Sunday Faith Blog…My Favorite Rabbi’s Rant!

Some of you know I have a dear Rabbi friend.  He sent me the following rant in regard to something we were discussing and I wanted to have you all read it.  I figured that coming into the Christmas season was a nice time to post it.  I hope you appreciate it as much as I do:

“This country was founded by Christians, with distinctly Christian values and attitudes.  The vast majority of its citizens are anywhere from nominal to religious Christian.  Who in their right mind disputes this?

But not just that — our society derives enormous strength and vitality from its  fundamentally American Christian character.  That character is what drives us to liberate oppressed nations, open our national checkbook to the needy abroad and take personal responsibility for the needy amongst us.  Without our American Christian character we would be France or Britain.

For the 1.4% of us who care, Hanukkah is usually over by mid-december, and Kwanzaa doesn’t matter.  We SHOULD be saying Merry Christmas at the end of December — ALL of us should!!!

Christmas is a national folk holiday for all non-Christian in America.  I don’t have to accept Jesus as my savior or go to a Christmas service to be happy when Christmas time is here.

PS– let us grow up by bringing back manger scenes to main street America.  And stop insisting that a menorah be placed wherever a Christmas tree appears, it’s just ridiculous!!

Z:  Clearly, if the whole country felt like my friend did we’d be a lot better off…less divisiveness, less thin skinned hurt feelings, more respect for all faiths, etc.  You can see why I’m so fond of this friend and respect and admire him so much.  Would that all people were like him.

This entry was posted in My Favorite Rabbi Rant, Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog…My Favorite Rabbi’s Rant!

  1. No room for argument there.
    Many Jews feel exactly the same way.
    My friend Nate felt that way, along with Dennis Prager and Michael Medved,

  2. John M. Berger says:

    “our society derives enormous strength and vitality from its fundamentally American Christian character.”
    WELL SAID! Those who would think otherwise, e.g. Moslems, should stay out lest [they] vie to change the very fabric of this great nation into the HELL from whence they come!

  3. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, I know some who have said “My husband gets bugged by how many CHURCHES are around here!’…which really surprised me..BUT, I think you’re right…MOST Jews basically feel this way. Sadly, I’ve heard otherwise more than once.

    JMB….absolutely…Jews and Christians stand for our laws, our values…I love being part of THE CLAN 🙂

  4. bunkerville says:

    I don’t recall Jews insisting we get rid of our Christian Holidays. Or Buddhism or Hinduism. Only the Muslims. Says it all

  5. Sparky says:

    The Rabbi said it very well. I agree. It is sad, though, that he is apparently surrounded by people of faith and still hasn’t given his heart to his Messiah. I pray that one day soon he will recognize that Jesus is the Messiah that he may be saved.
    May the LORD bless and keep you. ~:)

  6. Mal says:

    Sparky, your comment reminded me of something I read quite awhile back about a Rabbi and a Catholic Priest who were good friends and got together socially often. One day, the Priest asked, “Rabbi, what if……just what if……..Jesus does return as the Messiah. What then?”, to which the Rabbi said, “You know, it wouldn’t surprise me a bit”.

  7. geeez2014 says:

    sparky, he’s very surrounded by people of faith; I have a small Bible study here with another couple, him and me…we only study the Old Testament. Mostly we eat, drink some wine, talk conservative politics and laugh, but we do enjoy the quiet time of studying Psalms and other OT books…and his insight is INCREDIBLE, INVALUABLE…..he and the other couple’s husband are VERY close friends….they talk faith all the time. He’s an amazingly good and bright guy…

    Mal, I believe MANY MANY well educated Jews believe that.

    Bukerville: BINGO!

  8. Kid says:

    Makes perfect sense. Dec 25th is celebrated as Jesus Christ’s birthday by many around the world. Anyone who wants to interfere with that is an *******.

  9. geeez2014 says:

    https://www.yahoo.com/news/trump-issues-stunning-claim-that-millions-voted-illegally-205918708.html
    Uhoh…i had to return to politics today.
    WHY THE HECK DOES HE DO THESE THINGS? WE know there was plenty of fraud (i saw enough in my own precinct in 20 minutes there!…and I’m getting emails from someone who gathered facts and the election people don’t even want to know about them!), but Trump should NOT SAY THESE THINGS WITHOUT ABSOLUTE PHYSICAL EVIDENCE OF WHAT HE CLAIMS! This is not good…darn

  10. Kid says:

    His defense is obama begging all illegals to go vote.

  11. Mal says:

    “Roses are reddish, Violets are blueish,
    If it wasn’t for Christmas, we’d all be Jewish”!

    ;o)

  12. bocopro says:

    Ben Stein published an article very much like that about 10 years ago or so. Said it’s the spirit of the season, not necessarily religion, and he’s very thankful for it . . . makes him feel better.

    And on rabbis – about 15 years back I wrote a piece on the soul with quotes from various sources. Made sure I got at least one from an Arab, a Catholic, an Asian, and a Rabbi. You can always depend on rabbis to give you an oblique take on ticklish issues, one that makes you think:

    And from a rabbi:

    “Ah, the soul! It’s like politics: everybody always talks about it without having the slightest idea what it is. The soul is an entity all to itself, separate and distinct from us physically, because its essence is spiritual, not of the body. So where it goes when we die is not relevant. It’s like asking where love goes when it disappears.”

    Most of the ones I’ve come across have been a whole lot better at condensing complex issues down to provocative aphorisms than I am.

  13. geeez2014 says:

    bocopro..yes, Ben Stein does say this…so does Dennis Prager and so does Michael Medved….
    I love my friend and it’s nice to actually know someone with these feelings…particularly a RABBI!
    Um…asking where the soul goes is quintessential to Christianity, so I’m not on the same page, as aren’t most people, but that’s an interesting take! And, of course, nobody knows but those already ‘there’..

    Mal…haven’t heard that in a WHILE and it IS cute!

    Kid, do you have a link of that because I HAD heard he said something like that. and it’s astonishing… Ooops…I found this….don’t stop reading it, it gets more interesting as it goes…I’d LOVE to hear your thoughts…
    http://hotair.com/archives/2016/11/07/video-obama-encouraging-illegal-immigrants-vote/

  14. Kid says:

    Thanks for the link Z. I saw obama on video urging them. So, I’m going with nothing else needed.

    They say 11 million illegals. And of course it depend on how many were in swing states. Like if they were all in California or New York, whats the diff.

    Souls. I believe our soul is Who We Are. We all know who we are from the positives to the negatives and who we are lives on without any inhabitions or pretenses.

  15. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, but the link shows it could have been taken wrong and kind of makes a case for that opinion!…that’s why I asked.

  16. At my friend Nate’s funeral this week, the rabbi specifically invoked the Mourner’s Kaddish, which we recited, each recitation encouraging the soul to rise toward heaven, in his opinion.

  17. geeez2014 says:

    Ed. there ya go….my rabbi friend would agree, obviously…Bocopro’s rabbi is an odd one, it seems.

    Kid, thanks,…well, my article’s comments try to wiggle him out of what he said, but it’s pretty clear….except how the HECK can a president even SUGGEST that knowing he’s on TAPE??Did you see the comments under your video!? Man, excoriating Obama. HURRAH 🙂

  18. Kid says:

    excoriating Obama…

    After 8 years of this POS, it is a wonder anyone still has the energy.

  19. geeez2014 says:

    well said, Kid! I know we’re all REAL TIRED of him!

Leave a Reply

