Do YOU live in a BUBBLE?

LET US KNOW WHAT YOU SCORED, YOU “TRUMP BASE” PEOPLE!

And, you know what?  I’m getting REAL SICK of anybody on Trump’s team getting accused of doing what they’re doing only “FOR THEIR BASE,” which is their new mantra…EVERYBODY in Leftwing media’s using this phrase the last few days particularly.    It’s SO SO DNC, because these phrases come and go……..

What did you score?  DO YOU LIVE IN A BUBBLE!?

Z

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Do YOU live in a BUBBLE?

  1. Z,
    Interesting that you have posted this! Just recently I again listened to the audio version of Charles Murray’s book for the third time — and mentioned this quiz to my American History student (private tutoring).

    Last Monday, I asked my student (who lives in the Super Zip for McLean, Virginia) this question: Do you have any friends whose father is a blue collar worker? His answer: No.

    Charles Murray is spot on with his designation “the snooty factor.” I’ve seen lots of that here in Northern Virginia. And I’ve actually seen people back away from Mr. AOW when they discover that he was a blue collar worker.

    I highly recommend Charles Murray’s book Coming Apart. Food for thought!

  2. My test results, but I’m sure that my score is atypical for Northern Virginia (a Super Zip):

    You got 59 points.

    The higher your score, the thinner your bubble. The lower, the more insulated you might be from mainstream American culture.

    See below for scores Charles Murray would expect you to get based on the following descriptions.

    48–99: A lifelong resident of a working-class neighborhood with average television and movie going habits. Typical: 77. [Note: our neighborhood has long been in the process of “gentrification,” and our homestead is one of the few “hold-outs.”

    42–100: A first-generation middle-class person with working-class parents and average television and movie going habits. Typical: 66.

    11–80: A first-generation upper-middle-class person with middle-class parents. Typical: 33.

    0–43: A second-generation (or more) upper-middle-class person who has made a point of getting out a lot. Typical: 9.

    0–20: A second-generation (or more) upper-middle-class person with the television and movie going habits of the upper middle class. Typical: 2.

  3. geeez2014 says:

    AOW…..let’s just say I scored very low 🙂 My friends who shared this with me are all giggling about how ‘insulated’ I AM 🙂
    Thanks for your terrific input above! Makes my blood boil when I read things like people backing off Mr AOW because of his WORK!? WOW

  4. bocopro says:

    Results probably skewed because I didn’t respond to the ones about movies or TV shows. Score was 56, and I have no idea what that means . . . and I’m not particularly confident that they do either. I’m guessing it lowers my overall score because I’m not up to speed on ubiquitous cultural refs and buzzwords and triggers and all that trendy rot.

    Had there been a category for comments on the number and frequency of GLBT-related sitcoms or plots and the fact that black faces appear MUCH more often on TV than their percentage of overall population would support, I’d probably have been reported to the PC Geheime Statz Polizei by now.

  5. Z,
    Makes my blood boil when I read things like people backing off Mr AOW because of his WORK!? WOW

    This has happened multiple times here — and in Southern California. 😦

  6. Bob says:

    My score was 50. I lied about having lived in poverty. My Dad was a carpenter in my youth, and sometimes made very little money depending on the economy and weather. We were never hungry, wore ragged clothes, or lacked for entertainment.

    I think the story for many of Z’s readers is that we were of the same generation, and were privileged to progress economically over the course of our lives.

    We are in our bubbles because we want to be there. That explains why I don’t watch MSNBC and those other echo chambers masquerading as news outlets.

  7. Jersey Jack says:

    59…Am I considered a redneck or ???? Jersey is full of them and why they’re Dems is beyond me…must be the air from NYC that floats over to Jersey? That would be the upper west side?

  8. Jersey Jack says:

    Bob…I’m pretty much with you sir on the never hungry….part.

  9. bocopro says:

    I grew up in the 40s in what today would be considered poor white trash conditions . . .
    truck patch with corn and melons, several dozen chickens, generally a milk cow around the place, butchered about one hog every 6 months . . . but never had much ready cash. Sometimes as many as 15 people livin in the place, which had only 4 bedrooms.

    Schools back then in the North Central Association (Indiana, Ohio, Illinois, Michigan, etc.) were good, and you picked up some stuff, like how to do simple carpentry, how to work with metals, how to get along with each other without having your feelings hurt, how to have simple fun without electronics gadgets.

    Consider myself amongst the most gifted generation ’cause it was the post-war boom times in the 50s: all you needed was some imagination, some dumb luck, and a little daring and you could put a lotta money in your pocket.

    Today I’m solid middle class. House paid for, steady income, nobody on drugs, nobody in jail, nobody dead, no debts except utilities and insurance, and reserves in the bank.

    I honestly believe, growin up the way I did, that one can have TOO much and be less content with it than a guy who did an honest day’s work for an honest day’s pay and didn’t fritter it away on doodads or get-rich-quick schemes or alternate realities.

    I’d pity the flash-in-the-pan sports millionaires making brazillions and then winding up broke and owing megabucks in back taxes or penalties or fees by the time they’re 40 . . . but I don’t ’cause most of them wind up that way due to major shortfalls in education, socialization, and self-discipline brought on by their own arrogance.

    I really doubt seriously if the premiere Hollywood types with their palaces and walls and security guards and massive incomes are really any happier than I am.

  10. Kid says:

    I believe true happiness comes from hard work and the resulting accomplishments. Dad made sure we boys were competent in all the physical endevours that we’d likely have to deal with. Thanks Dad.

  11. I got a 52 and I don’t have the slightest idea what it means.

  12. Jersey Jack says:

    Yea JMB… I know how you feel I was trying for a passing grade myself!

  13. Mal says:

    I got a 41……………whatever the heck that means! Of course, anyone that grew up during the depression most probably experienced poverty, or at least was surrounded by it, ergo, greatly influenced over those that weren’t.

  14. Baysider says:

    42 here. Biggest mis-match was in movies, TV, and restaurants.

    LOVED Murray’s book. Read on audio and took copious notes. Reference it often.

  15. Baysider says:

    PS – prager says that long ago the rabbis all had working skills (no doubt portable ones). There’s a saying “when the rabbis became doctors [PhDs] the people got sick.”

  16. Has anyone else read the book co-authored by Murray, “THE BELL CURVE”? While it caught flak from the Left, I found it to be helpful in understanding certain social issues.

  17. Mal says:

    Maybe I need to read it, John, ’cause I certainly have social issues!

  18. Bob says:

    John: I read The Bell Curve way back when it first came out. I believe it was a book of the month selection. It is fascinating stuff that was almost totally misreported by the chatting TV classes as some sort of racial comment on IQ. In fact there is only one chapter on race. The central message of the book was that we have a social problem.

    A class system was developing in this nation based on intelligence, not on race. These people tend to be well educated executive types and live in enclaves away from the shrinking blue collar classes. Their children follow in their stead, and this trend will exacerbate a social and economic split in our nation.

    Murray and Herrnstein simply accumulated IQ tests made over the generations from many publicly available data bases. They were not advocating the idea that black people were dumber than white people despite the gap in the relative IQ scores.

    I recently bought the Kindle version of the book so that can read it again.

    AOW: Which book by Murray are you referencing?

  19. geeez2014 says:

    Clearly, it’s a kind of fun test to see if you’re insulated from a more ‘redneck’ type of life…no pejorative intended.
    I scored in the low twenties, having been raised here, not knowing people who couldn’t get above a C, or drove pick up trucks, and not having seen one of those films or watched any of that TV, or lived in poverty, etc etc.

    This doesn’t necessarily prove anything; I thought it was just fun to see what insulates us or doesn’t.

    Frankly, I find it insulting, if you all want the truth. If you don’t know someone who has a pick up truck it doesn’t mean you have better morals than he does, a better person than he is…..

    TO me, this asks questions geared toward a kind of American generalization of a stupid redneck, so while I hate that concept, and certainly am not even close to that with , I think, was a 22 (!), it seems to be aimed at country people with little education and no money. WHY?

  20. geeez2014 says:

    I suppose I’m supposed to, oddly, feel guilty, for scoring so low? I don’t!

  21. Z: It’s alright. You hang out here with all us lowlifes.

  22. Mustang says:

    My score was 49. I was raised in a military family; not much money but food on the table. As a kid I got underwear for Christmas.

  23. Kid says:

    You were a lucky man Mustang. I had to make my own or corece girls in the neighborhood to do it for me.

  24. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, I got 20, or 22….

    Kid, you MADE your underwear? !!! I think you add 100 points for that 🙂

  25. Bob says:

    Z was obviously deprived of those influential poverty years.

  26. Kid says:

    Z, Well, many of the girls in the neighborhood Did make underpants for me but only if I’d eat their mudpies. They were actually pretty good. But yes I did have to make a few briefs. My Brother and I had to skee in a shoebox in themiddle of the street in front of our house (not true) but we did have to walk a mile to school up very steep hills (true) and walk home up steep hills too (untrue)

    Once our parents sent us to school in 2 feet of snow. It was up to our butts but we made the trek to school anyway to find it was closed and then a mile back to home. I wonder what our parents were doing while we made this trek??????? 🙂

  27. Jersey Jack says:

    AH KID…can always be counted on to make me ROFLMAO…you may have had to skee in a shoebox in the middle of the street in front of your house ….but mine used to throw us out a two-story window when the snow was deeper than 3 feet to have fun…which was lot’s of times in the 50’s so there goes the climate change nonsense, right? Sometimes the snow was so deep we’d be lost for days…And then we were told to play on the RR tracks in our backyard! We had no streets and had to make our own trails to school which was 7 miles each way. Needless to say…we generally skipped education because we got lost lots of times on the way to the school.

  28. Jersey Jack says:

    And I really scored an 88!

  29. Mal says:

    You needn’t socialize with us low-lifes, J.J! ;o)

Leave a Reply

