Sunday Faith Blog

Dear Father,  be with THESE PEOPLE‘s families as they grieve over the shocking and so totally unexpected, violent deaths of their loved ones.   Amen.

“Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.,”  Matthew 5:4

The news stories cover the shooter in depth, the dead’s names and details are slowly coming out.  Their families will never ever be the same.  There will be guilt for the woman whose husband died and she didn’t, the husband who wasn’t hit but his wife is gone forever.  There will be grandchildren who never knew their grandparents, loneliness for long-time spouses.  Christmas will never be the same.  Tomorrow will never be the same.  And yet we won’t know them, but we’ll know the killer and are being told he had problems;  we will give him all the second chances his victims never had.

We ask you to be with these families, dear God……comfort them.  Help them to forgive for their own sakes, for their own health.  Help them find the peace only  You can possibly provide when hate and anger are the first emotions we so understandably feel.

Please have each person who reads this blog post pray at least once for the victims’ families.  We are told in scripture to pray for the shooter, too.   Please make that easier than it might be.  ***

That was the end of my post until I saw the (huge!) video below on Facebook at 2 AM this morning and knew this had to be added to the sad post above, which I found hopeless but honest.   The video below reminds us how good God is.  God is complicated.  We don’t know His intentions, His timing, why terrible things like the shootings above happen.  But we know really GOOD THINGS HAPPEN, too.  Make sure you watch her story till the end…..”you can feel it in your heart.”  It helps us to remember that.  (Thanks to Jerry, who reminds you all to make sure you wait till the (huge) video downloads below the verse from Proverbs because the message is so worth it!)

“Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.” Proverbs 19:21

Amen.

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. jerrydablade says:

    Amen. As for that (huge!) video… don’t scroll past like I almost did. So powerful.

  2. geeez2014 says:

    thanks Jerry….I’m going to put a warning that it takes a bit to download it and you might not realize it’s coming! Thanks..it IS powerful, isn’t it. So glad you thought so; it’s actually life changing.

  3. Bob says:

    Beautiful story Z. Thanks for you post and thanks for the scripture reference. We need to remember those words from Proverbs when thinking of the New Year, and the new Washington administration. Happy New Year, and may God bless you.

  4. Mal says:

    I watched this twice ’cause I wanted my wife to see it, also. Very touching. Hopefully, things will get better for him, maybe by being offered a job, or, if already employed, a better paying one.

  5. geeez2014 says:

    I just loved how this women who admits to not being a strong person of faith felt that what happened was “All GOD”….imagine that she’d wanted to get fried chicken so badly, but felt she ought not…then doing what he needed for him and THEN someone else having got him the chicken? MY GOSH, that’s a great story.
    So glad y’all like it, too.

    Mal,I’m glad you and Joni liked it, too…….I hope things pick up for him, too….it’s clear God’s got his eye on him, but…he’s still in SUCH NEED! We can never understand why what happens actually happens, can we. As I quoted in the first scripture, we will at least be ‘comforted.’ He sure was that day! You’re so kind for caring about him so much.

    Bob, that IS a good post for the new Washington admin….. and may God continue to bless you, too, you good guy, you! 🙂

  6. Baysider says:

    Even with the situation in my own home I’ve not feeling very charitable toward this man. I can only imagine the ‘if onlys’ in the lives of their families and pray that they won’t be ensared by these.

  7. Sparky says:

    Beautiful prayer, Z. I lifted them all to the Throne of Grace too.
    Luv ~:)

  8. geeez2014 says:

    Hi, Baysider, pls email me if you would like re the situation…..have been thinking about you.
    As you know, it’s not ourselves who can feel charitable…..not on our own.

    Sparky, thanks….xxxx

  9. Hmmm. So many things go through my mind when I watch this, which I’ve been waiting all day to do.
    One. Why do so many people record themselves in their vehicles?
    B. Why did she put her “almsgiving” on Facebook and say she’s just recording it for herself.
    iii. Why was no motivation for the activity of her or the other shopper attributed to God. (I understand she mentions God at the end but tangentially).
    4. People do good works all the time, even atheists, but it’s like this guy was rewarded to not steal some place else, by her own words.
    I know a guy personally that once paid for the items of a young mom ahead of him at the register at Christmas who upon realizing she had overspent her wallet, told the cashier to take stuff off.
    The guy told her that Jesus told him to do it. It caused a buzz in the store, but he hasn’t told a soul.
    The same guy tipped a waitress he knew $100 so she could visit her son in the army at Christmas. He gave the credit to Jesus and kept it to himself.
    Stuff like that happens every day.
    I don’t see the point of this woman’s video.
    Sorry.

  10. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, I’m sorry, too.
    I think the video’s marvelous because, for her anyway, things like this don’t seem to “happen every day’ …and she benefited so much more than the man she helped did. For her to credit God with something so good, seemingly for the first time; I hope her life’s changed, and his.
    I don’t see ulterior motives…and I think some people have things on their dashboard from which to hang their cell phone so they can talk directly into it….
    Anyway, I LOVE this video and your points don’t resonate with me but they might with others?

  11. “and she benefited so much more than the man she helped did.”‘
    I’m glad you explained it to me. I see that now.

  12. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, I’m glad….thanks.

Leave a Reply

