Sunday Faith Blog

“THE NEAREST THING TO ETERNAL LIFE WE WILL EVER SEE ON THIS EARTH IS A GOVERNMENT PROGRAM”  Ronald Reagan

Amen to that!  Here’s an amusing joke I was sent yesterday:

A U.S. Marine enters the Catholic Church confessional booth in Manitowish Waters, WI .

He says, “Bless me, Father, for I have sinned. Last night, I beat the ever living crap out of a flag burning, cop hating, anti-Trump protester.”

The priest says, “My son, I am here to forgive your sins, not to discuss your community service.”   (you’ve all probably heard it but I thought I’d put it here!)

Also, I sent this via email to some, but thought I’d put it here, too, because I think it’s so important:    “Happiness is letting go of what you think your life is supposed to look like and celebrating it for everything that it is”  

ALSO,  I ASK FOR PRAYERS FOR TRUMP.

PLEASE pray that he’ll do what, believe it or not, Juan Williams said on Friday…“… show us the best in himself.”  Amen to that.

He was excellent last night at the Veteran’s event in D.C…..his smiles were so obviously real; I wish he did that more often!    He said  “we worship GOD, not the GOVERNMENT..”  Not an original thought but a very good one, and not made by a president in a long while.  I worry he listens to nobody so I thought THIS NEWS I stumbled upon last night was really a good thing, though I wish ‘sources’ would shut up even more than I wish Trump would stop tweeting!

Please HONOR GOD, Mr. Trump, with your words and your behavior and your legislation.  

AMEN.

Z

This entry was posted in Sunday Faith Blog, Trump. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. jerrydablade says:

    Well, Trump is 70 years old and unlikely to change, and he has already vowed to continue using social media despite the calls for him to cool it. He was never ‘my guy’ but honestly I don’t care that he tweaks the left and the media so much. If my job performance upset the likes of Juan Williams, I’d consider it a good day’s work. I did like the joke though, Z. Public service, indeed!

  2. geeez2014 says:

    Jerry! I LOVE that he tweaks the left and the media….and he could do it without sounding like he does, couldn’t he! TWEAK THE LEFT AND THE MEDIA, do NOT tweak the Republicans who supported you, please, Donald. be TOUGH, TWEAK, TWEET, just do it as an adult, that’s all I ask.

  3. Maybe he’ll still grow out of it as he sees negative reaction to it and the consequences.
    If his self satisfaction outways the reaction, it will continue.
    As will wonderful events like last night, SCOTUS nominations, reversals of Obama policy…

  4. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, I keep hoping that’s the case….that’s why I was enthused that he actually asked people how they thought the tweets were…
    All those ‘wonderful events’ are good….he overshadows them with the remarks that belittle himself.

  5. geeez2014 says:

    I JUST NOW REMEMBERED SOMETHING (at 5 am L.A. time!);

    RONALD REAGAN USED TO SAY “THERE YOU GO AGAIN” when people said things that were untrue or unkind or just repeated over and over.. And BROTHER< that was effective. Maybe it wouldn't be today, but he retained his dignity, and that of the office…but THERE YOU GO AGAIN somehow hit hard.
    Different times? Maybe.
    the phrase even has a Wiki mention…who knew?
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/There_you_go_again
    Used first against Carter in debates, then at press conferences…

  6. PLEASE pray that he’ll do what, believe it or not, Juan Williams said on Friday…“… show us the best in himself.”

    I admire your optimism Z. But I think that ship has sailed.

  7. Mal says:

    ALSO REMEMBER…….TWEETING HELPED GET HIM IN THE W.H.
    Lest we forget

  8. cube says:

    I’m giving Trump the benefit of the doubt. He’s under pressure the likes of which I haven’t seen since the days of Nixon and we all know that the case against Trump is a huge nothingburger and yet it continues to fester. The man has to do something and I like the idea of him hitting back at the nasty press when they’re constantly hitting him. [I still think the case against Nixon was bogus as well, but that’s an argument for another day. ]

  9. geeez2014 says:

    Mal, that embarrasses me, not enthuses me.

    Cube….Trump hears from so many people begging him to stop, including Republicans, and he continues?

    This morning’s video of him wrestling a CNN-headed guy makes me realize he’s never going to stop. He believes more in thrilling his base and assuaging his ego, not running the country with dignity and smartness. I wouldn’t have wanted to see the wrestling video under ANY circumstances. And it gave CNN such a great platform on which to slam him again, and so legitimately. I despise CNN yet I think this morning’s tweet back to him was well deserved by him.

    “It is a sad day when the President of the United States encourages violence against reporters. Clearly, Sarah Huckabee Sanders lied when she said the President had never done so. Instead of preparing for his overseas trip, his first meeting with Vladimir Putin, dealing with North Korea and working on his health care bill he is involved in juvenile behavior far below the dignity of his office. We will keep doing our jobs. He should start doing his.”
    https://www.yahoo.com/tv/donald-trump-tweets-violent-fake-150102475.html

    Of course, their first line is ridiculous and a CLEAR attempt to mischaracterize because his pounding on a “CNN REPORTER” was metaphorical and one has to be even more stupid than anybody at CNN to paint it as “encouraging violence against reporters!” (hilarious) AND Sanders did NOT lie about that…. BUT…the rest….I agree.

  10. Z – I’m not sure the context was in solely reference to this weird wrestling thing, but also his statements during campaign rally’s where he all but encouraged his mob to assault the media covering his events. But given the bizarre theater we’re all now a part of, who knows?

  11. Bob says:

    Thanks for this faith blog, Z. My wife read to me a devotional this morning that says that we should pray about everything, all the time and let God take care of things. This is one of the hardest things in the world to do, yet it makes so much sense. BTW the devotional book is Jesus Calling: Enjoying Peace in His Presence.

    We Z’ers on this blog cannot remake Donald Trump, and in my opinion should stop being embarrassed at his awkward tweets. We cannot and will not be able to wish him into tolerant behavior. However, I have taken the attitude that I will support his outlandish conduct with the idea that it is about time that major attention is brought to the sad state of the press in this nation. It is beyond time for the world to take notice of the horror that is Islam.

    The latest book I am reading is The Story of Mohammed Islam Unveiled which is an account of the life of the Prophet Mohammed, and the religion he instigated with Koran and other Islamic foundation documents being quoted. I don’t believe anybody can express the evil that Islam holds in promise for the world. It is a religion founded on murder, theft, and deceit, and all Muslims are called upon to wreak jihad on the world, killing non-believers and especially Jews.

    So, if anything Donald Trump does to change the direction of this country, and improve the prospects of Western Civilization, I support him.

  12. That’s it Bob. He is the vehicle to get us where we want to go.
    He is not a sleek sexy sports car or Italian sedan.
    He is a dented hummer.
    We’ll get there.

  13. geeez2014 says:

    Bob, very well acquainted with Jesus Calling…it gives a lot of comfort, is very sweet and inspiring, isn’t it!

    I will never stop being upset and feeling let down by Trump’s tweets…it’s disgusting, childish and only emboldens the media, which I CANNOT STAND. It also shows something in him that almost literally makes me fearful for our country…and the world, quite frankly, but I’m very happy for your and Ed, and others’ here’s, ability to overlook and be hopeful

  14. Bob says:

    Many times I have wished for a Facebook like feature in WordPress that I can click, LIKE, or DISLIKE. One of these days they might include it.

  15. Bob says:

    http://www.johnwalton-is.net/download/Story%20of%20Mohammed%20Islam%20Unveiled.pdf
    I found the Mohammed book in pdf format on the web, and it’s free. I don’t know if it was hijacked or not, but here it is.

  16. geeez2014 says:

    Bob! The whole darned ‘book’ seems to be there! Interesting to see it like that, available!

    Also, there’s a fabulous book called SEEKING ALLAH, FINDING JESUS you might like…I sure did!

  17. Kid says:

    The media needs to be assualted. I maintain that if it ever came to “it”, I’d be hunting media people, Hell with the politicians, let the riff raff deal with them.

Leave a Reply

