Food

Do you have a FAVORITE FOOD, or FOODS?  Or category of food, or favorite recipe you make?  Let’s talk FOOD!….

This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Food

  1. bocopro says:

    Ahh, food. Smells, in fact. We taste only 3 or 4 things in our mouths — the rest happens in our olfactories.

    Always liked bein up and about in the early mornin, ‘specially in summertime along the Gulf ‘cause the heat ‘n’ humidity ain’t up too high yet. Like watchin the sun come up over the oaks ‘n’ pines ‘n’ kudzu and bein able to ride my bike while ever’body’s still home sleepin or eatin and not out drivin around while textin.

    Cool air, gentle breeze, breakin dawn, light traffic . . . yeah, that’s the time to be out, before the sun gets high and beats down like a searing weight on your shoulders and the mugginess mixed with exhaust fumes gets in your lungs like a katzenjammer kid who just discovered coarse-grit sandpaper.

    And the smells . . . aromas, actually . . . prob’ly the best term I can lay on ‘em is common scents. Like ridin past the Mexican restaurant where somebody’s in there doin up the day’s first big ol’ pot of beans. Somethin wholesome ‘bout beans bein simmered by somebody who knows what he’s doin . . . teasing, pleasant, reassuring.

    Natcherly somebody’s cookin bacon. Ever’ mornin I smell it. Sausage, too, and ham . . . and pancakes. Coffee, of course. Good additions to the early-mornin ambience. Bummer, tho, ‘cause all I can do is remember what it was like, since I can’t eat that stuff any more. Still pleasant, tho. There just ain’t no such thing as too much bacon.

    Pleasanter still is the girl walkin from her car toward the Tom Thumb (like a 7-11), maybe 30-ish with her little vest over her tanktop to identify her as the counter clerk and that marvelous smell of freshly-showered young woman mixed with that lingering tasty aroma of body splash and shampoo. Hooo-Ah!

    Aromas! Burger King . . . why in the world is somebody flame-broilin burgers at 0600!! Great smell, tho . . . atavistic, primitive, macho, and somehow sexy. As I saw on the tube recently, the world’s oldest and most favoritest recipe is meat and fire.

    And some guys are, like me, lucky enough to have hitched up with a doe-eyed dark-haired woman whose fundamental recipe begins with garlic ‘n’ onion sautéed in pork belly, then doused with termater ‘n’ veggies ‘n’ whatever bits of bird or mammal failed to escape the knife, teased with vinegar and soya, and spread over a bed of wild rice.

    Hard to say if I have a favorite – I do know that being raised in central Indiana in the 40s, I grew up with a severe pizza deficiency. LOVE good pizza, deep dish or even that stuff you get in Naples – a paper-thin crust with half a cup of marinara covered in olive oil and baked ‘til it’s crisp.

    Love lasagna, Stromboli, pasta fagioli, empanada, and especially those incredibly delicious roasted half chickens you get from street vendors in southern Spain along with a tube of heavenly fries. Favorites – well, donno – that’s kinda like askin what’s my favorite song, or favorite movie, or favorite novel . . . depends on when you ask and what I’ve just finished. There ain’t nothin better on a cold rainy day than a bowl of homemade beef stew after rakin leaves or trimmin bushes all mornin.

    Steak. Ribs. Chicken Kiev. Spaghetti with garlic toast. Chocolate cake with cold milk. Brownies and a cuppa that threatens you as it comes outta the nozzle on the Keurig. Banana split. Cheeborgi, with Pessi, no Coke. And don’t leave a pot of black beans ‘n’ rice with a plate of fried plantains lyin ‘round untended expectin it to be there when ya git back.

    No crustaceans, tho. Can’t get ‘em past my nose. Shrimp, crab, lobster . . . you can have my share. Calamare, too, and ersters. Good grief! Imagine that first guy who opened up an oyster, looked at that slimy thing, and said, “I think I’m gonna eat that.” Nope! Not for me. If it wears its skeleton on the outside, you eat it; I’ll be happy with a PB&J.

    Yeah, common scents. Glad my nose still works. Sometimes ya just gotta stop and pat a dog on the head, and smell the roses, and be thankful you ain’t so damned old yet that your smeller don’t smell so good no more . . . even tho Doc says if you put somethin in your mouth that tastes good, spit it out, ‘cause it’s bad for ya.

    Like

  2. Wood-fired grilled NY Strip Steak!

    Like

  3. geeez2014 says:

    Bocopro..they’re making burgers so early so husbands like mine could go buy one for a wife who had migraines and couldn’t take meds without food and who felt like something delicious to help the pills work without hurting the tummy…!!
    I LOVE pancakes, eggs and sausage or bacon WITH SYRUP, that sweet/savory thing is a fave of mine.. AND as far as Mexican restaurant smells, how about that corn tortilla smell when they’re making them fresh on that little grill!? WHAT an aroma. I adore any Mexican food. Except menudo.
    Spaghetti and meatballs and MACARONI AND CHEESE are faves.
    FUn reading, thanks.

    AOW! I do like a steak but never order them in restaurants because I can do them here. Anything more ‘fussy’ you like a lot? More complicated a recipe, even if it’s mac ‘n cheese!?
    I loved the difference in brevity between your and Bocopro’s comments!

    Like

  4. geeez2014 says:

    http://macngeeeez.blogspot.com/

    Bocopro, did you know I once had a fairly active food blog? Enjoy! Scroll down, there are some good things in it, including holiday spreads, recipes, etc.

    Like

  5. geeez2014 says:

    Funny, I’d lost a butternut squash mac’n cheese recipe and just ran into it on my own blog I haven’t looked at for a while! Hurrah! Got it NOW! and is it goooood!!

    Like

  6. bocopro says:

    Way back around 1954 or so, the mother of a classmate of mine (Rita) asked me to wait out the rain in her house while I was collecting for my newspaper route.

    Rita had just gotten outta bed and was hungry (around 0900 on a Saturday morning after a ball game the night before — she was a cheerleader). She threw some leftover homemade mac’n’cheese in a skillet with a li’l butter and scorched it ’til it was crispy. Gave me a small bowl of it.

    Nectar. Ambrosia. Parfection culinaire. My taste apparatus has never been the same. A-MAZ-ing.

    Alas . . . Doctors are united, as are all the nurses in cardiac rehab, that such delicacies are verboten fur mich.

    Betcha some of my grandkids would like summadem recipes, tho. My wife loves the stuff.

    Here’s where all our kids go for recipes (remember, their mama is pinay):

    http://www.panlasangpinoyrecipes.com

    Like

  7. John M. Berger says:

    PRIME RIB MED. RARE W/LOTS OF AU JUS!

    Like

  8. Mal says:

    FILET MIGNON w/ LOBSTER TAIL; PRIME RIB W/AU JUS AND/OR HORSERADISH; SHISH KEBAB & PILAF……………but, unfortunately, rarely eat any of them. Sad, huh?

    Like

  9. Bacon. Bacon wrapped in bacon. Fried bacon with a side of bacon. And cheese.

    Like

  10. geeez2014 says:

    Bocopro…I’ve had mac ‘n cheese like that and it IS good…I prefer it baked…like grandma used to do it! The tip is slightly overcooking the pasta and then adding all the milk, cheese, butter, etc., and baking it….mmmm

    JMB…GOT to include horseradish, right?

    Mal…Shish kebab and pilaf!! And EVERY Armenian mom’s pilaf is the best, right? (But MY Mom’s is THE best! HAA!)

    CI…me, too…hence the image on this post..BACON and MORE BACON. A group I belong to got wind that I love bacon and they give me bacon gifts all the time…a T shirt with something about bacon on it..a little sign for the kitchen “I LOVE BACON”, .a bottle of bacon jam!? Haven’t tried that yet but am thinking it’d be great on a burger!
    And cheese…yes.

    Like

  11. geeez2014 says:

    Bocopro…some of those recipes do look good…like the pork Kimiam..Thanks!

    Like

  12. geeez2014 says:

    “IF ANIMALS DIDN’T WANT TO BE EATEN THEN WHY THE HELL ARE THEY MADE OUT OF FOOD?”

    JUST now saw this on FB and thought it was hilarious and perfect for this post! ENJOY!!

    Like

  13. John M. Berger says:

    Yeah, I didn’t claw my way up to the top of the food chain just to eat vegetables!

    Like

  14. geeez2014 says:

    JMB…that is HILARIOUS! Thanks!

    Like

  15. geeez2014 says:

    Ed….the little liver wrapped in bacon? I’m not a liver fan but I do a REALLY mean date wrapped in bacon and broiled!

    Like

  16. Baysider says:

    Bacon is hard to beat. Occasionally I even make baconnaise – mayo made from bacon fat. But I am also a BIG fan of Julia Child’s chicken liver mousse. Not a liver fan per se, but this is divine!

    Favorite? Tomorrow we will fix a paleo/keto dream breakfast of Carmelized Onion, Chorizo & Sour Cream Omelet. It started as a burrito, but I ditched the tortilla. 2 lightly scrambled eggs with 1/4 lb. crumbled chorizo and caramelized onion, rolled into a sort-of omelet, topped with cheddar/jack, cilantro, sliced avocado and a big pile of sour cream. The chorizo comes directly from the pig farmer who breeds mangalitsas (those who know what that is are salivating now), and the sour cream and pastured eggs come straight from another farmer. No comparison to stuff you buy at store or restaurant.

    Like

  17. To be precise, A chicken liver, water chestnut, pineapple chunk, wrapped in bacon, skewered with a toothpick and deep fried. Mmmmmm.
    Sub a date for liver sounds OK, but I barely taste the liver. 🙂
    I like CIs recipe, but it needs more bacon.

    Like

  18. Mal says:

    Z, actually my dad made the best pilaf. He said the secret is to use a lot of butter. He also knew how to cut and trim a leg of lamb for shish kebab. It was very important to get a BABY leg of lamb, otherwise it was like mutton (tough, not good).
    Truthfully, I’m not fussy. I eat to live, not the other way around. I was even happy with army food!

    Like

  19. geeez2014 says:

    Mal, yes, lots of butter but not to the point of greasy and definitely chicken broth NOT water!
    As you know, Grandpa had grocery stores with very high end butcher shops in them so we always had great kebab!~
    As Grandpa grew older, he said “I used to live to eat, now I eat to live” Fussy is one thing but having favorites is a GOOD THING, right!?
    Would have liked to have tried your dad’s pilaf. I made it for some girlfriends recently and they called it something like “food for the soul!” 🙂

    Yes, Ed…I know rumaki…I’ve never had it with a pineapple chunk…maybe that overcomes the liver! And I’ve never had it deep fried, only broiled.
    Yes, CI’s recipe does need more bacon 🙂

    Baysider, I’m glad you have a reliable chorizo provider….enjoy the bkfst!

    Like

  20. Z: i heard an interview with a famous chef years ago.
    He said the secret to being a successful executive chef was butter, lots of butter.
    Also fluency in spanish.

    Like

  21. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, butter is a great thing! Pilaf swimming in grease, or anything else with too much butter, is BAD! But, don’t get me wrong, I think butter is the key! Julia Childs, of course, would have been one chef who constantly said BUTTER BUTTER BUTTER!
    Fluency in Spanish so you can run the kitchen help. (can we still say HELP without sounding racist!?) 🙂

    Like

  22. Kid says:

    Rib steak with the flavor dust appllied served rare but warm, Prime Rib as rare as you can get it and still be very warm-with horseradish, Egg-fu-Young, Ribeye steak burgers, lobster mac and cheese, dim-sum, non-fish sushi, most italian food, saganaki done right -http://www.mygreekdish.com/recipe/saganaki-pan-seared-greek-cheese-appetizer/
    pour on a shot of brandy and light – stuffed jalepeno, gourmet Mexican food (so fresh tasting) Anything at the brunch at Arizona Biltmore, Really good Pizza, a Jersey Mikes sub (Italian is fav so far done Mike’s way), Scallops finished in a dry sherry and butter, Lobster done perfectly, Swordfish done perfectly, Most steaks that are black on the outside and red on the inside and tender, 10000 things I’ve yet to try and fall in love with. Pretty much anything my wife, who was weened in her parents Chinese restaurant from an illegally young working age, makes for us.
    For some reason, I no longer like bacon or sausage. Don’t even like to smell it cooking. If I see any hijabs in the neighborhood, I’ll keep a bunch on the outside grill cooking and smoking 24/7 though.

    Like

  23. Kid says:

    @JMB, Anytime they put vegetables on my plate Icnsider it decoration.

    Another suggestion – Southwest omlette as served at Del’s in Tucumcai. Cheddar omlette with the right amount of Ortega green chili’s added.

    And tell you what – The Asian’s can Make some food.

    Like

  24. geeez2014 says:

    Oh, great…that jerk McConnell doesn’t want to have a vote now that McCain’s had a little surgery and might not be there next week…as if McCain was going to vote FOR the bill?
    Only McConnell would postpone a vote when we finally got an ace in the hole with that horrid McCain OUT.
    I’m not nuts about this bill, who is?, but from what I hear there are tweaks that can come afterwards if it at least starts moving….

    Like

  25. geeez2014 says:

    Kid!! “NON FISH SUSHI!?” Cucumber sushi??
    You don’t like SAUSAGE anymore? I hope I get spared that 🙂 I almost never eat bacon or sausage but that’s one reason I like going out for bkfst! I eat it then!
    I like Asian food, too……..a lot. The food in Bangkok is astonishingly good.
    a GOOD sub’s got to have mortadella in it! MMM and Italian dressing on the roll.
    And OH, brother, DO I LOVE PIZZA…..haven’t had a slice in at least a year…
    I’m looking forward to stepson arriving in 1 1/2 wks…we’ll get some junk food in here…I’m a BIG fan of junk food 🙂 I guess I shouldn’t consider pizza junk food, but I do. I LOVE IT.
    Good list there, Kid!

    Like

  26. Kid says:

    Z, mcstain would vote for this bill – because it sucks. it’s obamacare ! The repubs could have let ocare fail, then poiint to the dems and try to make America understand this is the kind of horror you get with dems. But no, they’ve decided they want to own the horror.

    Like

  27. The vote is to debate. That’s an important vote or we keep obamacare.
    Italian sausage, parboiled and then split open and grilled.

    Like

  28. Kid says:

    Z, Thanks. I had some workmates go to Hong Kong coming back in a food coma saying they never ate better in their lives.
    Well, on sushi, I do the fake crab and cream cheese type stuff, maybe some avacado. a local place had a guy that did the most amazing stuff and the closest I got to fish was his hot shrimp or crab sushi. Picture a roll with seaweed, rice on the bottom and the spicy crab or shrimp stuffed into the open area on top. He made such good stuff and I’ve never seen anyone since do much of anything beside the usual fare of fish rolled up with fish on top.

    If you have a Jersey Mikes out there give it a shot.

    In Phoenix there once existed a place called My PI. Deep Dish, the most thick ad flavorful pixzza/marinara sauce and whatever toppings. Really food coma type stuff. Went out of business. At this point I’m of the opinion most peopl elike bland crappy food. Especially in Cincinnati. Triple D has been here twice and both are worthless.

    Like

  29. Kid says:

    I just thought of somethinhg else we make here. Fried zuchini with cucumber sauce. Maybe bocopro could eat that.

    Angle thin cut zuchinni, breaded and deep fried.

    Take cucumber and shred it down fine on a cheese grater. Put it on paper towel to remove much of the moisture (or not depending on how liquid you like the end result. Mix the grated cuke into some plain greek yogurt and chill. Deep fry the breaded zuchinni, serve with the cuke sauce seperate. Some salt and cuke sauce on the zuchinni and Yum.

    Like

  30. Kid says:

    Well, we do have a Thai restaurant here that does sushi, and they have a tempura lobster sushi that is very good. Expensive though.

    Like

  31. Kid says:

    I vote we keep obamacare until it crashes and burns with the population squealing like a 3 year old with a single mom circa 2017.

    Like

  32. Kid says:

    Ed, Working for a software company we once did a project for a meat company in Canada and we had to do an enhancement to allow for the fact that they end up with more product going out than what came in. So what came off the floor or elsewhere that went into their brats?

    Like

  33. Kid, a comic strip I remember has Janis asking Arlo to pick up some hot dogs, but beef.
    He’s thinking pig nose, cow nose, what’s the dif?

    Like

  34. Mal says:

    How about sardines w/whipped cream? Or melted chocolate over raw oysters. MMMMM!

    ;o)

    Like

Leave a Reply

