Sunday Faith Blog

I had lunch with my friend  yesterday at her home.  This friend has MS and is now on a scooter if she wants to get around as she can’t stand even with a walker anymore.   She’s a very strong Christian and I can’t tell you how many times she mentioned something wonderful in her life or the lives of her beloved family members, and how “God is so good.”

garden-martha

I wonder how many of us, or our own Christian friends and family, would always look to God as “good” were we in a situation as complicated and painful and all-consuming a disease as MS.

She loves to look at websites which “are happy things,” like Zulily deals, or Trump information (she LOVES Trump!),  or gardening information for the amazingly beautiful rose-laden garden which is her backyard, a kind of enchanted area of stone pathways, rose bushes, arched trellises over the walkways, fountains, and tables and chairs…….so nice.   This special friend knows that looking for ‘happy things’ in her life keeps her going, keeps her encouraged.  I think that’s a great lesson for us all.

“You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you.”  Isaiah 26:3

My friend trusts God completely and she believes in miracles and expects one.  In the meantime, she is at peace, even with all the health challenges she faces every single day.

“I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.”  John 16:33

My dear friend knows we are promised tribulations and that He has overcome the world, which means her reward will be in His kingdom of heaven.

Please pray for a miracle for my dear friend and be grateful for every healthy day you have.   I know this story is an inspiration to you because that’s why I believe she is struggling like this….she reaches so many people by sending them JESUS CALLING, a link to a beautiful praise song, or a Bible, or a note of encouragement, or having them over to pray with her!  She reaches many people though she can barely leave the house anymore.

This  VIDEO which a friend had sent me yesterday reminds us that we see God in the beauty of the earth…..like He is in my friend’s garden and in her life.

Have a beautiful Sunday filled with gratitude and very happy things!

Happy day!

Z  (thanks, CC)

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. Saints like that are an inspiration to us all.
    My friend Mike has MS also, and he teaches our Adult Sunday School.
    Doctors are amazed that the progress has been halted for years now.
    I believe it is our prayer and God’s response,
    He is still in distress from nerve damage, but you’d never know it unless you asked.
    Jesus is good.

  2. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, my friend is a huge inspiration to all who know or hear of her. What you said is something my friend has heard from Christian friends for years, like ‘you didn’t pray hard enough, you have sin in your life”..yes, Christian friends! We spoke about this again yesterday, as a matter of fact. I wonder if you know that one can be diagnosed, have symptoms, and it’s not unusual that they completely leave? Others are not so lucky. We have a mutual friend, this friend and me, who has MS but her symptoms haven’t really become worse in 30 years…though she does have some ‘invisible’ issues still…
    I wish your friend Mike well.

  3. Mal says:

    Sometimes it takes an affliction like MS to make most people see what is really important in life. But not all do. Its “is the glass half empty or half full” kind of mentality. I watch the kids shown on TV seeking financial help for cancer or other extreme disabilities. Their outlook seems so positive you can’t help admiring them. I know when I get sick I then appreciate wellness, but why does it take that to make me appreciate good health?

  4. I am totally familiar with the “Name it and Claim it” view you seem to have ascribed to me. I once belonged to that cult.
    Trust me, that was not what I was saying (that she wasn’t praying hard enough or has sin in her life). None of us has enough faith or little enough sin.
    We know that God answers our prayers on His own terms.
    This can seem like random grace on His part. Faith tells us otherwise.
    “It was not that this man sinned, or his parents, but that the works of God might be displayed in him.”
    Your friend displays the works of God, healed or not.

  5. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, while I didn’t think YOU would fall for all of that, yes, it does sound like that when you don’t have the time/space to explain more in a comment and I read “it is our prayer and God’s respone”….It sure would sound that way to my friend; She’s heard a thousand ridiculous, horrid comments like that…it’s stunning, really, that any Christian would even suggest what I know you nor I would do.
    Thanks…yes, it’s all GOD’S TIMING…
    She’s such an inspiration and I also sent this link to her and she was very humbled and pleased….
    I’m sorry more haven’t read this, but I’m thinking they’re reading it but there’s not much to say and so they’re not commenting. I hope so, anyway.

    Mal, I SO agree with you about that. It is tough to see those darling children with terrible cancers who are SO optimistic and so strong; I think that’s a huge credit to their folks and to their doctors, and it DOES remind us how VERY VERY lucky we are. I’d say “Blessed” but all people are blessed..those children are blessed, too.

  6. geeez2014 says:

    AHA. I just checked and only105 have viewed this blog today…BUT let’s hope many were on this post because I think its message is vitally important and I know people are blessed by all of our faith posts…

  7. Kid says:

    So very best wishes for your friend’s comfort at least.

    Yes, that looks like the English gardens that were everywhere in England in 1990 when I was there. Maybe not so much these days with their challenges happening since.

  8. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, I found this in garden images….her garden is SO much more beautiful….so many more roses, trellises, ..and you ought to see the Monarch butterflies in the purple-flowered trees..GORGEOUS….
    You mean the MUSLIM challenges in England, or?

  9. Baysider says:

    I’m glad you wrote about this. We forget to focus on ‘happy’ and other uplifting things. What a testimony. I have and will pray for your friend. It can be a very discouraging disease – not only the disease, but people with ‘helpful’ hints out of context, and others who tell you it’s a lack of faith. I have a friend who successfully ‘worked’ on it, felt better, and after 3 years of tests in the clear was dismissed as a patient by her rheumatologist! Today I told the Lord how grateful I am for the [itsy bitsy teeny weenie] bit of rain we got this morning.

  10. Baysider: Yesterday Scherie was dismissed as a patient by her doctor.
    Not because she’s healed, but because the practice no longer accepts BC/BS PPO.
    Obamacare.

  11. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider, your friend was not unusual…people are wrongly diagnosed or it just disappears as I said above. Or just stays as is, no worse, like other friends of mine. My friend’s had it for almost 40 years and her ‘version’ is a tough one, but not as tough as some, thank God. And yes, she stays totally faithful. Not sure what you mean by your friend “worked on it!”….My friend’s got the cutting edge of everything as her husband is a doctor…the treatments don’t work on every MS AND she’s now on a really scary drug they’ve had for a while but decided she might benefit from….keep praying, folks!! I know I sound defensive to Ed and you…it’s because she’s such a close friend and I’ve seen her go from walking and driving herself around to a walker to a scooter….and no driving. and it’s heart wrenching.

    ED..WHAT? I was SO excited to read “Scherie was dismissed as a patient..” I thought you were going to say SHE IS DOING SO WELL!
    SO, we have to pray for her, that some really good doctor DOES acquiesce to the Obamacare…BS is RIGHT .. Keep us up to date on this. Tell Scherie we’re praying! God bless that dear woman.

  12. Baysider says:

    Z, my friend was diagnosed by a mainstream rheumatologist with tests and ‘titers’ (whatever they look for – I don’t know if I have the right term). As she worsened she sought treatment at an ‘alternate’ clinic which gets a lot of MS cases, while continuing to be seen by her rheumatologist. After getting her life back she continued to be seen by her rheumatologist who dismissed her after 3 years running of no ‘titers’ (or whatever) in her tests. She continues with maintenance work on her own because that’s her weakness in the way the body breaks down.

    They aren’t all caused in the same way and certainly DON’T respond in the same way, as your friend sadly knows. That’s why so many anecdotes are un-helpful and discouraging. “Get the mercury fillings out of your mouth!” So I did, and I didn’t get well. Now what? This kind of thing doesn’t help, even though there is much less chance you will get well unless you do that. Not a do-it-yourself project. We just can’t imagine what life was like in the Garden — and will be again, but I for one am looking forward to it.

    I’m glad your friend has translated this terrible curse into a ministry of grace. I have to believe there will be special crowns in heaven for her. But I will still pray!!

    Ed, I too thought Scherie was better! What a wretched thing our health care has become now that it’s a ‘system.’ As an individual plan holder I was dumped years ago – then Obama halted that with an illegal exec order before the 2012 elections. Just happened to Mr. B.

    I am amazed at the level of peace I’ve found in my own situation when I keep my mind stayed on HIM. What a great verse to bring in, btw.

  13. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider…glad that worked for your friend. As you know, it’s neurologists who deal with MS, so your friend had other things going on , autoimmune situations, connective tissues problems, etc. Most alternative ‘cures’ for MS aren’t valid ….Martha has heard about a litany of them from MS friends over the years…(she ran a group for years) with horrid alternative stories, or people who thought they had MS and were diagnosed incorrectly and suffered while their symptoms weren’t cared for properly…lots of false promises…it’s an awful thing with numerous and varied symptoms. Glad your friend is helped.

  14. Sparky says:

    It’s always sad to hear of others and their tribulations. We all have them, for sure. I pray that the LORD Jesus will reach down in His mercy and give her comfort. He does that for all of us. Prayers for your friend, and prayers for you and all here. Stay safe. Keep strong. Don’t lose heart. He holds us in the palm of His hands and never forgets we are dust.
    Luv to you and yours. ~:)

  15. geeez2014 says:

    Sparky, you’d love Martha…..rarely let’s any of her HUGE challenges get her down….it’s awful, but she’s so faithful!
    Love to you and yours, too! xx

Leave a Reply

