Christmas Traditions

What is your favorite Christmas tradition?  I think we’d all love to hear some….!!

christmas-traditions

Thanks!

And, by the way, is everyone else hearing “MERRY CHRISTMAS” at stores and restaurants, etc., more than usual!?  I SURE AM.  And I got an email from a friend in Spokane last night saying “Brother, am I hearing MERRY CHRISTMAS more often!”  🙂

Z

This entry was posted in holiday. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Christmas Traditions

  1. bocopro says:

    A li’l vers libre from a rambling poem I ginned up about 20 years ago:

    Dogs scurrying
    Barking
    Pestering
    Investigating
    Chewing on toes and bows
    And a cat serenely, nonverbally,
    But curiously condemning it all

    Toys tossed
    Clothes strewn
    Forgotten
    In favor of the next surprise
    “That’s mine!”
    “No! It’s mine!!”
    And mothers refereeing
    And fathers perched at the edges of chairs,
    Patience and anticipation locked in mortal combat

    The granddame regally surveys the burgeoning piles
    Of toys
    Of trash
    Of pets
    Of grandchildren
    And glows . . . inside and out.
    No better word comes to mind

    Hams, and turkey, and yams, and eggs, and potatoes
    Quietly cook in the uncommon quiet of the kitchen
    While dressing and bread and peas and corn
    Wait their turn in the dark safety of the pantry

    And the old man opens his packets of gag T-shirts
    And books
    And golf balls
    And waits
    For the din to subside
    Then he gathers the paper
    And boxes
    And ribbons
    And bows
    For tomorrow’s curbside pickup

    And that’s all as it should be,
    I suppose.

    (And prob’ly very much like what happens in the homes of most of the denizens of this site)

    Like

  2. Mrs Grundy says:

    Loved the poem, bocopro!

    Like

  3. Sparky says:

    Unfortunately, I don’t have any family to have traditions with. My Mom died when I was 10 and Dad walked away from me at the funeral (verbally and emotionally). I was still at home but kinda raised myself from that point. If we have any ‘tradition’ at all it’s the Christmas tree gets put up the day after Thanksgiving and is taken down on New Years Day or the day after. We’ve no children, so, there’s nothing to pass on. For the meal, Steve and I also always have turkey and cornbread dressing with cranberry sauce and a veggie. I know that’s lame but it’s ours. *giggle* What’s y’alls tradition(s)?

    Like

  4. Maga Joe says:

    Merry Christmas to everyone!!!!

    My favorite one is one I can’t enjoy anymore b.c I’m not a kid and things don’t feel the same anymore. But I used to love watching Christmas movies all day when the weather was bad outside.

    As an adult I must say I like to eat 🙂 Things like oysters, smoked salmon, foie gras. The French stuff basically 🙂

    Like

  5. FB says:

    Oops that was FB using a bogus handle 🙂

    Like

  6. geeez2014 says:

    Bocopro! Ugh! I know few people who have that kind of Christmas, but the poem’s fun to read! Cats don’t ‘condemn it all’ like you seem to, they IMMEDIATELY jump into the closest empty box and take that as their best present! Even in the melee you describe there’s fun and love and children squealing with delight or older people melting with pleasure as they watch their beloved children so happy, or their grandchildren adoring even more for the train set grandpa got them!
    But, we’re not a cynical family….in some families, what you describe might happen….the aura of cynicism might appear. I’m grateful we don’t have Chez Nous~

    Sparky, your meal is ONLY possibly lame because I don’t hear MASHED POTATOES AND GRAVY 🙂 Sounds like you have a wonderful Christmas with your sweet hubby! XXX

    Like

  7. geeez2014 says:

    FB, they are having many good Christmas movies on TV on TCM…I’m an adult and I’ve been enjoying them! why can’t you? 🙂

    Like

  8. FB says:

    Maybe b/c I associate it being with my siblings and family and now everybody’s so far away.

    Like

  9. Baysider says:

    The ONLY merry Christmas I have heard outside of bible study – even in response to my own – was from my Jewish real estate agent. Otherwise, 100% “happy holidays.’ I even asked one guy “which holidays did you have in mind?”

    Like

  10. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider! Oh, no! At The Wilshire restaurant, it was all MERRY CHRISTMAS and HAPPY HANNUKAH…Ralphs is saying MERRY CHRISTMAS, and check out clerks wearing Santa caps….and friends are emailing me they’re noticing a BIG uptick….
    I have to admit my own Jewish friends RARELY wish me Merry Christmas, which I think is sad, since I do wish them Happy Hannukah.
    Sorry you’re not getting this positive trend!

    FB….I’m sorry everybody’s far ….I wish you a VERY happy Christmas. (Try watching the movies anyway! A Holiday Affair was on yesterday…so sweet! and a few others whose titles escape me…not sure there are many on today, sadly, but they will be over the wknd)

    Like

  11. Adrienne says:

    Sparky – you seem to have traditions that are just fine. What little family I have have been driven away by my commie (ex) brother. Fine with me – I didn’t like most of them anyway. They’re all fanatical libtards.

    I make baccala for Christmas Eve. I’m also making a cheesecake in my new Instant Pot. This year I’m not making another dinner for Christmas day. We’ll just have a big breakfast of homemade Italian sausage, left over baccala, homemade hash brown, and cheesecake.

    Like

  12. Mal says:

    YES! We definitely are hearing “Merry Christmas” more. I realize we always could say it, like C.I. pointed out, but it seemed like we were being discouraged to do so, but now that P.C. has been tossed out the window, IT’S BAAAAACK!

    Like

  13. An easy question for me to answer: the music of the season. Old familiar carols fill the air!

    We have so many wonderful Christmas concerts available here in the D.C. area, and the Kennedy Center and Washington National Cathedral are so beautiful when they are decked out for Christmas.

    Like

  14. Mal says:

    I believe no matter where you are, even away from family like we are here in Vegas, just the mood of everyone makes it special. All we hear is cheerful greetings and Christmas music, in addition to the usual trees and reefs, lighted in glowing colors. Its hard to not be cheerful at this time of year.

    Like

  15. geeez2014 says:

    Mal, CI’s remark is the cop out of the century for all things PC….of course anybody can audibly say MERRY CHRISTMAS! The stores were told not to say it, the tree lots are HOLIDAY trees, people winced from time to time just from the apparent PAIN of hearing Merry Christmas….never had it become better NOT to say it….very effective, this method. Of course we COULD say it..
    And, yes, it’s the Christmas feeling, only enhanced by happy smiles THIS year as they say MERRY CHRISTMAS…OR, may I say “Happy Hannukah”..Equally joyous…

    Adrienne, baccala…dry salted cod baked in a sauce, yes? Mmmm Sounds delicious……I hope you have a wonderful Christmas…

    AOW, I’m glad you’ve had such great music opportunities at Christmas each year. We love to watch KCET on New Years Day night when Vienna features gorgeous Strauss waltzes and ballet…I’m sure you have watched it, too! I had so much joy leading the music for Christmas at Comm. Bible Study, and singing MARY DID YOU KNOW? Everyone loved it….that really starts MY Christmas off; giving the music to 150 dear people!

    Like

  16. Sparky says:

    @ Adrienne ~ Thank you for the kind words. My adopted family are libtards and I asked them to lose my number which they promptly did. I’m good with that too. 😉 My husband LOVES seafood. He would scarf down the baccala like candy. Me, I’m a chicken, meat, pasta, bread kinda gal. I grew up on seafood because we lived near the Atlantic coast in Florida and where lower middle-class, so, I am weary of it.
    @ Z ~ You’re right! So we’re having Masted Taters (we are in Georgia after all) tonight with homemade gravy. [drool] It’s also one of my Go To Comfort Foods.
    There’s an awful lot of joy in my neck of the woods these days. A lot of Merry Christmas-ing and smiles galore.
    Merry CHRISTmas y’all!!

    Like

  17. Sparky says:

    Meant “Mashed Taters” not Masted. Fat fingers. *giggle*

    Like

  18. geeez2014 says:

    Sparky “There’s an awful lot of joy in my neck of the woods these days. A lot of Merry Christmas-ing and smiles galore.:” what a very joyful comment! I LOVED IT.
    and I thought MASTED TATERS must be a Georgia thing…I guess TATERS are but not MASTED 🙂 !!!!!

    Like

  19. bocopro says:

    All my family, including my libtard cousins, go with Merry Christmas rather than the PC euphemisms and cop-outs.

    My wife is a traditional old-style Roman Catholic (Pinay) and I have never heard any of her biddy buddies say anything other than Merry Christmas (in English). The phrase they use when they wanna go all native is Maligayang Pasko (or Pamasko).

    She’s very disappointed in me this year because I refused to clamber up onto the roof to string lights. Silly me, I just don’t think it’s particularly wise for a 76-yr-old guy to be doin that and didn’t even discuss it with her. Any time the subject arises when someone else is here, I get side-face small-eye from her . . . but I’ve been gettin that for over half a century now for a number of arguable reasons, so my immune system is all trained and geared to repel it.

    Like

  20. geeez2014 says:

    “The Obama administration not only failed to protect Israel against this gang-up at the U.N., it colluded with it behind the scenes,” Netanyahu wrote in a strongly worded statement, which was unusually released on the Jewish Sabbath eve.

    HURRAH FOR NETANYAHU WHO CAN FINALLY (FINALLY!) TELL HIS TRUTH ABOUT OBAMA!
    Obviously, this comes from the UN Resolution dumping Israel in the mud…damn them. America abstained, typical Obama WUSS

    Like

  21. geeez2014 says:

    I hate that very few of my own readers didn’t clamor to share Christmas traditions….If I started listing them, things my folks started, THEIR folks started, new things I did with my husband, we’d be reading till EASTER 🙂 (No list for Easter!!!)

    Like

  22. geeez2014 says:

    bocopro…very unusual that, especially, libtards are saying MERRY CHRISTMAS! Perhaps they feel safe saying it around your Catholic wife!
    And YES! STAY OUT OF THE EAVES!! We don’t want you falling!!

    Like

  23. Bob says:

    Many of my Christmas Past had me escaping all the hub-bub of twenty-something kin including kids, dogs. wives, and snoring uncles. Finding a place outside in the cool of December gave me air I could breathe. It’s not that I am anti-social, but to me Christmas came at the busiest time of the year. You see, in sales may times you are working overtime and on weekends to get the numbers in and make sure quotas are made for all your people, and that the end of quarter/year bonuses are secure.

    One year I calculated that Christmas cost me about $5,000, leading me to observe that I could have given everyone in our family of four $1,000 and still come out ahead. I know I sound like Scrooge, but I would have preferred this to that house full of loud people. My then teenage son thought it was a pretty good idea, too. He salivated at the idea of having $1,000 in his pocket to spend as he wished. The idea fell through when the next year I was laid off, and went without work for a year.

    The best part of Christmas is having my little family close to me. That’s as good as it gets.

    Like

  24. Silverlady says:

    “Merry Christmas’ all over the place! But of course I’m in the Deep South. They never did stop saying it.

    Like

  25. geeez2014 says:

    Bob…that’s the truth “The best part of Christmas is having my little family close to me. That’s as good as it gets.” You are SO RIGHT. God bless you!

    Silverlady, i’m sure it’s never stopped there…

    Like

Leave a Reply

