Sunday Faith Blog; Immigration and Abortion..and the worst

I heard Father Morris, a regular FOX contributor, say something very interesting about IMMIGRATION and the role of CHRISTIANS.  I’m putting it in quotes but I’m paraphrasing:

“The Good Samaritan story tells us how we should help all those in need.  The other side of that story is we have a responsibility to keep our own people safe. ….When I was little and all 7 of us kids were in the car, Dad would pick up hitchhikers, though Mom was against it. Sometimes he’d get close to a hitchhiker and decide he shouldn’t pick that one up and he’d just drive by.”

As the FOX interviewers responded, he added this but it barely got heard “….what might be important to also mention is that I don’t think Dad would have picked anyone up today.”

I thought that was a terrific answer to the challenge we Christians face in the wake of being called uncaring for not helping, for not allowing in, every illegal immigrant coming to our shores.

What do you think?

ALSO:  Please say a prayer for Norma McCorvey, or JANE ROE of Roe v Wade, which made abortions up to 3 months legal.  She has passed away at the age of 69.  After abortion was made legal, she became a Christian, confessed that her pregnancy was not a rape, and worked against abortion for the rest of her life.  She also then became a Roman Catholic and, again, worked harder than ever to protect the sanctity of life which the court decision in her case ignored.  This was a woman of courage and her turning to faith, which also turned her from her lesbian lover only to become “only friends” for the rest of their lives, is inspiring.

Proverbs 3:7 Be not wise in thine own eyes: fear* the LORD, and depart from evil.

* ‘fear’ is often used and mistaken to mean BE SCARED OF GOD and many old Hebrew translations use ‘awe’ of the Lord in this kind of scripture.  Amen.

Have a beautiful Sunday!    And, another story:  please pray for HER.   I know how she feels.  Have Kleenex close by.
Z

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog; Immigration and Abortion..and the worst

  1. On hitchikers. I often pick them up. They’ll either hear the gospel or my political POV.
    It helps to have my left hand on my gun until I’m comfortable.
    Yes, access to protect my own safety affords me to be more charitable.

    And I said a prayer for that grieving widow.

  2. bocopro says:

    When I got my first car as a teenager, I’d often give rides to people I saw walking along the roads or streets. And when I drove a feed truck one winter, I often picked up hitchhikers if I saw them out along the road in the country side. But notny more. Last stranger I gave a ride to was a sheriff’s deputy in uniform whose car was disabled by flood waters. Took him down the road ’til we saw another cop car and let him out. And the SOB warned me that the next time he saw me I’d need to have my seat belt on or he’d have to ticket me.

    Sometimes I think our immigration policies and laws exist only as examples of the kinds of laws people can break with impunity. We simply cannot afford to continue rewarding people who come here without permission for the sole purpose of becoming parasites who send cash back to their families in meso-America or east Africa.

    Most of the problems in North America today result from the completely irresponsible and ineffective immigration policies of the original inhabitants. We have developed some good common-sense laws concerning immigration — no communicable diseases, no criminal record, demonstrable skills, willingness to assimilate — but we ignore them. We place strict quotas on educated, self-sufficient people from European or east Asian countries in favor of unskilled, uneducated, unassimilable “refugees,” vagrants, and ne’er-do-wells from Islamic pestholes and play catch-and-release games with Central Americans who come here in droves.

    But what could go wrong so long as they become dependent on entitlements and life-long Democrats, right?

  3. bunkerville says:

    I saw the video and it was a real tear jerker. Niger? Is there any country we don’t have our men and women at risk in? So sad.

  4. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, of course the hitchhiking is a metaphor, a wonderful metaphor for why we should be careful; your hand on your gun is a message to this country, too. Beware of the strangers, be kind, but have a hand on the gun.

    Bocopro: So well said…..Yes, being careful like Morris’ father had to become, sadly, is the story.

    Bunkerville….I sobbed. And yes, I thought…NIGER? Surely that wife with 4 kids thought “at least he’s in Niger, and not Afghanistan…” and probably had rested easy for it……….what a shock.

  5. I lose patience with those who choose to say we let everyone through Ellis Island, when nothing is further from the truth. In fact, Ellis Island existed as a way to control the mass immigration of people to the U.S. Immigrants were checked for medical, mental, and criminal problems. And many were turned away for the reason that they couldn’t prove they would not be a burden to the country.

    Our immigration policies became stricter as the years went by. Legislators reacted to threats, perceived or real, and adjusted the policy as needed. It’s no accident that very strict immigration laws were passed in the 1920s in view of the Bolshevik Revolution and the influx of anarchists into the U.S. from European countries. Every nation has the right to refuse entrance to any group of people that pose a threat to that country.

    The threat may be terrorism or the economic ruin of the country by mass immigration of people who are not self-supporting. Either way it’s just smart policy. My great-parents came here from Germany and I’m happy for the sacrifices they made so I could be an American. But, my history tells me they assimilated and took care of themselves without government help. In fact, that didn’t exist at that time.

  6. Mal says:

    I was thinking the same thing, Law & Order. In addition, they had to show their ability to support themselves or have a sponsor and take a history of the U.S. exam. They had night schools to help them pass. NO FREE RIDES!

  7. Kid says:

    My Wife’s Father, a Flying Tiger (Chinese flying for the Allies in WWII – he was a waist gunner in a B-17) came here after the war with 10 bucks, opened a Chinese Restaurant, sent for his wife still in China, gave themselves American names, had 5 kids, and were very successful. I read a story about a girl who is paid to determine a good fiting American name for Chinese planning to come here. It’s one of the first things they are interested in doing along with learning the language.

    Not many mohammeds interested in that sort of thing.

    It’s always going to be a pain as long as obama’s can get elected and choose to ignore federal laws.

  8. bocopro says:

    Yearning for the auld sod is universal in the first generation, I suspect, regardless of how oppressive or brutal the regime the immigrant has fled. But I am convinced that the Muslim strategy is conquest by fecundity so that the entire globe is unified in submitting and caterwauling to a false, vicious, bloodthirsty moon god; they have no respect for our culture and no intention of assimilating.

    Milady is Southeast Asian and completely Murkanized. She still enjoys the company of others familiar with her original culture and languages and has become addicted to TFC (The Filipino Channel). She and all our children are naturalized citizens, but except for her they all are indistinguishable from their native-born cousins.

    Three of our four kids served in the USN, and one of them retired as a CPO after 24 years. Most of our grandchildren tend to have a slight list to port, but all of them believe Soetoro was elected for all the wrong reasons and turned out to be a disaster for everybody, especially blacks. Surprisingly, none of them old enough to vote did so in the last election.

    My wife refuses to vote, for reasons that are murky and complex. Quite often when the subject of politics comes up, she either clams up, leaves the room, begins muttering in a variety of languages, or dismisses it all by saying, “I think all you white monkeys are crazy for what you let politicians get away with!”

    I’ve threatened to report her for racist remarks, calling me a “white monkey” and such, but all that gets me is side-face small-eye and remarks which translate to criticism of my mother’s mate-selection skills. (She liked Mother.) But . . . that’s been going on since 1961, so I doubt I can modify her behavior and attitude at this point in our relationship.

    Sometimes she’s very specific about her suspicions concerning my ancestry, my decision-making, and my ultimate destination. She does pray for me, however, when I’m sick or hurt and is one damned fine cook, so there’s that. She has no desire whatever to go back and live where she grew up. In fact, she’s certain that what she remembers from her childhood no longer exists.

    Not a stupid lady. Dangerous, but not stupid.

  9. geeez2014 says:

    Great stories all, thanks, everybody. I’m first generation on one side and second on the other; NOBODY has taken any kind of gov’t help since Grandpa arrived at 9 years old, with 3 sisters, and their mother died immediately upon passing thru Ellis Island. Theyhad to put the youngest in an orphanage for a short time./ Grandpa never forgot that and tried to make it up to Ann the rest of their lives, tho it certainly wasn’t his fault.

    People didn’t come here FOR anything but OPPORTUNITY…today it’s just FOR THEM, to get what they can, for the most part.

    L&0, you wouldn’t believe how difficult it is for trained, well educated Germans to come here NOW…five years, minimum. Well, this is the new America where, if you want to HELP US, you’re screwed..,..if you want to live off us, WE are screwed, thanks to our ‘kindness’ of the Left. SO kind that they’re not smart enough to figure out that when america is totally broke because of all our giving, etc., there will BE no place for refugees to take legitimate participation in. Nowhere.

  10. Mal says:

    Geeez, I’m glad I’m pushin’ 90………….but I repeat myself!

  11. bocopro,
    I’m still laughing. Very entertaining reply, although, very true. Well done.

  12. Pingback: The Weekly Headlines – My Daily Musing

  13. Pingback: The Weekly Headlines – My Daily Musing – Br Andrew's Muses

Leave a Reply

