You’ve just GOT to see this video…

Perfect for the day after the change in government in D.C., I thought this video was a must-see….there’s a new guy in town who loves and respects this country and it might just rub off on people.   I think the coach in the video I linked just below here is like Trump;  telling them “what’s what!”  

When some of the Virginia Tech basketball players disrespected the National Anthem, coach Buzz Williams had a solution.

http://www.topbuzzapp.com/article/i6260659452401566212?app_id=1106

God Bless America!

Z

 

This entry was posted in America, Patriotism, sports. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to You’ve just GOT to see this video…

  1. bunkerville says:

    Brought a tear to the ole eyeball. Beautiful.

  2. bocopro says:

    Well, it’s a trite cliche, but it’s true that if you don’t stand for somethin, you’ll fall for anything.

    I grew up in a very patriotic family of men who went to war and women who kept the home fires burning, of Patton and Churchill and Kate Smith. Then I defended the Constitution in uniform for almost a quarter century. So honoring flag and tradition and all that are part of my DNA.

    But I wouldn’t want to live in a culture of sheep in which everyone thought and felt and did and said the same things all day every day. In that direction lies not a vibrant nation but a stagnation.

    So I tolerate loyal dissent and difference of opinion. Good thing, too, ’cause the lady whom I’ve share most of my adult life with is about as different as they come.

    But what I don’t understand is what the protestors want to replace our culture, our traditions, our patriotism, our flag with. If they have a better way, let’s hear it. If they don’t, they can do their thing privately and not ruin it for the rest of us by being impudent snots.

    I’m not a practicing Christian, but I have the common courtesy and mature decency to keep my trap shut while others pray, and I’m not offended by “In God We Trust” on my currency or menorahs in public squares or nativity scenes in the park. And I have no interest whatever in using a restroom facility not designed for my gender, except in case of emergency.

    It’s a little thing called “tolerance” and “growing up” and “good behavior”; and I’d like to see more of ’em give it a try.

  3. geeez2014 says:

    Bunker, isn’t it just WONDERFUL!? Glad you liked it, too.

    Bocopro….I wouldn’t want to live in a ‘culture of sheep, ‘ either, but I do believe respect for the flag or the national anthem doesn’t make us sheepish, right? I am hoping that team “grew up” after getting that lesson.
    I wish more kids could experience this. I’d personally pay (if I could) to have these old vets appear at public schools with that coach in teaching our kids that America is NOT the terrible place many leftwingers have taught them to believe, that people have given up years of their lives, or their very lives, to support and defend her. You can have different viewpoints about politics, but NEVER insult this country.

  4. geeez2014 says:

    Jamie Foxx, the subject of the above link I just posted, also says “This past political thing was horrible for the kids” the multi-talented Jamie Foxx tells ESSENCE, “because if you can’t have your children watch political debates and watch Presidential debates, that’s where I think you got it wrong.”
    And if there wasn’t so much HATE, our kids could have watched….

  5. Adrienne says:

    Beautiful video and wonderful object lesson for those kids.

  6. geeez2014 says:

    Barack Obama ✔ @BarackObama
    Hi everybody! Back to the original handle. Is this thing still on? Michelle and I are off on a quick vacation, then we’ll get back to work.
    1:04 PM – 20 Jan 2017

    Somebody needs to tell Obama he has no more work. Please.

  7. geeez2014 says:

    Bocopro…I thought of you when I heard Trump last night say “her and her family…” A president who says HER AND HER FAMILY!? OY. !!!

  8. I’d cut Obama some slack, I think it’s adorable that he thinks being a “community organizer” [i.e. rabble-rouser] is work.

  9. geeez2014 says:

    Just got this from my cousin in Connecticut “Quick story..was working with a black woman yesterday when speech was starting. She asked if I could get a TV on my phone. She said she was so happy Obama was leaving. And was praying big time for Trump. We watched entire swearing in and speech.”

    Cool!

  10. geeez2014 says:

    CI…Right!! .I think his ‘community organization’ is going to be slamming Trump every chance he gets, ‘rabble rouser’ indeed! Should get interesting, huh?

  11. bocopro says:

    The singly most destructive and dangerous community organizer in American history, overschooled, overhyped, overpaid, and overdue for a vacation . . . on Ganymede.

  12. geeez2014 says:

    Bocopro…the Obamas are in Palm Springs….for golf. It’s supposed to rain the next few days, but it’s SO gorgeous here in L.A., …at least now; we’re expecting rain again tonight. HURRAH! Our drought is apparently ‘over’ according to a lot of weather folks….rivers are filling because the snow pack’s high up North….good stuff.

    A friend said “Man, look at that! Trump wins the presidency and California’s drought ends…” cracked me up.

    Did you see the comment about Trump saying “Her and her family…”? ugh

  13. bocopro says:

    Saw your comment, but I don’t watch political hoohah on TV. Didn’t watch any of the inauguration. I get my news from CNN and FOX on line . . . read news briefs and certain commentators instead of watchin ’em.

    As for bein a grammar cop, I abandoned the idea many years ago except on formal documents or student papers. I’ve tried to explain who/whom to people and why it’s impossible to “center around” and why “the reason is because” is an egregious flaw and just gave up, primarily because they don’t listen.

    In fact, I split my own infinitives proudly and gleefully end my sentences with prepositions when I have a mind to, ready to boldly go into the boonies of the langwidge cosmos and use expressions that grammarnazis simply won’t put up with.

    But I’ll beatcha t’ death if you throw a comma splice or fragment or if you abuse a semicolon or put an apostrophe where it doesn’t belong in a business letter or will or contract.

  14. geeez2014 says:

    Here’s a switch; I just wrote this comment at Adrienne’s and copy/pasted it here!!

    “Did you just see Trump’s talk at the CIA headquarters? FABULOUS. The crowd in that room kept cheering and cheering! I loved it…. I turn to CNN, and they’re ‘tsk tsk’ing..(literally)…” in THAT ‘hallowed’ room…with the stars depicting the dead of the CIA, he stood there and the first thing out of his mouth was something about FOX…I’ve spoken to my connections at the CIA and this wasn’t what they expected. They expected him to just compliment them. This was inappropriate.”
    I was laughing SO hard….they group kept cheering but CNN finds it inappropriate!
    I hope some of you saw it…he was so friendly and warm (he DID smile, Adrienne, more than usual!), he was so personable….more than I’ve ever seen him.
    He apparently nailed some TIME reporter who wrote how sad it was that he’d taken the MLK Jr bust out of the Oval office….but the truth is he hadn’t…it’s right there. I love when he calls the media for the LIARS they are! HURRAH!! Oooh, CNN is so sad……and that really bothers me, you know? (HAAA!!!):”

  15. geeez2014 says:

    oh, COME ON, Bocopro….HER AND HIM isn’t just a split infinitive or anything else and you know it! I can’t even say it if I TRY. and Neither can YOU. I frequently screw up WHO and WHOM…I’m not at all a grammar cop but THIS? OMG.

  16. geeez2014 says:

    I AM SO PROUD NOT TO BE A WOMAN WHO’D MARCH IN THOSE MARCHES TODAY. SO PROUD.

  17. Mal says:

    i agree that not only coaches but all teachers and leaders of our youth should teach their students in this manner. Perhaps we’d have less hate and rebellion if they did. As for Trump’s grammar fau pax I really don’t care so long as he straightens out our country. Bocopro, I have to admit to still getting the ‘who/whom” one wrong sometimes. So sue me!

    ;o)

  18. bocopro says:

    Hey, Granny Clampett generally got her idea across clearly, right? Jethro . . . now that was a bit much, I’ll admit. But so long as it was clear, I’d generally let it pass. Not so in my classroom, tho. At the start of each semester, I published a collection of pages showing how to do/say things and how NOT to do/say things on papers.

    They dealt with diction, mechanics, documentation, glossing, and other matters not properly or thoroughly explained in high school. Here’s the example I used on what happens when your diction and grammar are “close enough” and you expect people to read your minds and not necessarily your words:

    Here is what happens when spoken language is translated or phoneticized into written language. When users aren’t quite sure of a spelling or a mechanical or grammatical rule, the tendency is to say “that’s close enough.” After a while, a language which is standard throughout the entire world begins to experience localized or regional modifications. Ultimately, Latin becomes Spanish, Italian, French, Portuguese, and so on. The same thing can happen to English. It is only by convention that we all have agreed upon commas, question marks, apostrophes, and other devices as road signs. But the rules are not universal laws of nature, merely standards established by certain groups. For example, Spanish has slightly different rules for punctuating exclamatory or interrogative sentences than does English. When people fail to learn or simply ignore standardized rules, the result can be a cryptic, mystifying, unintelligible, frustrating, and even dangerously misleading collection of arcane symbols. Note that virtually all the rules of syntax and mechanics have been suspended here.

    hay dood
    heidi
    hire yew
    wassup
    ammo git sum all
    wut fer a far
    no ya idjit furma foad
    hay jeet chet
    naw jew
    kinah heavy dew me sumpin
    ax on ole sun
    no dat choaknpyook wit d big sebmup sine
    overair onna kona bah d tar stow
    assa wun
    run overair n git me a sammich n a ornj
    shore zat it
    snuff to tarred deat mornat
    whyncha go long
    gotta wacheez kritturz
    oaz ow tair
    all m
    hmmm yeah zatcher dawg air mungem
    ass no dog assa pig
    L I B
    m all is
    beun ugly dawg
    sherwood
    L bakina fyoo
    K

  19. Baysider says:

    Well done coach! But look at the comments!! The anthem was originally constructed to kill blacks??? Talk about fake news or, rather, fake education.

  20. Mal says:

    When I was in grammar school in the 1930’s we use to say “ain’t ain’t in the dictionary” but it has since then. Our vocabulary is constantly changing, as Bocopro well pointed out. Just look at the different meanings today of words like “gay”, “straight” or “fairy” to name a few. Another good thing about the”who/whom” thing is most of the folks I say it to probably don’t know the difference either. But it is still nice to know the difference and use it properly.

  21. Mal says:

    Its a lot like the Mississippi sheriff who stopped Billie Bubba in his old pickup and asked him if he had any I.D. to which he replied ‘Bout what?”

  22. geeez2014 says:

    This is enlightening:

    Some of the Partners – Women’s March on Washington:
    1199 SEIU
    AFL-CIO
    AFSCME
    Rutgers AAUP-AFT
    American Federation of Teachers, AFL-CIO
    Arab American Association of New York
    Asian Pacific American Labor Alliance, AFL-CIO (APALA)
    Association of Flight Attendants-CWA
    SEIU Healthcare PA
    NCLR (la Raza)
    New York State Nurses Association (NYSNA)
    Ontario Federation of Labour
    National Network for Arab American Communities
    Council on American Islamic Relations (CAIR)
    Council on American Islamic Relations – Connecticut (CAIR-CT)
    Council on American Islamic Relations – San Francisco Bay Area

    https://www.womensmarch.com/partners/

  23. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider…not all the comments were that negative and STUPID, but yes…many.

    Bocopro…I’m done already with the grammar thing. I DO think anybody who attended excellent schools, including Wharton School, would never even be able to say “her and her family”….I think you know that, too.

    Mal, I’m not SAYING it’s not changing…..I’m saying that someone Trump’s age should know MUCH MUCH better than that. …just inherently from having attended schools back when they were good. Ya, I LOVE “about what?”

    By the way, “Ain’t” was once considered THE polite way to say that…the elegant way. In the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries, it was highly acceptable among the poor and under educated (as now) as well as highly educated.

  24. geeez2014 says:

    Trump really made an ASS of himself today by having Spicer go out and lie about the amount of people at the inauguration..my GOD. It’s demonstrably WRONG that his crowd as bigger than Obama’s…but, he was RIGHT when saying IT WAS RAINING. People don’t go out as eagerly in RAIN. Still…


    I’m a little surprised at CNN’s disdain , and Brennan’s, for slamming Trump so hard for speaking in front of the CIA wall with stars on it signifying their dead in action. Obama did the same THING! He was introduced by Panetta, who DID mention the stars, and Trump barely did, but still…What was Trump supposed to DO?
    Also, the CIA crowd for Obama was really excited,too, but this was 2009!! The left’s been saying how great the CIA greeted Obama, too. I doubt they’d have done that last week.

  25. geeez2014 says:

    The problem with Trump is he is SO WRONG so often and he’s so definite about his incorrect stuff. He comes out and calls others LIARS and he’s lying! GAD!

  26. Te trick is to hope for so much from Trump, realize we won’t get everything we want and to be vigilant that we don’t get what we don’t want.

  27. geeez2014 says:

    Some appointee of Obama’s, a feminist woman on TV today, was castigating the Right for not supporting abortions..”it’s OUR body, stay out” and I thought “Then stop making US pay for it..”

  28. Z – I’m not thrilled about Trump’s comments at Langley….regarding “taking Iraq’s oil”. I hope such a profound ignorance of the dynamics in Iraq, is quickly dispelled by his team and his briefings.

  29. geeez2014 says:

    CI…I thought that was the least of the problem. Mostly, I thought he’d struck a nice tone with them, rather comrade-ish… But…. “Iraq’s oil?” OY. I don’t remember that part.

  30. geeez2014 says:

    I think this is scary on Trump’s part: “The National Park Service retweeted a post that compared the size of the crowd at Trump’s inauguration to the larger crowd at former President Barack Obama’s 2009 ceremony. A second shared tweet referenced the removal of certain issues from the White House website during the transition.

    Both tweets have since been removed from the National Park Service twitter feed, and the organization apologized for sharing them”

    All they said was something comparing Obama’s crowds to Trumps, then commenting on removal (it has to be) of the climate change agenda from WhiteHouse.gov? Yikes.

    Of course, I have no idea what their tone was….and they’ve been taken down now. DRAT

  31. Pictures I’ve seen of both crowds look similarly sized.

  32. Funny, I just went to Bloviating Zep’s and saw this:
    http://bloviatingzeppelin.net/fake-news-cnn-keeps-on-lying/
    concerning the crowds.

  33. Kid says:

    Ed, 🙂 Yep. Expect much more of this. They’ve been doing it for years. They’re not going to stop now until their butts are much more red and sore.

  34. Kid says:

    PS – TRUMP ! Gonna surprise you.

  35. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, that’s amazing….TRULY amazing.
    Also, I don’t know why but I thought BZ had closed his blog some time ago! Good to see him there again!.

    SO…if this is true, why not get this info to FOX and have them EXPOSE CNN!?
    never happen

  36. geeez2014 says:

    Trump…what will surprise ME is if he not only had the truth but had indisputable PROOF so the media’d REALLY have egg on their faces.

  37. geeez2014 says:

    https://www.yahoo.com/tv/widening-rift-trump-cnn-declines-air-white-house-005834785.html

    OMG…I just saw that…looks like CNN found a way to REALLY SCREW TRUMP: Don’t broadcast the press conference. (which was pathetic, by the way, anyway)
    I never thought I’d see such horrible atmosphere around ANY president.

  38. SO…if this is true, why not get this info to FOX and have them EXPOSE CNN!?
    never happen

    Chris Stirewalt and Brett Bair, on Fox’s Special Report covered this issue yesterday. Didn’t seem that they were on Spicer’s side.

Leave a Reply

