Another BOOK? (thanks for commenting on the excellent conversation in the post below, too!)

HAVE YOU HEARD ABOUT THIS?  

I just found another favorite book…I think it’ll become yours, too!

Z

This entry was posted in Books, Democrats. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Another BOOK? (thanks for commenting on the excellent conversation in the post below, too!)

  1. FB says:

    Finally a book I can comprehend due to its amazing clarity :))

    Like

  2. Adrienne says:

    Just brilliant and spot on.

    Like

  3. Mal says:

    Hmmm. And just how long did it take him to write it, I wonder.

    Like

  4. Write what you know….

    Like

  5. bocopro says:

    Each semester I provided all my students in advanced or technical writing classes a 3.5″ diskette loaded with primers on such things as documentation, glossing, punctuation, integration of graphics into text, fog index reduction techniques, and so on. The diskette also contained what I titled a “Grammar Pony” listing the most common mistakes made by inexperienced writers, such as the to/too/two mixup, the who/whom confusion, amount/number use, farther/further distinction, its/it’s, and mechanics in general.

    This was before the days of being able to find anything and everything on line, so it saved ’em the cost of buying back the grammar textbook they’d sold after completing ENC 1101 & 2.

    One of the lists of bad examples on the diskette was this one:

    http://www.plainlanguage.gov/examples/humor/writegood.cfm

    Always admired the self-aware wisdom of #16: “Eschew obfuscation” which was a title chapter in one of S. I. Hayakawa’s books. As I recall, except for the title the chapter contained no words.

    I may have found that somewhere else pirated or paraphrased from Hayakawa . . . it’s been 40 years since I read it.

    Like

  6. geeez2014 says:

    Bocopro; your comment reminds me of this: https://www.amazon.com/Eats-Shoots-Leaves-Tolerance-Punctuation/dp/1592402038 Terrific! You might be able to find anything on line, but I often tell my high schoolers “I loved school before the internet, believe me”:
    There was nothing like going to the library and carrying good books home, or studying there, or really looking for info. Those were the days!

    EVERYBODY: Your comments are better than the BOOK IDEA! Thanks SO MUCH :=)

    Like

  7. jerrydablade says:

    I just heard about this from Ben Shapiro’s podcast. Hilarious! Ben thinks he deserves a cut of the profits since his endorsement comprises 10% of the text, including title I presume. Another ‘wish I’d thought of it” moment. And thanks for the book recommendation. I certainly can use instruction for the proper use of commas and apostrophes.

    Like

  8. geeez2014 says:

    Jerry, it’s a fun book, you can tell from the clever title, right? And, re the book that’s the subject of my post; let’s not kid ourselves, ol’ Ben is sure to be getting a cut 🙂

    EVERYBODY:

    Our buddy here, Imp, is feeling lousy……PLEASE PRAY FOR COMFORT.

    Like

  9. Baysider says:

    Love it! And Eats Shoots & Leaves is a favorite of mine!! Yes, there is something special about library searches, on shelf and card catalog too, where you can explore side trails on the way to the goal. I miss the card catalogs.

    Like

  10. Baysider says:

    And bocopro I loved your list! Yes, we all learned prepositions are bad things to end sentences with. Remember Churchhill who said about that rule, “this is nonsense up with which I will not Put.”

    Like

  11. geeez2014 says:

    BAYSIDER ..Yes, card catalogues…bliss. What a marvelous thing to dig deeper and deeper into what you’re looking for and the side information you got on the way. I suppose we get that thru the internet, too, but it’s JUST NOT THE SAME.
    Love the Churchill quote…he was so good at great quotes.

    ALSO….could you weigh in on an insurance question FOR WHICH I just included you!? (how is that for grammar!?) It’s on the post below this one..

    Like

  12. Pingback: The Weekly Headlines – My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

