What would YOU DO?

I’m very curious about what you think of THIS………and/or the woman who quit because of it.

school-lunch

Republicans…do we punish the child because the parent is in arrears? It’s wrong to be in arrears, their parents should know better, it’s good for the school to get a LOT of that money back……so…….do we withdraw food from the children? Β It did work.

Give me your thoughts. Β  If you don’t like the idea of punishing the kids, how would you collect?

Z

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to What would YOU DO?

  1. Kid says:

    I actually don’t see anything wrong with the kid being embarrassed. Good lesson for them and their parents. Back in the olden days when I went to school, there weren’t even cafeterias. We took our lunch, usually packed by Mom. So do the parents want to go back to that or pay a small amount a week to have that taken care of for them. And everyone paying taxes in the district are actually paying for it so the parents aren’t even footing the whole bill.

  2. bocopro says:

    I agree with /\ — it’s a teachable moment, an injection of reality to counter the participation trophies, everybody is the valedictorian, and safety spaces that the libs have pushed in kids’ faces.

  3. Sparky says:

    Say, I have a novel idea, why doesn’t the nameless, faceless bureaucrats quit trying to feed the indigents off of our stolen dime? Let Churches take over the charity cases for those who are too poor (or lazy) to buy food like we used too. When I was in school, we carried our own lunches. Problem solved. Let me know if I can help with anything else.
    Have a lovely day dear Z.

  4. cube says:

    My girls went to Catholic schools all their lives. We always paid our bills, but there were others who were in arrears and they never had lunch denied to their children. Denying a child food wasn’t in the school’s credo. I’m sure they requested payment for lunch, which BTW my daughters remember so fondly that they still want to eat, but they kept it between the parents and never involved the child.

  5. cube says:

    My girls went to Catholic schools all their lives. We always paid our bills, but there were others who were in arrears and they never had lunch denied to their children. Denying a child food wasn’t in the school’s credo. I’m sure they requested payment for lunch, which BTW my daughters remember so fondly that they still want to eat, but they kept it between the parents and never involved the child.

  6. geeez2014 says:

    FROM OUR FRIEND SPARKY:
    Say, I have a novel idea, why doesn’t the nameless, faceless bureaucrats quit trying to feed the indigents off of our stolen dime? Let Churches take over the charity cases for those who are too poor (or lazy) to buy food like we used too. When I was in school, we carried our own lunches. Problem solved. Let me know if I can help with anything else.
    Have a lovely day dear Z.

  7. John M. Berger says:

    OK, there is probably no existing legal authority for this but in [theory] : What if there was a fine attached to the amount in the arrears and failure to pay amounted to compulsory parental COMMUNITY SERVICE in the cafeteria where they are delinquent, in full view of all ? If this were possible I bet that the problem would soon go-away. Yes, I know that this is really unlikely to happen but………………………..

  8. geeez2014 says:

    I am maybe the strictest adherent to tough love there is, but I don’t agree that children should be humiliated for their parents’ laziness, or poverty level.
    I got the impression this school wasn’t in a poverty-stricken area, but I could be wrong.

    We took our lunches most of the time, and it’d be a treat to get to buy lunch on a day the sheet on the refrigerator showed something we liked on it… I still remember mashed potatoes with that scoop of gravy on top; that was a treat for me, for some reason! And I used to ask Dad why he didn’t barbecue really thin burgers like in school!

    And I’m with Sparky as far as feeding the kids instead of the school dollars doing so…….Why does a kid need meatloaf and mashed potatoes or stew and vegetables for lunch? Give them a bagged sandwich and an apple………from a charity.
    That would sure work well in really poor areas, too….nobody’s embarrassed…done.

  9. geeez2014 says:

    John! I think that’s an excellent solution…..clean bathrooms in the evening, if the mom works and can’t be there during the day because of a job? having them do community service to pay is a great idea!
    Watch liberals now: ‘YOU CAN’T FORCE PEOPLE TO DO THAT’ ‘IT’S NOT KIND!’ ‘WHO ARE YOU TO INSIST ANYBODY PAYS, OUR KIDS DESERVE IT’…
    BLAHBLAHBLAH…yes, and THAT is how Americans have started to NOT LEARN THE LESSONS OUR parents and WE did back when there was a piper to pay when one did wrong…THOSE were the days.

  10. cube says:

    Of topic: when are we going to see pic of your new kitty? I’m dying to see.

  11. bunkerville says:

    Or are the kids so disorganized they forget to bring money? Most schools get funding for those kids who can’t afford lunch. In fact my school provides breakfast and lunch thanks to you and me. Something doesn’t work in this story.

  12. Mal says:

    I agree that kids need to learn the reality of being responsible for themselves. That being said, its okay if the kid misses a meal to learn it, but we don’t want to see this go to the point of being malnourished, either.
    Kid, really? No cafeterias when you went to school? We always had them when I attended in the 1930’s and ’40’s in L.A. I took my lunch most of the time, too, but did buy from the cafeteria occasionally.

  13. Kid says:

    MAL – No cafeteria. Well if the parents don’t pay they get a cold meal like a sandwich instead of a hot meal.

  14. Mal says:

    Agreed! So long as they eat, that’s all I meant. No fancy dining; simply nourishment.

  15. geeez2014 says:

    cube…thanks. First, she’s not capturing well in the cell phone camera because her blue eyes don’t show somehow…second, I can’t send from my cell phone to my email, although they can send to everybody I send to. This has happened since I got my cell phone.
    Please, nobody, don’t try to help…it just doesn’t work and I’m fine with that.
    Cube, if I can find a goodpic, I’ll let you know!

    .Bunkerville..the woman quit her job, I’m thinking the story’s legit.

    The very thought that because a parent’s irresponsible, his kid has to watch others have a good meal vs a sandwich, even having the meal TAKEN AWAY at one point, doesn’t strike me as right.
    i’m ALL FOR responsible people getting ahead, doing better, having advantages, but the kids of the deadbeats shouldn’t be humiliated by their parents.. That doesn’t teach them anything but liberal entitlement mentality….”They OWE ME…that kid shouldn’t get more than ME!”
    Not for it here.

    This is NOT THE KIDS’ FAULTS…. they should not be made to pay for their slouch parents.

  16. geeez2014 says:

    http://www.politico.com/story/2016/09/donald-trump-israel-228394

    This is SO STUPID on Trump’s part it almost takes my breath away…..He has almost no ground game in REALLY important cities, and he’s got on in ISRAEL?
    What ‘ground game’ is on Hillary’s part (and other smarter politicians) is picking up voters to get them to the polls, going door to door talking to people, having ‘coffees’ in peoples’ homes….he’s screwed up BIG TIME (using past tense cuz there’s no hope at this late date) on this ‘no ground game’ stuff. Oh, except in Israel, for 300,000 votes, most of which will probably vote as liberal as our American Jews do.
    GAD

  17. John M. Berger says:

    Please see: “Audit Calls Pennsylvania Education Department ‘Inept’ ” and also various statistical information per this link:
    http://www.governing.com/gov-data/education-data/state-education-spending-per-pupil-data.html
    Now, to put this in perspective; while Utah spends some $6,500 per pupil Pennsylvania spends some $14,000. I see no reason to believe that if Pennsylvania would address (and fix) the issues of: graft, inefficiency and administrative bloat, these ‘meals” could be provided at [no] additional cost to the parents and tax payers, thus putting [this] rather trivial issue to rest once-and-for-all!

  18. geeez2014 says:

    JMB: BRAVO, You just graduated from CUB Reporter to FULL REPORTER on GEEEZ! πŸ™‚
    Imagine the difference in those amounts?
    By the way, let me add something: WHY SHOULD A KID GET MORE THAN A SANDWICH AND A PIECE OF FRUIT for lunch?
    I may be a softy in regard to hurting and humiliating kids because their parents are deadbeats but why should ANY KID get more than a typical lunch like WE used to get at SCHOOL?

    Think how much cheaper it’d be if they shoved sandwiches into paper bags with an apple and maybe some chips and a cookie…versus higher cost in food, ovens, washing trays and dishes and flatware, etc etc ETC…RIGHT?

    Does anybody here think a kid deserves more than a sandwich, fruit and cookie?
    I’m all ears…..honestly….
    And don’t get me wrong…not always BOLOGNA, sometimes ham, sometimes roast beef, sometimes cheese, sometimes egg salad….. CHOICE, the left likes CHOICE, let the kids have it πŸ™‚

  19. bocopro says:

    Back in the early 50s when I was in what was then called Junior High School, we got Guh-RATE lunches. Always fish on Fridays, and always chilimac on Mondays. Soup always available if we wanted it, and fresh fruit, usually bananas, apples, stuff like that. Milk in those little pry-open containers.

    High school was different for some reason. Lotta kids didn’t bother with lunch, and some went home or ate at local choke-n-pukes. They offered a lotta sammidges, and there always was a big tureen of some kinda soup, but never anything attractive IMO.

    I didn’t go in the afternoons my senior year since I had all the credits I needed and went in the mornings ’cause state law required everybody to take civics & government in their senior year. Also took a typing class first semester and did a chem/physics lab assistant thing the second semester. Don’t think I ever ate lunch at school that year even once.

    Made a lotta money that senior year, not all of which was entirely legit. Sure made things easy for my first year of college, tho. Had a blast there (‘cept that part of my academic scholarship included working in food service . . . waiting and busing tables for the upper-class girls’ dining hall. Evening meals were semi-formal, meaning no slacks or shorts, just full dresses. Men’s dining facilities were more casual.

    School was a “coordinated” campus — meaning both male and female students, but dorms, dining halls, and classrooms were gender segregated instead of coeducational.) Sure pulled some downright evil tricks on those girls, many of whom were downright snotty to freshman “boys.”

  20. geeez2014 says:

    Bocopro…I love the memories! And admire your energy to write them DOWN! πŸ™‚

    EVERYBODY: The NY/NJ terrorists is being held on $5 million bail……….do ALL criminals get bail offered and why would we do it for this?

  21. Kid says:

    Z, Why the extravagant meals? Because it’s Other People’s Money and schools have no accountability for being financially effecient. Nor does the teachers union. We (taxpayers) are getting raped by both.

    Anyway, I’ll take back my proposal and replace it with jMB’s. Either that or make the kids wear hats at lunchtime that say “My Parents are Deadbeats. Let’s Make America Great Again.” πŸ™‚

  22. Kid says:

    Z, THe repubs want that mutt classified as an enemy combatant. Which he should be. He shoud get no bail and in fact should be shipped off to Gitmo. Imho.

  23. I still pack a lunch to this day.

  24. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, the Obama people want it CRIME, not TERROR, apparently??
    I’d lock him up at Gitmo and throw the key in the ocean.

    Ed….saves a lot of money and is probably healthier, too. I pack a lunch every day, too, but only for the student who moved in with me πŸ™‚ I’d sometimes take lunch when I was working full time…I liked it, but I love going out with a work friend for a burger, too

  25. Imp says:

    Let Sherif Joe feed em all PB&J.

  26. Kid says:

    Imp, Or green bologna

  27. Kid says:

    I think kids need to learn the evil of liberalism at an early age.

  28. geeez2014 says:

    Imp; PB&J sounds fine to me… But Sheriff Joe? These are kids, they’re not bad people…..

    Kid, how’s this going to teach them anything but humiliation and entitlement? “Boy, HE gets that nice lunch, I don’t…it’s because HE’s RICH”…………wait for it.
    I totally disagree with you on this….with all due respect, of COURSE πŸ™‚
    Whatever has to happen to the parents is one thing, the kid had nothing to do with their being in arrears…

    BUT, as I said; why elaborate dining for lunch? Sandwich, fruit, chips, and Bob’s your uncle! Done. Cheap, MUCH cheaper (no washing trays, etc.)….you could almost get companies to donate so people’ll buy their food at home once the kids like it..why not!?

    This doesn’t teach the evil of liberalism………this just teaches them that the rich are evil…which I don’t agree with.

  29. Kid says:

    Z, You make a point.

    Ok, how about this. If the parents pay up on the lunch program their kids get an ID card that they show when they come into the cafeteria. No card? No show. No embarrassment. Sit somewhere else and eat the lunch you brought.

  30. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, that’s one idea….I never felt poorer because I didn’t buy my lunch every day and some kids did…….let them just do what they’ve done,…bring their lunch or buy if you can and want to… just don’t punish the kid for their parents’ problems…
    Tell the parents “Can’t pay, or can’t remember to pay school? …then PACK YOUR KID’S LUNCH”….If the mom’s not strung out on coke in her basement in Ohio……….gad.

  31. Kid says:

    Z, LOL ! Or zombied out via a heroine OD in the front seat ! ahhahahaa

  32. Kid says:

    PS, I’m starting to feel I went to one of the only high schools that didn’t have a cafeteria.

    I WANT REPARATIONS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  33. Bob says:

    Free lunch programs are paid with Federal money all over the nation. The school where my daughter teaches makes sure that qualified children are on the free lunch program. The school tries to identify these kids at the beginning of the school year so that they can get free breakfasts and free lunches. By the way, my daughter reports that the food is generally good. My grandson prefers the school cafeteria hot food to made-at-home lunches.

    Whenever there’s a problem with a kid paying for lunch, as occasionally happens, there is always a failsafe method to make sure the kid gets SOMETHING to eat, even if it is a PBJ sandwich. Many times the kids will forget to ask their parents for lunch money, or will lose/spend their money elsewhere. Teachers see this kind of thing all the time, and teachers have been known to pay for a kids lunch out of their pockets.

    If a kid’s parents are out to screw the school programs, the administration will figure it out, but the kids will not suffer. That’s the way we do things in Georgia.

  34. geeez2014 says:

    Bob, the article was far worse than that scenario, though….A kid had a lunch taken away when they realized his folks were in arrears…;in front of his friends. I don’t agree with punishing a kid for the faults of his folks…or the poverty of his folks.

    Come to think of it, I don’t think there was ANY subsidy when I was in high school, at least that I knew about…we ONLY ate the school food when we had whatever it cost…I don’t remember how much….and there were choices, some things less, some more..

    Kid, you DESERVE reparations! You need to go to Charlotte, NC right NOW and RAISE HELL with the rest of ’em. (how awful).
    Also, what about that couple SO strung out on heroin…imagine people like that raising children? That was SO GROSS a picture and I heard the chief of police got flack for releasing the photo but I think he was RIGHT: let people know how awful that addiction is…what it looks like.

  35. John M. Berger says:

    @Kid,
    “PS, I’m starting to feel I went to one of the only high schools that didn’t have a cafeteria.”

    Hey pal, don’t feel bad. We did, a little after WWII and we were told that some of the $#!t that we were served was from left-over stuff from there. All I can say is I hope that SLOP wasn’t what our GI’s were given but what may have gone to POWS. Be glad that your mom provided such good stuff and [you] didn’t have to suffer the “cafeteria” that we did. BTW, I’m talking from elementary@ 1949 and up.

  36. Kid says:

    JMB, I’m not unhappy about any of it really πŸ™‚ We had fun.

    Z, Yea, at least they didn’t crash the car and kill the kid.

  37. Baysider says:

    What’s wrong with pay as you go – or putting a deposit down? That would stop this nonsense. You wouldn’t ‘forget’ your lunch money after a few hungry days. And if you did … well, that’s how the gene pool self-selects out the laggards.

    Alternately, require a working credit card on tap to auto-charge. Gads. This is so easy to ‘solve’ if they want to.

Leave a Reply

