SUNDAY FAITH BLOG

RIGHT?!!   That cracked me up!    Happy Sunday!   PRAY FOR OUR ELECTION, PLEASE…even you NON PRAYERS…….it’s an ORDER! 🙂

HERE’S A SHORT, INSPIRING VIDEO FOR TODAY!

Happy NOVEMBER!  May it be a better month than the last few!

Z

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to SUNDAY FAITH BLOG

  1. For the first time in 30 years I forgot to set my clocks and lost my extra hour of sleep.
    I fell so cheated.

    Like

  2. kidme37 says:

    It doesn’t feel any different with my extra hour. I guess that’s the way it is for old people.

    BTW, the S&P500 could go as low as 3050. Current price is 3269 so that’s ‘only’ a couple hundred points away. Could get there soon, as in this week. You’ll be happy to know that this is a huge buying opportunity, or if you’re already invested with what ever $ you invest with the market(S&P500) will be heading up at that point well into 2021 and is expected to get to at least 4000-4250.
    Yea I know another tip from a cab driver, but you can bank on this one.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Our animals — two kitties and one dog — are going crazy this morning. Late breakfast as far as they’re concerned!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, i’m SORRY! Do you sleep well enough that you use an alarm?

    KID, I wish you’d explain a little. I thought a bad S&P was not a good sign, but I do understand it’s good to BUY LOW. I can’t figure out how things like GDP being SO good don’t jive with the market numbers.

    AOW, I never thought of that..! I leave dry food out all the time for Blues so there are no feeding times, but if there are, that would be a concern!!!
    My last two cats, years ago, would come down ON the mark at 8:30 pm to tell me to stop watching TV downstairs and come up and strike the position….Mr. Z downstairs watching whatever he wants and Z finally in bed, clicker in hand, cats in their snuggle positions around me! WHen daylight savings came, their timing would be a little off for a day or two!!! Good luck to your furry ones!

    Like

  5. kidme37 says:

    Z, If you believe anything believe that logic cannot be applied to the markets. (The media with their daily market move explanations are beyond laughable so ignore them) But per your request:

    These numbers come from a guy I subscribe to that uses Elliot Wave Theory. The service more than pays for itself in my case. This particular guy has been nailing it for years. It’s an if then/else situation. If this then that. This is for people who do a little trading. I trade some S&P500 ETF’s only with non-401k $ based on that information and it is working out well.

    For most people buying is the important piece. They are not going to even move their 401/retirement money around so why confuse the issue with details. Even with the information, shorter term trading is very risky. Anyway, there are a heck of a lot of people who throw money at the market when it is pounding along like a freight train at full speed. Wrong. Save that money and buy when your knees are knocking and you’re sure the market is headed to zero. Look at a 50 year chart of the S&P to see why that works much better. https://stockcharts.com/h-sc/ui?s=%24SPX&p=W&st=1980-01-01&id=p66242046159 – 2003 (dotcom crash), 2009 (financial meltdown), early 2020 (Covid) as recent examples Note the RSI (upper scale) around 30 at buying opportunities and over 70 as indicator of market strength. Simplest indicator to use to decide Is this a good time to buy? We’re getting close in the short term. You might miss some upside, but at least you didn’t buy March 200, October 2007, or Early 2020.

    3050 should scare the heck out of people so that would be a good time to at least start putting $ to work. If it should happen to go lower, I’d put even more $ in.

    There is one other guy I read for 40/mo (also paid for itself) which gives the outlook in a paragraph or two in very layman’s terms who has also been nailing it for years. Jeff Saut – sautstrategy.com. I use this information to determine if I want to have more or less exposure to the market in the 401. The guy knows all the market strategy stars (those who you never see on the kiddie site CNBC) and will quote their analysis when applicable. Very readable stuff. 3 guys, Jeff being the main guy with Monday output, two others with Wednesday and Friday, and “Trading Flashes” when unexpected things happen. A lot of the stuff from the other two guys is probably too much info for most people’s longer term investment interest. That’s it. All there is and I don’t think there is any way to say it better.

    I will say I don’t believe in diversification. I believe in market exposure when appropriate and not some silly so much in bonds, so much in cash, bal bla bla. People who put that out want to be able to defend themselves from clients who call to complain when the market takes a dip so they can say Yea, but your Bonds are up! or That’s why you have some cash, or Gold, or whatever the diverse investment is. (Interesting that the market and Gold recently made new highs together as they are usually inverse to each other and that the Elliot ave guy has been calling for that to happen for some number of years now. Heck of a call.)

    In my 401(choices are limited), 95% of it is in Fidelity Contrafund (FCNTX) which beats the market – very hard to do, and the other 5% is in a Vanguard Small Cap thing (VSMAX) because I think the Covey has been hard on the small caps so that is my current ‘buy when out of favor’ pick and a small one since the other does so well.
    The Contrafund price came back to pre-Covid prices long before the S&P did = beating the market.

    I do no individual stock picking. If I did that I’d hop in a time machine and buy as much Apple and Amazon as I could in 2005 then come back here to 2020.

    Like

  6. kidme37 says:

    AOW, I noticed an unusual number of birds hanging around the feeders looking in the kitchen window this morning with a look like Hey is this restaurant open?!

    Like

  7. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, and I’d have bought a TON of IBM in the Seventies, I think it was? And hop back here to 2020 a VERY rich woman!!

    Thanks for all that information……….I know the DOW reflects our economy…..at least ‘experts’ say “things are good, the DOW was up!” I guess it doesn’t work that way with the S&P? Because the economy is supposedly doing okay and it’s going lower? ????

    DISAPPOINTED IN THE SHOW ‘MEDIA BUZZ’ THIS MORNING………2 CONS AND 2 LIBS (COUNTING HOWIE) SAYING HOW TOUGH TRUMP’S BEEN ON THE MEDIA AND HOW HIS BASE BASICALLY BELIEVES HIM…DOESN’T TRUST MEDIA ANYMORE, ETC.

    NOT ONE WORD ON HOW THE MEDIA’S TREATED HIM. NOT FROM ARI FLEISCHER, WHOM i USUALLY LIKE OR CHRIS STIREWALT, WHO SEEMS TO BE ENJOYING SOUNDING FAIR AND NOT TELLING THE TRUTH ANYMORE…HORRID.

    I HATE TWITTER BECAUSE i JUST DON'[T UNDERSTAND IT…I WANTED SO BADLY TO LEAVE THE MESSAGE I JUST SAID HERE TO HOWIE KURTZ…I FOUND MEDIABUZZ BUT ALL I SEE ARE HIS POSTS AND PEOPLE RESPONDING TO THEM…..DON’T KNOW HOW TO START A NEW SUBJECT LIKE MEDIA BEING FAIR TO TRUMP SO I CLICKED ON THE BIRDHOUSE ‘HOME’ AND WROTE………I DON’T EVEN KNOW WHERE THAT’LL SHOW UP.
    I DON’T DO TWITTER AND NOW I KNOW WHY!!! ???

    Like

  8. MAL says:

    About 5 years ago my grandson had saved $12,000 while attending Loma Linda University and wanted to invest in the stock market, and when he asked if I had any suggestions I told him although I hadn’t followed the market since the ’90’s I liked Tesla, which was running between $98-$100 a share. After studying it for a couple of months, he jumped in at $140. He sold about a year or so later at around $340. It recently hit around $3,000 and did a 5 to 1 split! He’s still kicking himself but grateful for better than doubling his money.

    Like

  9. MAL says:

    I love the reminder to reset our clocks, Z. Really cute.
    The Blue Moon last night was a nothing burger IMO. My wife said she could see the slight blue ring around the outside, and they had a pic of it in our newspaper today, too, but still, I was a little disappointed.

    Like

  10. kidme37 says:

    IBM should do well.

    Well, that’s part of what I mean about the media. The DOW is 30 industrial stocks and does not reflect America, Inc as well as the S&P500 does.
    https://moneyinvestexpert.com/dow-jones-industrial-average scroll down for companies list.

    The S&P is very much more America, Inc.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_S%26P_500_companies

    Once again, the markets are not led by, are not moved by logic. In fact, 75% + of market volume during the trading day is based on computer generated transactions where it is important for (Goldman Sacs computer for example) to be physically within inches of the market exchange computer(s). Must be nice eh? Those things crank out millions of pennies all day long skimming money for the wall street fat cats.

    And you almost never hear ‘experts’ talking about the market on TV. They aren’t on TV. You hear idiots consumed with the idea they need to try to explain what is going on and why. Though there are a couple guys who talk a good game but still won’t be able to explain market moves, Varney, Santolli, Art Cashin, maybe a couple others. Jim Cramer is no dummy but is more of an entertainer.

    You never gt good information for free. Ever.

    The reason the media talks about the DOW is because the numbers are bigger.
    Based on today’s price, a 1% move of the DOW (26,501) is 265 points! where as 1% of the S&P500 (3269) is a boring 32.69. MUCH more drama talking about the DOW than the S&P and one more example of how the media misleads. Lately, we’ve been easily getting 2% up and down days given the current news cycle (Covid, Elections mainly). Gosh that’s either 530 points! versus a no-drama measly 66 points on the S&P.

    News doesn’t move the market, but wall street cats Use the news to move the market. Specifically, you’ll see the market up or down on any given day and the media will use the same excuse to explain both. Because they have no idea and will just never say that. A good GDP # will result in an p market on one day and a down market some other day? Why? No one knows.

    The rest is a rant. 🙂

    I found twitter to be either an echo chamber or an argument with someone who will never change their mind. In a word, Useless waste of time. In addition, I literally hate the CEO’s of the social media companies like Jack (looks like a homeless guy) Dorsey, Mark (looks like an alien) Zukerborg, or the foreign puke stains of Google and all the others. TikTok – Chinese spies, Pinterest, Instagram, hoot-ifi, what-ify, blank-ify and all the other Commie Pinko Censoring Pukes ! So I will not support them with my would be 0.000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000001% of user subscriber share that they can quote on earnings calls. I get along just fine without them. I pray for them all to go to hell. I’d tell ya how I really feel but that might be upsetting for some viewers.

    Like

  11. geeez2014 says:

    KID, I SO wanted to tell Howie Kurtz off via Twitter….but oh, well!!! I never read Twitter and this was about my second tweet..and probably my last.

    So if the S&P is so low, our economy’s not quite humming as well as Trump says because of the GDP? Don’t worry about explaining , I think I’m just not grasping it all! Just worried 😦 Ya, very weird that a good GDP gets such varying reaction…

    Like

  12. kidme37 says:

    I wouldn’t know what else to say anyway.

    “At times”, the market has nothing to do with the economy. Market is only off about 10% from the all time high. 10% corrections used to be pretty common and 10% is not big deal really.

    Tweeter – I don’t think the big names read their own tweeter feeds anyway. Imagine if pelosi read hers ! ha.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Twitter is a vile acidic sewer.
    And you are right. They opine but do not responds.
    Hugh Hewitt actually brags about that.

    I usually awake to my phone alarm which sets the time automatically, but I woke at 7:30 before the alarm as I always do, looked at the unset clock alarm and got up.
    I wondered why J. Vernon McGhee was on an hour later. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. bunkerville says:

    Now I know why Kid keeps looking up at the starts in the universe! The Elliot wave theory is fascinating… I followed Peter Eliades back in the 70’s and 80’s…. What makes us do what we do and motivates us to pull the trigger in the market is a subject seemingly past fear and greed.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. kidme37 says:

    That’s the idea Bunk. These guys combine Elliot with Fibonacci levels which match up with human psychology. In a nutshell.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. geeez2014 says:

    ya, I hate it when that happens.

    🙂

    Like

  17. geeez2014 says:

    ALREADY, Senator Clyburn is saying VOTER SUPPRESSION is happening because Latinos who haven’t voted MUST NOT HAVE REC’D THEIR BALLOTS. (Or maybe they just are too lazy…whatever group it is?)
    “The President casts doubt on mailed ballots…that is incredible!” But, Sen. Clyburn, Trump is right, there are all KINDS of troubles with mail ins.
    My own mother can’t vote because she never got hers and she’s clearly registered (for 70 years)

    By the way, did Trump call a Black woman a “DOG” on television??? Clyburn is saying Trump did! ! WHAT?? That’s the first I heard this.
    Just found it “She was THROWN OFF THE VIEW LIKE A DOG”
    That doesn’t mean he called HER a DOG! OMG.

    Like

  18.  Yesterday I interviewed a guy who wrote a book on the Electoral College.He said that federal law says that if the votes of a state are not certified by election day, the state legislature can choose the electors.Time of Appointing Electors§ 1. The electors of President and Vice President shall be appointed, in each State, on the Tuesday next after the first Monday in November, in every fourth year succeeding every election of a President and Vice President.Failure to Make Choice on Prescribed Day§ 2. Whenever any State has held an election for the purpose of choosing electors, and has failed to make a choice on the day prescribed by law, the electors may be appointed on a subsequent day in such a manner as the legislature of such State may direct.
    States are not allowed to extend the deadline for the vote it seems.
    If Michigan does not certify on Nov 3rd, the state legislature (Republican) could throw all the electors to Trump.

    Like

  19. geeez2014 says:

    ED, that’s very interesting. Of course, only a Democrat could possibly get away with this, but…who knows?
    I feel like we’re in a banana republic when I hear the courts said “it’s okay for ballots to be counted days after the election”
    What the H is an election , anyway? It’s unbelievable.
    I’m REALLY wishing Trump would SHUT UP about saying he might announce he’s won before the count’s in, etc….awful. I cringe hearing, too, the polled people saying they’re just tired of the tweets and name calling, that they want that kind of change. I really wish I’d been so wrong about his demeanor because I think he’s such a great accomplisher….( a new word on my part!)

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Baysider says:

    Well, when they get Kamala’s nasty temper married to Hillary’s laugh …. they’ll pine for the days of Trump’s tweets.

    Liked by 2 people

  21. Baysider says:

    Thanks, Ed. In parallel with that column, Prager had callers on the subject of suburban women who are deserting Trump. People from 3 areas of the country (one was Chicago) said they knew many who voted for Trump in 2016 and still will. One had friends who did not, but are voting for Trump now. Another said she ‘held my nose’ to vote for him in 2016 (as did I) and will with enthusiasm in 2020 (as have I).

    We live in interesting times. Much like 70 AD when Titus Vespasian had Jerusalem surrounded. I hope we get a different result.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Baysider says:

    That demeanor works for and against him. The kind of guy who could carry this off isn’t going to be a super manager / nice guy like Mitt Romney. Remember crusty old Howard Jarvis? Yeah, more in that territory. Rarely have so many owed so much to one man.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. geeez2014 says:

    BAYSIDER..no no!! Nobody needs a mamsy-pamsy ‘nice guy’ like Romney. BIIIIIG difference between that and calling people BASTARDS at rallies with kids there, tweeting constantly, most of which isn’t quite true, ..using silly nick names, screeching into live microphones ….

    Ya, I’m hearing all over today on TV specials about the election that people just hate the CONSTANT NEGATIVE HATE thing….BIDEN DOES IT, TOO..>BELIEVE ME…but not for the last four years…..not solid, not so tough.

    I swear, if he’d shown a LICK of empathy to COVID sufferers when he’d recovered, he’d have got SO many more votes…as it is, he keeps saying in rallies these last few days HOW HEALTH I AM………nobody wants to hear they’re inferior when they didn’t get the fantastic new drugs he got and they’re spending 3 weeks getting better…or worrying they’ll die. NOBODY.

    I LOVE the guy, NOBODY wants him to win MORE than I do…….but I’m heartbroken that what I’ve been saying about his demeanor is just now coming out more and more by media experts, even on the Right.

    PRAY HARD, folks…we need to win!!!

    Like

  24. Media experts? We’ll know Tuesday. Or Wednesday, or Thanksgiving Day. Maybe Christmas.
    If not New Years, the incoming Congress chooses.

    Like

  25. Baysider says:

    I like his nick names. But I agree about the lick of empathy. “The King’s heart is in the hands of the Lord.”

    Like

  26. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider; You like CROOKED HILLARY and SLEEPY JOE and the nastier ones?

    And I’m hoping we someday get a president who restores decorum….I want our children to respect and want to emulate their president………………….as it is, we can’t take kids to a Trump rally unless BASTARD and other oddities is something we want our kids exposed to.
    I wouldn’t 😦

    Like

  27. Baysider says:

    Yes, I would LOVE to have a Reagan, but the Lord gave us a Jehu.

    Like

Leave a comment