ISIS NYC PLOTS

Not sure, but I think we go overboard when we reveal that “…they didn’t know they were divulging attack information to an FBI agent.”   This isn’t the first time this has been said nor is it the first time I’ve commented on it…here we have the same thing today.

I’m thinking that ISIS doesn’t really need to know what not to do next time?

I’m not suggesting this is the only way the Feds caught the people in the apparent ISIS plot to attack Times Square, the subway system in NY, etc., but I’m thinking that while they’d probably figure it out, why hand it to them?

Americans thrive on freedom of information.  Sometimes it’s better to SHUT UP.

 

Z

This entry was posted in terrorism. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to ISIS NYC PLOTS

  1. Sometimes you have to balance “security” against the need for positive public image and budgeting.
    Also, the thought that there is an intelligence agency posing as fellow travelers discourages activity and sows distrust in the organization.
    My concern is when some of these arrests may be regarded as entrapment, that there would have been no activity without the feds encouraging it. Yet, in doing so, they weed out the willing participants.

    Like

  2. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, I hope the need for us to think positively about the FBI never wins against our safety.
    And I’m pretty sure the feds didn’t encourage the plot, but I’m guessing you didn’t mean that?
    Now they’ll be even MORE careful about who they talk to……not good.

    Like

  3. What I mean is that the Feds can troll for plots, acting like arms dealers, or plot financiers, or some other form of enablers, looking for plots.
    Then they get someone who says “Yea, I’ll go shoot up that post if you give the guns.” Then they arrest that guy, but it was not an active plot they broke up.
    It was one they set up. That’s not a bad thing. It’s good to clear those guys off the playing board.
    That may not have been the case here.
    Also, publicity around a successful bust can have a suppressing effect on other bad actors, not that we won’t be able to find them, but that they will be more reticent to act.
    As for the need for us to think positively about the FBI: the FBI gets a lot of criticism, which can affect budgeting. Showing effectiveness helps to counter that.

    I remember my son giving me a tour of an Ohio class “boomer”. I felt so privileged to be trusted with all the information I became privy to.
    Literally the next week, CNN had a three night series on another boat on the same base showing everything we had seen to the same detail. I was astonished.
    When I asked why, I found that the Navy was up for budgeting of the sub service. all that exposure was to encourage public support.
    I think the principle is the same here. Give up some “insider information” for good publicity, for budget purposes.

    Like

  4. It’s always a fine line between intelligence and operational security…..and having the Citizen know what the State is doing in his/her name. I generally don’t take too strong an opinion in most cases like this…for that very reason.

    Like

  5. geeez2014 says:

    CI, I have a very strong opinion….we have to be as careful as we can about telling terror groups how we found their last plot but, of course, I totally get that ‘fine line.’ (I hope you’re doing well and that your girls back home are doing well, too)

    Ed, glad that the Navy situation wasn’t terror related. As for the ISIS plots in NYC last summer, 2016….You do understand everyone thinks it’s good to “get those guys off the playing board”…. And no, it doesn’t seem to have been the case here that it was anything but an ISIS plot thwarted.

    We need to protect ourselves over budget and popularity contests.

    Like

  6. Don’t get me wrong, we should never disclose sources and methods….but groups like ISIS can forensically analysis where an operation was compromised. It’s usually not too difficult, and its usually related to communication security.

    Like

  7. Mal says:

    Ii agree with all that is said above. We didn’t have all the info during WW ll and never expected it. Why are we so different today? We know and expect security needs to be first for our country, so why so much opposition today? I remember an old saying “A slip of the lip can sink a ship” and several others. We’re simply not as together as a people that we were then, although after what happened here in Vegas with everyone coming together really is encouraging. Every day since the attack our newspaper has had a special 8 page section devoted solely to the attack. In addition, today, they printed a full page turned sideways with a picture of the Vegas skyline and mountains, with “VEGAS STRONG” printed in large letters across the whole page. We’re all so proud of our city. We taped it to our front window.

    Like

  8. geeez2014 says:

    Mal, I think it’s because NOBODY TRUSTS ANYBODY ANYMORE. Our political parties have pretty much destroyed it through their arrow slinging particularly in the last years…
    SOLELY TO ATTACK, is right, Mal…

    Proud of Vegas, too! I doubt any city wouldn’t come to grips with it and show strength, but we see cop killings and haven’t seen many who give a damn, have we.
    Congratulations to Las Vegas!

    Like

  9. Kid says:

    Botom line for me is ISIS knows all sorts or forces are constantly trying to infiltrate. The gangsters knews it IS knows it. I don’t see anything being exposed here. I lean toward people being informed that someone somewhere in the federal gov is actually doing their job.

    PS – What’s for dinner !?

    Like

  10. Mal says:

    Remember immediately after the attack, ISIS claimed responsibility? Well, now it doesn’t look like they did it, so their credibility just went even lower (if thats even possible!).
    I guess they adopted the motto: “Never let a terror attack go to waste”.

    Like

  11. geeez2014 says:

    I can’t believe nobody told me my link to my TRUMP blog didn’t work!! YIKES!! I told you nobody reads my posts 🙂

    Kid, I was just thinking about how we’ve not emailed lately and , I swear, what I was going to have for dinner!! My Chinese student is playing Greta Garbo in her room ALL DAY, which I LIKE, don’t get me wrong, but it feels weird.!!!!!

    Mal, ISIS claims? Who knows. How could we ever know if ANYBODY was behind this besides this guy?

    Like

  12. ARe you kidding me?
    Do you think I’d dare criticize anything about your blog?
    I figured I’d let someone else tell you 🙂

    Like

  13. Kid says:

    Well, so.. What’s for dinner !

    Like

  14. Jersey Jack says:

    HERE’S HOPE AND PRAYERS FOR MR. BOCOPRO IN THE PENSACOLA AREA OF THE FLORIDA PANHANDLE FROM HURRICANE NATE. FLORIDA’S 3RD OR 4TH SO FAR THIS SEASON?

    Like

  15. Kid says:

    Jack, and all the others too. So, 4 hurricanes hit bullseyes in a single season? That in itself has my attention though I’ll refrain from a conclusion.

    Like

  16. geeez2014 says:

    Ed…WHAT? 🙂 You do almost nothing BUT that 🙂

    Kid, BORING DINNER !!! Wheat roll toasted with string cheese on top..wine, and bean salad! But it hit the spot! Student ate some chinese thing her mother had sent here….

    Jersey, is Bocopro in the line of fire? I HOPE NOT! PRAYING FOR OUR DEAR GOOD BUDDY BOCOPRO and his beloved MRS BOCOPRO!!!

    Kid, are YOU FREAKIN’ KIDDIN’ me? You’re not thinking this is contrived? TELL US!~ (or email me!!)

    Like

  17. Jersey Jack says:

    PENSECOLA looks like they dodged the most severe part of Nate as did New Orleans….it just looks like heavy rains and winds at a Cat 1..nothingtosneezeat but it’s moving very fast once it’s onshore. But the higher tides…in a tidal area are supposed to be pushed from 4 to 9 feet. P’Cola could be in for power outages and flooding though.

    Like

  18. Jersey Jack says:

    Pensacola looks like they’re smack dab in the middle of the worst part. We’ll have to wait for daylight to find out.

    Like

  19. Kid says:

    Z, No, I just think it is interesting that 4 hurricanes hit bulseyes (heavy populated cities) in a single year. Nothing to add.

    Like

  20. Mal says:

    Z, you said you doubt any city wouldn’t come to grips with it (attack) and come together. I would hope that would be true, but sometimes I wonder about places like Berkley, San Fran, Portland, etc.
    That just might not be true in some places. We DID see NY come together on 9/11 however, so maybe you’re right. I would certainly hope so.
    Perhaps just being an American is all that is needed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

