain…

  18. geeez2014 says:

    SPARKY….I’m so sorry when I’m at your blog and there’s nowhere to comment…I DO read your blog! Believe me!:-)

Leave a Reply

