Jeff Sessions’ session with the Senate

I’ve been really hard on Sessions…always.  Was NOT pleased with Trump’s picking him for AG.

I’ve pretty much changed my mind;  I have had the hearings on as I’ve been doing stuff around here and I’m impressed with his articulation, his not folding to the libs, to not pandering to the cons, to how he remembers to point out why he might not have voted for a bill, something people didn’t know, things in the bill which made him right not to vote for it.

Anybody else watching and have an opinion on him?

Z    (and please don’t forget to read the list in the post below…good stuff!)

This entry was posted in Justice Department, Trump. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Jeff Sessions’ session with the Senate

  1. I’ve read some of the transcripts and while he comported himself well, I’m still not a big fan. He vows to vigorously prosecute “obscenity”….which the State gets to define….and is a huge proponent of the “war” on drugs, and civil asset forfeiture. I don’t buy into claims of racism….but we could have done better than this.

  2. Mal says:

    I heard parts of it (Fox News was on while we were going back and forth) and I agree he articulated well under questioning. I will continue to support Trump’s choices until he is proven wrong. He’s done a super job thus far, imo.

  3. geeez2014 says:

    CI, yes, we could have got someone better but I had SUCH a low estimation of him that his answers today helped…
    I learned a few things since I wrote this post that I didn’t like but I don’t suppose anybody’s going to be 100% perfect in any of our views.
    He’s no racist; as a bunch of Blacks were screeching yesterday about what a racist he is, a bunch of Blacks in Alabama were standing by him, saying he’s been a good proponent of theirs for years. Of course, the Blacks in Alabama, who happened to be mostly pastors representing their congregations, didn’t get mentioned as much as the anti-Sessions people’s protests. If at all.
    To watch the left try with the racist thing,knowing that their own hero Robt Byrd had been a Klan recruiter at about the same many years back as Sessions apparently said something untoward, is pretty ironic.
    I’m not big on obscenity myself, but do get your point..

    EVERYBODY:
    I liked when one of the liberal senators said “The AG is not the president’s attorney”…if Eric Holder didn’t play president’s attorney, I’m not sure what he did.

    Also, Dick Durbin was the senator to dig up ONE example of a Syrian refugee badly needing legit help, a Black drug pusher who could have been let out but did 22 years, and a Dream Act kid who wanted to stay in America and go to war, which he did. This, to tell the world that ALL refugees should be helped here, ALL drug pushers should get out, and ALL Dream Act kids need to stay. That was kind of embarrassing for Durbin….so easy to find ONE example of what he wants …he tried to insult Sessions with each of them for Sessions’ stances on these subjects; Sessions did an excellent job explaining why he hadn’t voted for the pusher to get out, etc..

    Mal, it looks like it. I’m REALLY eager to hear Tillerson and am hoping it’s tomorrow,,,,just checked and it is…so I’m thinking I will be home to at least have the TV ON and listen…..wish I could just SIT and listen with nothin’ else to do 🙂

  4. bocopro says:

    Most of us born before WWII got our values and ethics and other fundamentals from people to whom stereotyping and racism were simply facts of life.

    My maternal grandparents, both very devout Baptists, raised me after raising 7 of their own children and one older grandchild. One of their kids earned his doctorate and taught at Penn State for decades; another got her doctorate in psychology and taught retarded children for nearly 40 years. Another got his MA but spun off the track and spent most of his adult life in VA hospitals.

    Those very intelligent and educated well-meaning people taught me that Mexicans are sneaky, blacks have a characteristic body odor, Spaniards are haughty and aloof, Russians are paranoid, Italians are explosive and unreliable, Frenchmen love to start complex projects which they never finish, Jews are clannish and stingy, Germans are joyless automatons, British are condescending and stuffy, and on and on and on. And they were SERIOUS about that stuff. It’s just the way people thought back then.

    In 1958 I went to a liberal arts college where I encountered people from everywhere, literally: blacks, Indians (subcontinent), Mexicans, Jews, Irish, Muslims, rich, poor, and everything in between. A few years later I found myself in the Navy, where sometimes my bunk would be adjoining a Filipino’s or Mexican’s or black’s or whatever’s.

    To grow up in the Ohio Valley in the 40s and 50s and NOT be at least a BIT of a narrow-minded bigot was damned near impossible. Fortunately, nobody shot me or beheaded me or sued me or regularly kicked my ignorant ass for being a racist pig. What they did instead was demonstrate clearly to me that people are what they make of themselves and everybody has a contribution to make if given the chance.

    To me, Jefferson Beauregard Sessions had much the same upbringing as I did but even more severe in its attitude toward certain ethnicities. I’d be surprised by anything else based on nothing more than that name of his. My guess is that the school of life gave him the same exit degree it did me, and although remnants of those early lessons might flicker in his consciousness from time to time, he’s actually less of a racist than Obama, or Lynch, or Holder, or especially Moochelle.

    What the Democrats are doing is the exact reason Trump got so many votes: keepin on keepin on with the politics as usual, the very thing DJT has vowed to sweep away with his new brooms. From what I hear, Sessions is a good man, MUCH more tolerant and reasonable than his two predecessors. Dems aren’t doing themselves any favor by being sticks in the mud and burrs under the saddle.

  5. geeez2014 says:

    Bocopro…THIS is the kind of things SO many Americans don’t want to understand…Very few people understand CONTEXT, that racial/ethnic/religious bigotry was IT back then, particularly in certain areas, as you say. It’s like hating our forefathers for having had slaves…when EVERYONE had slaves, one didn’t think back then “Gee, these are people, too, they deserve better..” One MIGHT think that, but I doubt it. It was WHAT WAS GOING ON BACK THEN.

    I love your line about the “School of life” giving him the “same exit degree it did” you….well put.

    And YES YES YES! He IS less a racist than Obama, Lynch, CERTAINLY HOlder, and Michelle….
    And, as I said above, the very idea that the left’s forgotten the TRULY racist past of their hero, Robt Byrd is SO obvious….and so laughable.

    Thanks for the terrific comment….AND I agree that even Dems are going to start liking the sweeping away with new brooms…I really DO.

  6. The networks are hyping racism. See THIS over at Newsbusters.

    One paragraph:

    …Absent from any of the network coverage was the fact that Cory Booker worked with Jeff Sessions in 2015 to introduce legislation to honor demonstrators who participated in the 1965 civil rights march in Selma, Alabama. At the time, Booker said he felt “blessed and honored to have partnered with Senator Sessions” on the matter….

    Read the rest at the above link.

  7. John M. Berger says:

    As far as I’m concerned Mal has said it all.

  8. Kid says:

    I was able to rune in this afternoon a bit. Caught the stuff close to the noon hour.

    He is certainly talking a good game. I will agree with CI in that the war on drugs is a bigger failure that any other war, like the war on poverty ot ignorance.
    Time to try something else.

    I really liked the poiint he made about the DOJ supporting the police – pointing out what were doing now is the opposite of intelligent or useful, without mentioning names, but yea, obama hasn’t said a single positive thing about police. Ever. What a pantload he is and they are.

    Apparently, he used the N word 25 years ago, and that will come up at some point.

  9. geeez2014 says:

    Kid…ya, and Robert Byrd recruited for the Klan. But let a Republican say the N word, and it’s hell to pay.

    AOW, if ONLY the news would cover that, particularly what Cory Booker said. hypocrite.

    JMB…Mal said it well…I hope all the candidates do well…very eager to her Tillerson

  10. Sen Sessions Military Adviser gave Scherie and I a tour of the capital last year, something my own senators did not arrange.
    That was sweet of him.

  11. Mal says:

    Bocopro, what you said about pre-WW ll thinking is exactly correct and why we didn’t feel it was wrong placing Japanese Americans in camps. Today there has been a lot of backlash about that, but at the time people felt safer by doing so and, unlike today, the safety of the American people came first. No P.C. And they (the Jap.-Americans) understood and cooperated. Things are totally different today.

  12. Mal – I have to ask, do you have any primary sources you could direct me to, where Japanese-Americans “understood and cooperated” with forced internment? I have read multiple first hand accounts and hadn’t come across what you describe.

  13. geeez2014 says:

    Mal, I think some Japanese felt safer there because there were tough feelings against them, obviously….imagine in a neighborhood which had lost a son to the Japanese?
    I know Germans were scared during the war, too, who lived here….got very tough handling by Americans. NOT easy.
    Yes, back then, the safety of AMericans came first….

    CI, I know Japanese who were born around that time and they have bad feelings about it, but their parents went fully cooperating….Very tough history; how could we trust otherwise? There were Japanese subs off the California coast!

    I had a friend who went to school with Japanese kids before the war….they all disappeared during the war, then he went to a reunion some years later and some of the Japanese kids thanked him for always having been kind to them; they hadn’t always felt that.
    But, is that not understandable by Americans who’d lost a son or bro to the Japanese?? It’s a tough one, for sure.

    Ed, that’s really nice!

  14. Yes, back then, the safety of AMericans came first….

    I get the sense of a scared nation….but we should remember that just over two-thirds of the internees were American citizens…..and that not only were Kriegsmarine U-Boats all over the East Coast…..German commandos were ashore attempting [and succeeding in a few cases] active sabotage….all without restricting the rights of German-American citizens.

  15. Imp says:

    “all without restricting the rights of German-American citizens.”

    Then why were all the German bunds shut down? Google Earth has done a great job mapping all the U boat sinkings off our east coast and the Gulf.

  16. Mal says:

    C.I., I just ran across your comment. No, only comments from some at the time. They didn’t like it, but understood the reason. That’s what I meant. Many farmers in the San Joaquin Valley had to sacrifice their homes, farms, cars, etc. It was very sad. Many good neighbors kept it for them till after the war, but many lost everything.

Leave a Reply

