Sunday Faith Blog

Brit Hume on his Christian Faith…..worthwhile READING.

He ‘saw the face of God’ in his life after his son’s suicide….I hope this inspires a lot of you.

An excerpt:  “I considered myself a Christian. If someone had asked me if you’re a Christian, I would have said, ‘Of course I’m a Christian.’

But I think I was what you would call a nominal Christian. I went through my adult life with little thought day by day of God or Christ or any of the rest of it. I just didn’t think about it very much. When my son died in 1998, you know, when something shattering like that happens, I think it’s likely to be moment or can well be a moment where you find out what you really believe, and as horrible as that was, and it was bad, and it was heartbreaking and it was unexpected and it was very painful, I had the feeling through it all, that God was there, that He would rescue me from grief and pain, and that, I would get through it, and I knew I believed, and I knew it with enormous force. And things happened during that period that I looked to Him as the only reasonable explanation.” 

For those who consider themselves a ‘Christian’….come to MUCH MUCH fuller life through your faith if you’re not feeling it now.    But it takes community;  church, Bible study, devotionals, lots of reading……it’s so worth it.

bible and light

“And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.”  Hebrews 10: 24-25

Blessings!
Z

This entry was posted in politicos, Sunday Faith Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sunday Faith Blog

  1. Sparky says:

    @Malcolm Telloian ~ Sorry you’re having trouble. I was able to access the link without any problems. Sometimes our computers act wacky. For a long time, I couldn’t post a WordPress! Silly things. Try again later or “goggle” it. Best wishes.
    As for the post, that was a heartwarming event for Brit to share. I understand what he means about being a nominal Christian. For many years, I was a non-functioning one because I was confused about what I thought God wanted from me. It wasn’t until I learned “the gospel of Grace” taught to us by our Apostle Paul, did I begin to submit myself to His will and lead a better life for Him. Then I also had that life changing near-death experience the night before my last surgery. (Boy, THAT was an eye-opener! That’s why I’m so much on fire now to witness for Christ.) We all evolve at our own pace. Everything in His time.
    Hope your day is blessed folks. Have a Happy Sunday. 🙂
    (For those who are unfamiliar with the Gospel Of Grace, go to the BereanBibleSociety.Org website and read more. It’s FREE and they never ask for money. Knowing the truth will change your life forever.)

    Like

  2. “But it takes community; church, Bible study, devotionals, lots of reading……”
    I know that you and I know, and it is so fundamental to our lives that we might assume others know:
    It takes all those things with a faith in (and submission to) Jesus Christ as our Lord and Savior.

    Like Brody said to Hume (thanks for the link, it was uplifting, and I was thinking of our friend Bob and another friend of mine who lost his son to suicide as I read it):
    Brody: Can you imagine people’s lives that don’t have Christ in them?…I’m just wondering without Jesus Christ, I mean, you just wonder what people’s lives would be like without Him.

    Like

  3. geeez2014 says:

    Ed, that’s why I included that line. And Hume is a very smart guy….witnesses like this matter.

    Sparky, great input, thanks! Have you written about your surgery experience and faith?

    Mal…it’s on your end and I’m so sorry you’re having those problems…I deleted your comment before I saw Sparky responded to it.

    Like

  4. Mal: Try another browser?
    Chrome, Firefox, IE?

    Like

  5. baysider says:

    Ed + 1 on submission. The rest doesn’t ‘work’ without it.

    “When you have the sense you’re on God’s plan…” Bingo! Very thoughtful post, Z. I knew nothing about him.

    Like

Leave a comment