Priscilla

A very dear friend and fellow Commenter, Priscilla, passed away two weeks ago. Her grandson just emailed me.  From his email, he’s every bit the fine young man she’d said he was, and she had quite a hand in raising him, so I’m not surprised.

I have to admit to getting teary after I’d read and responded to Derek’s email to me.
Here is a link of 25 of Pris’s articles she wrote for me at my Blogger blog.  You’ll want to take a few minutes and read those whose headlines appeal to you because I KNOW you will agree with Pris’s take on so many subjects in America today.  Honestly, when you read those great articles, you’ll see that she was a kind of prophet;  she really saw what was coming so clearly.

For those of you who remember Pris, join me in wishing her family comfort in their loss. They don’t make them like Pris anymore, more’s the pity….

I’ll always miss her.

Z

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Priscilla

  1. Kid says:

    I’m sorry for your loss Z. At our age, this is all too common. And apparently we lost another good one. I do remember a commentor ID Pris, but not sure from where. Probably your blog though. Ms Pris.

    My deepest condolences and wishes for comfort for your friend Pris,

  2. geeez2014 says:

    Hi, Kid…ya, Pris was about 80, I think….maybe a bit more? So she was older than we are, but it IS too common, isn’t it…. We definitely lost another good one; she was a total GEM. SO patriotic…and I remember she started to see the nutty stuff the City Schools were implementing way back when her 55 yr old daughter was a little girl and tried to stem the tide! Pris was a FIGHTER I’ll definitely miss her. Thanks for your nice comment…xx

    By the way, she was very fond of Imp and I know he was fond of her, too…..they were quite a mutual admiration society!

  3. Baysider says:

    I am sorry to hear of your loss. Had a wonderful birthday dinner for my brother tonight, and in the pre-dinner cleanup (we uncovered a lot of stuff) I commented how I used to save wedding and baby announcements. And now it’s funerals.

    Marvelous posts. I actually remember the gun running in Mexico one. The one that ‘every young person in America’ should read about making it in this country should be required reading in school. And wow! the 4-09 one on schools and unions. How said, She sounds like she had a backbone!

  4. geeez2014 says:

    Hi, Baysider…I’m so glad you had such a good time celebrating your brother tonight! Yes, I believe I’ve attended more funerals in the last five years than I had in my WHOLE LIFE…..

    She thought well, she wrote well, she had real solid values, loved her husband and kids and grandson SO much. Pris was a pip…..Tiny blonde, with a very deep voice caused by years of heavy smoking! I mean REALLY deep voice! Terrific gal…she had integrity in her bones.

    I love that you remember some of her articles…….Mr. Z was fond of her, too, and admired her writings.

  5. geeez2014 says:

    Pris’s grandson and I’ve now exchanged about 4 emails tonight….I sent the link to Pris’ posts, he wrote back, I did, etc……….here’s the wonderful thing;
    HE IS A VERY KIND, VERY APPROPRIATE AND LOVING KID….WHO REALLY ADORED AND APPRECIATED HIS GRANDMA……Oh, would Pris LOVE that he and I had this exchange and how much I think of him! Makes me happy because Pris had him at her house from kindergarten through high school, after school every day, because his mother worked.
    Pris did a fabulous job.
    His last words in the last email were “And thanks for the compliments. She set the example, I just try to live up to it.”
    THAT’s the kind of kid Pris raised. Oh, would she be THRILLED that I saw it with my own ‘two eyes’ and have shared it with you.

  6. I’m sorry for our loss.
    Sounds like she left a living legacy in her grandson.

  7. John M. Berger says:

    I remember her and always appreciated her sage comments. Needless to say I’m sorry for [our] loss!

  8. Linda says:

    I’m sorry for your loss, too. She lived a good long time, and got to see a lot of changes in the world. I hope most were for the best.

  9. geeez2014 says:

    JMB, I’m so glad you remember her so well!

    Thanks, Ed and Linda…she really seems to have left a wonderful legacy in her grandson…and son and daughter, of course!

  10. Imp says:

    I’m so saddened and shocked by that news. Yes, I admired her greatly and I can now understand why she dropped out Z. I’ve missed her wisdom and view points ….she was a very classy lady. I’m sure she and Gary are together again.

  11. geeez2014 says:

    Imp….she was particularly fond of you, I remember and, yes, that couple who married right out of high school are back together again….
    What FUN we had commenting with Pris, didn’t we!

  12. geeez2014 says:

    Linda, I can’t comment at your place….something odd 😦

  13. Imp says:

    Z…I know and really appreciated her communications. I’m just going over some of them now. The last one that I have saved was 9/13 and she was grieving then. But had her chin up cause she was bowling again! I just wonder what she’d have to say about our world today.

  14. geeez2014 says:

    Imp…great point! How AWFUL this world today would have felt to Pris….
    She loved her bowling and SHE WAS VERY GOOD, by the way!!!

  15. Mal says:

    I don’t recall her name so it must’ve been before I was invited to your blog, Z, but she sounds like someone you all would be friends with. I’m sorry for everyone’s loss.

  16. Sparky says:

    As precious as we personally hold human life, it’s comforting to know that Christ holds our lives even more so. Her life will be a beautiful reminder of the beauty of her life. God considers each soul precious. At least we know that our loss is Heaven’s gain. I hope you and her family are blessed with the comfort and joy that comes from knowing Christ this day. Folding you all in prayer because of His grace. ((Hugs)) ❤

  17. My goodness, Z. Very sad to hear of Priscilla’s passing. I wondered where she was lately, since she was a frequent commenter/poster/guest blogger here at Geeez. Your opinion of her posts were mine also. She made a whole lot of common sense!

    I’ve lost 2 close friends this week. Cancer and heart disease. I suppose at this age (60 in December for me), we’re going to have to get used to this sad part of life. I’m sorry for your loss, my dear! May she Rest in Peace.

Leave a Reply

