Dobson on DONALD

I don’t often publish articles by well known Christian leaders, but I was sent this by a friend, read it, and thought it was worth thinking about, even for my non Christian readers….take a quick read and consider some of his points…I think it’s worth it:

By: Dr. James Dobson

When I first heard that Trump (DT) was entering the race last year, I told my wife that perhaps it was a good thing for the party and America. I knew that he was not a “saint,” but I thought that he would be like a bull in a China shop. He is a disrupter and I believe America could use a fresh thinker especially in the political arena. I didn’t think he would get the nomination, but that he would shake up politics as usual. I was correct on the shaking up!

Lance Wallnau likens him to a biblical Cyrus. Someone who is dynamically used of God even though not perceived by many as a God follower. God has used many people in history that I would probably not like or agree with. I’m not sure I would have liked all the disciples, or David, or Moses. Somehow, God did not seem compelled to consult with me on His choices!

I have always admired Winston Churchill. He is seen as one of the greatest national leaders in the 20th century. Last year, I had the privilege of going through the War Museum in London. Winston is a key feature. His life is controversial. He was not always celebrated as a great leader. He was a bombastic, cigar smoking, at times crude, even misogynistic leader. It is alleged that he told off color stories to his children before bedtime! A woman once told him he was disgustingly drunk. His response was “My dear, you are disgustingly ugly, but tomorrow I shall be sober and you will still be ugly!”

There are many websites that discuss the outlandish comments and activities of this great world leader. But, he had exactly what was needed to stop Hitler at the Channel, to rouse a nation to never give up and to partner with America to find final victory in Europe. You probably wouldn’t want him as your pastor, maybe not even your father, but he was the right leader for that moment in England’s history. Such a brazen man that would go up to the roof of his quarters in central London and smoke cigars as Hitler’s air force bombed all around him. I’m not sure I would have voted for him…. but he was the right man!

I think it would be awesome to have a righteous leader, one that understood the intricacies of the economy, health care, defense, immigration, with great sensitivity to religious institutions, a heart for the poor, a vision for the future. If that leader was a praying person, formidable in the word of God and loved the local church, I would rejoice! I do not think that is the choice we will have in November.

Instead….we will look for someone who is imperfect, yet will fit the times we are living in. Particularly, that ‘whoever’ we vote for, will be someone who might possibly have the opportunity to appoint up to three Supreme Court justices. That could radically shape our culture in America for the next 30 years. The America of our grandchildren could be very different….and that may not be good. We cannot stand on the sidelines. A non-vote is a passive vote for a direction we may very well regret.

So…is Donald Trump good for America? I honestly believe that he has been already. He has shaken the political system. Do his comments offend me? At times! Do I agree with all he says? Not at all! But could he be a “Cyrus” being raised up by God to preserve America? Nobody liked Gen. Patton, but he sure WAS an instrument of the United States for the right things.

This I know. I will vote for the best chance for America. I will pray for our leaders as I have already. In the end – God will continue to be my source and my hope. I do believe that God has had a hand in America’s history. I hope and pray that He will also have a saving hand in America’s future.
Z:  I very much believe God has had a hand in America’s history and so I found Dobson’s article thought provoking and encouraging, hopeful.  I hope you do, too.   Any comments?

labor day obama

 

Z

This entry was posted in 2016 race, Christianity, holiday, Trump. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Dobson on DONALD

  1. fredd says:

    Trump compared to the biblical Cyrus, Sir Winston Churchill and Gen. George Patton, sounds like Rev.Dr. Dobson will vote for Donald Trump, perhaps. Not as Pastor in Chief, the guy is hardly a saint..

    Like

  2. It’s binary.
    Us Christian’s who wanted a more righteous guy (Cruz?) did not prevail.
    Now we get to choose between the wolf who promises not to eat us and the snake who promises she will.
    I’ll take the wolf.

    Like

  3. Dobson’s piece did not impress me, which should come as no great surprise. He meanders through tortured analogies as justification, but acts as if Trump is something pushed upon the Republic that we must make the best of. GOP voters are behind the shift from what would have been a cakewalk against the most easily beatable Democratic candidate in history, to at best, a neck and neck race at the finish line.

    Trumps no Churchill, and nothing about this election encourages me.

    Like

  4. John M. Berger says:

    While no two individuals are alike, I’d say it’s an interesting analogy. To this I would add that the Neville Chamberlin approach, that we have endured for the past >7 years, Iran etc. has been a disaster. And fredd, I’m glad that you included Patton. Thanks for the great poster; I’m shearing it with many.

    Like

  5. fredd says:

    CI: nothing about the last seven presidential elections have been encouraging. No Democrat in the oval office is ever encouraging, and the last 7 GOP selections haven’t been, either (Daddy Bush, Dole, Dubya x 2, McCain, Romney and now Trump).

    None of those guys have been true believer small government types, except maybe Trump every other Tuesday, and certainly no Democrat ever. Gotta hold your nose on this one, CI. Just like I have been holding my nose since the end of the Reagan administration.

    Like

  6. I don’t hold my nose….I work for actual choice. May not happen in my lifetime, but I can’t sim;y abide an eternity of poor leadership.

    Like

  7. Adrienne says:

    I have no way of knowing what Trump’s relationship with God is, and it’s none of my business. Does he pray? I have no idea, and I doubt he’ll tell us if he does (although I seem to recall he responded in the positive when directly asked that question.) If someone asked me about my relationship with God, or how I conducted my spiritual life, I wouldn’t answer.

    I’m voting for a president. Whether he prays or not is inconsequential. When I hear people say that “God told them to do such and such”, I cringe. In most cases these people are doing they want to do, and justifying their decision by dragging God into the mix.

    Cruz waving around a Bible offended me no end. A real Christian doesn’t have to continually tell everyone what a great Christian they are. We know they are Christian by how they treat people. I focus on the two Great Commandments – love Me, and love thy neighbor. It’s as simple as that.

    Like

  8. bocopro says:

    Amazing how often your post du jour correlates directly with my daily blurb. My rant yesterday touched on how Churchill and Reagan and Thatcher were considered dangerous mavericks by the entrenched politicians of their days.

    And today’s brought up Churchill’s “Britain and America are two great nations separated by a common language” (although George Bernard Shaw said it first).

    Like that pic, too . . . of a guy who never in his entire life had a job involving responsibility, never put on a uniform of any kind, never demonstrated any useful skills, and has no proof of either his education, his travel funding, or his political connections before running for high office and who now looks condescendingly down upon the rest of us as if he were Solomon or Confucius or Christ Himself.

    ‘Course the backdrop of Gropey Joe and Nance the Withered Crone is most a pro pos.

    Like

  9. Sparky says:

    Dobson must have been reading my mind and e-mail! YES! So, Donald Trump isn’t perfect. He may be perfect for our current circumstances. Golly, it took awhile for even me to get on board, but honey, I’M SO THERE! Thanks Z. This made my day. 🙂

    Like

  10. geeez2014 says:

    fredd and Ed…I think Dobson’s really only saying he’ll take the wolf, too.

    CI, I think he did an excellent job and it cheered me up a bit because I feel as you do…Trump is nobody I want to vote for, that is FOR SURE. Thankfully, I don’t need to here in California because of the Electoral College

    JMB: I’m with you. It IS an interesting analogy although I hardly see Trump as Churchill…. All Dobson is saying “let us PRAY he MIGHT be”…let’s face it, Hillary surely isn’t any Churchill, either…and never even COULD BE… right?

    Fredd and CI..holding the nose is the only realistic thing to do…….or vote for JOHNSOn, the pothead creep who looks like he’s only slightly insane every time I see him speak? ugh. THAT for president because we have no better? please.

    Adrienne, when you said “When I hear people say that “God told them to do such and such”,” I had to laugh because I feel the same way.
    As a Christian myself, I don’t mind at all, however, when someone only hopes our president is a prayer-er….relying not on his own strengths for everything. I had no problem at all with how Reagan displayed his faith, for example; only subtly but, more importantly, sincerely.
    And I didn’t know Cruz waved a Bible around……..we are definitely not voting for Pastor in Chief,
    My feeling is this; we all go into the voting booth with our ethics and values, and much of those are from faith. I could no more vote without what informs me in my life than I could vote for a chicken. I think a CHristian president would be well served to do the same; allow his faith to inform him..

    bocopro, that is a wild coincidence too often happening to be a coincidence! I’m quite flattered, honestly. And yes, that image is a good one for Labor Day, isn’t it!

    Sparky, I am SO SO SO Glad! (did you see my comment on foot washing on my Sunday Faith post? Please take a look!)
    and I’m honestly not yet QUITE ‘on board’ about Trump …but compared to HIllary? no contest.

    I want to start encouraging voters to VOTE THE DOWN BALLOT CHOICES…if they’re not going to vote, PLEASE DON’T STAY HOME! VOTE FOR REPUBLICANS IN THE SENATE!

    Like

  11. fredd says:

    CI: the perfect is the enemy of the good. Seeking something that will never happen is called lunacy. You have a choice: Clinton or Trump. What’s it gonna be? And you can work your fingers to the bone to some other fruitless end, and all you get for your troubles will be bony fingers. Or so they say.

    Like

  12. Mal says:

    Have a little faith, people! Perhaps I’m being the perennial optimist but remember what they thought about Reagan before he was elected Governor of Calif. That propelled him into the W/H and became one of our greatest ever. The comparison Z used above about former leaders like Churchill and Patton are good examples. And you could also add Teddy “Roughrider” Roosevelt and even “Give ’em Hell Harry” Truman.

    Like

  13. Mal says:

    i.e., “the right people at the right time”……………….

    Like

  14. freed – I’ve not ever sought the perfect. I seek the competent, the rational and the Conservative. Trump is none of the above. If you simply surrender to the duopoly, all you’ll have is choices between Trumps or Clintons. If you’re happy with that, so be it. Some of us are not.

    Like

  15. Baysider says:

    Excellent editorial, even if the comparison of Trump to Churchill is a shallow one. I thought the same in the preliminaries, that Trump as a disrupter brought issues out that folks (esp. media) preferred to ignore. As the first public figure to speak truth to the Democratic black power base in plain language – it’s refreshing. I do believe God can use ignoble men as His conduits, but whole ignoble people – that’s a different matter. The choices we face in this election reflect our debasement as a people.

    People DID make fun of Reagan in 1966. This “actor” – you remember. But he had well-honed perspectives, had worked in the trenches of developing his thoughts for a long time, and showed serious leadership abilities long before he ran for office. I was still a nascent Democrat then, but I remember seeing the bumper sticker “Why Not an Actor? We’ve had a Clown for the Past 8 Years.” Therein lies a path to a Trump victory.

    Like

  16. Apologies for the autocorrect, freed = fredd

    Like

  17. geeez2014 says:

    I can’t bear comparisons of Trump to Reagan…tho I totally understand everybody’s points here. The very idea of Reagan speaking to women and children at a huge event and saying “Bomb the F out of them”…or “I know more than the generals” or making fun of the handicapped…etc etc ETC etc, is beyond my comprehension.

    Yes, Trump’s rattled cages but, even then, he’s done it so inartfully…And YES, I KNOW most of you don’t care about that. I do. And I always will.

    CI, I don’t think most of us are happy with either of two choices…particularly not NOW. An elderly Black friend I asked “Martha, can I change your mind to vote Republican?”, responded “NOT THIS YEAR”. In other words, “I might have, but NOT TRUMP”..

    So, since it’s up to ONLY one of the two horribles we have running, Fredd’s right, we have to man up and pick. I don’t EVER see people getting outraged enough to start a real third party and,sadly, since Democrats VERY rarely self-examine like Republicans (who eat their young, as I have put it for years), there can be very little doubt any Third Party candidate will come from the more Conservative side………….so we’re SCREWED by hoping for better people. It’ll be a leftwinger shoe-in.

    Let’s all vote for the goofy, nutty pothead from N Mexico! That’s the ticket! Gad, watch him talk…he’s a joke! WHY can’t we come up with dignified, upstanding people who are articulate and can confound the damned media with their goodness and truth?

    Like

  18. Yet you’ve not spoken of Johnson’s policies….merely your opinion of his appearance and speech. Don’t you rightly rebuke someone who employs that response towards a Republican candidate? I disagree with your assertion that Republicans self examine any more thoroughly than Democrats….but in the end, it’s simply opinion.

    And as for “dignified, upstanding and articulate”, I agree if you’re including Trump.

    I get it with 3rd parties. Their not ready for national prime time, though the LP is closest. But voting continuously for the political turds from the two major parties, is never going to bring about any change. Or any actual Conservativism in government. You’re simply going to get someone who promises to manage liberal policies marginally better.

    As it stands, you decide to choose between a corporate liberal Democrat, or a narrcisstist autocratic neophyte. I choose neither, but as long as down ballot Republicans don’t go full Trump, I’ll likely vote for them.

    Like

  19. geeez2014 says:

    CI, actually I have spoken of Johnson’s policies, some of which I don’t disagree with….I talked about how I believed fighting ISIS is a joke, as he says, because, as Kid often also says, cockroaches will keep coming….but, of course, Johnson has no solution to ‘just letting ISIS alone’…and he admits it.

    Perhaps my term”Self examine”, wasn’t enough…because I mean “criticize”….To disagree with my ‘assertion’ that Republicans criticize each other more than Dems is astonishing…. Let me know next time you hear a feud within Dems (in our history) like we had within the 17 Republican cAndidates this year, or how McCain so often criticizes other Reps for their views on the military, or how so many Republican Senators and Congressmen are leaving the sinking boat of Trump and even saying they’ll vote for Hillary… or how hot a subject Paul Ryan is among Republicans…RINOS, NEO CONS, etc..etc…all terms used BY Republicans. I don’t remember Democrats using terms against their own. I’m sure you’ll come up with something..please do.
    I could go on and on so long there’s no room at my site….contrary to the tightness amongst Democrats that is so clearly visible. Even among their own media…FOX is highly critical of Republicans…Gregg Jarrett was so hard yesterday on Trump I literally looked at the TV to see if I’d put CNN on…………..it never ends

    I have always said I can’t stand Trump…I will stand up for him against the lib media’s constant harangues and misinterpretations and mischaracterizations, but…I can’t stand the man……of course I meant other people when talking about “dignified, upstanding people who are articulate and can confound the damned media with their goodness and truth?” When has any of us seen Trump be dignified, upstanding, articulate, or confounding the media with goodness and truth?

    By the way,I’d rate Paul Ryan with those characteristics.

    Johnson talks like a silly loon in interviews….something’s just not right with the grimaces and goofy grins…….He has his protecters, good for him. I’ll never be one of them

    Like

  20. Democrats have their DINOs, and there’s plenty of infighting occurring between the Sanders camp and the Clinton Camp.

    Trump has no solution for ISIS either, other than essentially staying the current course. But then again, according to his own words, he knows more about ISIS than the general do, “believe me”.

    By the way,I’d rate Paul Ryan with those characteristics.

    I would agree….and though unsure of the rules, if the electoral vote outcome goes to the House [which I think is a distinct possibility], I wold welcome a Ryan selection over a Trump or Clinton Administration.

    Like

  21. geeez2014 says:

    Yes,. I FORGOT, finally there is infighting..visible infighting, between Sanders and Clinton….this is new for Dems and I have never heard of DINOs but I’m sure you’re right about that.
    No, Republicans are FAR more openly critical and I find that a fault, personally…This is an observation I’ve made for years and I’ve rarely met anybody who didn’t feel this way….
    Yes, Sanders/Clinton is definitely a huge disparity, though they’re sucking up to each other now for unity…which is to be expected. I wish we saw that with Kasich or Cruz or anybody else on the Republican side. ..I’ve rarely seen such bad manners and ethics as Kasich not going to the RNC in his own state, or Cruz’s nastiness , etc etc etc.

    No Trump has no solution, either…except I TOTALLY agree with more bombing.;.i’m REAL tired of OUR feeling our hands are tied because we can’t risk collateral damage (God forbid our own media’s shock and vocal disgust) when our enemies depend on the worse collateral damage possible…….in the ME and here. Trump’s an idiot…. I mentioned the “I know more than the generals” in my comment above at 2:22.

    I’m really glad you agree with me on RYAN….he gets a LOT of flack from Republicans but I believe in him 100% and, after seeing a terrific 60 min long Town Hall with Anderson Cooper, totally understand why Ryan’s seemed like he’s made too many concessions. He’s fabulous and I’m never going to change my mind on that.

    Like

  22. bocopro says:

    JFYI, here are the first three paragraphs from the rant I just sent out for my addees to see t’morrow morn . . . just curious how closely related a cousin it is to what you have in mind for yours:

    What kind of nation is it that goes out of its way to provide not only sanctuary but tangible benefits to thieves and thugs and rapists? Good grief, Trump has made it clear to ME that his primary objective with illegal aliens is to eject the worst ones first, the repeat felons, the career criminals, the ones the cops at every level know about in their area or state, and then have a discussion later about what to do with the remainder.

    He’s not so dense as to believe that he can get authority and funding from Congress to round up and evict 15 to 20 million people who sneaked in or overstayed a visa. Anybody with a lick of sense knows that and realizes that he wants to boot out the worst of the lot, at least at first. Why the hell can’t people see that? Do they actually WANT those thugs, those drug dealers, those gangbangers, those rapists, those murderers here? What the hell is wrong with them!

    Also, why the hell IS it that people can’t understand that you just can’t be a US senator, especially one serving on the US Armed Forces Committee, and not understand document classification, at LEAST what a big red letter C or S stands for on a folder or an envelope or an e-mail or a whatever. How on earth can ANYbody believe that someone could be Secretary of State for the US and not know what information should be shielded from potential adversary nations such as Russia or NorKor or Iran or wherever.

    Like

  23. Mal says:

    Z, I agree the comparison between Reagan and Trump sounds far fetched; however, I meant the character of the two men, both recognizing the problem and feeling they have the solution. At least with Trump, there are no hidden thoughts or agendas. Unlike his opponent, he is candidly open and frank, which personally, I find refreshing after the B.S. we get from all the others. Some of the things he says may make us cringe, but I’m willing to cringe if he can get the job done.

    Like

  24. geeez2014 says:

    https://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/plum-line/wp/2016/09/05/trumps-history-of-corruption-is-mind-boggling-so-why-is-clinton-supposedly-the-corrupt-one/?utm_term=.14222685ac51

    ah, don’t you just hate it when the press is so easy on Republicans and so hard on Dems? I literally laughed out loud at this article!!! OMG!!

    Like

  25. Kid says:

    I don’t understand anyone who has to analyze anything at each or any election. The democrats are pure evil, communist, fascist, leaders of slavery throughout America’s history and into modern day slavery and through their actions of creating welfare, stealing social security funds that were promised to be in a lock box forever, taking over education in America, creating teachers unions that guarantee widespread non-education for America’s kids and (a lot more but to keep it short) lately putting in place the total destruction of health care in America, …… Honestly, who is if that needs to sharpen their pencil to come to a conclusion about any and all elections.

    I’m proud to say I’ve had this figured out from day one of my voting history and I simply go vote against democrats and taxes.

    Like

  26. Kid says:

    Z, yes, the cockroaches will keep coming. There are 1.5 billion moslems? Fine go kill 1.4 billion of them and you haven’t accomplished squat. Like cancer cells they will come back and even mor aggressively.

    Like

  27. In regards to comparing Trump and Clinton, I heard a normally smart panel member, on Bret Baier’s tonight, compare Trump’s handling of classified vs Clinton’s.
    How that is an issue is beyond me. When has Trump had exposure except once recently when briefed?

    Like

  28. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, what classified information has Trump had? You’re right..what WERE they talking about? Or is it just conjecture because he’s a huge blowhard, liking to show ‘all he knows’, maybe? That’s a little scary…

    Kid, right…a HUUUGE disagreement you and I have is that you honestly feel all muslims believe in the koran and want us dead. I don’t. Not by a long shot. I TOTALLY understand your point if you’re talking about hothead jihadists, they will not change, but those living HERE for years , peacefully? They read the koran like Catholics used to read the Bible…not. The Catholics had nuns and priests telling them what was in the Bible, the Muslims have the Imams telling them what they’re reading in Arabic every day, not understanding a thing, but obeying in reading.
    No, I AM NOT COMPARING CATHOLICS TO MUSLIMS by a LONG shot, but on this one point, something I hadn ‘t realized, that’s just the truth.

    Like

  29. Kid says:

    Ed, when are any of these things at a premium in the process? Why does anyone even consider why Trump zogs a purfel zigloid a fermananiol at examanpickel furmanoid?
    Who cares?

    The beast has a well documented history. Are there people trying to figure out whether a piece of human garbage assoiciated with a political party which has occupied itself with the destrcution of America in Earnest since 1913 or so be a viable candidate. Picture me with deer in the headlight eyes and a maniacal laugh like a hyena at midnight with a harem of hyenas and a great view of the Milky Way on a warm summer night with plenty of food and drink.

    Like

  30. Kid says:

    Z, “Terrorists” commiting violence are mis-direction while the main islamic strategy continues to succeed around the world. What strategy you ask? Breeding out all other cultures I answer.

    Google around. Many countries are very worried that their native citizens are not producing enough offspring. I recently noted S Korea, Denmark, and many other EU countries. The vermin don’t even need to kill anyone really, but yes the terrorism is nothing more than misdirection.

    Like

  31. Kid says:

    Z, Give me a link to more than a couple moslems warning western cultures about shaira law. I want to see Thousands of moslems denouncing sharia law as an abomination and a huge assault on human rights.

    Good Luck !

    Like

  32. John M. Berger says:

    @ KID,

    Everything that you say to the 10th Power!

    Like

  33. Kid says:

    @JMB…. Danke Shoen. 🙂

    Like

  34. The Churchill comparison may be better than the tired Hitler comparison, but maybe pre-WW2 Churchill, the Churchill who disgraced himself again and again, eg. at the Gallipoli campaign as First Lord of the Admiralty; and over the Gold Standard as Chancellor of the Exchequer, a policy which contributed significantly to the Great Depression.

    Like

Leave a Reply

