Sunday Faith Blog

MOTHERS…….people who can be the type of woman who is celebrated every day.  I hope yours is, too.    Can you share a story about your own mother with us?

We need to care for them…as Jesus did his:

John 19:25-27
Standing near the cross were Jesus’ mother, and his mother’s sister, Mary (the wife of Clopas), and Mary Magdalene. When Jesus saw his mother standing there beside the disciple he loved (John), he said to her, “Dear woman, here is your son.” And he said to this disciple, “Here is your mother.” And from then on this disciple took her into his home.

Happy Mother’s Day!

Z

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. And yet, we know that Jesus was not an only child….

  2. Mal says:

    We all know our mothers were the best. My mom was an especially religious woman who had a sign in her home “God First”. I have always felt her prayers spared me from harm during times when I could’ve been injured or killed, like the incident I mentioned earlier about having rolled over in a convertible at 65 MPH and coming out unscathed in 1949 before there were seat belts. Or after completing Basic Training in 1951 when everyone except me out of approx. 250 men was sent to Korea while I went to Ft. Benning, Ga. for 6 months of radio repair school, then following that was again made “POR qualified” (shots, etc.) for overseas duty, but at the last minute transferred to another stateside base, and this continued for 2 years until I was discharged. I have always felt it was her strong faith and prayers that protected me, and who knows, maybe even yet to this day despite her having passed away in 1986?

  3. Mal, no statute of limitations on a mother’s prayers. 🙂

  4. Mal says:

    Amen, Ed. Thanks!

  5. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, he must have clearly felt Mary was safer on Patmos with John for some reason… That’s my second favorite quote from the crucifixion…my fave being ‘Today you will be with me in Paradise.’.

    Mal, I love the faith of your family…your sister puts God first, too. Wonderful that you’ve realized how many things could have happened…but didn’t.

    I just had a wonderful day with my mother…I was the only kid available today….for various reasons, and I drove out to get her, brought her back here to my church and introduced her to close friends, etc….took her and a cuz to a very nice brunch and then drove her the 35 miles back home…..(35 miles takes longer with LA traffic than other cities, but I have to say the morning trips only took almost 45 minutes!! I was doing 80 mph and more for much of it…a rarity in LA on the freeway…!! Took side roads some of the way)
    ANYWAY…so nice, and she appreciated it so much it makes me very happy.!!

    Went outside only to find a little rose bush and card from neighbors across the street….they’re kindnesses never end.

  6. Kid says:

    Well my Mom was just like everyone else’s Great Mom. Nutritionist, Doctor, Advisor, Referree, Disiplinary, – from the POV of a young kid. Later on a friend that you loved doing things for.
    She had a hard way to go. She waited 4 years for Dad to come back from WWII Europe. Then 5 kids (1 after me died within a year) when there wasn’t enough money for one. There was Never enough money, but we were well fed, clothed and housed. They always found a way to make our lives fun. Thanks Mom. Thanks Dad.

  7. geeez2014 says:

    Kid…what a wonderful tribute…great memories of what sounds like REALLY great people…thanks for this. I was hoping for comments exactly like this.
    WOW…what a woman.

    Mal’s mom was quite a woman, too…I knew her a bit.

    Ed, care to share memories of your mother?

    Anybody else like to share tonight?

  8. Baysider says:

    I was thinking of the incredible value of having a mother who raised me with Christian values and character. So many places To go off the rails, but a solid foundation to be anchored on.

  9. My mom and I had our differences. They were resolved when she got saved before her death.
    I look forward to seeing her again.

  10. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider…and so many of out kids are totally missing that. Remember we talked in Leaders about old age homes and how even the elderly with no memories left can sing along the words of hymns? It’s like a metaphor for that solid rock they were given…. Our Latin teacher had the kids translate into English The Lord’s Prayer the other day……….I thought it was nuts because they know it, so what’s the stretch for them to translate? MANY did NOT know it….

    Ed….I’m glad there was resolution and that you’ll see her again.

  11. Mal says:

    So am I glad, Ed. Making up with someone before leaving this earth is so important. I feel sad for those we know that didn’t do it.

Leave a Reply

