You’ll like these……..

WHY ATHLETES DON’T HAVE REGULAR JOBS

  1. Torrin Polk, University of Houston receiver, on his coach, John Jenkins:
    “He treat us like mens. He let us wear earrings.”
  2. Shelby Metcalf, basketball coach at Texas A&M, recounting what he
    told a player who received four F’s and one D:  “Son, looks to me like
    you’re spending too much time on one subject.
  3. Chuck Nevitt , North Carolina State basketball player, explaining
    to Coach JimValvano why he appeared nervous at practice: “My sister’s expecting a
    baby, and I don’t know if I’m going to be an uncle or an aunt.
    (I wonder if his IQ ever hit room temperature in January)
  4. New Orleans Saint RB George Rogers when asked about the upcoming season:
    “I want to rush for 1,000 or 1,500 yards, whichever comes first..”
  5. Football commentator and former player Joe Theismann:
    “Nobody in football should be called a genius. A genius is a guy like
    Norman Einstein.”
  6. Senior basketball player at the University of Pittsburgh: “I’m
    going to graduate on time, no matter how long it takes..”
    (Now that is beautiful)
  7. Bill Peterson, a Florida State football coach: “You guys line up
    alphabetically by height..,”and “You guys pair up in groups of three and then line up in a circle.”
  1. Boxing promoter Dan Duva on Mike Tyson going to prison:
    “Why would anyone expect him to come out smarter? He went to prison
    for three years, not Princeton …”
  2. Stu Grimson, Chicago Blackhawks left wing, explaining why he keeps
    a color photo of himself above his locker:
    “That’s so when I forget how to spell my name, I can still find my clothes.”
  3. Lou Duva, veteran boxing trainer, on the Spartan training regimen
    of heavyweight Andrew Golota:
    “He’s a guy who gets up at six o’clock in the morning, regardless of
    what time it is.”
  4. Upon hearing Joe Jacobi of the ‘Skin’s say: “I’d run over my own
    mother to win the Super Bowl,”
    Matt Millen of the Raiders said: “To win, I’d run over Joe’s Mom, too.”
  5. Frank Layden, Utah Jazz president, on a former player:  “I asked
    him, ‘Son, what is it with you? Is it ignorance or apathy?’
    He said, ‘Coach, I don’t know and I don’t care.'”
  6. Chicago Cubs outfielder Andre Dawson on being a role model:
    “I wan’ all dem kids to do what I do, to look up to me. I wan’ all the
    kids to copulate me.”
  7. In the words of NC State great Charles Shackelford:”I can go to
    my left or right, I am amphibious.”15. Former Houston Oilers coach

Bum Phillips when asked by Bob Costas why he takes his wife on all the road trips, Phillips responded:”Because she’s too ugly to kiss good-bye.”

The basketball player was asked what his church preference was and his answer was red brick. He also thought Taco Bell was the Mexican Telephone company.

This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to You’ll like these……..

  1. jerrydablade says:

    FANTASTIC! These are hilarious (and I do enjoy a good laugh) Thanks for sharing these. I may have read them before (?), but forgetfulness can be a side benefit to growing older sometimes.

  2. fredd says:

    Yogi Berra has a book that has lots of these gems, but he said them all.. On the book, Yogi was quoted “I never said half the things I said.”

  3. At least he wondered whether he’d be an aunt or uncle.
    In Tennessee, he’d wonder whether he was the mother or the father.

  4. Kid says:

    Funny Stuff 🙂

  5. Sparky says:

    My, my, my! It’s one of those Sad But True moments. I don’t know whether to laugh or cry. :p

  6. Mal says:

    I love Bum Philips reply “Because she’s too ugly to kiss goodbye”. All the others also.

  7. John M. Berger says:

    Love ’em all.

  8. Linda says:

    Loved them, and also the comments!

Leave a Reply

