Sunday Faith Blog

I was given a small book of quotes about Christmas and loved them all but wanted to share some favorites:

By Art Fettig:  “Some business men are saying that this could be the greatest Christmas ever.  I always thought the first one was.”

By Ralph W. Sockman:  “The hinge of history is on the door of a Bethlehem stable.”

Here’s one I sincerely believe, by Norman Vincent Peale, “I truly believe that if we keep telling the Christmas story, singing the Christmas songs, and living the Christmas spirit, we can bring joy and happiness and peace to the world.”

christmas-tree-fireplace

I’ve been thinking about when people can’t wait for Christmas then they often say it was kind of a let down and Christmas seems to get a bad rap.  My thought is this:  Christmas is A DAY, the birth of Jesus, but once the presents are over on Christmas morning, that’s about it…..usually kind of a let down.  So, my thought is that Christmas is the state of mind, the PREPARATION for Christmas…all those days of planning and dreaming about it and decorations and trees and carols and special church services, eggnog, and the happy mood people are in.  THAT’s Christmas…the lead-up, the anticipation……..the beauty, the fun!  Don’t let the day bring you down, don’t live for the day, live happily through the season…….and pay more attention to the meaning of Christmas;  I think these are antidotes for the Christmas blues!   …from Dr. Z!

eggnog

Have a joyous Sunday-bef0re-Christmas!  Live THIS Sunday as if it were Christmas…and each day after it!  Start NOW!  Enjoy your tree!  Have some eggnog, give an early present to someone…or open one you got already.   Have FUN this week…  every day..

Z

This entry was posted in Christianity, holiday. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. bunkerville says:

    Have a wonderful day Z.

    Like

  2. geeez2014 says:

    I just got an email from a friend who landed a couple of hours ago in Atlanta, GA…it’s my rabbi friend who I’ve talked about here; His email is this: “A and I just landed in Atlanta, and the captain wished us all a nice stay in Atlanta and a “Merry Christmas.”
    Wow! ”

    “WOW,” indeed….the captain of a major airlines wishing a plane full “Merry Christmas!?”
    I find it SO interesting that religious Jews like my friend, and Dennis Prager and Michael Medved put such incredibly huge store on Christianity being honored and celebrated ….THEY know how important it was to our founding and the future of our country.

    MERRY CHRISTMAS, indeed!!!

    Like

  3. Adrienne S says:

    I grew up in a neighborhood that was pretty much all Catholics or Jews. The Catholics ended up with Menorahs and the Jewish kids all had “Hunukkah bushes.” It was fun.

    My pet peeve is when people say, “Are you ready for Christmas?” I have no idea of what that means and am generally left dumbstruck. I’m pretty sure they’re talking cookies and presents – neither of which has factored in my preparation for Christmas.

    Have a lovely Sunday before Christmas, Geeez.

    Like

  4. Mal says:

    The anticipation of an event is usually always greater than the event itself, like planning for a cruise, etc. We look forward to a week after Christmas and New Years, then the week after, our anniversary (Jan. 8th). After all of that, we are ready for spring!

    Like

  5. Kid says:

    Absolutely, a state of mind Z. I always get a vibe of friendship from people I encounter during the season which is nice for a change from the daily grind.

    Like

  6. Z-man says:

    From my St. Padre Pio app and his thought for today: “All the feasts of the Church are beautiful. Easter, yes, is glorification but Christmas has a tenderness, a child-like sweetness that completely captivates my heart.”

    Like

  7. geeez2014 says:

    Z-Man….I LOVE THAT, thanks so much…so sweet…so true.

    Kid, Isn’t that nice; I agree, something comes over people at this time of year that’s so good. I’m glad we experience this.

    Mal, that was Mom and Dad’s anniversary, too! Jan 8th!!
    Yes, the ANTICIPATION is better so why not CELEBRATE THE COMING DAY, THE ANTICIPATION!? Get my point? ADVENT!

    Adrienne…we should be ready for Christmas every day of the year in our hearts…but yes, people mean HAVE YOU SHOPPED AND BAKED YET? THAT’s my point!! Why get so involved with THAT?

    I wish you could have all heard our sermon today….oh, MAN.
    I took notes and will write a little maybe this week but probably on Christmas Day….it was amazing after church…a few friends and I got teary hugging and feeling like Christmas is such a good time to remind ourselves how much we love our friends! It was a FABULOUS Sunday morning…!! Just magical.

    Like

  8. Sparky says:

    Love the quotes! Hope your day is blessed Ms. Z. 🙂

    Like

  9. Mal says:

    Yes. I got it, Z. Advent. Now, THAT one WON’T be a let-down, will it? The anticipation isn’t even close to the “rewards” that are awaiting us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

