GET OVER IT!

(thanks, Mustang)

AND, I wanted to add something kind of nasty (I’m trying to turn over a new leaf and be less combative IF I keep the blog open, which I’m thinking about)….The thing I wanted to add was how I listened to CNN for five too-long minutes on New Year’s Eve and heard Anderson Cooper ask Dana Bash, who was apparently in Las Vegas, how it was going there… Her response was “Yes, I’m here in Vegas, where, apparently, if you weigh 300 lbs, you get FREE FOOD!”     Now, not being one to condemn all liberals for the stupidity and unkind nastiness of one (which some liberals do to cons), what she said is bad, but…….oh, well.   It exposed HER heart not that of all libs.  EXCEPT, I’m thinking about all the Republicans who’ve said really horrid things like that and how they’d never get over it from the media and how often we’re all condemned for one’s ugly utterances.

THEN, Anderson Cooper kissed Richard Quest on the cheek as part of a kind of gag, and he said “I guess FOX will use that on their station to make some point..”   No, they won’t, they aren’t, and have never been, the homophobes you’d like to make them out to be due to your insecurities, Anderson.    Nope.

Z

This entry was posted in America, emotional, interesting!. Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to GET OVER IT!

  1. Bob says:

    I love that the video that articulates what we all have been thinking.

    I would like to encourage you to keep on blogging. If you were to stop you would miss it, I would miss it, and lots of other people would miss it. True, blogging has lost a good bit of its fun, but that can be said of anything we do for a long time.

    Will Trump be able to follow up on his promises, given the corruption in the House and Senate? Remember that all our elective representatives had campaigns that were funded in good part by various special interests. Who will chronicle the truth about what is going on? We cannot trust the regular media.

    Stick with it, Z.

  2. Adrienne says:

    Almost every one of the “celebrity” deaths was due to drugs or alcohol. Instead of using it as a teaching moment, we lionize these people and make it appear glamorous. It’s not. It’s just dead.

    Trust me – I was more upset when my Granny Mae (whose name was Alice and to this day we have no idea of why my brother and I called her that) passed away. I was 9 years old at the time and I still miss her.

  3. John M. Berger says:

    GREAT VIDEO; I’ve just shared it with many! Hey, what’s with this: “IF I keep the blog open”?

  4. jerrydablade says:

    Pandas on a children’s slide… BEST start of a year ever! And don’t even think about “it”, Z…

  5. Sparky says:

    Why are libtards so vulgar!? I especially don’t like that kind of juvenile behaviour. When they start swearing, I leave. That’s not the adult way to get one’s point across. Now I feel dirty.
    Anyway, hope you won’t leave the blogesphere. Maybe a mental vacation away from the mess is in order? I do that from time to time. Really clears the cobwebs. ~:)

  6. geeez2014 says:

    Thanks, everybody; I need to spend my time in ways other than this; as my old time readers know, I’ve considered closing before but never quite so seriously. I may just change the slant of the blog, but when I’ve tried being less negative, more positive, in the past, I’ve seen my comments go down so much that I realize it’s the negative that hops us ALL up, and that’s a big part of why I might close down. Or at least not be as constant. I appreciate you all.

    Bob, it’s the getting the truth out that has stopped me from closing shop in the past…I don’t think I’ve viewed blogging as ‘fun’ but I’ve looked at is as rewarding, helpful to myself, encouraging to see others share my viewpoints, etc. But I guess it HAS been ‘fun’ when I’ve had a ton of comments and get a great conversation going here, which I LOVE.
    By the way, re; Trump and his campaign promises; what I’m seeing is something I’d feared before…..he can’t fulfill some of the promises but he didn’t KNOW he couldn’t until lately, when he’s been getting the truth of what he can do, how it needs to be done, etc. And, for this president, the Left is already saying they’re going to give him hell over most of his cabinet appointments……Plus, I’m seeing he needs to be liked by everyone and is backing down so he will be popular with all. So sad about that.

    Adrienne…I agree. Thankfully, I think OUR readers are far more sad about the losses of our loved ones than that of celebs! (although I have to admit I was pretty darned upset over having missed Leon Russell by four weeks….imagine finally having tickets to sit one table from the stage and your musical idol dies four weeks before the concert!?) But I digress……!!!

    Perhaps I’ll stay open but spend less time …. that’s probably the solution because I am quite sure I won’t give up my Sunday Faith Blog, anyway.

  7. geeez2014 says:

    Obama’s going to make a farewell speech from Chicago, imagine? The city which has gone DOWN so far since his admin? And he says “It’s always been about you”….this, from the president who said “I” more than any president in history. oy

  8. geeez2014 says:

    WOWZIR! I just now realized USC is in the Rose Bowl today (I’m not a big football fan, obviously!) ….root for USC! 🙂

  9. fredd says:

    You’ll keep the blog up and running, but you might consider cutting down your posts to a weekly thing, rather than your daily routine. Helps get the blood pressure under control.

  10. geeez2014 says:

    thanks, fredd, there IS no type of blogging I haven’t considered these last 15 years….
    I heard something Sunday morning that showed me some personal things about the time spent on this that woke me up. I appreciate your input.

  11. I just now realized USC is in the Rose Bowl today (I’m not a big football fan, obviously!) ….root for USC!

    Even though my beloved Oregon Ducks fell well below the mark this season, I’ll be supporting the PAC-12 in the Rose Bowl. Go Trojans!

  12. bocopro says:

    Since around 1963 or 64 I’ve been writing — poems, short stories, parodies, novelettes, articles, essays, criticisms, letters to Congress . . . and since blogs became ubiquitous, comments.

    Most of what I write goes unread, or unliked. Of the dozen or so novels and novelettes I’ve cranked out, I doubt that more than half of ’em have been read by ANYbody. Ditto for most of my poetry.

    But, machts nichts — it’s an essential part of my makeup: self-expression. Gotta do it to preserve my “I-am”ness. To paraphrase Descartes, J’escris; donc je suis.

    Sometimes after I’ve posted a rant or screed or comment of which I’m particularly proud and nobody responds to it, I consider just shuttin the hell up. But I never do. Just keep pumpin it out.

    Actually, I did quit once a few years ago, for about a month or so. Heard nothin for a while, but then started gettin queries about my health and if I’m takin a permanent dirt nap or my Dell went belly up and all that.

    So I asked my e-mail addees if they’d like me to keep on keepin on with the snark and parody and analysis and such. Answer was a resounding “YES!” with apologies for reading my stuff without responding to it. Most said they actually DO read it and a few even said they look forward to it. One lady chewed me out for giving her anxiety attacks by my silence, saying that without her daily “fix” of my particular brand of oblique observations and unusually crafted remarks she had a hard time getting going in the morning.

    I’ve convinced myself that abandoning my daily hour or two in this chair from which a thousand ripostes and innumerable pillories of political popinjays have been launched would cause a crucial and integral lobe of my cerebrum to atrophy and die, initiating a domino effect on other centers such as laughter, smugness, “gotcha”ism, harumphing, and finger-pointing.

    Ginning up a rant or carefully researched essay or parody is marvelous exercise for the mind, too, a sorta daily calisthenics that keeps my brain young, healthy, limber, and sharp. I’m sure many blog denizens and lurkers share that belief in varying degrees.

    You give it up — you’ll regret it . . . I betcha.

  13. Mal says:

    Like Sparky, I watched only about 1 1/2 minutes of it before stopping. I’m far from being a prude but when they have to keep using 4-letter words to make their point, their lack of vocabulary skills becomes evident. Besides, I believe few are paying any attention to them any longer.

    Z, I’m sure everyone knows the time and thought that must go into doing a blog. Instead of doing them on a daily basis, how about every other day, or every 3rd day, or whatever? That way, you might not feel so much pressure. Just a thought……………..

    HEY! C.I. As a Trojan Alumni (class of ’51), welcome and thanks for the support. Lets just hope the Trojan Horse gallops high on his hind legs a lot (when they score a touchdown!).

  14. geeez2014 says:

    Bocopro…believe me, I have thought deeply about regretting it….thanks.
    I may keep blogging but will spend a lot less time….time for something personal….which is why I’m not going into details.
    THanks!!

  15. geeez2014 says:

    Oh, brother. The CIA/FEDs are saying now that “there’s much more intelligence about the hacking” and they’re wondering how much to release because it pretty much shows it is the Russians. Wait…shouldn’t Trump be getting that information??
    Meanwhile, Trump’s saying THERE IS NO PROOF RUSSIA HACKED (i paraphrase).
    And he’s saying “I know things others don’t know”.

    He needs to stay quiet on things he really clearly doesn’t know…Please, God.

  16. fredd says:

    Constitutional Insurgent: easy on the kudos to the Trojans. As a Duck, you have an obligation to loathe USC, just keep that in mind when you go all woo hoo for those guys. Sincerely,

    Fredd, a Duck alum, too.

  17. Fredd – It pains me to root for the Trojans….though not as much as I was hoping the dreaded mutts would beat ‘Bama. Never fear, I’m the self-appointed President of the unchartered NW Virginia Order of the Quacker-Backers!

  18. geeez2014 says:

    we have enough Trojan fans around the country….
    what IS a DUCK?
    I love this kind of fun competition! GO, USC!! (I’d be a UCLA fan if THEY were playing USC, by the way)

  19. Imp says:

    Why they’ll never get over it…

    “Progressive culture is rooted in fear. In order to keep their constituents’ eyes on the ground, Democrats must continually lob accusations of racism, sexism, homophobia, and xenophobia at their opponents, even if those accusations are completely baseless, or grossly manipulated. If the Democrats let up for even a moment, their constituents may see another perspective, which could fundamentally alter their thinking, and, in turn, alter their voting preference and affiliation.

    Using broad categorizations like racist, sexist, homophobe, xenophobe, and bigot not only allow the Democrats to delegitimize conservative policy without having to use counter-evidence, it puts up a mental road block, preventing Democratic voters from examining opposing ideas. If the other side is racist, bigoted, etc, why even take the time to dissect their policy?”

    HT DW.

  20. ……what IS a DUCK?

    Sacré bleu!

    Why, it’s the vaunted University of Oregon team mascot, of course. The fearsome Pac NW webfoot! Disregarding for a moment that the original mascot name was……Puddles…..

  21. geeez2014 says:

    Well, CI…pardon ME…I bow to the great vaunted U of Oregon !!! “Puddles?” HA!!
    I believe California’s city of Anaheim calls their ice hockey team THE DUCKS…

    Imp; that’s really good…who’s DW??

  22. Kid says:

    Loved the Pandas on the slide Z !

    I do feel like I need a coloring book and some play-doh now. In case I personally meet one of the idiots on the street.

    Great perspective on what a real tragedy is. As a species we tend to not go too long between the big ones. Aside from the moslem vermin we’re doing pretty well here. The African action is bad but mostly isolated. Well, whatever you do I hope you enjoy it Z.

  23. Mal says:

    The entire NW is water logged and has affected their brains! Oregon Ducks included! ;o)
    You’ll notice most of their players are imported from California!

  24. Baysider says:

    Yes, it’s an excellent perspective. I could add 542, the terrible first year of the Black Plague that decimated Constantinople by 5,000 citizens PER DAY, brought down the then Persian empire, and literally weakened the eastern Roman Empire’s foundation to set the stage for soon conquest by Muslim hordes.

    I can understand the energy and emotional drain to be “on” for a successful blog day after day. Perhaps a trusted co-writer??

    Loved the slide!

  25. geeez2014 says:

    RE BLOGGING: I love it. Is it the best way to spend my precious time? NO. Can I be more specific? No. That’s as far as I’ll go. Have thought of every single possible extrapolation of how to keep this blog going and I think I WILL, but it’ll be different. But thanks for your thoughts!

    Kid, the very thought that we must be so careful now at big events, at parades, inaugurations, etc., shows we are not so okay…but you DID say “aside from the moslem vermin,” come to think of it. I was thinking earlier today “Who’d have thought this would happen here?” DAMN them all and bomb the Haj. ISIS picked the nightclub in Istanbul to kill people because it’s where Christians were ‘celebrating their heathen god” or something like that.. Meanwhile, these people MURDER for their crap god, huh?

    BY THE WAY, EVERYBODY: This morning I got an email from German friends I haven’t heard from in a pretty long while. Would you look at this as a slam? I sure did…

    “…our best wishes for the new year and good luck for the four years to come with the new head of state.”

    SO I wrote this back among best wishes, etc.:
    “I’m not fond of our ‘new head of state’ and constantly have to remind myself of what most Americans know about the Clintons, which makes even him easier to accept.
    We need luck! This will not be a normal presidency, it seems, but I think America needs something more than normal these days…
    I know Germany needs much luck too, with the refugee situation, etc etc etc….I wish you the best, too!”

    heh heh. They have liberal AMerican friends who they’re close to and so I think they’d taken their lead…time for a NEW VIEWPOINT 🙂

  26. Mal – I’d offer that we got our best [in recent memory] from Hawaii….but in Oregon, we don’t get waterlogged as much as we rust! I had the privilege of working [loosely] with Marcus Mariota’s father, when I was deployed to the Pacific for the first of my 2 tours in my current position.

    Z – I was reminiscing with Mrs. CI just yesterday about how we didn’t think twice about large events when we were young….now I avoid them if possible, especially if I’m not able to carry within the venue.

    I truly hope you continue blogging, and I likewise hope my dissenting views aren’t in any way contributing to the lack of desire to continue. None of my positions are ever meant with any malice.

  27. Kid says:

    Z, Ype, the moslem vermin and their book have no place in civilized society – violent or not. As you know my position.

    Well, to your German firends. I know someone (an American) who regularly travels to Sweden and they asked him on a recent trip what he thought of D. Trump being elected to which he said it was great! and they looked at him like he was out of his mind. The media here and way more so over in Europe have everyone convinced that Trump will be like Hitler, putting opponents in jail, creating an SS and a Gestapo to deal with political opposition.. Seriously. He explained it to them, but they are going to be harder to bring over to the dise of reason than the idiots over here.

    Finally I can’t help myself ! FOLKS ! Z is reducing blogging because she has accepted a position on Trump’s team as Editor in Chief of Trump’s Twitter Machine !!! Congrats Z !

  28. geeez2014 says:

    Kid “Z is reducing blogging because she has accepted a position on Trump’s team as Editor in Chief of Trump’s Twitter Machine !!! Congrats Z !”
    That’s IT! YOU GOT IT RIGHT~! (as if)….I wish I could have the key to his Twitter account…he would ROCK and be totally respected here and around the world; I PROMISE 🙂 Thanks for the appointment…think I’d make it thru Senate confirmation hearings? !!!

    And yes, absolutely….the Germans, everyone in Europe, gets the LIBERAL TRANSLATION of the LIBERAL AMERICAN NEWS…TRUST me, I’ve read it …here and there. Heck, there are libs HERE in America who somehow get the impression our freedoms will be attacked by Trump;…what the H??
    Talk about Sweden, did you see the YouTube video of muslims surrounding and climbing up into a store Christmas tree there laughing and pulling the ornaments off and throwing them all over the store? Good job, Sweden. Of course, nothing was done about it…the video just keeps rolling..no cops, nothing. As in Germany (and I know this from a cop in Germany), they’re told to STAND DOWN, let them be. pigs.

    CI, thanks…I have never been a big event person and I understand your wanting to carry if you go to one…. Dissent never bothers me. I can’t even open the conversation about what does….but sometimes I do get fed up enough to think “well, you want to close down, maybe this is a sign,” frankly.

  29. Kid says:

    Z, I can’t say much surprises me for years now, but the level of self-induced and accepted suicide in the European countries is stunning.

    Well, maybe these are the offspring of people too chicken to come to America to create a new world and therefore don’t have it in their genes.

    I’d like to think if much of that went on in the US, that gangs of Americans would blossom and deal with these vermin like the movie Wolverines or La Cosa Nostra in Sicily.

  30. Kid says:

    Z, If you couldn’t make it through confirmation hearings, no one could.

  31. geeez2014 says:

    Kid…so so so good here: “Well, maybe these are the offspring of people too chicken to come to America to create a new world and therefore don’t have it in their genes.”
    Bravo!!
    Well, since it’s mostly Republicans in Congress now, I guess I could pass the confirmation hearings…if these were old Obama days, and they read my blog, I doubt it 🙂

  32. Kid says:

    Thanks. Good Point!

  33. geeez2014 says:

    Not being a football fan, I completely forgot to watch the USC/Penn game and I see now it was AMAZING! THAT kind of game, I CAN WATCH, but who knew? Congratulations, USC

  34. Kid says:

    Z, How many home run strike goals did they get?

  35. Silverlady says:

    USC = The Cardiac Kids! Stanford used to be the Indians, but now the mascot of the snowflakes & cupcakes is a TREE! Can you imagine yelling ‘Go Trees!’? Gad, but I hate the politically correct attitude.

    My husband is in hospital with pneumonia, so saw the last half in his room. When the last 3 minutes were starting I went to the Nurses’ Station & told them if they heard screaming it wasn’t the patient!

    I read on another blog that Trump has invited BiBi Netanyahu to his inauguration. If so, I hope he comes. That’s a poke in the eye for Bampot.

    Lakeside C.C. in No. Hollywood (Toluca Lake where I used to live) was considering a black businessman for membership. But when they found out his wife was MAXINE WATERS his application went down tubes.

    Happiest of New Years to you & all here.

  36. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, I said I didn’t love football, I didn’t say I don’t KNOW football 🙂

  37. Kid says:

    Z, I’m sure you do, I was saying I don’t follow anymore.

  38. John M. Berger says:

    @Z & Kid,
    OK,kind of off-target but I have to say my brief time at the ‘watering hole’, tonight, met with completely worthless statistics about unknown foot ball players. It made for an early departure.

  39. Kid says:

    JMB, For Me….. Even down to the college level, it is an activity fraught with corruption and doesn’t provide me personally with anything. In fact becuase tax money builds the infrastructure for a completely for profit private business, I find it very mobish. Anyway, boiliing it down to its basic element, it is nothing more than guys playing with a ball and lately it has gotten very thug-ish as well. i just don’t have any interest and haven’t for a while. If other folks enjoy it, Enjoy. I did at one time, having lived in Pittsburgh in the 70’s.

  40. Kid says:

    PS, I just can’t bring myself to sit in front of a TV for 3 hours even if the above didn’t apply. 3 hours of a movie I’ve seen way too many times as well.

  41. geeez2014 says:

    Come ON, ,you guys….it’s fun to watch the talent, the school spirit, the whole atmosphere! Even I like it 🙂

  42. Mal says:

    C.I., I have noticed a lot of Samoan names in football in the past decade or so. USC has had some, also, as well as other NCAA teams. How about the Rose Bowl game? 102 total points scored, with USC winning with a last minute field goal 52-49! What a game!!

  43. geeez2014 says:

    Kid! You said “Z, How many home run strike goals did they get?”, which was a clear tease like “do you even know about football?”

  44. Kid says:

    Z, I see your point 🙂 But I was trying to telegraph my own fairly new found ignorance of all things sports.

  45. Mal says:

    Kid, I definitely see your point, and the reason I never really liked pro football because its a business and college football has become the same even though they don’t draw a salary, they hope to get drafted by the NFL for big $$$$$. But I still like it because there is pride of school still involved. I even liked High School football and use to go every Friday night when our kids were in high school. Jim, my youngest, was “quick end” when he attended Newport Harbor High and on the track team. At 6′ 1″ and only 160 lbs. he was quick. Very quick. But said it really hurt when getting tackled. (No s—!)

    😉

  46. geeez2014 says:

    Oh, I got ya, Kid! (I have a bad cold, must have caught it from Mad :-))

    Mal, I like the pride thing, too. Mr. Z LOVED sports…he loved tennis, the Tour de France, basketball, etc., and he continued to watch THEM, but completely gave up on the Olympics, which he’d liked before the doping and the big money stuff…..He also had his nose full after the bicycling fiascos during the Tour de France….so sad to see him lose heart like that….

  47. Kid says:

    Z, I knew I shouldn’t have kissed you last week! 😉

  48. Kid says:

    Mal, If I would watch anything it would maybe be high school football.

    If you haven’t seen this movie I think you’d really enjoy it. Based on a true story and highly recommended by me. http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0210945/

  49. Kid says:

    Well Z, I wasn’t exactly being clear either.

  50. Mal says:

    Kid, I DO remember a movie with that story line and sounds very familiar. Another one I enjoyed was ‘WE ARE MARSHALL”, a true story about a college football team that all died in a plane crash. You may have seen it, also. We have the DVD.

Leave a Reply

