Sunday Faith Blog

Please look at THIS……..it’s such a positive, uplifting story about Olympic skater Scott Hamilton’s terrible illnesses and what’s happened to him recently!  And what he attributes his healing to.

Heal me, LORD, and I will be healed; save me and I will be saved, for you are the one I praise.”  Jeremiah 17:14

The rub, of course, is that those of us who do not survive are also blessed and saved through Him.  A hard lesson but a very good lesson to remember because the peace in my friends who are believers and who’ve been extremely ill is truly beyond all understanding. A total gift.

My heart goes out to Scott Hamilton and I congratulate him on sharing what he’s gone through.  So inspiring!

Have a great Sunday!

Z

 

 

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. geeez2014 says:

    OFF TOPIC:I like watching FOX’s MediaBuzz and saw Sean Spicer on just now….he went up in my estimation. I’ve always liked him, but he’s REALLY clever and bright ….
    and then he said “I can’t watch SNL because that’s the one night I can get to sleep early before I get up to go to church.”
    Amen, Spicer…I don’t know how you could do that job without that.

  2. Mal says:

    His giving up sugar is apparently what he attributes the shrinking of his tumor. I hate hearing that cause even though we eat healthy (gave up red meat over 30 years ago), etc. I love eating stuff with sugar.
    We always enjoyed watching Scott skate whether competing in the Olympics or for a show, and like him personally, too. A class act.

  3. Kid says:

    I read a story about a guy who had lots of cancer, went to zero carbs and eliminated some other food elements that cancer requires to survive and he’s killed it off when docs couldn’t do anything for him. This is not that story but has about the same info
    https://thetruthaboutcancer.com/ketogenic-diet-weakens-cancer-cells/

  4. geeez2014 says:

    A lot of cancer patients give up sugar to no avail….Hamilton attributes it mostly to GOD:

    “I kind of heard a little voice when I first got the news, to get strong, so I decided to do that,” he says. “And it was about that same time that I realized things like that love to feed on sugar, and I go, I don’t really want to do anything to give it anything it wants.’ So I just decided to give up sugar. That was the end of August, and I went back at the end of November, and they scanned it again, and it hadn’t grown at all. So I stayed with the program, eliminated all the unhealthy stuff have been getting strong and have been pouring myself into the word, and I really tried to draw as close to the Lord as possible

    “The doctors basically said, Whatever you’re doing, keep doing it,’ ” Hamilton says. “And it was very funny, the surgeon that I would use if I were to take it out, I go, Can you explain this? ’ He just smiled and looked at me and goes, God.’ That’s it. Whoa. I was just a blubbering mess, like, I’m not worthy of this.’ There’s so many other people out there who could benefit from this miracle.”

  5. What a brave and courageous man. I have always been a fan of his, and now even more so. God bless him.

  6. geeez2014 says:

    Hi, Leticia…! He really is brave and it’s wonderful to see his faith rewarded in good health! I have heard so many stories of even non-believing doctors saying “this just doesn’t usually heal by itself…” to Christians.

    The hardest lesson is that even if things don’t go the way WE want them to go, health-wise, we have to remember God loves us every bit as much as those he heals. Very tough. His plan, His timing. (damn!) 🙂

  7. I remember the nuns I had in school always said that God hears every prayer. Sometimes the answer is “no.”

  8. Also the gospel and homily today was the story of when Jesus revealed to the Samaritan woman at the well that he is the Christ. The priest said he believed that every Christian needs to have a “Samaritan woman moment” when they truly believe in Jesus. True enough.

  9. A friend of mine, the father of another friend of mine (and pastor) just went to see Jesus personally on Thursday.
    He himself was a pastor and had a son and daughter who are missionaries, besides my pastor.
    One grandson is a youth pastor.
    A couple years ago he was diagnosed with stage four kidney cancer.
    Jesus spoke to him and told him he would beat it.
    He miraculously (unattributable to medicine) beat it.
    A couple months ago he was diagnosed with congestive heart disease (which my dad had, also) after a heart attack. He felt this time was THE time.
    He had another son who rejected the gospel.
    His dying wish was to lead him to Jesus.
    Much prayer went forth, and when that son was able to visit him, Charles led his son in the sinner’s prayer.
    The man went out a winner.
    He finished the race.

  10. bocopro says:

    A few years ago I read an article in a medical journal at the Navy Hospital while waiting for my appointment. Its main point was that although it’s rare, some people’s immune systems can stymie or even reverse certain types of tumors.

    Basically it said that “the data are inconclusive” but suggested that what might become an aggressive breast or colon or prostate cancer in one person might go into stasis or remission in another without any treatment, based mostly on the individual’s genetics, diet, and life style.

    One point of the article was that this probably has been going on for centuries, but doctors never knew about it because they didn’t have the screening procedures we have now. It also hinted that some people become so distraught upon hearing that they have a lump or a growth or something that they upset their chemical balance to the point that their natural resistance is minimalized.

    At the end, the article repeated an old adage that I heard as a kid: Often Mother Nature cures the problem but the doctor takes the credit. My grandmother was a firm believer that faith and trust in a higher power is all the medicine one needs most of the time..

    I believe that a positive attitude is a great asset in managing health problems. Worrying about it and going overboard with home or fad remedies often make things worse. My wife, of course, attributes all good things to prayer, even when they happen to me (’cause she prays for me).

  11. I heard a doctor give a talk about how early in her career she was involved with a team working on a patient dying of cancer. They treated him with chemo, but it had no effect, so they sent him home to die.
    A couple years later they came across him again, fully healed.
    He claimed God had answered prayer.
    Their lack of ability to believe in the miraculous caused them to embrace the absurd (as she now felt about it) notion that the chemo had a delayed effect.

  12. LAOT: Agreed on both accounts.

  13. Kid says:

    I believe it is all about chemical reactions. Drop the sugar and the carbs and some amino acids? from your diet and the cancer cells die. I’m personally Now convinced that “They” don’t want to cure cancer because of the money involved.

    Dad, I’m glad you’re not around to see what is happening in the USA…

  14. geeez2014 says:

    LAOT…I believe that, too..great comment.

    Ed, that is a fabulous story…thanks for sharing that, and I’m so sorry for the loss of your friend but what a great end for this wonderful man!

    Bocopro and Kid; I think we all believe that good health practices can heal…NO doubt about it.
    We just see TOO MUCH of doctors completely stymied and having to resort to “God did this”.
    It’s a great way to feel.

Leave a Reply

