Retirement: how to tell time:

This CRACKED ME UP!!  I hope you smiled, too!

HERE IS MY QUESTION:  WERE YOU TO RETIRE TOMORROW, HOW WOULD YOU SPEND YOUR TIME?  

FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO ARE RETIRED, HOW DO YOU SPEND YOUR DAYS?

Looking forward to hearing from you all!

Z

This entry was posted in Humor, matters of interest. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Retirement: how to tell time:

  1. bocopro says:

    Retirement —

    Well . . . . . fortunately, a long time ago I picked the right partner to spend it with me: good cook, good grandmother, sensible outlook — she stays ontoppa thangs where our kids & grankritters are concerned, making sure they have functional major appliances, sound roofs, safe doors, reliable automobiles, decent food, and she does it without digging into our reserves. Doesn’t mind spending money where necessary, but HATES being in debt. Nice balance, that.

    So . . . I walk for ’bout 40 minutes with Monsterdawg each mornin and ride my Schwinn each afternoon for the cardiovascular bennies.

    Try to do one, no more — just one — productive thing each day: mow the lawn, trim the shrubs, wash the cars, paint what needs paintin . . . those sorts of things.

    Then after that, my time is used mostly in reading blogs, particularly the comment threads on hot issues such as the libs’ approach to Islam, gummint overreach, health care, immigration, religion, national security, and so on.

    Generally I just read ’em and drop one initial comment, carefully avoiding the temptation to engage in comment sniper warfare. Some of that stuff gets pretty nasty. And on some issues, such as climate change, I generally learn somethin from the comments, especially when someone cogent and literate makes a point corroborated by a few links to credible sources.

    Basically I got enough of just about everything tangible and don’t need to acquire more stuff, just knowledge. So it’s pure leisure and amusement for me these days. If’n I want, I can watch Mother Nature rinse down the place with a summer thunderstorm or a sunrise over the pines or the Blue Angels practicin showin off, or whatever I please.

    Best pleasure is makin nouns ‘n’ verbs go through close-order drill in a sonnet or villanelle, then let the gerunds and participles and adjectives go crazy in a vers libre, make symbols and allusions go boldly where no pen has gone before . . . square dancing, jitterbugging, lock-step march — I love to put ’em thru their paces like a possessed stage director with a polyglot cast of veteran performers and rookie showoffs.

    Always feel better when I’ve finished an article or a parody or a philosophical bit of verse in hymnal stanza. Never send it anywhere any more, just create it. Sometimes I ceremoniously burn it ’cause it’s told me somethin about myself that I don’t need anyone else to know.

    Some guys build boats in their basements that no one will ever sail. I write stories on my keyboard that nobody’ll ever read. But it works for me, so there!

  2. Reading, blogging, attending choral concerts, and visiting museums here. There’s always something to be seen at the Smithsonian!

    It’s well nigh impossible for us to travel now. Damn health issues!

  3. fredd says:

    A sales guy who worked for me years ago swore he was never going to retire, and said “my dad retired at 65, started pouring vodka on his Wheaties, and died at 66.” Moral of the story: avoid Wheaties.

    Post mortem: turns out this same sales guy retired a few years ago anyway, and is doing OK.

  4. John M. Berger says:

    Just chance the PM: to BUDWISWER!

  5. I’ve only retired from my first gig….I haven’t decided what I want to be doing once I finally grow up.

  6. geeez2014 says:

    Great stuff, everybody!

    Bocopro, I admire your physical endeavors….I knew you’re a wordsmith, didn’t know you’re a movement smith! GOOD FOR YOU!

    John…thanks for mentioning the ‘joke’….beer, huh? 🙂

    CI…wait. I thought you might be going overseas again. You retired from the military??

    fredd…good joke….and ya, some people believe they won’t live past retirement..too boring. Glad your friend’s okay.

    AOW..I hope you have great fun doing whatever you CAN do 🙂

  7. Z – Yep….retired in 2008 from active duty. Been a contractor with a DoD agency since then, with regular deployments to places…some nice…some not. I dodged the deployment bullet this year so far….will finally get to spend a full summer home with my family.

  8. Imp says:

    CI..Happy to hear that and thanks for your service. I assume you were an Officer or…NCO? Nevertheless we like having our resident “spook” around. 🙂

  9. Imp says:

    Maybe we’ll do this? Probably in California or NY only…

    Liberals convince themselves multiculturalism works because we all die together, too.
    An entire city of monkeys: see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil. Blind. Deaf. And dumb.
    The war is between London and the rest of the country. Between the liberals and the right-minded. Between those who think it is more important to tip-toe around the cultures of those who choose to join us, rather than defend our own culture.

    Or like this too:

  10. Baysider says:

    As you know, Mr. B’s health challenges keep me on my toes. Our doctor appt this week was a pretty cold reality check. retirement will become necessary so I can go “back to school” to learn how to cope with the new terrain. We let our family know last summer that would be our last trip likely.

  11. Mal says:

    After retiring on Valentines Day, 1989, we took 4 cruises over the net 7 or 8 years to the usual places (Alaska, Caribbean, Bermuda, Mediterranean, etc), then we moved away from family to Vegas, where we joined a performing senior dance group run by an ex lead dancer with The Follies on The Strip, but due to health issues my wife dropped out last year due to being “blessed” with frequent very severe vertigo attacks and has been taking physical therapy 3 times per week trying to get her head straightened out. I gave my notice I will have to drop out also to care for her. When possible, we try to walk a couple of miles a day like we always have, but not always able to do given her condition. We’re working on it, though. We have been with the dancers for 8 years and I’m the oldest member. We plan on selling here soon and moving back to be with the family once again in the NW (Washington State) and continue to visit many beautiful places there if permitted by wife’s condition.

  12. Imp – I am soooo not spooky [thought I’m sure I’ve scared some kids]. You’d be bored silly if I recounted my average day [at least when I’m not deployed]. I was an NCO of course!

  13. geeez2014 says:

    Imp “Liberals convince themselves multiculturalism works because we all die together, too.” I believe that’s the wonderful Katie Hopkins’ phrase…or she stole it 🙂
    A friend told me she has a conservative friend who has dual citizenship…she voted Trump and Troudeau. GO FIGURE!
    This same friend of mine is ultra liberal and it was so hard to listen to her pablum of lib rhetoric that’s so hackneyed. I have to admit, however, she sounded toward FOX like I sound toward CNN….
    Diversity will be the end of America….maybe Canada can handle it. I don’t think so.
    And when I hear our libs talk as if illegals are more precious as we are , as Tucker said tonight, I could kick them.

    CI…I’m glad you’ll be home this summer for and with your family!

    Baysider…lots of changes for you both….literally ‘school’ or..?

Leave a Reply

