Syria’s Story

 The SYRIAN SITUATION is causing a lot of trouble and I felt we should all better understand what’s happening.

THIS ARTICLE really explains it well….good information for grasping the whys and whats!  I’m sure most of you are well aware of these facts but I wasn’t and I’m hoping some of you find it beneficial information, too.

I know my readers have very differing thoughts about our having hit the air base….some are thrilled that the Syrian people have some hope, others feel that their misery isn’t our problem and not worth the risk of elevating tensions in the region, etc etc etc.

I wish I felt strongly one way or the other;  CONVINCE ME.

Pray for Syria….And pray for America, that the air strikes and repercussions go better than they might.

HERE  and HERE are other really excellent and simple explanations of the recent Syrian past…

Z

This entry was posted in Syria. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Syria’s Story

  1. As I said at my place, launching missiles onto someone else’s soil is the very definition of an act of war.
    Unless there is an imminent threat to us or an ally, a clear and present danger, Congress has the Constitutional authority to wage war, not the president, no matter how good that rush of having a “decisive” president makes us feel. The consequences await. An imperial presidency able to lash out whenever it feels like it (In response to pictures? Anyone remember incubators in Kuwait that never happened?) is one.
    Removing Assad via the “Arab Spring” (that worked so well in Libya and Egypt) prompted this entire scenario.
    Who benefits with the removal of Assad?
    Isis. Jihadists. Since his father hit Hama (a Muslim Brotherhood hotbed) the Assads have resisted jihad. In their own interest, granted. Ruthlessly, granted.
    They have also protected Christians.

  2. Angel says:

    so complicated Z but seems like it will not end well hon…hugzzzzzzzzzzzzz:)

  3. Mal says:

    This is a timely question, Z, and something I have been pondering, also. Like most Americans, I was happy to see a quick response to the gassing by Trump because of the lack of action by his predecessor. The other day the question came up by a couple of your bloggers comparing gassing to ordinary bombing, implying either way, you are being killed. That got me to thinking about the A-bomb and Hiroshima. Can we say it was the same as an ordinary bomb? Not in my opinion. Gassing to me is the same as an Atomic or Hydrogen bomb, albeit not as potent, but still akin due to it being indiscriminate and blanket in nature.

  4. bocopro says:

    There IS no solution to the problems of the Middle East. Anyone who’s read any world history knows that. Those people LIKE killing each other; it’s in their DNA. They’ve been gleefully slaughtering each other for over 5000 years for a variety of trumped-up excuses, mostly religious. It’s their favorite outdoor sport.

    We simply cannot afford to be Globocop, OR get involved in another Iraq or Afghanistan because some a–hole in Damascus wants to play God. We screwed up in Iraq and STILL can’t get out of there; we caused a disaster in Libya which magnified the “refugee” problem; and we are looking straight up a goat’s butt in Afghanistan with no light at the end of the tunnel.

    Let them handle their own regional affairs with just a Lima/Charlie caveat now and then that it’s not a good idea to poke and prod at the big-ass bull on the other side of the lake, in either direction.

    We need to stay the hell out of the Middle East. We don’t understand it. We never have understood it. We never will understand it. All we need to understand is that they want us dead and gone and the entire world to behave like a fire-ant colony operating on Qu’ranic phermones.

    Anyway, what’s wrong with letting them kill each other if that’s what they like to do? Handled properly, there could even be some tidy profit in it.

  5. Kid says:

    I hoinestly don’t have anything valuable to add, so just let me suggest that this may just be our new way of apologizing to leaders of muslim nations.

  6. I have to go along with what Bocopro has stated.

    Anything and everything that the West tries to do for good in the Middle East always ends up as a mess.

    We need to drop an Iron Veil and let the Middle East sort out their own problems.

  7. If there was EVER, and I mean EVER, anything positive we could have done in the ME it expired long, long ago; bocopro is right. The best thing we can do, now, for the US is to never allow anymore of their vermin entry!

  8. geeez2014 says:

    https://www.yahoo.com/news/le-pen-says-france-not-responsible-wwii-roundup-082416118.html
    And now le Pen just lost her own race. Not to even sort of equate the holocaust with Virginia coal miners, but this was a Hillary Moment for Le Pen…in that style.

  9. geeez2014 says:

    JMB is right…..We can do no good in the ME anymore…we could have. We didn’t. We’ve made it worse.

    Who here believes that “it’s better to fight them there than here?” That’s a mantra we used to hear, not so much anymore, now that they ARE HERE, of course.

    No civilized nation should allow any other nation to gas women and children. EVER. But why not stand up for African countries where awful atrocities are done? And why’s it gassing that seems worse? How about the times Assad has bombed women and children?

    While I don’t think we could do NOTHING….I do believe that my husband was right when he’d say “build a fence around them and let them fight it out and annihilate each other.” Amen to that.

    BUT we can’t…..
    Ed’s point about our loosing radicals on countries that had dictators we deposed is a good one, via Arab Spring, etc.. How’s that going? Not good.
    And, if Assad goes, is Syria democratic enough, sane enough, to actually vote for a GOOD LEADER?

    My opinion is that experts in the West should meet with Syrians and discover from them who might be a few rational Syrians who could lead…people who’ve had a track record of civility during this fight with Assad, and get Assad OUT, if possible..how, I have no idea…..and then set up a real election.

    And pray HARD. And take all Syrians BACK TO SYRIA, which is where they’d rather be, anyway.

  10. Mal says:

    Bocopro makes a good point, as is dittoed by JMB, AOW, et al. Just let ’em keep it in the Middle East and Africa, not in the West. They outnumber us in population anyway, so let ’em have at it.

  11. Imp says:

    Ms.Z…It seems I’m not allowed to post my comment?

  12. Kid says:

    IMP, I asked her to put you on moderation, you’ve been making way too much sense lately.

    No one liked my apology tour idea? Hmm. Well, anyway, I don’t believe anyone will ever do what needs to be done. It is the Geert Wilders plan. Close the mosques, rid you country of this infestation. It is the only way. But, it will Never Happen. Eventually they will breed out and win becuase of civilized country’s freedoms.

  13. Imp says:

    Kid…OK…thanks. I’ll not bother with my rant then….I’m sure this will post though?

  14. Kid says:

    It did of course.

  15. Kid says:

    I was kidding of course on the moderation thing.

  16. geeez2014 says:

    Imp….your ‘rant’ isn’t even in ‘comments’ that only I can see and publish. Sometimes I find comments there in ‘pending’ ready for release..Why, I have no idea. But I need to tell you I wish you weren’t implying that I’m keeping your comments from publishing.. I am not. This has happened before so you ought to know that.
    You are also not on moderation. I can’t help what happens to some of the comments….

    Kid, I thought your apology tour comment was hilarious and even brilliant..absolutely!

    Bocopro….excellent input.

    ALL of the input was so good I sometimes don’t feel everyone needs a response…and I was hurrying..sorry, everyone…I value and really learn a lot from ALL of your comments.

    Imp…if you still have the comment, or want to try again, just send me an email and I’ll publish it. There is no one I’d keep from publishing here but leftists…

  17. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, we know 🙂 But I did want everyone to know that NOBODY is on moderation here…although I could. AND I do have a list of email addresses which are NOT allowed to comment here; the only purpose I switched from my favored ‘Blogger’ to Word Press was because of lefties using my blog as theirs! (like Ducky and his stupid ranting)

  18. geeez2014 says:

    The South Carolina church bible study killer just got 9 life sentences. Hallelujah.

  19. geeez2014 says:

    Just saw one of my favorite recent jokes again; General Mattis has a bear rug in his living room; it’s not dead, it’s just too scared to move

    Makes me laugh out loud every time I think of it!! 🙂

  20. Imp says:

    Z….I’m not implying anything. You know me…. I’d come right ou and say it.
    It’s just some BSHEET software glitch that I run into pretty often here.

  21. Imp says:

    Ok… I’m not implying anything…. it’s WordPress blocking me.

  22. Kid says:

    IMP, If I was young enough, I’d go work for wordpress and make sure they never block you.

  23. It strikes me odd that many conservatives who expose adherence to the Constitution and attacked Obama for doing otherwise would rally around a president sending missiles into Syria which would normally be construed as an act of War by that country. War Powers are only given to Congress except in the event of a clear and present danger.

  24. It strikes me odd that many conservatives who expose adherence to the Constitution and attacked Obama for doing otherwise would rally around a president sending missiles into Syria which would normally be construed as an act of War by that country. War Powers are only given to Congress except in the event of a clear and present danger.

  25. Kid says:

    Ed, Let me take a shot. I NET support it becuase after 8 years of obama and the whole teasing that America must just be ready for globalization and all the puke city mediocrity and evil that conjures up, that we Called Russia, told them to get their people out the way, who surely called Syria and told them to get their people out the way because in an hour they wouold see 59 missiles striking.

    Russia lied or were incompetent when they said they’d remove the chemical weapons. This puts us in a better bargaining position with Russia. Russia you naughty boys.
    This sends a message to the other totally out of control whackjobs that that can no longer assume they can poke and prod the USA at will without consequence.

    If it happens again, I might start leaning your direction. But imo, we are in a world environment that may occasionally need actions without precedens or the approval of the ‘world community’ which again imo includes the American Congress.

  26. Kid says:

    The rubber band has been pulled too far left.

    PS – in the final analysis, anything we do in the ME is a waste of time and money (ala bocopro), but I think this one shot was worth the attention it got from the usual suspects. The anti-America forces will be thinking twice. Similar to Reagan when he hit kaddaffi’s place. No declaration of war, just letting the weasel punks know they’re not safe from retribution.

  27. geeez2014 says:

    Imp…that’s funny, your comments all sounded like you thought it was me. Glad you weren’t saying that.

    Ed, where were libs and cons when Obama was still in the ME sending soldiers, killing, etc?
    It might strike you that way but many don’t share your feelings. Doesn’t mean they don’t adhere to the Constitution.

    Kid, I totally agree with you on this event. Sadly, it looks like Russia, Iran, N Korea, etc., are going to attack us somewhere if one more thing happens..if we “cross their red line” (see how much they read and use our damned lib media against US? shmucks)…which is fightin’ words for Trump and I wouldn’t put it past him to push their envelope. Which is upsetting.
    I totally rely on Gen Mattis and hope Trump is, too. If Mattis felt we should bomb that air base, I was for it.
    If I were Mattis and Trump, I’d have done it now, too, because Congress is off for 2 weeks and this needed doing.

    Again; I wish to H they’d have a wall built around THEM and kill each other till the only people left were peaceful Christian Syrians 🙂 Sadly, the evil ones are attacking Christians first 😦

  28. geeez2014 says:

    I caught Heather MacDonald on O’Reilly tonight…she did a fabulous job. Anybody see it?

  29. Kid says:

    Z, Certainly the clear cut view is if we believe NKorea has a nuclear armed ICBM on the launch pad aimed at the US, you surely don’t got to congress to have them debate over declaring war on N Korea before you deploy a weapon to eliminate the threat.

  30. Well said, Ed. ‘RTP’, regime change and nation building are all worthy of righteous scorn…until a GOP POTUS is in office……

Leave a Reply

