Sunday Faith Blog

faith-1

Please, YOU write today’s Faith Blog…anything you’ve had on your mind, anything that will enlighten, bless, or cheer us up!

Blessings to you all this Sunday and always!

Z

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. bocopro says:

    Yesterday’s post to my e-mail group:

    ‘Nuther wunnadem bright, clear, calm, quiet nights that getcha all philosophical.

    Walkin with FuzzyFace and checkin out the stars, got to thinkin ‘bout how people have been doin that for millennia . . . lookin up at the stars and gettin all moonstruck and contemplative ‘bout where it all comes from, where it’s goin, why we’re here . . . .

    Passin by the Navy hospital, the thought occurred to me that Reggie & I are very fortunate to have avoided all the crud that throughout history has killed gazillions of people before they reached their 40th birthdays, and here we are twice that age and still suckin air.

    Turned the corner onto the highway and smelled someone makin coffee and cookin bacon. Dog barkin in the distance. Life in the ‘burbs with people doin what they oughta be doin at 0430 on a Saturday.

    Hell, my life is better in most ways than prob’ly 90% of the people on the planet. Maybe more. Never hungry. Good health care. Safe neighborhood to live in. Disease free. No debt. Freedom of speech. Clean water. Reasonable life partner.

    Wars have been fought over stuff more trivial than those. And except for the elite in countries such as India, China, Indonesia, and basically the entire African and South American continents . . . which together account for about 80 or 90% of the world’s population, we live better’n damned near all of ‘em.

    Even in North America or Europe, except for the one-percenters, our lives are more comfortable, more safe, more satisfying, more entertaining than those of prob’ly 2/3 of the people.

    I mean, it just ain’t safe in Detroit, or Chicago, or East L.A. And we don’t hear the sirens, the gunfire, the agitated voices, all the stuff that goes on in Baghdad, or Paris, or Mumbai, or Shanghai, or Kuala Lumpur, or Manila, or Baltimore, or Rio, or New Orleans. We’ve lived in it before, but we survived. Reggie sez it’s ’cause God is lookin after us.

    Yeah . . . maybe I’m just too easily pleased, but I gotta figger that at 76 years old, don’t owe anybody any money, got a cushion in the bank, never gonna run outta food as long as the country doesn’t implode, constant entertainment from all manner of sources (including gummint), nobody in the tribe dead or seriously ill, reliable electricity, unlimited drinkable water, and this dawg that keeps the back yard free from infestations of dragons and trolls . . . . it just don’t git no better’n’at.

    Lucky guy. Merci, Mme. Fortuna.

  2. Well, to add to Bocopro’s list.
    For ages, man felt afraid of the gods and their wrath.
    Their manipulation and their fickleness, thinking that, in the end, the best they deserved was a trip across the River Styx on a boat bound for Hell.
    And God revealed His plan for man.
    A pardon, a commutation, an alliance, if a man (or woman!) would repent their rebellion and swear allegiance to Him.
    I am and will be eternally grateful.
    Eternally.
    Wotta concept.
    Thank You Jesus.

  3. geeez2014 says:

    AND, AS USUAL, GOD WRITES MY SUNDAY FAITH BLOG BETTER THAN ANY OF US COULD. I got an email this morning about a young woman diagnosed yesterday with a particularly horrible leukemia. She has a young daughter and a new pregnancy will be terminated in order to start extreme treatment. The tears of my sister and everyone else are hard to bear.
    Please pray for this situation, that the young woman comes to a faith in Christ, please pray for this whole situation; God can heal, God can comfort, God will bring peace and it will be His Will. Thank you.

    ALSO: Another FAITH BLOG THAT WROTE ITSELF FROM MY EMAIL THIS MORNING:
    Please pray for Muslims coming to faith. My church sponsors a few missionaries in Arab countries. I cannot forward their words for safety purposes, but know that their just speaking English in cafes has attracted young Muslims who say they’d like to practice their English but start asking about Jesus as soon as they get a whiff of the fact that these Americans are Christians.
    “Can we meet? I want to talk about Jesus. Please don’t tell anyone.” is what they hear frequently. Muslims, for some years now, have spoken about dreaming of Jesus.
    Please pray for those Muslims coming to saving faith. This could save our lives as well. Amen.

  4. geeez2014 says:

    Bocopro..I think your Reggie’s right. I’ve been to Kuala Lumpur twice, have you been there? I loved it!

    Ed, “Thank you, Jesus,” Indeed….this time of year, as Lent has just started, lends itself to such soul searching and such incredible gratitude. As God would have it, the Bible Study I’m a leader in has been studying Matthew all year and we’re right on track with the Lenten Season and Christ’s ultimate sacrifice.

    AOW…My friend Katherine knows JOni, an amazing woman. I’ve read her book about what happened to her, too. Thanks for this recommendation. I don’t think I EVER felt so bad for Joni as I did when I heard that, on top of paralysis and breast cancer, she suffers now from anxiety…panic attacks, while locked in a body like hers. Since I have suffered those, I can’t IMAGINE how she deals with it…except in prayer. She has an amazing husband, too.
    Thanks

  5. geeez2014 says:

    WOW! I neglect to do a Sunday Faith Blog, which is a first, asking for others to supply and they’re coming at me like I was velcro!:
    https://www.yahoo.com/news/pope-says-carry-read-bible-were-mobile-phone-130153890.html

    Uh..ya! Not a bad idea!

  6. bocopro says:

    Ah, nostalgia for the Orient. It comes to me as a taste of east Asia when Reggie cooks or when her friends come over to get in their little gaggles and giggle. It roams around in my head kicking up old sensations . . . the oppressive tropical heat like a blanket of warm, aromatic cooking oil all over my body . . . the sting in my nostrils from the old women slowly roasting mysterious bits of goat and dog and cat and monkey over smoky fires and selling it to the sailors as barbecued pig . . . the surprisingly heady, aphrodisiac allure of Lifebuoy soap mixed with sweat and cheap perfume . . . the primal Thump-thump-Thump-thump of overdriven speakers playing “Louie-Louie” and “Black is Black” and “G-L-O-R-I-A” making the walls shake 3 buildings away . . . rain like bathwater coming down from a sky filled with smoke from burning fields and hillsides as farmers cleared their land for new crops . . . white teeth in brown faces smiling, grinning, sometimes genuine, often scheming . . . garlic, onions, pork, chicken, flavored cooking oils, low-quality marijuana . . . outrageously decorated jeeps loaded with passengers careening down narrow, crowded streets for about a penny and a half per ride.

    Japan was unbelievably clean. Okinawa was incredibly filthy. Manila was enormously dangerous. Hong Kong was stiflingly crowded. Saigon was enormously confusing. Bangkok was surprisingly cheap. Singapore was refreshingly organized. Korea was immeasurably cold. Subic was unspeakably carnal. And I loved every minute of every hour I was in every one of those places.

  7. geeez2014 says:

    SO…no Kuala Lumpur?! I agree, though I was in TOTAL luxury (traveling with a president of a company who had meetings there and staying in the best hotels), getting out into the neighborhoods and eating the foods and experiencing the street life….fabulous!

    I was never the least interested in things Asian….until we traveled………Singapore is astonishing..Bangkok is AMAZING…the food in Singapore, on the harbor, will NEVER be forgotten. SPICY CRAB BOWL..mmmmmmmmmmmmmm

    I loved it all…grateful to have experienced it…in comfort 🙂 Though the comfort did push me into the streets because I like to see how the people LIVE…

  8. geeez2014 says:

    Bocopro..by the way, you almost sound as if you’re the set decorator for GOOD MORNING, VIETNAM! ALl the senses included..wonderful!

    You haven’t lived till you’ve lived in Munich and are watching that movie in GERMAN “GUTEN MORGEN, VIETNAM!”

    Or living in Paris and hearing Hoss of Bonanza get up in the morning and say “Bonjour, Papa!” 🙂

  9. bocopro says:

    No, never made it to Kuala Lumpur, or to Papeete, or a few other places I wanted to see. Fondest memories are of Japan, where you never saw trash or drunks blowing around in the streets . . . and Bangkok, where I once got a kobe beef steak with all the trimmings and a huge desert cart with iced tea and coffee and a couple of rum drinks — ALL for $5. ‘Course that was 1966, before all the R & R troops from ‘Nam invaded the place with all their combat pay and testosterone.

    Sat on a veranda at the Raffles in Singapore one afternoon with some other officers off the ship. HUGE platter of fingerables including chicken, seafood, various fried unrecognizables, stuffed breads, wonderful little snack . . . and watched a collection of beauties in native costumes from all over the region in some kind of beauty contest with dancing, singing, and all kinds of talent exhibitions.

    None of us got a word of what the announcers said, but we definitely enjoyed the show even though it wasn’t for us and we had a rather oblique angle on it from the veranda. We left around sunset when a floor manager came over to inform us that the price of drinks was going up as the sun went down.

    Great day. Great food. Great show. Think I spent about $15 total for the day. Oh, and on a shopping trip one time in Singapore, I ran into this Chinese girl in a jewelry shop where I’d gone to get some trinkets for my wife and daughters. Amazing kid. Grew up in Brooklyn, and sounded like it. Bought some really neat stuff, mostly gold and sapphires — pendants, rings, earrings. Also picked up a 140-piece set of hand-crafted brass flatware with carabao horn handles embellished with the Thai family crest. Ready for this? . . . . . . . wait for it — $20. No idea what it’d be worth today. Now sits in the bottom of Reggie’s china cabinet. Our daughters can fight over it and the Noritaki china when we’re gone. Think I paid $25 for that set.

    No . . . don’t wanna go back. None of what my mind THINKS it remembers exists there any more.

  10. bocopro says:

    Never got a chance to go to Northern Europe. Went to the Mediterranean twice — Spain, Southern France, Italy. Saw some fantastic stuff, especially the churches. Magnificent. Many of the places I saw, particularly one specific catedral in Barcelona (can’t remember the name), just made my lower jaw drop and my word fountain dry up. Yeah, me, of all people.

    With my family name (check my e-mail address), you’d think I’d wanna go to Germany, but I’m primarily Scot, Irish, and English. My father was part German part French part English. So I’m basically a bloke. My youngest son made it to Germany (same name, of course) and really enjoyed the place. ‘Course he’s got the name, but in addition to the blokeness he got from my side of the family, he’s Spanish and Malay on his mother’s side. Said some people looked at him funny when they learned his family name, ‘specially since he knew absolutely nothing of the language or culture before he got there.

  11. Imp says:

    bocopro …truly one of our heroes….I’ll take that first post and say that I too am blessed to live in a great, crime free, clean, upscale, safe, beautiful city…with a cushion and a wife of 48 years and a beautiful home. With excellent intelligent, generous neighbors all around. God has Blessed with excellent care after my 6 week hospital stay and a renewed hope for the future…. and God has Blessed America. We are the greatest country on God’s planet…there can be no doubt. Furthermore the people I’ve met here and especially two that I know very well….have given me tremendous lasting friendships.

    And check this out…there is some hope for the rest of the very chaotic world….in one more place at least?

    “The number of adult baptisms in the Austrian Catholic church has more than doubled over the last year. The church claims the rise is due to a huge influx of migrants from Afghanistan and Iran converting to Christianity.
    The Archdiocese of Vienna has announced that 254 men and women were selected for baptism after completing the rite of Christian Initiation for Adults (RCIA), taking part in a baptism ceremony conducted by Austrian Cardinal Christoph Schönborn Die Presse reports.

    The group of converts had to wait a year to be prepared for baptism – a recent move by the church due to the number of requests by Muslim asylum seekers for conversion.”

    Christ may win yet….as more heathens see his graces and benefits.

  12. Imp says:

    ” they’re coming at me like I was velcro!”

    Excellent. You ask these top notch fine people for their thoughts…and a book of travails and travels is written! 🙂

  13. geeez2014 says:

    Imp, this really touched me “Christ may win yet….as more heathens see his graces and benefits.”

    The blessed, best thing is that even if we die, Christ wins IF we have faith in Him….”if dying and being in heaven with Christ is the worst thing, that’s a pretty great thing!” 🙂

    WONDERFUL to hear about that Austrian church situation because Europeans are dropping out FROM the church….they’re just too sophisticated, too mature, too into controlling their own lives as hard as they can.
    I was there once. Thank God I’m not anymore……it was difficult, now I can’t imagine being without faith.

Leave a Reply

