General James Mattis…Mad Dog ROCKS

mattis

I LIKE GENERAL “MAD DOG” MATTIS SO MUCH!  HERE is an article including some of his quotes…..You’ll love the public comments under the article…they love him!

“It’s all the more important today that we hold to our precious legacy of ferocious, ethical combat performance.”     It doesn’t get better than that. … it just doesn’t.

What do you think of him?

Z

This entry was posted in military, Trump. Bookmark the permalink.

68 Responses to General James Mattis…Mad Dog ROCKS

  1. Fredd says:

    I think Mad Dog will do just fine as Secretary of Defense. Just fine.

  2. bocopro says:

    Very likely the best man available for the job at this time. Strong message to troublemakers when your SecDef is a guy called “Mad Dog” and has a rep for writin down names of potstirrers and strikin a thick black line thru ’em.

    Problem is that pesky law those guys made back during the time of dictators who ruled by military strength. Flag-rank officers not eligible for the job ’til they’d been out of office 10 years, lost all their connections, their loyal troops had grown long in the tooth.

    Then in 1950 a change to the law was required for Marshall (with special circumstances) who’d been out of uni for only 7 years. Now we want to alter the law further and drop it to 3. Not entirely confident that’s a good precedent. In fact, prob’ly a dangerous one. By the prickling of my thumbs, Seven Days In May ominously comes to mind.

    And while I’m on the general subject, I’m not exactly thrilled with Mnuchin as SecTreas, a Goldman/Sachs dude who’s quite chummy with Soros. Ditto for Ross as Commerce, a Democrat who looks to me more like somebody Hillary would choose.

    Hey, I realize you can’t put rookies in those jobs when you’re tryin to get the economic wheels out of the mud and the debt down to somethin less than a fire-breathin 3-headed dragon . . . we tried that 8 years ago and look where it got us. But still, Democrats? If he’s throwin a line across the aisle for solidarity, I’m not sure I approve.

    And Chao — anybody get a whiff of nepotism there? I mean, she’s demonstrably capable, having been Labor Sec in the Shrub Dynasty, but wife of the Senate majority leader? What gives, Don? How’s all that “draining the swamp?”

    Izzis all some kind of ploy to placate the electors on December 19th? Sorta let ’em know that you’re a reasonable guy after all the campaign bluster and snark?

  3. Hail Mattis, Patron Saint of Chaos.

    The retired Marines I work with have been insufferable yesterday……but Mattis is the best choice…by far. My Marine colleagues have been explaining to anyone who would listen, with wide grins how the DoD was either now going to revert back to the “War Department”…or be renamed the “Department of Offense”

    I do count myself lucky though, I work with folks who worked directly for Mattis at one level or another. It’s great insight.

    Congress need only grant him a waiver to serve as SecDef.

    If only a similar warrior would be NSA, instead of Flynn.

  4. Break things and kill people.
    Not nation building.
    Not social experimentation.
    Defend the national interests.

  5. When he runs for president, his campaign will be “Mad Dog 2020!”.

  6. Boco: I’ve been waiting for those Seven Days for 8 years.
    I guess we survived without them.

  7. It seems to me that what the United States needs right now is a show of strength after Obama’s inane and wimpy policies. General Mattis is that show of strength.

  8. geeez2014 says:

    jBocopro, all your facts are correct and those in ‘the know’ believe he’ll no doubt get a waiver. We need a military man in that position and he’s the best at this point.
    I thought Chao’s selection stank, too, tho she’s highly capable…sends a rotten message of nepotism and even brown nosing on Trump’s part.

    I agree with everyone….Go, MAD DOG!

  9. geeez2014 says:

    https://www.yahoo.com/gma/sarah-palin-says-trumps-carrier-deal-could-crony-003404827–abc-news-topstories.html
    In typical Sarah Palin fashion, she isn’t getting enough attention right now, so she’s slamming Trump’s Carrier deal, as if she’s the expert?

    Of course, she knows it gives Yahoo, and other leftwing outlets, a chance to leave her headline up longer than they usually do because it’s “Republicans slamming Republicans,” which they love to do (good job, Sarah…you got your attention), and, the really GOOD THING, is she’s probably big-mouthed herself out of any cabinet position Trump had considered giving her. (if he’s not still living by the “I’ll pick Romney for State because he hates me” mantra!)

    !!!!

  10. geeez2014 says:

    “As the Trojan family mourns Professor Tjan’s untimely passing, we will keep his family in our thoughts,” Nikias said.
    I thought that statement from USC after the stabbing death of Prof Tjan was interesting…just “our thoughts”…and I wondered what good their thoughts do for the victim’s family. “Thoughts and prayers” is so nondenominational, so nonthreatening, so much more expansive. But…gee…someone might get offended, right?

  11. Mal says:

    What Sarah Palin (and others like CNN) said about Trump and the Carrier deal is wrong. He didn’t make any special deal for them. He has said constantly if elected he will cut corporate tax from 35% down to 15%. I believe that, as well as a “35% import tax if they moved to Mexico, is what prompted them to stay. It will apply to everyone, ergo, not a “special deal” for Carrier.

  12. Mal says:

    Z, I believe a Trump presidency will once again allow us to say “thoughts AND PRAYERS”.
    ‘Ya suppose?

  13. geeez2014 says:

    CI! You are SO knee-jerk when anybody mentions prayer or Christmas or faith! My gosh!

    Of course it’s allowed!! I know you don’t need to be told, so I won’t bore myself or you typing here most of our feelings that using ‘prayer’ needn’t be left off, that Bibles on desks in the military, that wearing a cross on a teacher at a public high school (all attacked), etc etc, are not disagreeable and the criticisms of things like that are just plain silly. unAmerican, in fact..

  14. Mrs Grundy says:

    Sarah Palin is 100% correct. Crony capital is what Putin and the Commies in China do.

  15. geeez2014 says:

    Sarah Palin is a JERK. The ONLY good thing about her typical mouthing off every time she’s not getting enough attention is that, hopefully, she just mouthed herself out of a cabinet position.

    As if Crony Capitalism isn’t done around the world? And by Obama and every other president?

  16. I’d say that I’m certainly ‘knee-jerk’ with respect to invention, hypocrisy, political correctness, the free market and abuse of civil liberties. Guilty as charged. But I’m a staunch defender of religious freedom.

  17. geeez2014 says:

    CI….Not sure about the other things, but you are certainly ‘knee jerk’ EVERY single time someone mentions the slightest thing about Christian fiath. I’m glad you’re so righteous and such a defender of religious freedom.

    Mrs. Grundy, as if we can ever get around crony capitalism. Think, man. There’s crony capitalism among California almond farmers doing deals at the diner at 5 AM, there’s crony capitalism between a fashion designer in NYC and who she sells her fashions to.
    Ya, Sarah Palin, of all people, is going to rid the world of crony capitalism. 🙂

  18. Z – Nope…..just when people lie in pursuit of victim status. That’s what Leftists do….and you wouldn’t support that…..right?

  19. geeez2014 says:

    CI….I have no idea what you’re alluding to. I’m not big on victim status, that is FOR SURE.

  20. geeez2014 says:

    https://www.yahoo.com/news/trump-speaks-directly-taiwans-leader-irking-china-052230733–politics.html
    This is amusing now…maybe this was Trump’s “stupid like a fox” routine …it got China’s attention that things might not be the same anymore….:-) I’m not schooled enough to know the huge challenge of CHina, but Trump isn’t either…so I wish he’d wait till the State Department starts TEACHING HIM, but I like that China’s so understated in their response (unlike the headline title Yahoo gave it)….maybe the’re a tad nervous? I like that!

    EVERYBODY: I have a CHinese 15 yr old living with me now who goes to the school I’m associated with…the other night he rec’d a package and couldn’t find parts, couldn’t figure out the directions…he was frustrated and not too happy. I said “Where’d it come from!?” He said “China.” I said “Well, what do you expect?” He stopped, looked at me, and burst into laughter with me! WHat a moment! 🙂

  21. geeez2014 says:

    http://althouse.blogspot.com/2016/12/chinas-reaction-is-relatively-mild-it.html

    OMG!!!! One of the brightest bloggers I know covered what I said above about China as I did in my comment! I don’t read her enough but just did and scrolling down just now, I saw the linked article! Ha! She was a leftwing professor http://althouse.blogspot.com/p/about-ann-althouse.html and turned RIGHT a few years ago…. love her.

    Kinda thrilled she feels how I did, considering she knows a HECK of a lot more about this stuff than I do. I recommend her blog….it gets a little lagging sometimes, but she picks it up with snappy stuff fairly regularly!

  22. Kid says:

    Agree with Ed’s first comment, LOL at the 2nd one.

  23. geeez2014 says:

    Ya, not sure I mentioned that but meant to…Ed’s first comment is good….
    I don’t think he’ll run for president…Hopefully, he won’t need to by then!

  24. Kid says:

    Z, the best comment I read about Palin and the potential job offer was that she flew to her first joint rally on Trump’s plane, and flew back commercial, and didn’t attend any more rallies. I would define her as a media troll who only has talking points to toss out. I don’t want her doing anything important.

  25. Mrs Grundy says:

    So sad, Z, that you would find an economic corruption so widespread that you would advocate for its continuation…

    Go Sarah!

  26. Kid says:

    Z, Do you know what Mad Dog 20 20 is? 🙂 2nd from left.

    http://bumwine.com/

  27. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, she lost ME when we had hopes for Romney as president and she and her bus rolled into some smallish town on the East Coast where Romney was appearing….all her fans went THERE, as she knew they would. And then she said “Gee! I don’t know what the big deal is, I’m just a soccer mom!” AND she complained how she can’t travel that much cuz they can’t afford gas for their bus!
    She’s DONE for me.

  28. geeez2014 says:

    Mrs. Grundy..yes, and if I had, in fact, said that, I’d think it was sad, too.

  29. geeez2014 says:

    http://www.mediaite.com/online/why-is-trumps-secretary-of-defense-pick-james-mattis-nicknamed-mad-dog/%5D

    KID, I didn’t know that… I Googled and found out a few reasons why he has this moniker he apparently doesn’t much like!
    http://www.mediaite.com/online/why-is-trumps-secretary-of-defense-pick-james-mattis-nicknamed-mad-dog/
    He’s SUCH an honorable man…

  30. Kid says:

    Z, In full disclosure, she may be a wonderful person/neighbor, but she would make an awful cabinet post.

  31. Kid says:

    Z, It doesn’t surprise me that he doesn’t like the nickname. My impression of Marine officers is that they are gentlemen, respectful of all life, but still capable to get their hands bloody when people who need killin pop up.

  32. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, ya, I know you feel that way about her…I wouldn’t want her as a neighbor or anything else. I can’t listen to that screech and have so little respect for her now, and I was SUCH a FAN , as you know.
    And ya…Mattis is CLASS all the way through……did you see some of his quotes in my article link? FABULOUS …

  33. Kid says:

    Z, Well, I have paid her zero attention since the 08 election campaign. What few lines of hers that have drifted close enough to my eyes on a web page or something are all just stale. If I heard her talking as much as you ellude to for yourself, I may feel that same way.

    Yes, very good quotes.

  34. Mrs Grundy says:

    There’s crony capitalism among California almond farmers doing deals at the diner at 5 AM, there’s crony capitalism between a fashion designer in NYC and who she sells her fashions to.

    Collusion and price fixing is illegal, Z. But, you’re right, if the Government does it through the Managerial State, it’s not “illegal” (by definition), it’s just so much swamp gas

    Drain the swamp!

  35. geeez2014 says:

    “Crony capitalism is a term describing an economy in which success in business depends on close relationships between business people and government officials. It may be exhibited by favoritism in the distribution of legal permits, government grants, special tax breaks, or other forms of state interventionism.[1][2] Crony capitalism is believed to arise when business cronyism and related self-serving behavior by businesses or businesspeople spills over into politics and government,[3] or when self-serving friendships and family ties between businessmen and the government influence the economy and society to the extent that it corrupts public-serving economic and political ideals.”

    There is no unethical COLLUSION when neighborhood almond farmers are looking for the best purchase price……..or when a fashion designer shops her wares to the highest bidder. It’s LIFE. It’sgood business… capitalism

    OBVIOUSLY, nobody approves of government cronyism … it shouldn’t be in the Managerial State, as you put it. And I don’t think all things NOT ILLEGAL should be allowed only because they’re not legal; there’s NOT ETHICAL, too…..and horrid nepotism is crony capitalism carried too far.

    Mrs. Grundy…Explain what YOU think Putin and the Chinese are doing which displays crony capitalism and how that applies to us.

  36. Nobody would call Mattis Mad Dog…to his face. Nobody who valued their life anyway.

    When on the radio, he went by Chaos.

  37. Mrs Grundy says:

    Explain what YOU think Putin and the Chinese are doing which displays crony capitalism and how that applies to us.

    Centralized government economic planning v. a free market. We’re “trending” towards the former.

  38. Mrs Grundy says:

    I prefer our laws and tax code be structured so as to favor a “petit bourgeoisie”, and NOT a “corporate/salaried” bourgeoisie. A nation of owners beats a nation of renters seven days a week.

  39. Mrs Grundy says:

    If Donald Trump wants to save jobs at Carrier, let him put a 90% “tariff” on the importation of air conditioners. Carrier would have to be “crazy” to leave. But he won’t.

  40. Mrs Grundy says:

    My “free market” ends at the US border.

  41. Trump can’t put tariffs anywhere. Even as president, he would need congressional law.

  42. geeez2014 says:

    CI, is he THAT averse to his nickname? Funny! “Chaos!”? He seems like anything but chaotic to ME 🙂
    Probably he does great in chaos.

    Mrs. Grundy, I can finally not disagree with anything you’ve said at the end of this thread.

    Ed, if he tried to implement it as Mrs. Grundy suggests, congress would go for it. It’s NUTS we don’t do that now. And oh, wouldn’t China be freaked out (even more than they supposedly are today? Talk about a tango)

    The problem with tariffs is WE can’t manufacture all the stuff WE NEED, so that has to be done slowly and carefully and, if the ACA is any example, we’re terrible at slow and careful.

  43. Mrs Grundy says:

    Mrs. Grundy, I can finally not disagree with anything you’ve said at the end of this thread.

    Us “Paleocons” are back, Ms. Z. 😉

  44. geeez2014 says:

    you bet, Mrs. G!

  45. I saw Eric do that. I would not argue about tax breaks.
    I would and do, at my place, argue against selective tax breaks, and that is what Palin is objecting to. I think.

  46. geeez2014 says:

    yes, AOW, I hadn’t yet read that link but I had seen Bolling talk about the Carrier deal glowingly several times and, him being the money guy he is, I trust him, though he’s a HUGE Trump fan and that could color his opinions. I think on this he’s right.
    Palin’s always wrong anymore….it’s ALL about her now.

  47. Mrs. Grundy says:

    Eric Bolling ignores the fact that Trumps actions do nothing to help the other American A/C comapnies on the following list:

    Central Air Conditioners, Heat Pumps
    Armstrong Air Conditioning Inc.

    Central Air Conditioners, Heat Pumps
    Carrier Corporation Central Air Conditioners, Boilers, Heat Pumps, Some Commercial HVAC Equipment
    Fridgidaire Heating & Cooling Central Air Conditioners, Room Air Conditioners, Heat Pumps, Furnaces
    Lennox Industries Incorporated Central Air Conditioners, Heat Pumps, Furnaces, Some Commercial HVAC Equipment
    Rheem-Ruud Manufacturing
    Central Air Conditioners, Heat Pumps, Furnaces, Some Commercial HVAC Equipment.

    The Trane Company Central Air Conditioners, Heat Pumps, Furnaces, Some Commercial HVAC
    Westinghouse Heating & Cooling Central Air Conditioners, Heat Pumps, Furnaces
    Whirlpool Corporation Central Air Conditioners, Heat Pumps, Furnaces, Room Air Conditioners, Air Cleaners

    Not to mention any small staart-ups. His deal only benefits one single company.

  48. Mrs. Grundy says:

    Imagine if Trump could benefit all American manufacturers, instead of a few arbitrary “connected” corporations like he’s doing now…

  49. Bob says:

    I think Mattis is a great choice. I was concerned when Trump announced his SECDEF choice as MADDOG, but maybe the general will forgive him.

    Trump also exhibited what an engaged leader can do in cases like Carrier, etc. Of course, the liberals are sitting around trying to find fault with the deal, but that’s what they do. We have an entire political party in this nation that spends their time and energy on finding ways to NOT do things. This kind of attitude marks the difference between success and failure. Libs and Demos are failures.

  50. geeez2014 says:

    Mrs. G…so since he saved about 1000 jobs, you think he ought to help out companies who aren’t threatening to leave America, too? I think this was largely a symbolic gesture to make sure people see he’s interested in protecting workers.
    Let’s see what happens when those on your list treat their employees like Carrier was doing.

    Bob…agreed!! At least Trump is DOING THINGS…for the people.

  51. geeez2014 says:

    Mrs. G…I see you’re a big Glen Beck fan…you and I will be disagreeing quite a bit; I find him loathsome now…and please don’t bother to defend him, I KNOW what he’s about, I was a fan, too , at the beginning of his career. So, let’s not get into a Glen Beck thing here….we’re not going to convince each other of anything..he disappointed me and Mr. Z HUGELY because he started out so promising…enough said. I only mention it here because I can see you and I and some of my readers aren’t going to see eye to eye on plenty and at least now I’ll know why.

  52. Kid says:

    Bob’s comment is right on, to the point and very easy to understand. The left has no interest in making things better. It’s too hard to do that and they gave up on it (If they ever even wanted to make things better[I don’t think they ever did] long ago).

    Much easier to screw things up (And Profit) than make things better.

  53. Kid says:

    Glen Beck’s an ass. He needs to get back on drugs an alcohol and go away. I’ve heard him say things about obama like “We need to support our bi-partican president” That was 6? years ago. I turned hom off and tuned him out immediately after that one.

    Personally, I think the only person that gets it is Michael Savage. Period.

  54. Kid says:

    Mrs G, Imagine if obama didn’t spend 10 TRILLION dollars accomplishing nothing postive.

    Get a grip Mrs G. You’re a big part of the problem.

    So, OT: Who thinks these attacks on moslems blacks, etc by people exclaiming “TRUMP” while in the act are actually democrat/libart POS’s? Hand Raised.

  55. geeez2014 says:

    Kid! RIGHT! Beck was fine when he first went on FOX but he went so far off…

    Michael Savage…Mark Levin….Dennis Prager DEFINITELY gets it; he’s my all time favorite.

    SOmething I had to share about LEVin…Last night he was talking about Keith Ellison and how he’d supported Farrikan UNTIL articles about this support were going around and he suddenly disavowed Farrakan, etc…So Levin says “You want an African American Muslim DNC Chair? FIND ANOTHER AFRICAN AMERICAN MUSLIM!” It doesn’t sound a bit funny now but it was REALLY funny the way he said it and I burst into laughter!

    Re the OT subject: WHAT attacks on Black Muslims? I haven’t heard of any….???

  56. geeez2014 says:

    https://www.yahoo.com/news/nypd-men-yelled-donald-trump-053719272.html

    Kid…just saw this …young girl in hijab taunted in the NYC Subway, yelling “DONALD TRUMP!”
    Ya, I wouldn’t put it past ANY liberals (Soros) to pay people to rile things up now…big time.

    My FONDEST WISH the last 8 years was that, somehow, Obama’d really be revealed…that he’d lose his temper BIG time in an interview, or do something that was irrefutable….NOW my wish is that ANY Democrat of some stature will be FOUND PAYING TROUBLE MAKERS, or something like that…so the world can finally see the kind of things we feel they’re doing. I’d LOVE LOVE LOVE for SOros to be in REAL BIG TROUBLE for doing something that’s OBVIOUS, nothing the libs can hide…sort of like Anthony Wiener’s problems…but BIGGER.

  57. Mrs Grundy says:

    I find him loathsome now…and please don’t bother to defend him, I KNOW what he’s about, I was a fan, too , at the beginning of his career.

    I can’t stand his self-righteousness any more, either. I keep the blog alive to troll liberals (who have ALWAYS hated him).

  58. Mrs Grundy says:

    ps – I can’t stand herring, either. 😉

    -Red

  59. Z,
    I think this was largely a symbolic gesture to make sure people see he’s interested in protecting workers.

    I think so, too!

  60. Kid says:

    Z http://tinyurl.com/zyx97y3

    Dollars to donuts these are clinton supporters doing this.

  61. Mal says:

    C.I., when I said “maybe we will be allowed to say thoughts & PRAYERS” again, I meant w/o criticism from the left. Just being sarcastic, that’s all.

  62. Mrs Grundy says:

    My faith in Mr. Trump NOT relying on these one-off cronyisms has been restored…

    He posted this on Facebook 8 hours ago:

    The U.S. is going to substantialy reduce taxes and regulations on businesses, but any business that leaves our country for another country, fires its employees, builds a new factory or plant in the other country, and then thinks it will sell its product back into the U.S. …… without retribution or consequence, is WRONG!

    There will be a tax on our soon to be strong border of 35% for these companies wanting to sell their product, cars, A.C. units etc., back across the border. This tax will make leaving financially difficult, but…..these companies are able to move between all 50 states, with no tax or tariff being charged.

    Please be forewarned prior to making a very expensive mistake! THE UNITED STATES IS OPEN FOR BUSINESS!

  63. Kid says:

    I see nothing wrong with this approach of Mr Trump’s. Why reward companies to stiff the USA. In THIS world environment beside.

Leave a Reply

