Celebrating Imp AND YOU!

I wish a very happy birthday to our friend/commenter IMP!  I hope you have a wonderful day!

happy-birthday

ALSO: I want to take this opportunity today to honor him and all my GeeeZ readers!   Thanks for being here, for reading, commenting, buoying us all up with your shared values, your good ethics, your love of the Constitution and, of course, AMERICA!

What’s the BEST THING ABOUT BLOGGING or COMMENTING AT BLOGS for YOU?

Am so grateful for you ALL.
Z

 

 

This entry was posted in holiday, interesting!. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Celebrating Imp AND YOU!

  1. bocopro says:

    Best thing about blogmenting is the exchange of opinions. I get lots of that from my children (all in their 50s and unafraid to speak their minds), but they’re scattered all over the place and I see them only once a year or so.

    Since hitting my 70s, I have become almost reclusive in my activities, rarely going away from the house except to the doc, the dentist, and the commissary to restock. But that need for self-expression still burns in my belly like a habanero on a peptic ulcer.

    A compulsive writer and obsessive pedant, I love putting my nouns and verbs and gerunds and descriptors through their daily calisthenics, sometimes in close order drill in rhyme and meter and sometimes in free-style break dancing to chaotic melodies that most people haven’t yet heard.

    Since I gave up punching holes in the ocean and pestering other people’s kids from the podium, my knees and hips and thumbs and other departments often go on wildcat strikes, and my eyes are so damaged from years at sea and on golf courses and so on that it’s no longer safe for me to drive at night.

    A few years ago I left trail markers at at least a dozen blogs every day, reveling in the feedback, even the negative stuff. Recognizing the symptoms of internet addiction, though, I scaled back to an e-mail chat group and a limit of commenting on 4 blogs per day. Man’s gotta know his limitations.

    So blog surfing and comment warfare are now my vents, along with my daily e-mail rants. Sometimes I get a thumbs-up emoticon and sometimes I get uncomplimentary remarks about my mother and her mate selection skills. But it’s all recognition, and generally speaking I learn a thing or two every day from the various blogs I visit silently or comment at.

    Writing is my hobby, but publishing is not my fate; blogmenting, therefore, is my outlet, my relief valve, my “I-am”ness. I comment; therefore, I am.

  2. Sparky says:

    Happy Birthday Imp! Hope your day is happy and fun.
    Mostly I enjoy reading other Patriot’s comments, rather than expressing my own. I gain a lot of insight into things from them. Plus, I feel less alone in caring about our Country. It’s kind of a secular version of “Therefore comfort one another with these words.” Y’all comfort me with knowing that Hubby and I aren’t alone in our concerns. God bless! 🙂

  3. Kid says:

    Happy Birthday IMP ! Hope it’s a good one.

    Blogs? I like learning something new every day as well as expressing myself. It’s nice to know there are other sane people in the world as well.

  4. John M. Berger says:

    Enjoy your day Imp! I always appreciate your straight-forward , real world comments. Insofar as Blogging, in general, is concerned; I can offer very little beyond what Sparky and Kid have already said.

  5. What’s the BEST THING ABOUT BLOGGING or COMMENTING AT BLOGS for YOU?

    1. Making friends whom I later met in person: Warren, TMW, the Beak, Pastorius, Ed Bonderenka, and more.

    2. Finding out about the news obfuscated by the mainstream media.

    3. Having a outlet for stating my views.

  6. geeez2014 says:

    Well, Bocopro, I’m pleased that my blog seems to be one of your chosen FOUR! You really do have SUCH a way with ALL words and I’m all for your mother and whatever ‘mate selections’ she made 🙂

    Sparky…I loved this: “Therefore comfort one another with these words.” Y’all comfort me with knowing that Hubby and I aren’t alone in our concerns.”
    I echo that.

    Kid, really good to know we’re all not alone in our love of our country and the constitution and DECENCY.

    JMB, they said it well, didn’t they.

    AOW…my dear old-time blogger buddy; So cool you’ve met those buddies! I’ve only met Phran and Granketha from FPM, both of whom I adore…and MGM from FPM, who became a lifelong friend (and a Christian), and had dinner here at least twice a week for a couple of years before he married a gal in Indiana and moved!, my first flowers after Mr. Z died were from Mr and Mrs Mustang, who’d spoken frequently to Mr. Z on the phone over politics, I know FB and his wife and enjoyed dining with them a couple of times, I had Prisc who just passed away, here with her husband for dinner and we met her for lunch, plus we spoke on the phone fairly often,…..
    I’ve met Victor Davis Hanson, David Horowitz, Laura Ingraham, Larry Elder, Christopher Hitchens (lovely liberal, I have to admit), Pat Caddell, Andrew Breitbart (my VERY favorite to have met a few times), …can’t think of everyone, but meeting all these because I blog is a blessing..
    .
    And yes, finding the obfuscated news and the outlet….GREAT PERCS OF BLOGGING!

    AND THE PRAYERS! I know a lot of us have prayed for Ed’s wife Scherie, and we’re praying for AOW’s health as we’d prayed for Mr AOW after his stroke…as I know some of you prayed when I lost my dear Mr. Z so suddenly.
    ugh.

  7. Baysider says:

    Happy birthday Imp!

    I like learning from others who expand my horizons with their comments and links. Eg, to whittle and Condell. I like formulating my own ideas better to make me sharper in other conversation. And I like the comraderie and encourAgement taken and given.

  8. cube says:

    Happy Birthday Imp. Hoping your day is a big day.

    I love sharing views with people I’d never meet yet, thanks to the internet, feel as though I know. Here’s to you, Z, ’cause I think I’d like you in person as much, or more, than I do online.

  9. Imp says:

    Thanks so much EVERYONE…..I’m humbled and grateful for those all these warm responses. And this IS one of my favorite places. I’m blessed to have met you all and my Host Ms. Z for over 10 years now through this amazing Internet gift. ( Or curse at times 🙂 )

  10. bocopro says:

    This woman I can’t seem to get rid of had her 79th anniversary yesterday, 03 Nov 37.

    Bein who and what I am, I ginned up one of my 10-page specials for her with appropriate visuals breaking up the heartfelt text.

    All she ever says about ’em is, “That’s nice.” Then she drags ’em to work to show ’em off to all her buddies. I do ’em up on glossy fotopaper with each page in a 3-ring document protector and stick ’em all into a binder with some kinda gag cover page on the outside of the folder.

    Think this’n was about the 12th one in the series. Got tired of gettin flowers (which wilt and wither) and cakes (which aren’t good for her). Her friends give her enuffadat, along with a generous wad of deep-fried cholesterol in various guises. She got 4 vases of flowers yesterday, so mine woulda been purty much minimized anyhow.

  11. Mal says:

    OH! MANY HAPPY “RE-RUNS”, IMP! I hope you have a wonderful day and hope someone is taking you out to dinner…………..and a luscious triple chocolate cake.
    What I love about this blog, which is the only one I am on or ever been on, is the difference in opinions w/o getting nasty. We really do learn every day. I hope we keep it going for a loooong time, too.

  12. Imp says:

    @Mal…thanks so much Mal… and yep….skipping Domino’s tonight for a classier meal too….on my wife and daughter.!

  13. geeez2014 says:

    Imp; have a WONDERFUl time..so glad daughter is with you, too!
    Give both the women in your life big hugs from THIS woman 🙂
    HAPPY HAPPY birthday, dear IMp. xxx

  14. Imp says:

    Z..you bet and thanks for making my day so pleasant and happier…xoxo

  15. FB says:

    Happy Birthday Imp!!

  16. bocopro says:

    Y’know, Imp . . . much of the fiction I write, especially the longer stuff up around 200 pages or so, is Sci-Fi related.

    One of the stories — A Matter Of Mind Over Mind — has as its antagonist a non-corporeal entity from another dimension which lodges in the corpus callosum of a middle-aged guy going thru mid-life-crisis stress.

    I wrote it in 1984/85. As is my habit, I stuck it in a drawer and dragged it around until I finally got a computer and put it on disk. Updated it for grammar and diction and typos as I re-keyboarded it in Word.

    Name of the antagonist? IMP. Started out as a three-word descriptive title and was shortened to the acronym and finally the name Imp. The original three-word title is rather uncomplimentary, as it was bestowed during a time of great mental anguish in the human host.

    Later it became almost an accurate term of endearment because the entity was causing so much turmoil in the man’s life. Haven’t looked at it in a couple of years . . . it’s around 40,000 words as I recall.

    Most of those who have read it said it made their heads hurt.

  17. geeez2014 says:

    Cube..ditto to you…wouldn’t you just LOVE if all of us could get together on somebody’s big ol’ porch and sit around and talk the night away? I would LOVE that!

  18. geeez2014 says:

    NO SCI-FI here, please…never been a fan and never will be .. but I DID meet and shake hands and chat with Ray Bradbury once…after hearing an excellent lecture by him.

  19. bocopro says:

    Wouldn’t post it here. Gets very salty in several places as the protagonist tries to escape from his tormentor. Quite realistic, though, considering the situation he’s in.

    Also is long novella length; prob’ly crash your server. And remember, Star Trek was nothing more than a bunch of cowboy shoot-em-up dramas set in space with a swashbuckler, a critical parent, a couple of free kids, and some shaky mature adults.

  20. Kid says:

    Z, say it ain’t so ! I Love Sci-Fi. My favorite fiction.

  21. geeez2014 says:

    bocopro…no worries; I’d delete it, anyway.
    You always make me feel like an old fogey when you start with how ‘salty’ things are so you wouldn’t post things here…because I’m NOT. I just don’t love salt in WRITING is all 🙂

    Kid…there is NOTHING about Sci-Fi I like….sorrry! 😉

  22. Thought I’d commented earlier.
    This is my goto salon.
    As I said at Kid’s, Happy Birthday Imp.

  23. Imp says:

    @ED….Thanks Ed I caught that over at Kids too.

  24. Imp says:

    @Bocopro…”Later it became almost an accurate term of endearment…”

    Thanks…I’d rather it be that then the former, causing a head to hurt or anguish!

  25. cube says:

    My husband has been a proponant of my coming out of the closet to you, particularly, for a long time. He loves the idea of meeting fellow Armenians in California. Me, I’m not Gloria Estefan, but I do value my anonymity. It’s not personal because I do believe I’d have have a wonderful friendship with you in person.

  26. geeez2014 says:

    Cube, that touches me so much. I, too, value my anonymity…I more than value it, I believe it’s safer as I often blog on jihad, etc…
    I think we would be friends and I love the Armenian connection 🙂
    My dear commenter “Mal” is also Armenian, by the way!

Leave a Reply

