VETERAN’S DAY……..STOP AND PONDER THEIR SACRIFICE

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to VETERAN’S DAY……..STOP AND PONDER THEIR SACRIFICE

  1. bocopro says:

    A guy who ticked me off several years ago posted somethin this mornin about veterans and military service that I agree with. Hey, when you’re right, you’re right, whether I like you or not:

    “Many different Americans, many different kinds of Americans, served in the different military services at many different times for many different reasons in many different ways with many different effects; but they all raised their right hands and swore the same oaths to defend the one thing that all individual, different Americans have in common.”

    Too bad that today there are too many “Americans” who’ve forgotten that.

    Like

  2. Mal says:

    Amen to that, Bocopro. Also, I want to remind everyone that today marks the first day all vets can buy from the BX/PX. Don’t forget to bring a copy of your DD214 (discharge) as proof.

    Like

  3. Baysider says:

    Just as a police presence is a powerful counterweight to domestic crime (imagine if we had none!), so the military is a powerful disincentive to those who would penetrate our borders to take our stuff – food, valuables, liberties. (They do their part; too bad Congress and the Prez (or at least the last prez) doesn’t do theirs.)

    Whatever anyone did in the service they served as part of that wall of protection for US. Thank you!!

    Like

  4. Jersey Jack says:

    I salute all you Vets today…some here, are well known to us, and others we may not be aware of.

    Semper Fi and Thank you, vets, for your service.
    Happy Birthday to the US Marine Corp…..242 years of service to this country.

    Like

  5. Bob says:

    I think Moore is guilty as sin. It was unimaginable to me that the people of Alabama elected him as the Repub candidate in the first place. Luther Strange must have been really strange, or something.

    If the Repubs act NOW they can get rid of Moore and salvage the Senate post.

    Like

  6. Kid says:

    bocopro. Loved it. A veteran is not just one kind of person. That quote brings so much color.

    Like

  7. bocopro says:

    As I recall, the guy is retired Air Force who then got into the missile program. Pretty sharp guy . . . just don’t like him — problem is, can’t remember why. Some forgotten slight or misinterpretation, I reckon. Feud with origins lost in the mists of time.

    Over the years, I’ve learned much more from people who irritate me, disagree with me, or just took different paths . . . so long as they’re not morons, seditionists, or PC cops.

    Like

  8. Kid says:

    I’ve lost a Great quote about learning from those we disagree with. I have done so as well.

    Like

  9. Bob, how can you make that judgement without evidence?
    Also, Moore pulls out, the dems get another senate seat.
    There is no plan B. Moore’s name would still be on the ticket and anyone else would be a write in.

    Like

  10. One of my nieces tagged 31 veterans in our family (including herself, one of her sisters and one of her brothers) on Facebook.
    i was happy to be in that group, but 31?
    Many people today can’t name one vet.

    Like

  11. bocopro says:

    All four of my mother’s brothers and two of her sisters’ husbands were in the military in either WWII or Korea. My stepfather was an Army D.I. at Ft. Bragg during WWII, but never left the country.

    Three of my four kids did tours in the Navy, one of whom retired after 24 years. My other daughter couldn’t get in because of a bad knee discovered during her pre-enlistment physical.

    I doubt, tho, that any of my grandkritters will do AcDu service. One is seriously gender confused, one has a congenital heart condition, and a third has bone spurs in his feet. The rest have shown absolutely no interest in signing up, even for the education bennies.

    Like

  12. geeez2014 says:

    Bob, what makes you know that so definitely? It doesn’t seem odd to you that it’s 40 years later that this all comes out?

    Jersey Jack, I know you’re a vet, too…………thanks so much.

    ALL such good remarks…thanks very much. Except Bob’s (smile), who I’d like to have tell us where he gets certainty from!

    Like

  13. Jersey Jack says:

    Ed Bonderenka …Thank you for your service and your Fathers…I have a soft spot for aviators…

    Like

  14. Jersey Jack says:

    Ms. Z…..Thank you. My brother, a Marine, summed it up very well for me today….

    He said…” All Gave some…and some Gave all”. Of all the services, even though I’m former AF….it’s the Marines that hold a special respect, admiration, fondness and a place in my heart. And our resident Marine, Colonel Mustang epitomises the exceptionalism of the Marines.

    Like

Leave a Reply

