Sunday Faith Blog

This is one of my very favorite Praise Songs…Do you have a favorite Hymn or Praise Song?

Tell us, and link if possible!  And WHY you like that particular song, please.  We’ve done this before but I think it’s uplifting and always nice to talk MUSIC….

“Saying, “I will tell of your name to my brothers; in the midst of the congregation I will sing your praise.””  Hebrews 2:12

BY THE WAY, and completely off topic:  If you are JEWISH,  please watch THIS video which a friend just sent me….fascinating stuff.  Donald Trump, an antisemite, as some love to portray?  Not by a long shot…

Have a wonderful Sunday!

Z

This entry was posted in music, Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. bocopro says:

    That’s a tough one. I reckon it depends on situation and mood.

    These three move me the most:

    “Amazing Grace” with bagpipes for adoration of a fallen hero.
    “Ave Maria,” especially in a pure pre-adolescent voice, for contemplation.
    Handel’s “Messiah,” either in the Mormon Tabernacle or a mall flashmob for rejuvenation.

    I’m also thrilled and humbled by a good flashmob of “Ode to Joy.” Look at the faces, particularly the children, in this one:

    http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=ode+to+joy+flash+mob+spain&view=detail&mid=8AE14C33B810EF558EFD8AE14C33B810EF558EFD&FORM=VIRE

    Praise to The Creator jus’ don’t git much better’n’at. And ya don’ even hafta know the lyrics t’ feel somethin vibratin down in yer core.

  2. Yep, Revelation Song does it for me.
    I like the Kari Jobe version and the Philips Craig and Dean version also.
    So when you combine the two:

  3. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, their version is nice, too…it just doesn’t get ‘big’ enough on the chorus…..I wish I could include my church’s version! I’m HUGE on dynamics and prefer my link’s, but your link IS excellent…tho the girl’s soprano is out of my ear’s pleasant-monitor’s reach! Too high for me and , as a singer, it doesn’t matter HOW good a singer she is, I worry until she finally hits the really high stuff because she started so high ! 🙂 Yes, combining the two is terrific, thanks for linking.

  4. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, we sang CORNERSTONE last week….it’s FABULOUS, I agree….VERY nice rendition, too. Hlllsong does music well; BIG and FAT HARMONIES…love it.

    I wanted to also say I almost never do the first verse on Revelation Song twice because it doesn’t work…in my opinion…..it’s such a gorgeous lead-in “Worthy is the….lamb who was slain..” but always makes me wonder “why’d they do that twice?” Can’t explain it, it just doesn’t work well for me musically! When I lead it, I don’t do it twice….I get right to the chorus, then complete the song as written!

  5. Lead in twice works for me. 🙂
    But we won’t have a church schism over it. 🙂

  6. We sang this, this morning, but I can’t vouch for this version.
    My pastor would get suspicious if I put my earbuds in.
    I love the joy.

  7. Kid says:

    I like the voiced Ave Maria, but I like this one a lot too. 10 fingers and 6 strings.

    Then generally speaking – The Boy King, which I listen to every Christmas.

  8. edbonderenka says:

    Those are good, Kid.
    I liked Boco’s also.

  9. Baysider says:

    O Lord Most Holy – the English version.
    especially “Help us to praise thee. Praise thee and love thee. …. Rule thou our willful hearts. Keep thee our wandering thoughts…In all our sorrows let us find our rest in thee. And in temptation’s hour, save by thy mighty power. Thine aid o send us. Hear us in mercy. Show us thy favor. And so shall we live and sing praise to thee.


  10. Baysider says:

    I left out the why!
    Centers me on the Lord, reminds me to praise, our source of power and worthy of honor and praise. And that He’s our maker, defender, redeemer and friend! Which gets me to another fave: O Worship the King! “Our shield and defender, the Ancient of Days. Pavilioned in splendor and girded with praise.” “O tell of His might, o sing of His grace, whose robe is the light, whose canopy space.” Puts me in perspective, that’s for sure.

  11. geeez2014 says:

    Bocopro ” t’ feel somethin vibratin down in yer core.” Very true about most Christian music….great comments! What really got me was the bit of snow on the trees in the top video ….so lovely.

    Baysider, lovely song and ‘why’! Thanks.

    Kid, any guitarist who can play legato on guitar is amazing…as we know Chet is! But this rendition is beyond great…..Not easy to hold the melody and play the back up broken chords at the same time. Terrifically beautiful rendition.

    Ed, I wish I remembered the music today….SO terrific. We are amazingly blessed by the new worship leader……who turned down a rock contract when he felt God was telling him “lead my music now….solely my music”.. He quit the band and did just that. And ARE WE BENEFITING from it…QUITE a church experience!

  12. Kid says:

    Z and Ed, Glad you enjoyed it. Yes, a stellar example of fingerstyle guitar.

  13. geeez2014 says:

    My new cat, Blue, is home…wants nothing to do with litter or food or water….having a great time of discovery! WISH ME LUCK! 🙂

  14. geeez2014 says:

    well, maybe not a GREAT time….meeeeoooowww!

  15. Kid says:

    The first thing a cat wants to do is reconnoiter. Just like a Marine in a new place. Search for threats, food and fun. In that order.

  16. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, not sure if she’s found the food and water yet, but I DID show it to her! I think she went from threats to fun! 🙂 Now if only she goes to the LITTER, we’ll be cookin’ with gas!

  17. Here’s my favorite cat video.

  18. geeez2014 says:

    Cool, Ed….very good!
    Re cats, I was always stunned that my two I had until about 10 years ago, knew who they were in a mirror….if they saw a cat outside, they’d go WILD, but they’d look at themselves in mirrors and it was “Oh, that’s ME!”
    HOW DO THEY KNOW!? 🙂

    Love the cat with glasses on 🙂

    Have you seen that image of Hillary demanding Trump’s tax returns and his come back is “I emailed them to you!”?

  19. That’s a good one. 🙂

  20. Baysider says:

    Interesting about cats in the mirror. I made a mistake as a child. Our cat was in a very ‘cute’ position on my mom’s lap. She couldn’t see the expression, so I grabbed a big mirror and walked up to her with it. The cat FREAKED OUT and bolted.

  21. Kid says:

    I did the same thing when I first saw myself in a mirror.

  22. geeez2014 says:

    KID!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    See, Baysider? Your cat saw HIMSELF and didn’t realize it.
    How the heck did my 2 beauties know it was themselves they saw..? they’d FREAK out at another cat outside the windows, but looking in a mirror? NOTHING!~

    Blue is doing well………she just met her Chinese roommate!! He adores her and she seems to adore him 🙂 She got a big frazzled at the sound of someone new coming up the stairs, but I picked her up, introduced them, and when I put her down, she stuck around instead of bolting like many cats do…mine would have! Chris says he’s getting her a cat toy tomorrow…so sweet!

  23. geeez2014 says:

    except I hate cat toys 🙂

  24. Kid says:

    Cats don’t play with things that cost money. .

  25. geeez2014 says:

    I bought one toy when I first got my 2…that was it. They didn’t like IT, I didn’t like it 🙂

  26. edbonderenka says:

    You need a random LED pointer.

  27. Baysider says:

    I used balls with bells in them for kittens. Nothing beats a good old fashioned string! One cat used to ‘chase’ the stock market ticker line to the edge of the TV screen to intercept it. So fun to watch!

Leave a Reply

