Tillerson….a fascinating story that might please you…

“Nine years ago, I showed up to the Denton County Courthouse for jury duty and got myself picked for the job. A young girl had accused her mom’s boyfriend of sexual assault, and the case was being brought to trial.

If you’ve ever served on a jury trial before, you understand the almost immediate yet very temporary bond that ties 12 strangers together who are randomly chosen from each of their private lives to fulfill a solemn public purpose.

One of our first tasks was to choose our jury foreman. Perhaps it was his business suit, his impressive stature, or his charisma, but almost everyone in that jury room suggested that this middle-aged man with graying hair was likely the most fit for the task.

Thanks, but I decline. I’m not interested in the spotlight, he told us. I didn’t think anything of it.

I had just bought my first BlackBerry and used my breaks to catch up on all the emails I was missing from my week at the courthouse. I recall leaving the jury room on a break with this man and remarking how busy I was and how much work I had to do. He smiled as he sat and read the paper.

From the first day of jury selection, we all noticed another suited man always present in the courtroom. His presence was intriguing due to the ear piece in his ear. While grabbing lunch at Denton County Independent Hamburger on the square the second day of the trial, we noticed this mysterious man dining with our fellow juror who’d declined the foreman spot. The intrigue grew, and it was the talk of the jury: Who were these men?

Finally, during a break in the jury room, one juror had the nerve to ask: “Who are you? And what do you do?”

Our fellow jury member was reading the paper again and pointed out an article with Exxon in the headlines.

I work for them, he said humbly. There are a lot of people in this world who hate me for what I do, so they give me and my family guys like that to protect me.

I immediately felt embarrassed for complaining about how much work I had to do. It didn’t take long before a few internet searches revealed that I was serving on this jury with the CEO of Exxon Mobil, Rex Tillerson.

The trial concluded, and it was time for the jury to deliberate. The story was heartbreaking, and the facts of the case were clear enough to make the majority of the jury convinced of the guilt of this sexual offender of a little girl. But the defense did a good enough job to create a couple of hold-outs. As our deliberations came to a close, it appeared we might have a hung jury.

That’s when Tillerson began to speak. Humbly, delicately and without an ounce of condescension toward those who disagreed, he began walking us all through the details of the case. I even recall being moved by his thorough explanation about the nature of doubt and the standards set forth by our justice system.

This entry was posted in Tillerson. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Tillerson….a fascinating story that might please you…

  1. bunkerville says:

    So far I have to say Trump’s picks seem to be well thought out and appear to be honorable people. Great story, What more can we ask.

  2. John M. Berger says:

    ‘With great patience, this man who strikes multibillion-dollar deals with foreign heads of state brought our scrappy jury together”

    I’m hoping that this portends the type of leadership sorely missing, at least, in the past eight years. I’m sick and tired of hearing about “leading from behind” (what ever that means) as this nation struggles in a rudderless PC morass. While the Left may hold Trump and his choices in some sort of contempt, I’m optimistic that we will see a [positive turn around] as a completely new and different Administration falls into place; albeit that it won’t happen overnight. We have been dangerously close to the precipice of complete self-destruction; this may well be our last chance!

  3. Deplorable. Just deplorable.
    That’s a good thing these days. 🙂

  4. Sparky says:

    Mr. Tillerson sounds like an honorable man. That’s so encouraging. Now I know that President-Elect Trump is making good choices. Thank you so much for sharing this story. I’ll share it with others.
    Off subject, did you see what else DingleBarry has done? He’s flipping his middle finger to Americans again: https://bunkerville.wordpress.com/2016/12/26/obama-finalizes-social-security-gun-ban-rule/. It won’t be enforced, of course. There’s not enough Fed’s out there that want to die in the line of duty and the LEO’s won’t enforce it. It’s just him being a jerk.
    So, I’m so excited about Jan. 20th! Can’t wait to get DingleBarry out of the White House and my country. Can’t happen soon enough.

  5. John M. Berger says:

    I think that “DingleBarry” will soon be relegated to the scrap heap of irrelevance except, of course, by his cling-ons. QUESTION: Why did it take 8 years for this fraud and his, so called, legacy to be rejected; didn’t many of us see this coming at the beginning?

  6. geeez2014 says:

    Sparky, I must be naive or I’m missing something but the only kind of problem for Social Security recipients and guns is when the recipient has “marked subnormal intelligence, or mental illness, incompetency, condition, or disease.”
    The problem, I guess, is to PROVE that, so if you and bunkerville mean that this is a slippery slope, I TOTALLY get your point.

    I’m glad you all think Tillerson sounds good, too.

    Ed, yes, just another fabulous deplorable!.
    I think DEPLORABLE could become a compliment in a couple of years !!!
    I consider it one for us NOW but maybe it’ll enter the American lexicon as one, too!

    JMB, I HONESTLY do think it’s our “last chance,” yup.

  7. Mal says:

    This story certainly says a lot about the character of this man, doesn’t it? Trump continues to impress me with his cabinet selections.
    AND
    JMB, Obama’s ‘leading from behind” means he’s too chicken to lead! Well…..that’s my take anyway!

  8. John M. Berger says:

    Mal,
    Q: Why did Obama cross the road?
    A: He was tied to the chicken!

  9. Baysider says:

    Marvelous post. I often form first judgments based on what the biased media screech the loudest about. I figured he must be a competent, 10-talent kind of guy.

  10. Mal says:

    Good one, John!

  11. Bob says:

    Great story. Nominating Tillerson is a stroke of genius. First of all, just finding somebody that smart and experienced to serve as Sec State is a real coup. Secondly, the Dems are having some pretty serious bouts of heart failure that the CEO of their most hated corporation stands to be in a very powerful government position. The libs just don’t know how to take it, or what to do.

    Look for some really nasty fights on Trumps cabinet nominees.

  12. Kid says:

    Z, Good Story.

    JMB, For the life of me, I can’t figure out why such negativity, and incompetence, and gross disrespect for America got re-elected.

    CEO of Exxon is a great choice for SOS as the most problematic countries are oil producers. Then being CEO of Exxon means you have talent to work with reasonable people who you might disagree with and to listen to a variety of ideas.

  13. John M. Berger says:

    @Kid,
    “For the life of me, I can’t figure out ……………………………………………………………….”
    I’ll be damned if I can either. In fact I couldn’t understand how that fraud got elected in the first place. If, as I expect, our economy improves and we become sovereign, once again, what will we do with all of the jerks that tried to destroy our Country? Why should [they] enjoy one bit of it?

  14. Kid says:

    JMB, I can understand how our PC country elected him the first time. Give da brotha a chance.
    But yes, after I heard him speak for about 15 minutes, I pegged him as an empty suit, a fraud, an imbecile, and he turned out to be much worse.

    The last part of your comment is unresolvable I guess. I see some of these people seeing the light and others who as you say will profit while they continue to destroy us. Tall order that I have no recomendation for. Evil will always profit? In fact, I think they do more than the rest of us because of what they are willing to do. These things I cast away for my own health.

  15. Kid says:

    JMB, PS – I’m hoping their brains explode or they simply decide to disengage politics and sit around staring at lava lamps and smoking weed.

  16. John M. Berger says:

    “I’m hoping their brains explode ”
    As you know, that’s already happened to many of them. Tune into the next round of the “Walking Dead”!

  17. Kid says:

    :-] To the point they are incapacitated.

Leave a Reply

