HAPPY THANKSGIVING

thank-you-god

On this holiday I love so much, I wanted to share these quotes with you:

My personal favorite is “The Pilgrims made seven times more graves than huts.  No Americans have been more impoverished than these who, nevertheless, set aside a day of thanksgiving.”  H.U. Westermayer

I always include my Thanksgiving post from my old blog HERE on SQUANTO, the Indian Native American who miraculously had learned English in England, and came back just in time to help our forefathers with how to manage this new land they had found.  Can’t you hear it? “You mean you speak ENGLISH?”  🙂

thanksgiving robert todd lincoln estate“If you want to turn your life around, try thankfulness.  It will change your life mightily.”  Gerald Good

thanksgiving-prayer

I love “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Chris Jesus.”  I Thessalonians 5: 16-18

I wish you all a VERY HAPPY THANKSGIVING….full of not only turkey, stuffing and mashed potatoes, but THANKS, too!

And, by the way, here’s something I strongly believe:

“Who does not thank for little will not thank for much.”  Estonian Proverb

thanksgiving-food

            Be blessed!  Eat all you want!  Celebrate America with THANKS!

BY THE WAY:  PUTTING POLITICS ASIDE (THE ELECTION, ETC.) WOULD YOU LIKE TO SHARE WITH US SOMETHING YOU’RE PERSONALLY REALLY GRATEFUL FOR THIS YEAR?

z

 

 

This entry was posted in holiday. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to HAPPY THANKSGIVING

  1. bunkerville says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Z to you and all your readers. Have a super great day!

    Like

  2. bocopro says:

    Long time ago, when my two oldest grandsons were young and ignorant, they thought it was cool that I could put words in odd arrangements and make stuff rhyme. In their innocence, they asked me to write a poem about Thanksgiving dinner.

    They’ve since learned never to ask me for poems.

    The stuffing was spicy.
    The turkey was plump.
    In those instant potatoes
    We found not one lump.

    The creamed corn was delish.
    The yams were so sweet.
    The ham was quite tasty.
    Cranberries, a treat.

    The biscuits were perfect.
    The gravy just so.
    The meal was a triumph,
    A feast, don’t you know.

    Two pies topped it all off,
    One lemon meringue.
    A pumpkin with whipped cream
    Was quite just the thing.

    We all drank fresh coffee
    And loosened our pants
    Our stomachs the size of
    A bull elephant’s.

    We all swore to never
    Eat that much again.
    We’re all starting diets
    To lose at least ten.

    Tomorrow it’s oatmeal
    For breakfast, we vow.
    “And salads for lunch,”
    We all say, at least now.

    But I see that turkey
    Sliced up so precise
    Just waiting for mayo
    On white bread, how nice!

    The dark meat all stripped off
    The carcass, now cold,
    To be baked in a pasta
    And cheese casserole.

    For days I’ll be eating
    From leftover store
    ‘Til I can’t look a yam
    In the face any more.

    But four weeks from today
    There will be a repeat
    Of that exact same meal
    And we’ll all overeat.

    Like

  3. I am thakful for the Sacrifice on the Cross that allows me (us) to approach the Throne of God with supplication, and further thanks.
    It was His Divine Inspiration that gave us the country we live in today.
    May we continue to be Inspired.

    Like

  4. jerrydablade says:

    What Ed said… and mashed potatoes. Happy Thanksgiving, Z!

    Like

  5. Angel says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Z!!! my loyal friend! xoxox

    Like

  6. Sparky says:

    I’m thankful that we seem to be getting America back again! I’m gonna buy an American flag and fly it which I haven’t done for, oh, well over 12 years now. Maybe longer. Feeling really encouraged.
    THANKFUL to be in America. Thankful know such wonderful blogging patriots like yourself. Thankful for so many things.
    Have a blessed day. HAPPY THANKSGIVING Z! Luv ~:)

    Like

  7. maryadrienne says:

    Have a wonderful day, Geeez. What Ed said plus the election, MAGA

    Like

  8. FB says:

    Happy Thanskgiving to you and everyone else. We’re in ID at Mrs FB’s sister’s. Driving to Coeur d’Alene on Friday! Thankful I wasn’t stuck on 405 yesterday 🙂

    Like

  9. geeez2014 says:

    BUnker…same to you!

    Bocopro…another terrific poem! Thanks….and yes, Thanksgiving leftovers are SO GOOOOD!

    Ed and Jerry…thanks!

    Angel, my comment went into your spam AGAIN! I thought it was working, but….have a wonderful day! Great blog post there! as usual

    Sparky! THANK YOU! Yes, get the flag, but PRAY the recounts don’t push Trump right OUT of his president-elect position; it might get serious. so sad.

    Adrienne…best wishes for a very blessed THanksgiving

    FB…enjoy!! (nobody travels on the 405 the day before a holiday unless they’re hoping to get stuck!!! LEAVE VERY EARLY is the mantra!) Say HI to Mrs. FB

    Like

  10. geeez2014 says:

    PLEASE PRAY…the calls for election recounts aimed at keeping Trump from the presidency are getting stronger and stronger…but I would NOT recommend you pray this out loud at your family Thanksgiving table 🙂

    Like

  11. bocopro says:

    Sheeesh! Can you imagine the turmoil and chaos that abrogation of the election results would usher in? Or a mutiny by the electors next month declaring HRC PotUS-elect?

    Imagine a PotUS under perpetual investigation by Congress with everpresent threat of impeachment hovering like the Sword of Damocles? Boy, THAT’d be a great boost to our economy, and our credibility.

    Thankful? Well, I’m particularly thankful for two unrelated things:

    First that when I found my dream girl back there 55 years ago, I had the marvelously good sense to go all Spanish about it — (the Spanish word for handcuff is the same as for wife).

    Second that https://scontent-ord1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/14963232_590064867853372_7302842333211154226_n.jpg?oh=2d2828bab6afb0ec109a9e58c6aaf0a6&oe=58C6C011

    Like

  12. FB says:

    I hope the recount will take into account all the illegals voting.

    Like

  13. Thanksgiving blessings to you, Z.

    Like

  14. Baysider says:

    Oh Sparky, my house would be easy for you to spot. You come to Soviet Monica, and it’s the one with the American flag proudly flying day and night for decades. It inspired my neighbor across the street to join me, so we’re a tiny oasis in a leftist of leftist towns.

    This day especially I’m grateful for a solution in our property exchange, and for the Lord bringing me to the point of calm and acceptance and trust in His direction through a tremendous amount of turmoil and uncertainty with a huge pot of $$$ in jeopardy.

    We’re doing a small thing today, and more with my brother tomorrow. Enjoy your time with your aunt and uncle!

    Like

  15. Kid says:

    Have a great Thanksgiving Z.

    I’m thankful we don’t have a lot of problems I see in people around me – Health, Financial, miscellaneous.

    Like

  16. Mal says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to all! I love Bocopro’s poem, too. You got it, man!
    We have been invited to dinner with friends here in Sun City. When we asked what we can bring they said nothing, but we can bring canned goods for the hungry if we wanted, which is the true spirit of Thanksgiving, so my wife prepared a box full of food to take.

    Like

  17. geeez2014 says:

    People are more blase about this electoral college group NOT voting for Trump, and a recount, than I am, that’s for sure. Just the thought of this all changing around is tough to take. impossible, perhaps, to take?

    bocopro; let’s hope that link doesn’t have to change….

    Ever notice how most hacking/cheating, voting fraud, etc., is against Republicans? Hmmm.

    FB.. yes,.illegals AND other fraud…even just in MY area, where we’re not even a swing state. PLENTY of it happened according to emails I’ve been seeing…from workers at precincts…

    Mal, that’s the spirit!

    Baysider, always interests me that we don’t see many Dems with flags flying….doesn’t surprise me, just interests me. And CHristmas lights, too…..

    AOW…fabulous to see you’re commenting…so so glad this surgery’s BEHIND YOU! Giving Thanks! XXX

    Like

  18. geeez2014 says:

    https://www.yahoo.com/news/trump-defeated-clinton-10-704-votes-michigan-unofficial-225331639.html

    Trump has more than 10,000 more than Hillary in Michigan, according to info released yesterday. That’s one of the 3 states in question…

    FB is right; will they count illegal votes, dead people voting? there are so many reports on that but those FACTS just FADE AWAY about as fast as anything gleaned from a senate hearing that goes against a liberal…..GONE…

    Like

  19. Mal says:

    I can’t figure out if they want a recount because they still can’t understand how she could, lose or if they are so spoiled they have to have everything THEIR way. We didn’t do this to them during the last 2 elections despite accusations of voter fraud. They need to quit whining and just “suck it up, cupcake”!

    Like

  20. Z,
    I’m far from being well. But I no longer feel as if I’m going to die. I’ve been feeling that death was right around the corner since April. I came close — too close. Kidney trouble is horrific.

    Like

  21. Mal says:

    AOW, my prayers go out to you. No one appreciates good health until they are sick. I’m happy you are on the mend and hope it continues.

    Like

Leave a Reply

