EASTER

So important to remember the TRUE REASON for this Easter morning celebration isn’t so secular!!

  • John 11:25: “Jesus said unto her, I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live.”

I wish you all a VERY HAPPY EASTER SUNDAY and can’t leave you without this cute cartoon below which I found….made me smile;  I hope it does you, too!   And WHAT a “GOOD MORNING!”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to EASTER

  1. bocopro says:

    O.K. Now . . . I’m basically whatcha might call a “lapsed” or a “non-observant” Christian, but a great believer in the steadying influence of a common, decent faith for a self-indulgent and prurient culture.

    Sharing beliefs, rituals, customs, songs, and time in houses dedicated to a greater-than-human creator is – IMO – more realistic and rewarding than the alternative, which is basically believing in nothing except cold, hard science and/or self.

    IOW, a society which follows the basic tenets of Christianity is happier, better, psychologically healthier, and very likely safer than one which believes in nothing greater than the words of temporarily elevated one-trick ponies who say they have all the answers and know exactly what’s on God’s mind.

    To that end, it kinda pisses me off that the Noo Yawk Slimes has published a guest essay which declares that it’s time we abandoned God.

    https://www.foxnews.com/media/passover-good-friday-new-york-times-writes-killing-hateful-god

    I don’t envision The Creator necessarily as an omnipresent, loving, giving god . . . more of a detached and distant observer with a whole lot more to do than worry about humans’ personal problems.

    But that’s not the whole point anyway – the point is that the Christian ethic is a good way to conduct your life, and if people have differing perspectives or ways of envisioning something immeasurably beyond their capacity to fully comprehend, so what?

    In fact, most good Christians would say that Auslander has every right to his opinion, even to share it publicly . . . and then they’d pray for his soul and hope he’d see the light as did Saul.

    That said, if you care to look far enough back, you’d find that Easter began with the Assyrians and Babylonians as a celebration of life, specifically fertility.

    Ishtar was the goddess of sex and fertility, and the symbols commonly associated with her were eggs and animals with high birth rates, such as rabbits. That’s the source of the bunny and eggs which confuse children today.

    Constantine converted the shaky Roman Empire to Christianity, and the elders appropriated the Ishtar ritual for Jesus as the symbol of life after death and rebirth. Over time the word Ishtar morphed into Easter.

    Like

  2. kidme37 says:

    Have a wonderful Easter Sunday all.

    Like

  3. geeez2014 says:

    Kid, thanks.

    BOCOPRO…. The bunny stuff has as much to do with true Resurrection Day as peppermint candy canes have to do with Christ’s birth, don’t they. I felt it important to include that cartoon.

    I don’t have the faith to believe that it’s a kind of coincidence that true Christian life has been so good for America (and other Christian countries)….and that the downfall of it has nothing to do with the CRAP we’re experiencing today………
    Well…too much to address, though I WOULD LOVE TO! 🙂
    Of course, I wish your heart to embrace Scripture because , try as I might, it’s been impossible to me to think someone just was THAT good to write it off the top of their head….but….

    I will say GOD is bigger than ANYBODY can imagine and that the Holy Spirit is a help.

    BUT I don’t want to get too into all this here anymore…….I enjoy reading your thoughts and I appreciate you.

    Like

  4. MAL says:

    And a Happy Easter to you, too, everybody! We use to share this day with all our family so for us, it’s just another Sunday, unfortunately. We do have many good memories we cherish though.

    Ron, thanks for explaining the rabbits & chicken eggs at Easter. That question comes up every year!

    Like

  5. geeez2014 says:

    Bocopro…..Also, I’d read the NYTimes article…it was all over FOX yesterday. It turns out it was a very good thing as people are balking.
    I believe the Left is destroying FAR too much to get away with it anymore….
    I’m reading today that Jews are pushing Christians out of their holy places in Jerusalem, too….violently, in some cases. When I first saw the headline of that article, I thought it was muslims; nope.

    Jesus warned us of this….its amazing prophecy being acted out.

    MAL….I LOVE the rabbits/eggs stuff at Easter! Children do, too…….It doesn’t take from Easter, just makes is more FUN, in my humble opinion! 🙂
    Try not to make it just another Sunday!

    Like

  6. MAL says:

    The Jews are pushing Christians out of Holy places in Jerusalem, Z? I hadn’t seen anything about that. Wow! Its okay as long as we support and help protect them, but as soon as we look weak (Biden) …………….

    Like

  7. geeez2014 says:

    MAL, interesting assumption there…you could be right. I think this is not the typical Jew, I have VERY good Jewish friends who spend a lot of time in Israel and they really honor Christians around the world for our messages of peace and kindness, etc.
    I’m going to ask them about this…
    Not sure what Jews would do this unless the country is coming to Christ even more than we hear it is and they’re not happy about that?

    Like

  8. bunkerville says:

    Wishing you and everyone the very best on this special day…. Happy Easter!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. geeez2014 says:

    I am AMAZED at all the tough conservative ‘big guys’ on Facebook I’m in groups with who’ve posted VERY religious Easter posts…………Never expected it from some of them!

    Tulsi Gabbard, who I’m not quite yet a big fan of but a friend’s working on me!, did an Easter video of her joy in ‘her Lord and Savior”….surprised me, too.

    Like

  10. MAL says:

    “Not sure what Jews would do this”…… etc. The same ones that voted for Biden, Z!
    The Jewish Dems.

    Like

  11. geeez2014 says:

    MAL…not sure how many Democrat Jews are in Jerusalem, but I think I see your point!!

    Like

  12. myfoxmystere says:

    He Is Risen!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. MAL says:

    Z, I see your point. No, I doubt there are very many U.S. voters in Jerusalem. I only meant Jews over there that think the same as the Jewish Dem voters here. Like-thinking Jews.

    Like

  14. geeez2014 says:

    MAL..I had a feeling you meant that…sorry! 🙂 But I think these Jews who’d hurt Christians are NOT the best of Israel, in which there are MANY excellent people who practice Judaism..!!!

    Like

Leave a comment