THRILLING! Wait till you see this!

Isn’t this fabulous?   WHAT AN IDEA!

“A micro aggression is exactly that…micro!”  HALLELUJAH!  You will love the article and video linked above…in it is this paragraph:

“We do not support so-called ‘trigger warnings,’” Ellison wrote. “We do not cancel invited speakers because their topics might prove controversial, and we do not condone the creation of intellectual ‘safe spaces’ where individuals can retreat from ideas and perspectives at odds with their own.”

FINALLY…  let’s hope more schools join THIS movement!

Z

This entry was posted in education, political correctness. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to THRILLING! Wait till you see this!

  1. What a concept!
    How revolutionary an approach!
    I wonder if this has been tried before?

  2. fredd says:

    Oh oh. I hope Barry doesn’t hear about this. The U. of Chicago was his old stomping grounds, and he may just take that phone and pen of his and make those safe zones reappear.

  3. geeez2014 says:

    Ed…some very weird, wild stuff for sure!!!

    Fredd…now you have me worried! Can Exec Decisions be made TO SCHOOLS?!! If anybody could do that, Obama could!

  4. Sparky says:

    By giving into the micro aggression myth, they’re feeding the mental illness that these people obviously suffer from. We’re not doing them any favors by catering to that. Controversy is good. It’s like exercise, it builds character.

  5. My safe space is the gun range.

    This is encouraging, but still the distinct minority.

  6. geeez2014 says:

    CI, VERY minor, but getting a LOT of press, amazingly. And all positive, believe it or not.

    bocopro…good one!! With my hideous math knowledge, I’m a tad sensitive to it, however (smile!)

    Sparky…perfectly said..

  7. Mal says:

    We need more of these type of leaders at our universities. It reminds me of a guy named Hayakawa that put down the student demonstrations at Cal Berkeley back in the 60’s after he replaced the former president because he backed down, giving them strength. He went on to be a California Senator. We need more of these people with guts because too many are wimps.

  8. Imp says:

    What’s even more shocking to me is….it’s in Chi-congo. Ruled by dems since the last Ice age.

  9. Kid says:

    Could we end up with one graduating class of students who by majorirty understand how important it is to grow up and meet the world head on? It could ‘go viral’ and develop into a tsunami of common sense and mass rejection of BS. By 2100, we might elect an American to the white house again 1 Yippeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee !

  10. geeez2014 says:

    Mal, I remember S.I. Hayakawa! He wrote a book on English, or grammar, too…a very well respected one.

    Imp, “Chi-Congo”..sad, but well said!

    Kid, “we might elect an American again..” Yippeeee is right!!

  11. geeez2014 says:

    MY FRIEND NANCY WENT TO HEAVEN VERY EARLY THIS MORNING…very peacefully….
    ALmost 98 years old and astonishing and wonderful in every single way a woman can be.
    Thanks to those of you who prayed for her.
    Am taking her kitty, Blue, probably today…Am not thrilled but I think I’ll begin to be once she’s here! Nancy always said “You must get a pet…get another cat” when my husband died 7 years ago…and I’d argue I didn’t want to…..well, Nancy’s cat, which she got last year, is coming home…SHE GOT HER WAY EVEN IN HER PASSING!! 🙂

  12. Kid says:

    Z, I hope you can stay more in the spirit of celebrating her life. Pets do provide good things to people. Especially cats who don’t need as much attention as dogs, who are more like kids than pets. (At least our beagle doesn’t howl when we take him to a nice restaurant.)
    I hope you enjoy Blue.

  13. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, it’d be inhuman of me not to miss her greatly, but I am totally celebrating just having known her…thanks.
    And ya, I hope I enjoy Blue, too 🙂

  14. Baysider says:

    Wow – I was tremendously moved to pray for her and her children all last evening.

    “Nancy’s cat, which she got last year” says a lot. I just don’t know many 96 year olds that would take on a new pet. I identify with your feeling about getting another cat. I say each one is ‘the last’ especially when I clean up and put away the CAT BOX. Then another little forlorn stray shows up in my yard, raggy and hungry. How can you turn it away? I had a feeling it might end up in your home.

    This post is a heartening. The fact that there’s even news about it is not heartening. Prager University is also making inroads on campuses, supporting and equipping “Prager Forces” all over. I’ve heard a number of these bright, articulate young adults, including a few converted lefties or – more likely – those swimming with the leftie current but when given a chance to examine their views thoughtfully they change.

  15. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider, last night was amazing for me…and, once I fell asleep, I woke up almost at the time my text came thru saying she was gone. Thanks for your prayers.
    And yes….I’ve dreaded the litter thing but it’s such an amazing irony that she pummeled me for at least 5 years about getting a cat, had finally stopped, then I’m getting HER CAT..meant to be. And Blue is a BEAUTY…dark chocolate face, Siamese, with THE bluest eyes against that chocolate….

  16. Kid says:

    Z, Dark Chocolate Face Siamese? Good God, you’re going to love that cat. I triple guarantee it.
    So social they are. Most are talkers though which isn’t the worst thing.

    @Baysider, Wife and I are in our early 60s! and we’re already talking about adopting older cats from shelters that we figure most people wouldn’t adopt. Becuase kittens will go around 16 years or so and we don’t want to leave them to the wind if something happens to us. Not a criticism of Your friend Z, just what we’re thinking. I’m betting this works out for you and Blue. If it doesn’t – put him on a Southwest flight and we’ll take him.

  17. geeez2014 says:

    Hi, Kid….her family and I thought she was nuts getting a young cat when she was 96, but….here we go! I agree with you about taking in older cats…. She’s only 3 or so, but… Actually, I’ll be taking her to the vet soon just for a ‘look over’ and they should know closer to the right age. AND her gender…half the family says “She” and half says “He!” 🙂
    Am leaving in about an hour to BUY THE CAT STUFF.
    Will pick her up tomorrow afternoon……I think it will work out but it’s nice to know you’d take her!

  18. geeez2014 says:

    I had the Journal on FOX on just now and had to remark how smart and kind the Conservative panelists are….really impressive….pretty fair, very free enterprise, not so biased they snicker or sneer at the left (tho it deserves it) but frank about their (many) shortcomings…and willing to truly observe Conservative silliness too, when it deserves it.
    Really impressive…

  19. Kid says:

    Z, the Vet idea is a good one. When we adopted out the orphan cats Mad insisted they take their new pal to the vet for a checkout.

    Well, its pretty to tell he from she with a cat. Colon versus Exclamation point….

  20. Kid says:

    ..easy to tell…

  21. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, re gender, your description helps! I’ll try to look 🙂 ! ! : :
    I’m now the proud owner of a BRIGHT lime green litter box, a scooper, a cute chrome water bowl and food bowl, and a comb. Tomorrow afternoon, I’ll have BLUE!

  22. Kid says:

    Z, you also need a brush. Heh.

  23. geeez2014 says:

    She’s going to have to do with a comb for now 🙂 I know, you’re way better to your cats, but I’ll learn!!! Thanks xx

  24. Baysider says:

    Is it possible Blue has his own litter box that’s familiar to him??

  25. I guess I won’t be visiting soon.

  26. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider, I didn’t want that one here, it’s old and it’s got a top….dirty, etc. But I will be using the litter she’s used to as there’s an extra bag there.

    Ed..ALLERGIC?!

  27. geeez2014 says:

    BAYSIDER, that’s not a bad idea, however…because I NEED that cat to take to the litter box IMMEDIATELY…too bad there’s another cat there which is going to be put down because it’s ancient, so skinny you wouldn’t believe it, and unwell…so, until they take that cat, they can’t give me the box…

  28. Baysider says:

    If there’s any issue with using the new litter box, a friend recommended that I put a ‘pee ball’ (for clumping, obviously) in it. Mine was a rescue that would NOT use it. Blue is not that. It wasn’t even her pee. But this worked like a champ! That cat smelled it and hopped right in after about 2 weeks of fruitless efforts.

  29. Mustang says:

    Not all notions disparate from our own have value. So some idiot comes up with the notion that adults have a right to intimacy with children … who can ague with a straight face that we should respect this point of view as having equal weight to all other ideas? It seems to me that this is the problem with immoral society (which is what the US has evolved into): an immoral society cannot be trusted to generate meaningful dialogue that advances human society. If anyone happens to think that this example is ludicrous, you aren’t reading enough current events. Not every idea warrants access to the bully pulpit; we ought to stop pretending otherwise.

  30. Yes, Z. Very allergic. Just helped my sister move yesterday and paid for it.

  31. geeez2014 says:

    Mustang, it’s when there’s no ability to call things RIGHT or WRONG that your scenario becomes too true… which IS the huge problem we deal with today in America…
    I don’t think any of my readers believe every idea warrants the bully pulpit.

    Talk about bully pulpit, I often wish it HAD been used recently…that is for Obama, as president, to have JUST ONCE talked to young kids, particularly Blacks, about unwed pregnancies, working hard in school, speaking properly, staying off drugs and helping each other instead of shooting each other.

    Baysider….a PEE BALL? From where?

  32. Kid says:

    Baysider, Z. There is also a product called Cat Attract (likely available at Petsmart Z) that is used to coerce felines to use the litter box.
    If Blue has been using a litter box though, I can’t imagine he will stop using one. Not to worry. What you do have to worry about his whether he has been trained to open cans. In that instance, he will eat all of the tuna fish in your house.

  33. geeez2014 says:

    Pretty sure he wasn’t trained to open cans!
    My friends tell me take her right to it, stroke paws in the litter for a minute and she ought to get the picture.

    HOW I can STAND to have a cat other than my Marcello and Musetta is pretty weird….they were my ‘soul mate cats’, particularly Marcello.
    Baysider, you knew at least Musetta, didn’t you? Marcello, no…he died a week after I moved back from Paris;.. I’ll never believe he wasn’t waiting for me before he died…he was about 19…Musetta died about 3 years later, at 21.

  34. Kid says:

    19 and 21? Geeez Z, they were living on borrowed time for sure.

    You wont’ have any problem with the cat box. Just show him where it is and fwiw. Cats like to go as far away from their living space as possible, so how ever that works out for your living space.

  35. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, perfect….it’s in my bathroom, where the cat would never go on a regular basis. Well, I hope she DOES “Go”, but you know!
    Ya, they were wonderful, healthy cats, INDOOR, and it worked well!

Leave a Reply

