Petraeus…betray us?

“CROOKED HILLARY!  CROOKED HILLARY!  EMAILS DESTROYED!  LYING!  HIDING THE TRUTH!  PLAYING LOOSE WITH OUR SECURITY!”    Trump said…

“I have an idea!” Trump now says…”let’s entertain the idea of General Petraeus as Secretary of State, who’s in charge of our biggest secrets!……….oh, wait…………..”  (yes, we thought the Petraeus case was over…he plead guilty! But it’s not….and…uhoh)

GOOD IDEA???

Z

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Petraeus…betray us?

  1. I’ll repost a paraphrase on Petraeus that I wrote over at Silverfiddle’s: Petraeus has a unique resume in dealing with foreign leaders at the national level, and during times of crisis. He’s an excellent manager and has shown creativity in the face of plodding bureaucracy. I’m not sure though, that I can easily dismiss his intentional storage and spillage of classified information…followed by evasion and lying regarding the same.

    The risk-averse, stultified culture at State literally screams for someone like Petraeus to take the helm and steer the agency into relevance…….and knowing him as “P4” back in the day……Petraeus would be the right fit for that role……if I could only get past the manner in which he trivialized his security clearance.

  2. bunkerville says:

    Not Romney. Period

  3. geeez2014 says:

    This morning, Jason Chaffitz said “Well, Petraeus paid for his mistake, so…” I kind of feel that it’s the character, not the fine…so what if he paid; it was a dangerous thing to do, a weakness in character.

    CI…I’m with you. I didn’t know as much as you do about him, that’s for sure, but I SO admired much about him until that breach..SO much about him. What do you think of Chaffitz, in my above comment? Don’t you feel payment isn’t enough to clean Petraeus enough to be handling REALLY high levels of security again?

    I WISH it could be him……but they’ll shred him apart in the hearings unless he has the GUTS to respond to “What about what you did with secret info?” “I very much understand your concern. I did the wrong thing. It was a terrible thing to do and, if anybody knows how important that was, it’s me. But I will run the tightest ship that State’s ever been and I ask for your support now. All of us have done the wrong thing at times in our life, mine was bad and made public (and it should have been): I ask for forgiveness, I ask for the opportunity to do a lot of good for our country.”

    I wonder how that’d go over.

    Bunkerville….I’m starting to side with you on this. I was a pretty big fan of Romney until he LITERALLY could have got Hillary elected in his public disdain for Trump’s character (which I also have but would have NEVER EVER, for example, said the anti-Trump stuff to ANY LIBERALS in my private life OR here if I allowed liberal readers/commenters)

    BY THE WAY, folks…I also was FURIOUS, some of you’ll remember, when Romney lost because he couldn’t get a coherent sentence out of his mouth while HE was running, couldn’t show any personality, couldn’t be STRONG and EFFECTIVE in his candidacy, then SUDDENLY, after losing, becomes some kind of paragon of articulation! Remember? Suddenly humorous…suddenly a pretty good communicator? I couldn’t BELIEVE it “Where WERE You when we needed a Republican president?”
    the jerk. I SO hope Trump disses him now.

  4. John M. Berger says:

    I still want John Bolton?

  5. Baysider says:

    I liked Romney in many ways. Not my ideal, but I always thought that lack of articulate connection was from handlers tightly controlling message and mien. It was the classic case of beltway handlers arranging the chess board (poorly). His campaign manager actually said something like “I don’t have an idealogy” — no wonder there was no message!! I agree with Prager, they ran him as a “Mr. Fix-It” and they needed ideological leadership.

    Rather have Bolton as SoS. He’s actually very diplomatic and effectively presses our interest with – ahem – buy-ins.

    BTW, as I recall the case, the media leapt on Petraeus to make him look as bad as possible. He and the person he shared the file with had security clearance to see that information. It was taking home, was it not?? Any rate, Obama was out to deep six him because he didn’t back their version of Benghazi. P did the right thing then, even to terrible personal cost.

  6. Mal says:

    Actually, using Romney could be seen as a brilliant move, given the GOP is trying to re-group (as well as the Dems). By doing this, he puts the guilt on Romney for saying the things he did. Kind of a “love thy enemy” situation. It also makes Trump a bigger man in everyone’s eyes. Trump probably admires the successful career of Romney and needs all the sharp negotiators like himself that he can get ’cause if Trump wants to succeed with all he has promised, he’s gonna need ’em!
    Now, as to Petraeus, hey! The guy is human. “Let he who is w/o sin……..” etc. Besides, not only has he suffered enough embarrassment, compared to what Hillary did, it was nothing, and most agree he probably has the most experience for the job. If we look for squeeky-clean” individuals, no one would qualify, and even if they did, would probaby be terrible at the job.

  7. John M. Berger says:

    Re: “I still want John Bolton?”
    The question mark should have been an explanation point.

    THE APPOINTMENT TO SECRETARY of STATE:
    If you ask me the appointment of Petraeus is just asking for trouble from the LIMPIMG LEFT, desperate to ‘dig-up’ anything negative about the vanquishing Right. Newt, apparently, doesn’t want it, Rudi would be OK but I’ll be damned if I can understand why Romney, who I once supported and who now gives me the creeps, is getting so much attention. All of that said [any] of the above, under the auspices of Trump, will be an improvement over the past eight years; although I was in hopes for more than just an “improvement”

  8. Sparky says:

    I dunno, Z. This is kinda over my head but, like Bunkerville said, at least it’s not Romney. 🙂 I just keep praying. Don’t know what else to do especially concerning foreign matters which are totally over my head. xx

  9. Kid says:

    Well, I want someone who understands what the moslems are up to as well as Giuiani and an Allen West for example. People like the legislators in Oklahoma who are workign on legislation to ahve all the pro-islam ornagizations kickjed out of their state. That needs to go nationwide. The trojan horse countries need to be on a tight leash and the point man is the SoS for that.

  10. bocopro says:

    Well, so far DJT’s “dream team” is shaping up to be MUCH more reassuring than what we might’ve got with HRC:

    Veep – Huma (after Kaine’s unfortunate “accident”)
    COS – Debbie Whatsername Slutz
    Press Sec — Cher
    SecState – Rosie O’Donnell
    SecDef – Barbara Streisand
    SecTreas – Chelsea (either one)
    SecCommerce – Monica Lewinsky
    SecLabor – Amy Schumer
    SecEd — Beyonce
    SCotUS replacement for Scalia – Oprah

  11. Kid says:

    I’m pro-Petraeus also. I’m not going to give the slightest thought to how the left might react because I guarantee you right now, Trump will do nothing right as far as they are concerned.

  12. Z – Irrespective of what the Left might think, although Petraeus would do a damn fine job….I still have reservations on rewarding the willful mishandling of classified information, and lying about it.

  13. geeez2014 says:

    CI…thanks, as I said above, I have those misgivings, too. Sad, isn’t it.

    Baysider, Petraeus admitted wrong doing and, I believe, paid $100K…
    I liked much about Romney at the time, too…..he was just personality-less UNTIL after the election, when he finally had something to say. But his treatment of Trump was indefensible…particularly when Hillary was at stake.

    Kid, you’re right about the Left…CNN is absolute COMIC RELIEF these days. ANY time of day or night and they’re running some anti Trump piece.
    This morning Chris Cuomo attacked a Trump surrogate, saying about the students burning the flag and Trump’s saying those people ought to have citizenship revoked or be jailed..”So, wait…now that Trump’s president, we put aside the Constitution and just bow to what he’ll be saying!?” Seriously, Cuomo said that.
    By the way. I think MOST Americans feel that SHOULD happen to flag burners; Trump never said he’s going to try to invoke that.
    LOVIN’ ME SOME OKLAHOMA! (Plus, LEON was born there 🙂 I watched his whole memorial service on YouTube last night! It was surprisingly dull as DIRT but I did learn how much people loved hi.m…men who worked with him were sobbing as they talked about him. me, too, a little!

    bocopro…that’s a fun exercise! Thanks..good choices!

    Sparky, they are NOT over your head!! !! How’s the cough today?

    JMB…I love Bolton…had the pleasure of meeting him a few years ago at a Jewish Republican event…told him I was his biggest fan! He looked stunned and a bit pleased, I think!

  14. geeez2014 says:

    “Donald J. Trump ✔ @realDonaldTrump
    Nobody should be allowed to burn the American flag – if they do, there must be consequences – perhaps loss of citizenship or year in jail!forbids the government removal of citizenship for a natural-born American.”

    He should KNOW we can’t lose our citizenship and that the darned Supreme Court thinks flag burning is a First Amendment right (I don’t)…but I AGREE…there must be consequences and he said PERHAPS..

    BY the way, Hillary Clinton voted for flag burners to go to jail…..but the Left’s conveniently forgotten that

  15. geeez2014 says:

    Gosh, Neil Cavuto just showed a ‘selfie video’ taken from the airplane that crashed in Colombia (I believe?) where almost a whole soccer team was killed….it made my stomach turn looking at those handsome fresh young faces laughing, smiling, enjoying the flight “only minutes before the crash”….I sort of wish they wouldn’t show this stuff. AWFUL AWFUL!

  16. geeez2014 says:

    There’s an announcement coming ‘before dinner’ tonight from Trump’s folks….just before the Trumps and Romney’s go out to eat together. hmmmm. Astonishing…think this is it?

    Neil Cavuto said he’s checking the Olive Garden to see if they’re in there 🙂

  17. geeez2014 says:

    Interesting that Trump–hating Krauthammer’s REAL impressed with Trump’s choices so far.

  18. geeez2014 says:

    Sickening to see Rand Paul on Carlson ‘s terrific job lobbying for the Sec of State job.

  19. geeez2014 says:

    I LOVE TUCKER CARLSON…he just told a flag burner “Don’t be a PIG” at the end of their interview!! HAA!!

  20. Did I read correctly above, that you’d support criminal penalties for burning the flag?

    And another nail in the Petraeus coffin is his support for Gabby Gifford’s gun control group.

  21. bocopro says:

    What I’d like to see for flag abusers merely exercising their right to free speech is total immunity for guys exercising their right to disagree with flag burning and punchin ’em in the snotlocker for it.

  22. Baysider says:

    This didn’t grab a lot of headlines (yet), but looks like an excellent cabinet pick. http://www.investors.com/politics/editorials/bye-bye-obamacare-tom-price-to-head-hhs/
    Tom Price has already put together a plan to supplant the ACA mess here.

  23. geeez2014 says:

    CI….I can’t support penalties for burning the flag because it’s under the First Amendment, and I don’t agree with that but it is what it is. And if Petraeus supports the Gifford thing, I hope Trump’s discussed that with him and decided against him.

    bocopro! GOOD ONE…And “snotlocker” ? HILARIOUS!

    Baysider, Dr Price is the best pick Trump could have made…he’d engineered all the ideas the Republicans had in making healthcare better before the ACA…you know, the ones the media ignores all the time?…(buying over state lines, etc?)l….and he says he’s ready now to FIX insurance and keep people insured during the repeal/repair process. The guy’s a genius and is getting quite some good coverage on TV news.
    I’m TOTALLY against privatizing medicare so that’s a tough one for me, but in general, Price is excellent.

Leave a Reply

