Leon Russell…a Tribute

LEON RUSSELL died yesterday.   Most of you won’t like him at all;  his voice wasn’t pretty, his sound was what you might call ‘hick’.  There are few musicians I admired more than Leon.  All my life.  I play piano and I know the piano was part of his heart and soul, as if the keys grew out of his fingers.  He was Elton John’s idol and, while not a big Elton fan myself, I can hear so many riffs that come straight out of Leon’s playbook.   THIS ARTICLE gives you a nutshell overview about him;  not enough info but good.  The only thing wrong with it is it says he was scheduled to resume his concert schedule in 2017 when I had tickets to see him in four weeks, on December 11, 2016, a date I’ve looked forward to almost more than anything I’ve looked forward to in my life.  I was FINALLY going to be 20′ from Leon Russell….our table was one back from the stage.

When my sister traveled to Spain a month ago, she told me “If anything happens to us, my jewelry’s been put in an Ann Tyler shoebox in my closet and the Leon Russell tickets are in the drawer near my phone in the kitchen.”   🙂   She really got how much I loved the guy.

In an interview, he said that he learned early on, playing backup on famous songs, that if he played high notes in the harmonies, he’d not become “part of the wall” and people would hear him and he’d succeed ….and he did, and he did.  Thank goodness.

“…and when my life is over, remember when we were together, we were alone and now I’m singing this song for you…”

By late afternoon yesterday I told my sister, who’s SO sad for me that I won’t see him LIVE (we’d have had SO much fun!), that just the JOYFUL ANTICIPATION OF SEEING LEON is something I can’t ignore….I got SUCH pleasure from the anticipation that, while it won’t happen now, I can’t deny IT WAS SOOOOOO GREAT TO LOOK FORWARD TO!!

SO, Leon…”I’ll love you in a place where there’s no space and time, I love you for my life, you are a friend of mine……….”   Keep playing the high notes, Leon.  God’s listening now.

By…..Z

My blog categories now include “Leon Russell”…in honor of him!

This entry was posted in Leon Russell, music. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Leon Russell…a Tribute

  1. bunkerville says:

    We lost way too many this week. Put me down for Leonard Cohen as one to be very much missed.

  2. @ bunkerville,

    DITTO!

  3. Kid says:

    He was a unique talent. Yes, you can hear him in some of the Elton John stuff.

    Sorry you won’t get to see him Z.

  4. geeez2014 says:

    Kid “can hear him in some of the Elton John stuff.” Definitely LOTS of piano riffs that are SO reminiscent and it made sense when I heard Elton say Leon was his idol…..
    My sis gave me the “Union” CD they did about 3 yrs ago, and when my computer tower crashed and had to be taken in, they totalled it and I forgot the CD was in there.. 😦

    Bunk and JMB…not a huge Cohen fan here (I think I’m anti-semitic..!!!)
    But I DID love his HALLELUJAH

  5. I really enjoyed Leon Russell with the Joe Cocker band and then there was all that studio work you did with the Wrecking Crew and then his early career after Joe Cocker but before he went somewhat popular and rock starish..

  6. And when my life is over I hope you will remember that we were alone and I was singing my song to you.
    I remember.

  7. geeez2014 says:

    “rock star-ish?” He never did.

Leave a Reply

