A Catholic Priest and America’s election….WOW (and some humor!)

https://ourladyofhope.net/video/october-30-2016-2/

A Catholic priest talks about the election….God bless him.   I don’t know your denomination, but anybody who has faith in Jesus and hope for America should listen to this.  How he keeps a congregation full of Catholics who are usually Democrats is beyond me!

I had quite an angry, rather aggressive post planned for today but I am so tired of fighting that I decided to feature this.  AND, a bit of fun, too!:

One of my sisters went on a 5 week trip around Spain.  She and I have bought Leon Russell tickets for Dec 11 and I am about overcome with excitement, so check out this email she sent from Barcelona:

“Hello! We are just about to board our flight from Barcelona to London and then HOME! Yay!!   Four suspicious men waiting with us at the gate…If we don’t make it, my jewelry is in the Ann Taylor shoe box in my closet and most importantly the Leon Russell tickets are in a small beige wallet in the kitchen drawer with my calendar.”

Ya, I have a sis who thinks I LOVE LEON RUSSELL SOOO MUCH that if she went down in a plane a month before the concert, I’d be looking for the tickets and GO 🙂   I’ve got THE best family!!  HA!!   Her email cracked me up and I hope you laughed, too.  

And they did make it home safely, thank God!

What did you think of the Catholic priest?

Z

 

This entry was posted in 2016 race, Christianity, Humor, Z family. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Catholic Priest and America’s election….WOW (and some humor!)

  1. That priest has got it going.
    Like it.
    I drove 3 hours in 1974 to see Leon Russell.
    He was at a small venue 1 mile from my house 10 years ago and I missed it.
    Wish I could have gone.

  2. Silverfiddle says:

    The priest was dead on. It all comes down to morals. Adam Smith said free markets turn into free-for-all jungles without morals.

    We are witnessing John Adams’ quote proving itself out: “Our Constitution was made only for a moral and religious people. It is wholly inadequate to the government of any other.”

    The founders did call it an experiment…

  3. cube says:

    Although I agree with this priest, I really would prefer that the clergy, including the pope, keep out of politics altogether. For every right-thinking priest/pastor, there are hundreds who vote with the immoral left. I have no idea how they deal with these conflicts, but I’d rather not hear hypocrites preach to me about morals.

  4. Sparky says:

    Excellent speech. I agree with this gentleman’s take on our Country. Thank you for sharing. I will do likewise.
    Well, whatever happens after tomorrow, I rest assured that we are still God’s children and in His merciful hands.

  5. cube says:

    Sparky: From your lips to God’s ear.

  6. myfoxmystere says:

    That priest knows we’re on a Tightrope! And I’m glad your sister made it back safely to see Leon Russell this December.

  7. Mustang says:

    Shared this sermon with several … thanks Z.

  8. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, I missed his visit to the Canyon Club last year and Googled him for this year “No Los Angeles”…then, suddenly, my sis called and said LEON’S AT THE CANYON CLUB ON DEC 11~” Can’t WAIT. There was a woman in the ticket line when my sister was buying our tickets and she said his show last year was fabulous. His voice is not for everyone, but I love his style and ADORE his piano…his sense of the keys, …do you know he played piano on GENTLE ON MY MIND, LITTLE OLD LADY FROM PASADENA, WISH THEY ALL COULD BE CALIF. GIRLS, HEY, MR TAMBOURINE MAN, and MANY more big hits…amazing.

    There’s something about his music soul that touches mine deeply….that video says a lot about who he is…great guy.

    Mustang..good!

    myfox…He does it a bit faster here, but it IS GOOD~ thanks so much, very appropriate title for today’s situation in America, isn’t it! Thanks again for reblogging my post about Hillary.

    Silverfiddle…am delighted I’m in good company when I’ve said for a couple of years “We can’t have a capitalist country without good people not becoming greedy and mean….” You are so right when you say “We are witnessing John Adams’ quote proving itself out: “Our Constitution was made only for a moral and religious people. It is wholly inadequate to the government of any other.””
    I think it’s basically saying the same thing.

    Yes, it was called an experiment, but our founders figured in the morality and religiosity of Americans then carrying into now. And look what’s happened..no wonder the experiment has started to fail the more we’ve kicked God out of the public square, made every good bad, etc…

    Cube and Sparky…AMEN to ALL of that….absolutely all of what you both said.
    Cube, I’ll never forget the left hammering Geo Bush 2 for speaking in churches, forbidding him to do that again, then there were the Dems speaking on church stages/altars the next week…..no problem. unreal.

  9. geeez2014 says:

    TIGHTROPE is on that video I linked….done a bit slower, as I’d said above…Do I know my Leon? 🙂 But this video isn’t as good at letting you into Leon’s music head as THIS ONE IS…I ADORE THIS:

    He has SUCH a way of talking about his music, how he writes (prolifically and perfectly)…etc.

  10. I think Leon played studio with The Wrecking Crew before Joe Cocker and then his own career.
    Let’s see. Yep:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Wrecking_Crew_(music)#Members

  11. Z: I’m happy for you about that gig. and jealous. Both at the same time. 🙂

  12. geeez2014 says:

    thanks, Ed…I honestly can’t wait…our table’s 1 table away from the stage…man.

  13. Pingback: The Weekly Headlines – My Daily Musing | franciscansonthemountains

Leave a Reply

