Terrific images….Clever, true…. like ’em? I sure do!

This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Terrific images….Clever, true…. like ’em? I sure do!

  1. Kid says:

    Sure points to a sad state of affairs. Hopefully we can get some things accomplished.

  2. Kid says:

    Actually, I’d have pictured obama with one of the head moslems.

  3. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, good point about Obama’s picture connections…

    I wish we could get rid of Soros……

  4. Kid says:

    The guy is seriously evil going back a long time.

  5. bocopro says:

    Most of us here had to deal with Coleridge’s “Kubla Khan” in one way or another. I had to write a major paper on it in grad school, so I in turn annoyed my own students with it for years thereafter.

    Think I’ve parodied it in whole or in part at least a dozen times, several since Soetoro became an unwelcome squatter behind the Resolute Desk.

    Did another one this morning while out trimming holly bushes. Rote physical work frees the creative half of my deteriorating brain. Actually I did only about the latter half of it . . . this part:

    Five miles meandering with a mazy motion
    Through wood and dale the sacred river ran,
    Then reached the caverns measureless to man,
    And sank in tumult to a lifeless ocean;
    And ’mid this tumult Kubla heard from far
    Ancestral voices prophesying war!
    The shadow of the dome of pleasure
    Floated midway on the waves;
    Where was heard the mingled measure
    From the fountain and the caves.
    It was a miracle of rare device,
    A sunny pleasure-dome with caves of ice!

    A damsel with a dulcimer
    In a vision once I saw:
    It was an Abyssinian maid
    And on her dulcimer she played,
    Singing of Mount Abora.
    Could I revive within me
    Her symphony and song,
    To such a deep delight ’twould win me,
    That with music loud and long,
    I would build that dome in air,
    That sunny dome! those caves of ice!
    And all who heard should see them there,
    And all should cry, Beware! Beware!
    His flashing eyes, his floating hair!
    Weave a circle round him thrice,
    And close your eyes with holy dread
    For he on honey-dew hath fed,
    And drunk the milk of Paradise.

    and ginned up this:

    Five months maligning with a spiteful notion
    Through hate and lies the gossip river ran,
    Then reached the chill depths measureless to man
    And died in ennui as it hit the ocean.
    But ‘mid this faux news Donald heard from far
    Resistant voices prophesying war!
    The spirit of the tax reform
    Danced lightly on the stage
    Where he declared he would transform
    The country to a golden age.
    It was a promise of such great import
    That Democrats would savagely thwart.

    A dummy with a vengeance
    In a courtroom once he saw:
    It was an Obama holdover
    Who claimed it was the law
    That DJT must turnover
    His ill-begotten seat
    To restore the rightful owner
    Over whom he claimed defeat.
    With complaints both loud and numerous
    The losing whiners would oppose,
    With flaming eyes and hearts as cold as ice,
    To oust the non-insider rookie PotUS.
    As one the opposition mob arose.
    To wrap a summons ‘round him thrice
    And toss him underneath the bus
    For he they all did wrongfully suppose
    Had spoilt their milk of paradise.

    No, no idea why I do this sort of thing . . . and so OFTEN, too.

  6. geeez2014 says:

    Bocopro..EXCELLENT! Do you memorize this stuff as you write or talk into a tape recorder? If you’re out doing stuff and coming up with this stuff…
    Or do you rely on James Comey to jot it down? Or does Donald have THE TAPES 🙂 HA!!!

  7. Mustang says:

    The first picture should lead us to this conclusion: what Trump and Putin share in common is that they are both residents of planet earth; Obama and Soros, on the other hand, share the same bed. How fortunate we are to have an independent (non-political) press.

  8. C-CS says:

    great juxtaposition images- thank you for them–
    C-CS

  9. bocopro says:

    Memorize? Well, sorta . . .
    Over the years I’ve developed the habit of putting my left brain on autopilot while doing anything rote, such as walking, mowing, trimming, painting . . . and give full attention to the right side for finding, inventing, developing, editing . . . and by the time I’m done with the back yard or back from my morning walk, usually several stanzas or quatrains or verses are fully fleshed and edited.

    Everybody has his forte, I’m sure, and if I have one, it’s that. Today while stringing out my 100′ extension cord and getting the tools ready to attack a holly bush, this popped into my head — unbidden:

    “So wrap a summons ’round him thrice
    for he on PC junk hath fed
    and spoilt the milk of paradise.”

    Clearly that’s from the last part of the final embedded sonnet in “Kubla Khan.” My original intent was to link it to Cuomo or Mathews or Maddow or one of those, but the poem came back in its entirety and my sarcastic right brain just wrestled it down to parade rest. I’d rather have gone with an Elizabethan rather than the Petrarchan, but why take such liberties with the genius of Coleridge? It’s already loose in the meter and stresses and other aspects . . . just decided to leave the cde cde pattern alone (although it’s more tricky for me).

    In honesty, the version I posted above differs quite a lot from what was on replay loop in my head as I cleaned up after the outside work. Lotta revision and editing went on during the typing process.

    Had I not written it out, either in notes or on screen, it’d have been as gone by noon as a morning mist over a borrow pit in Boone County in July. Love doin it — great mental exercise.

  10. geeez2014 says:

    Bocopro…I love that you do those…just can’t believe you remember them! I think it’s good for mental exercise, too…. I love the cleverness with which you put known poetry together with your new spin!
    I have to admit lyrics and music come quickly and simultaneously to me, and I usually remember my new melody but not lyrics. I’ve been a jazz/big band style singer for many years and was always LOUSY at remembering lyrics!
    As an aside you might appreciate, one of the Ink Spots had someone call me over to his table at a restaurant one night to compliment my singing…talk about a thrill! Man, was HE OLD 🙂 I’ve had such fabulous singing experiences in Paris, Munich and Rome, too….talk about FUN!

  11. geeez2014 says:

    Mustang; I keep thinking the same thing; If our media was more honest, we’d have a MUCH CLEANER POLITICS IN WASHINGTON D.C.

    CI, thanks..I thought so, too.

  12. That was C-CS who posted earlier.

  13. geeez2014 says:

    oops! I knew that, CI, but wrote your initials..sorry. I looked to make sure because I didn’t think you’d comment at all on this one

  14. I didn’t really have an opinion on the meme, given there’s still so many people who think Obama is a Muslim. None of this really matters in the long run.

  15. Kid says:

    Mustang, Z, if young people had to spend 2 years out of contry anywhere on their own dime, we’d have a supremely patriotic America in no time and they simply wouldn’t put up with human garbage like CNN. Did you notice CNN had the Indian girl who was the spelling champ on and simply and disgustingly used her as a propr to attack Trump. Honestly, 23,99/7 attacking Trump isn’t enough?

  16. geeez2014 says:

    CI…I know. There’s so much pointing to the fact that he is, but I don’t believe it’s so. He seemed to bend over backward to favor Islam but I know part of that’s because of his childhood and how “the sweetest sound I’ve ever heard is the call to prayer..” He did seem to almost diligently protect muslims in the opnion of MANY people, and he never did, of course, settle into that church he promised he’d announce the name of once he and Michelle had searched, but …and, of course, there was his attending Jeremiah Wright’s church for 20 years and never heard the despicable things he was known to say about our country…still, I do not believe he’s a practicing Muslim.
    I just like to understand what makes people hold certain opinions and I think these are some of the reasons..
    By the way, I couldn’t care less if a President attends a church or not, but I hate any broken promises and Obama did tell the questioning media he’d tell them when they’d found one..several times. He only attended church on some holidays, but almost only “historically black churches,” which I found tone deaf. ….he was untruthful , also, because his WH said he attends at Camp David but, in the 8 years he was in office, I believe he was there 3 times..

  17. Kid says:

    CI, whether he is moslem or not is not that significant. That he spent 8 years aiding islam in any way he could possibly think of, while hurting America in equal measure does matter.

  18. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, I hadn’t seen that…but it’ll be the TOP HEADLINE on Yahoo, I’m sure..as usual.

    http://nypost.com/2017/06/02/trumps-fake-word-stumps-spelling-bee-champion/

    THIS? How AWFUL…how totally insulting. I despise that channel anymore…truly despise it.
    I know people here in LA who literally can’t watch CNN anymore and they were NOT strong Republicans, they’re kind of centrists and SMART, like my own doctor… “I just can’t watch it anymore”
    As you know, sadly, those on the left aren’t satisfied with how left CNN’s gone and are running to MSNBC, which has exceeded watchers over FOX lately…..

  19. geeez2014 says:

    The Chicago Times is saying “Trump has a palpable fear of the truth”…again, how revolting of them.

    Kid, yesterday on MEdved’s talk show, he listed 4 newspapers…WaPo, NYT, USA Today and WSJ…then he read 4 titles about the same Trump/Comey specific issue. And asked which printed what. of course, I and every Conservative or thinking person, picked the right ones….it’s not difficult to see that two of them were not NEWS, just ways to be hideously insulting (and even not quite true)…the more Cons. ones were NOT pandering to Trump but just the NEWS.

    Did you see I commented yesterday about some guy on CNN who said that Trump’s indiscretions with Comey were “similar to that which happened to Nixon and what allegedly happened with Bill Clinton” and I thought ..? WHAT?? HAPPENED to Nixon. Fine. But ALLEGEDLY to Clinton? You can’t make this stuff up.

  20. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, had you read my comment…I totally agree with you. Be he Muslim or not, he certainly did bend over BACKWARDS for Islam.

  21. I just like to understand what makes people hold certain opinions and I think these are some of the reasons..

    Although I put as much stock into the ‘reasons’ that Obama is a Muslim, as many put into allegations of collusion between the Trump campaign and Russia….I certainly agree with this statement.

    Likewise, allegations that “he spent 8 years aiding islam in any way he could possibly think of”, are subjective and opinionated rhetoric as far as I’m concerned. Probably why I’d never make a loyal Republican.

    Sadly, most reasons I hear are not based in fact, but in duopolistic meme’s and a willful neglect of intellectual curiosity. I’m not sure what’s left of our Republic can come back from where we are now….or if we even deserve to.

  22. Kid says:

    CI, I don’t speak as a republican, I’m not one until they align with my goals for saving America. I don’t even speak as an American. I speak as a great ovserver of events. I’ve been ovserving a long time. You are of course completely free to your own opinions ! Where would we be without free expression?

    Z, I did read your comment. Also, the left are reaching so far out on that limb, they are like a 100 lb bear cub on a branch that will only support 100.00001 lbs. Honestly, how much more pathetic can they get? And the keeping alive of the watergate thing… obama did things Weekly that eclipsed watergate many times over. Living with zombies. I just wish they were better looking and knew how to drive.

  23. Where would we be without free expression?

    Agreed. Let’s hope we can hold onto it. Let’s also hope we can be rational and objective, for the good of the Republic.

  24. Kid says:

    Rational and objective are my two first campaign ribbons of civilian life.

  25. Mine were to hold down whiskey and talk to girls. Rational and objective came much later.

  26. Kid says:

    Then as a public service to your young male friends and family members…..

  27. I’m familiar with Yeager, but I can’t stream videos at home. I’ll have to wait until Monday at work.

  28. Mal says:

    C.I., you’ll never be convinced Obama is a Muslim, will you? Has he ever said he is? No. But do all his actions show he is, YES! “I have known the Koran on 3 continents”. He bowed to a Saudi king. He brushed off lightly the killing and torture of Christians by saying “remember the Crusades”. He made sure millions of Muslims, mostly young men, got relocated to western countries where many are committing acts of terror; Have you ever see him in church (except the Rev. Wright “God Damn America”)? Again, if you ask him, of course he will deny it, but good grief! How much more proof does it take? Most reasonable people are convinced, but like you pointed out previously, you can believe what you want to believe. (and I still believe I’ll have another beer).

  29. Most reasonable people are convinced….

    No. They’re not. Rational and objective….they are hallmarks of a bygone era, sadly.

  30. He bowed to a Saudi king.

    Is holding hands better?

    Have you ever see him in church

    I have, but these things are chronicled by the allegedly liberal media, so I’m not sure you’ll take that evidence as fact.

    How much more proof does it take?

    Actual proof, not ……’fake news’.

  31. Mal says:

    “Actual proof”. Meaning what, exactly?

  32. Wow…who new that Obama resettled “millions” of Muslim refugees in western countries. Now, that must be a guy who knows how to get things done. Trump is but an amateur compared to him.

    /SARC

  33. If you don’t know the difference between proof and politically convenient supposition….I don’t have the time to explain it to you. I’m off to spend time with Mrs. CI. Goodnight.

  34. Mal says:

    His obvious disdain of all thing Christian has been consistent.

  35. Kid says:

    MAL, I sure agree with you. Hell, just jot the numbers on a score card.
    For moslem. –
    For Christians –
    For America –
    For Iran –
    ETC in context.
    Seems pretty damn simple to me, but I gave up requiring others to adopt my positions long ago. Waste of time and energy and as I said eariler people can think what they want. I dont expect or want to have control of that. CI at least recognizes the threat to civilizaion. Many in the US want to ’embrace the refugees’ as Jeb Bush put it. wowsa.

  36. geeez2014 says:

    CI…you say. “……….subjective and opinionated rhetoric as far as I’m concerned. Probably why I’d never make a loyal Republican.”

    You’ve decided subjective and opinionated rhetoric is a loyal Republican thing? No, it’s not. Nobody on this planet hasn’t some bias….I don’t care what the subject. So Libertarians are big THINKERS, never let themselves be swayed by their perspectives, their values, the way they see things? Silly.

    You had to be sleeping to not realize Obama is very, very fond of Islam and I’m proud to be one of the unthinking group who took that as a bad optic (if not worse) during a time of islamic radical terrorism.

    BY the way, you might address the rest of Mal’s points instead of settling on the one that isn’t 100% true. That’s a good exercise for open mindedness.

  37. I’ll address each and every point Mal wishes to make, and then some….if he wishes.

  38. Z – You misunderstand, I’m not loyal to any party….but far too many Americans are, at the expense of intellectual curiosity and simple reason. That is one of our great failings. It’s merely one example of political correctness on the right, to profess that Obama is a Muslim, because it fits the narrative, that he was an “other”, and would bring the downfall of our Republic. I don’t doubt that Mal truly believes it to be so, as he least attempts a defense of that belief. Most don’t even bother to do that.

  39. Kid says:

    CI, I think a heck of a lot of republican votes are anti-democrat.

    obama, a novel could be written on the damage he did. Keeping it brief, Race relations back to 1960. Where did 18 trillion go. (8 in tax receipts, 10 in new debt) It surely didn’t go here. Most corrupt admin in Americ’s history. So much damage. But I’m not going to type details. If people haven’t observed what I have, typing words on a page would be a waste. It’s why I never blogged on his antics, didn’t want him in my life anymore than he already was. Glad he’s out and not coming back at this point. Time to move forward.

  40. It is however, difficult to move forward, if the majority is continually blaming any current woes on the actions [real and invented] of the previous Administration, no? I don’t remember the right being cool with that when the Left kept blaming the Bush Administration, post-2008.

  41. Kid says:

    The Bush derangement syndrome was pretty humorous, especially given how liberal he was.

  42. Agreed. All of the derangement syndromes are both humorous…and a little sad.

  43. Kid says:

    Sad is right. I just can’t imagine being that mentally invested in politics. The activities that affect you yes, but all the rest?

  44. I completely agree. I don’t understand how people get emotional gratification – or angst – from politics. Perhaps a byproduct of our reality show, consumer culture.

Leave a Reply

