Goodbye, Mary!

 mary-tyler-moore

“Who can turn the world on with her smile?   Who can take a nothing day, and suddenly make it all seem worthwhile?” It’s YOU, girl and you should know it, Mary Tyler Moore.  You made so many people happy with your show!   And I loved The Dick Van Dyke Show at least as much!…. But

Mary Tyler Moore is GONE.

Bye, Mary………thanks so much.

(NOW GO READ THE WONDERFUL JOKE IN MY POST BELOW…Mary, who was a FOX fan and Conservative much of her life, would have enjoyed it, too!)
Z

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Goodbye, Mary!

  1. Kid says:

    She was a great entertainer and actress.

  2. Sparky says:

    Oh, how sad! I grew up with watching her on TV and in movies. She was always one of my favorite people. Ms. Moore, and many others from that era, entertained us with wholesome entertainment that will last through the ages.

  3. geeez2014 says:

    Sparky, they sure did.

    A friend of mine taught dance and used to work out with Moore and their friend who played Georgette, Ted’s wife on the show, so Carolyn knew Moore pretty well…she said she was one of THE NICEST people you could ever meet. Georgette wasn’t fond of strangers approaching her as fans, etc….almost embarrassingly so, but Carolyn said Mary was ALWAYS gracious and fun to fans….a truly wonderful woman.

    Also; I liked Mary even MORE on The Dick Van Dyke Show! I hope that gets remembered in all the discussion news will give to her passing. LAURA PETRIE…WE WILL MISS YOU!!!!

  4. geeez2014 says:

    By the way, folks…Off Topic; If ANYBODY thinks for one nannosecond that Shep Smith is even moderately Conservative, you should have heard him now on the voter fraud thing with Trump. YES, Trump AGAIN is saying something happened that he can’t produce evidence for (STOP IT, DONALD!) but I personally know enough about California fraud that there WILL be stuff once they collect the knowledge. If ONLY he’d learn sooner how to make announcements! LIke this, Donald:

    “There is enough rumor and some evidence I can’t quite produce yet that shows voter fraud in several American states. Since we must protect the integrity of our voting system and make corrections wherever to avoid future problems, I am mounting an investigation. It’s been said I’m whining about not having won the majority of votes, that’s not it at all. That’s unimportant, I legally won this election and thank the voters for this great honor, but Americans must depend on honesty in the election booth and we’re going to make sure they get it in the future.”

    “The president is talking about investigation voter fraud, somehing of which there is ZERO EVIDENCE”…Shep Smith
    Can we BLAME this CRUMB?

  5. geeez2014 says:

    By the way, Sean Spicer quoted a PEW Poll on the election fraud….without knowing even Pew had said it wasn’t correct!!! But don’t worry…Smith is on it….absolutely horrifying to Trump. 2 of Trump’s cabinet appointees are registered in 2 states. “The list of falsehoods from this president is growing…does this have a cumulative effect?” Shep Smith. And DAMN, he’s right!

  6. bocopro says:

    Always liked MTM. In fact, I do believe my wife was a bit jealous of her back in the early 70s because I was so smitten by her wholesomeness, skills, and quick wit. She was so sweet that I blame her for many of the cavities leading to my serious periodontal problems in my early 30s.

    A true pioneer, much like Lucille Ball and Carol Burnett . . . and an inspiration to uncountable numbers of people afflicted with diabetes. Scary, tho, ’cause she’s only a coupla years older than I is. Played well against Asner (who was spectacular in the role of complete jerk ’cause he was one) and Knight (who really never got the credit he deserved).

    Adieu, Mar . . . et merci.

  7. Baysider says:

    Loved her, loved her! Saw all the DVD episodes multiple times. She was a young dancer brought in to play the ‘straight man’ to Van Dyke and stole the show again and again. Glad to hear she was such a nice person. Being approached in public a lot could easily wear thin.

  8. cube says:

    So sad over MTM’s passing. I was caught by surprise because the TV is always on at my house, but I teared up when I heard. I’m not a crier by nature, but this was on the level of how I felt when Leonard Nimoy died. I grew up with these TV icons and they will always be a part of me.

  9. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider, actually, she tried out for the role of Danny Thomas’ daughter on HIS show and he finally decided any daughter of his couldn’t have her cute NOSE! He remembered her when Carl Reiner was looking for his Laura, and history was made…and she was a terrific dancer in the deal! (Marlo Thomas did have a nose job! HA!)

    Cube and Bunkerville…I’m SO SAD, too. It kind of freaked me out because a couple of days ago I was thinking about her, wondering how she was doing, etc. She had a VERY hard ride with alcoholism and diabetes Type 1, but she sure fought hard and did make 80 years…that’s what a younger and handsome husband will do for you!! (Smile!)
    Cube, they really ARE a part of us, aren’t they.

    Bocopro…I can’t tell you who my actress friend IS but Asner hit on her HARD about 8 years ago….he’s a horrible liberal philanderer….a REAL CREEP. And yes, Ted Knight did NOT get the credit he deserved; he was fabulous!

  10. geeez2014 says:

    OFF TOPIC: Jane Fonda literally just said they can’t build the pipeline because they haven’t rec’d permission “from the indigenous people whose countryit goes through”.
    Is she aware the pipeline doesn’t go thru Dakota land and that’s OUR COUNTRY? OY.

  11. Imp says:

    @Z..and does the insignificant , irrelevant bird brain, traitor… not know that oil is already transported over this ‘indigenous” land…by rail ( extremely dangerous too ) by truck and that there’s already 6 pipelines underground without one spill? That the pipe line is the safest too? I’ve counted 12 rail accidents by Warren Buffets rail road that have killed people with derailments and immolated a whole town. To say nothing of the waters they’re rendered useless and polluted. Why is the good ones always die…like the Fishers and Moore? We’re waiting Jane. Not one Vietnam vet would shed a tear either.

  12. Imp says:

    Let’s hope we don’t have to put up with this crime on US soil anymore…Obama puts up a sign…Trump will build that wall…

  13. Mal says:

    I, too, enjoyed Mary Tyler Moore even more when she was on with Dick Van Dyke. I also liked the Bob Newhart Show and his dry humor. Seems they’re all fading away, doesn’t it?

    (I’ve been absent since last Sat. due to being blocked out of my Yahoo email and just got it fixed at a cost of $60 for 5 minutes work here at my house. I guess they think they’re doctors, huh?)

  14. geeez2014 says:

    Mal, I LOVED the Bob Newhart Show, too…they’re all on Sunday nights on one of the cable channels…LOVE them. AND they have The Honeymooners on…so good! I liked Mary best on Dick Van Dyke, too.
    I’m so glad your computer thing’s fixed! Next time, call a plumber, it’ll cost even MORE than a doctor! 🙂

    Imp; that sign is REAL? Are we NUTS? Remember when we all heard that the gov’t leaves water and food across the desert for the illegals because some had died crossing? WE HELP THEM BREAK THE LAW???

  15. Kid says:

    Z, Asner is a real tool. Heard him on the radio years ago and determined he was twice as stupid as alan “can’t they test the landing gear before they take off” colmes.

    PS – i really found it hilarious when Georgette would talk dirty with that little mouse voice of hers.

  16. Imp says:

    @Z…yes Ms. Z…that sign has been featured many times before…it’s near the Saguaro desert and National Park in southern AZ near Tucson…. …yes it’s real.

  17. Imp says:

    “WE HELP THEM BREAK THE LAW???”

    Yes…it’s the way liberal loons think that’ll help them form break ins into their own homes.

  18. I watched both of her shows “Dick Van Dyke” as kid and MTM Show while in HS. I remember meeting Cloris Leachman while I was on duty in our downtown while she was in town for a play. She was very gracious and loved talking about her time with MTM. She wanted my partner and I to go to the entertainment district with her and drink some beer. We walked her down there to show her some of the better bars. We certainly wanted to stay because she seemed like she’d be fun to drink with. Too bad we were on duty. She also couldn’t get over the fact that we had long hair as police officers. Hey, it was the 70s,

  19. geeez2014 says:

    L&O..that’s a great Cloris story…she was VERY good in that show…totally OBNOXIOUS!

    Imp…unbelievable..but WHY am I surprised? TIME TO TAKE AMERICA BACK, but if we say that we’re too nationalistic!!! Cracks me up.
    Now Europeans are whining about “America First”, when the last thing Trump means is WE ARE BETTER THAN YOU.. what’s the matter with these jerks? He means WE COME FIRST HERE..OUR DESIRES AND NEEDS MATTER, TOO…………but they’re twisting it,
    I rarely say this here, or anywhere, but **** THEM. oops

  20. geeez2014 says:

    Today I actually heard Bob Beckel say “will you stop with Obama? It’s TRUMP now…forget OBama”…..NONE of THE FIVE said “are you KIDDING? HOw long has the Left slammed Bush even since Obama took office?”

    You can’t make this stuff up!

  21. cube says:

    Z, I’m not surprised about Beckel’s remark. It’s the way of the left. They’re always trying to be in control of the narrative. If there’s awful democrat news, they make a brief mention of it and then it instantly becomes “old” news and they move on to harp endlessly on some relatively less serious republican news. You’re right about that day’s actions of the rest of The Five… they should’ve jumped on him about the “forget obama” thing. About obama I say, “Never forget” and I don’t mean that in a good way. It’s a cautionary tale in my book.

    BTW, prickly as he can be, I like having Beckel back. Juan W. taxes my patience way too much and you can just forget about me watching anymore Geraldo. That’s like asking me to watch Shep. Yikes.

  22. Pingback: The Weekly Headlines – My Daily Musing

  23. Pingback: The Weekly Headlines by lafayetteangel – Br Andrew's Muses

Leave a Reply

