I JUST HAD TO GO OUT! and a wonderful reminder

I JUST HAD TO GO TO FEDEX YESTERDAY.   YES, I DID.  IMPORTANT NOTARIZED PAPERS HAD TO GET TO MY LAWYER OR I WOULDN’T GO NEAR IT.   

I wasn’t pleased to have to go into a public place, but I had to.  I walked into only 2 employees…one man milling about in the background, and a very pretty black girl at the counter “Hi, Ma’am, can I help you?”

“How far back do you want me!?” I laughingly asked.  She breaks into smiles so we’ve cracked that ice!

“Just behind that line” (the normal line where people wait behind, by the way)  She has plastic gloves on but no mask.  Neither do I.   She is adorable and informative and couldn’t be more helpful.

We talk the virus because while she’s doing my business, I’m saying “I wish this was OVER, it’s so awful!”    She totally agrees, of course.    And then I gulp and hit her with this:

“WHAT REALLY HURTS IS THE WAY THIS ADMINISTRATION (BEST NOT TO USE ‘TRUMP’) IS BEING TREATED FOR TRYING TO BE OPTIMISTIC!”   I suck my breath in waiting for the same kind of disparagement I got from the notary girl yesterday and you know the feeling when you’ve just met someone and want to like them?

“I KNOW, “ she says with a very knowing look and even a half smile ..”…I THINK IT’S BETTER TO KNOW THE FACTS YET BE OPTIMISTIC, TOO…..THEY’RE FACING A VERY DIFFICULT TASK BUT ARE HANDLING IT WELL… AND I BELIEVE YOU’RE RIGHT ABOUT THAT”

I then wanted to LEAP across the counter and smack a BIG KISS on her cheek. 

SO YOU THINK THIS STUFF’S GETTING TO ME?

Anybody else having nice encounters like mine yesterday?!

Meanwhile, yet ANOTHER liberal friend on the phone yesterday said exactly what my lib upstairs neighbor said 3 days ago “this virus is NEVER GOING AWAY”    ARGH!!!  WHO are they LISTENING TO??~!!! 🙂  CNN

AND HERE IS MY “WONDERFUL REMINDER”  A FRIEND SENT:

“I THINK THAT WHEN THE DUST SETTLES, WE WILL REALIZE HOW LITTLE WE NEED, HOW VERY MUCH WE ACTUALLY  HAVE, AND THE TRUE VALUE OF HUMAN CONNECTION.”

AMEN.  Come to think of it, sure did fit my post’s point, didn’t it?

Z

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to I JUST HAD TO GO OUT! and a wonderful reminder

  1. bocopro says:

    No . . . no “nice” encounters ’round here. Purty much no real change . . . neighbors still smile, people wave from their cars as I ride my bike thru the area . . . staff at the Navy Commissary doin what they’ve always done . . . lights ‘n’ water still work . . . trash got picked up yesterday.

    Wife has allowed herself to become wary of contact with anyone outside the house. Had to go to the bank yesterday . . . it was open for business, but she deposited the IRS refund thru the remote roboteller. Refused to go inside.

    Then our daughter decided to go to Wal-Mart for some supplies, so Milady sat in the car while the girl went in for her bread ‘n’ chips ‘n’ fruit ‘n’ stuff. (She can’t use the Commissary — no I.D. card.)

    Gotta say I’m tired of Cuomo’s face bein on my telly almost any time I turn it on and click up a news channel. Kinda tired of DJT’s daily campaign rallies, too. And I’m downright suspicious of Fauci and Birx. And poor Joe Biden . . . broadcasting from his basement like a cheap imitation of Wayne’s World, losing his train of thought, squinting at his cue cards, and demanding that Trump set things in motion that he already did weeks ago.

    Two bits of info are gonna be staggering when they finally become verified common knowledge — the true number of fatalities in China, which almost HAS to be in 6 figures . . . and what is very likely a huge spike in domestic violence here in the US.

    At this moment grunches of people are being physically and psychologically abused by family members whom they’re forced to stay in the house with, rather like suspects on house arrest ‘cuz the jails are full and the cops have orders to set the real criminals free and stop investigating anything short of murder, arson, terrorism, and rape.

    And my guess is that the murder, rape, break-in, and assault numbers are gonna go off the charts when . . . and if . . . they’re released for general broadcast.

    I’d hate to be a 9-11 dispatcher or a shelter employee right now. Talk about overload and stress. Hell, we might even run outta booze before long, and think what it’s doin to the price of cannabis gummies, dabbing oil, and reefer blends.

    There IS an old Chinese curse, y’know which says “May you always live in exciting times.” Well, we is in ’em, boyez ‘n’ gurulls. Question is, what’ll the hangover be like??

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kidme37 says:

    Everyone around here seems nice, but for those I run into, I’m usually the customer so who knows. But lots of people do seem pleasant around here. I get random compliments on my Hawaiian shirts and people seem eager to be friendly and counter the narrative that everyone is dog nuts or Raciss. Been a long time since I’ve had any discouraging words with anyone.

    Excuse me while I give some directions to this ant on my desk.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kidme37 says:

    Boco, know where I can score some Thai Sticks?

    https://honestmarijuana.com/thai-sticks/

    Asking for a friend.

    Like

  4. peter3nj says:

    I’m venturing out a bit later to the supermarket and produce store. I’m assuming it will be business as usual. Hopefully my fellow cabin fever sufferers will refrain from offering their elbow as I set about to replenish my fruita and veggies.

    Meanwhile Adam Schiff the architect of two plots to bring down the president has unabashedly crawled out from his spider hole and is drafting legislation to review i.e. investigate Trump and his administration’s missteps in handling the virus. Kinda smells like round III as he and the usual suspects are salivating over the prospects…. Why are these miscreants not admonished for not wearing masks or staying home like we little people? Ha ha…

    DJT has announced we’re stepping up our fight with the cartels by using our navy to stop shipments especially from Venezuela. Sure we can launch all the extra efforts but as long as we refuse to blow them out of the water nothing will change.
    Again, nothing new under the sun.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kidme37 says:

    Voters, the new our letter word.

    Like

  6. kidme37 says:

    The new Four letter word.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. bocopro says:

    “Thai sticks.”

    ‘Bout the only Thai thing we use ’round here at Casa Bocopro is gao — specifically gao thom thuong hang phu qui. Freely translated as “long-grain thai jasmine rice.”

    Given her druthers, Milady will use nothin else. Gets all fidgety and cross when the stores are out of it. It is, in fact, a purty good variety of the stuff and one of Thailand’s most important exports.

    The Pinoy community here in Florabama turn up their noses at other big-name varieties such as Mahatma and CalRose, glomming and hoarding packages of Dynasty brand Thai jasmine long-grain. Navy Commissary is almost always out of it a couple hours after it’s delivered.

    As to choom . . . never got into the stuff myself. Been around it, of course. Went to a Dave Clark concert in the Cow Palace in SanFran back in the 60s where the reefer smoke was so thick you got to cruising altitude without even draggin on a fattie.

    As a naval officer, I had to undergo training to learn to recognize the signs that someone was using, detect the scent, and prevent the distribution . . . all that stuff. Captain had each of us take a hit on a certified joint so that we’d be able to tell if someone slipped us one disguised as an ordinary cigarette. All it did was make my eyes burn and my throat itch.

    LOVED Bangkok. Went there twice. Spectacular Buddhist and HIndu art all over the place. Second time I was there, the flood of US dollars by troops on R & R had driven prices into the stratosphere. Dinner in a restaurant in 1966 was under a dollar. After the greenback blizzard hit the place, that same dinner was $5. In ’66 you could ride a taxi all day for a buck. A year later it was a buck from the pier to the hotel.

    Ou sont les bon prix d’antan . . . . . .

    Like

  8. “I THINK THAT WHEN THE DUST SETTLES, WE WILL REALIZE HOW LITTLE WE NEED….

    Know what I’d like to see? That these talking heads on all television networks would donate their salaries to Samaritan’s Purse or the like — instead of sitting there on my TV screen and saying how they’re still drawing their salaries.

    This is not sour grapes on my part. Really, it’s not. How “essential” are these people? So many are preaching fear or self-righteousness (virtue signaling). I want news — and not that crap!

    Liked by 2 people

  9. skudrunner says:

    Went to Costco and everyone was more than helpful and friendly. They were more organized than normal and had people stationed throughout the store to assist. Cashiers wore gloves and didn’t touch, just scanned, membership card. I thanked every employee I met for being there and that brought smiles. One thing I saw that I question is why would a husband and wife bring three small children into Costco at a time like this.
    Same goes for take out at a Mexican food restaurant.
    Same goes for Walmart and I did have to visit FedEx which was a good experience.

    One the other side I did have a neighbor express her negative opinion about three of us standing in the street talking and yes we were ten feet apart.

    Like

  10. geeez2014 says:

    You guys see the man on FOX this morning talking about making makeshift ventilators, getting thousands of requests from all over the world. MUCH cheaper, very effective…hoping to get 50,000 a week made.
    “Did you hire more people to accommodate the demand?”

    “No, people are VOLUNTEERING in great numbers…from our church, from our community… but we don’t want too many in here in case someone could get sick.”

    VOLUNTEERING: THE GREATEST OF AMERICA

    Liked by 2 people

  11. peter3nj says:

    With the countless multitudes out there incapable of critical thinking and being bored with 24’s of video games, TV, imbibing and eating we can be sure the birth rate during these times will skyrocket. We had boomers, X’s, Y’s Z’s The lost and soon we’ll have the Corona generation.

    Like

  12. MAL says:

    THE CDC reports COVID-19 can be spread 1-3 days before the onset of any symptoms. That is scary! You can have it and transmitting it but not know it!
    WHA….?

    Like

  13. MAL says:

    I got this today:
    Well, God said you want to worship athletes, I will shut down the stadiums.
    You want to worship musicians, I will shut down Civic Centers.
    You want to worship actors, I will shut down theaters.
    You want to worship money, I will shut down the the economy and collapse the stock market.
    You don’t want to go to church and worship Me, I will make it you can’t go to church.
    “If my people who are called by my name will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.”
    Maybe we don’t need a vaccine. Maybe we need to take this time of isolation from the distraction of the world and have a personal revival where we focus on the ONLY thing in the world that really matters.

    Like

  14. geeez2014 says:

    Mal, I love that….
    The info about being asymptomatic but contagious is not new news….wish it wasn’t true!

    peter, true…LOTS of new babies coming in 9 months….
    and CAN YOU BELIEVE THAT NIGHTMARE SCHIFF STARTING MORE HEARINGS ON HOW TRUMP SCREWED UP ON THIS? UNBELIEVABLE….
    AND I THINK IT’S A BIG RISK FOR THE DEMS WHEN HIS APPROVAL NUMBERS ON HIS VIRUS WORK ARE WAY UP….

    skudrunner..I LOVE the happier stories like people being so polite, etc at Costco….as for the woman who snarled, I have to admit I went down to turn my car battery over today (It went on GREAT, thankfully), I saw a dad in our building playing with his two little girls..>Dave wasn’t as friendly as usual and I walked away wondering about it, then realized I’d come within 4′ of his 6 yr old and he might have taken offense. Geesh.

    AOW…we’re going to get only “THAT CRAP” for a long time, sadly.

    KID, did the ant take directions well?

    BOCOPRO: i never want to hear Gov Cuomo again. Ever. And yes, even family violence is on the upswing. How AWFUL. But, we all have to remember something it took me (I Swear) about 40 YEARS to finally realize “You idiot, not all families are like yours…not all parents even like their children, and likewise….”

    I was living in FATHER KNOWS BEST. And, by the way, it was NICE.

    Like

  15. geeez2014 says:

    https://nypost.com/2020/04/01/cbs-admits-to-using-footage-from-italy-in-report-about-nyc/?utm_source=facebook_sitebuttons&fbclid=IwAR1h3KRSVxEGbYTPbBxJdAnzwlN9zYCSSl-aVRkLSlkHxApZrWVJcr6_IL8

    Anybody surprised at THAT? HOW DISGUSTING…that footage REALLY bothered me, BIG TIME…and now? I mean, I still care wherever it is, but………..I was APPALLED

    Like

  16. Baysider says:

    Mal + 1
    Z, Totally agree – esp. with text in blue. I am as appalled as you by the CBS ‘editing mistake.’ They know full well the power of visuals. Even if the judge says “strike that remark from the record and the jury shall disregard it” that don’t happen!

    Lefties worry more, I think, because they lack perspective and have unrealistic expectations of perfection. If your’ expectations are always too high, you will be disappointed, frustrated and start looking who to blame. What falls short is seen as a problem to be fixed (usually with your money) and frustration that one can rarely get the last 10% to perfection.

    I used to hear this all the time from a lefty friend “but it shouldn’t be that way!” And she’d rant lefty corrective sound bites. She, personally, understood that the one person she had control over was herself but couldn’t apply that to life in general.

    That’s what I think when I hear “this [****] is never going away.” Immature.

    Like

  17. Baysider says:

    I’m going through a catalog of Yad Vashem videos on holocaust survivors. Lots of awful stuff, but so many stories of the righteous among the nations. Humanity still in chaos and danger.

    Like

  18. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider, GREAT point about leftists….You’re 100% correct; they demand and expect PERFECTION. I would love to print a bumper sticker for Republicans “SHIT DOES HAPPEN, THAT’S CALLED LIFE”… With Lefties, it’s always “OH MY…HE FELL…LET’S LEGISLATE HIM FROM FALLING AGAIN” REPUBLICANS DON’T CONSIDER LAWS FOR EVERY PERSON HURT, OR BROKE, OR WHATEVER. Let’s face it, come to think of it, it’s one of the ways Lefties can hurt us “Republicans DON’T CARE, AMERICA ! Don’t vote for THEM!” Silly, but sometimes effective, sadly. This point is not unlike what you and Prager say about shutting the whole country down for this sickness …there are SO many car accidents every day but we are not shutting down all roads and freeways … yet, at least 🙂

    I actually published the other day something close to what Mal commented with today but not as pejorative…not God PUNISHING as what he quoted sounds like, though it IS good… Mine was Satan v Jesus. Satan will NEVER EVER win. This directs you to the point I believe is less harsh but SO EFFECTIVE:

    Amen to THIS on the VIRUS…and news under the image….

    And HUMANITY IS WINNING….New Yorkers opening their windows every night at 7 pm to cheer and scream and turn lights on and off in honor of health responders of all kinds? SO good.
    A Christian music concert in the mid of Time Square with hundreds of teens with their hands in the air singing about JESUS? WHAT?
    A whole planeload of docs and nurses from the great state of Georgia on their way to NYC to help, recorded forming their fingers in the shape of hearts?
    Etc etc………..AMAZING stories…AMAZING!!!! Makes me teary-eyed.

    Like

  19. geeez2014 says:

    WHY does Trump have to ALWAYS include “THIS IS THE FIRST TIME IN OUR GOVERNMENT..” “THIS IS THE BEST IN THE WORLD ” Just give the information.

    And you don’t have to spell C O V I D. We’re there, pal….we’re ON it.

    Like

  20. MAL says:

    Well, we just got back from our 2nd walk of the day and ready to pop open a can of suds!
    Jeeez! Another month of this? We’ll all be climbing the walls by that time!
    Well, I guess a mans gotta do what a mans gotta do. ;o)

    Like

  21. Baysider says:

    Thomas Sowell relates an exchange he had with his economics college professor. Sowell presented what he thought was a ‘great plan’ and gave enthusiastic arguments to support it. Then the professor asked “and what happens after that?” Sowell answered. But after the next two “what happens after that” it was clear that he had not thought his plan through to some of the far reaching consequences. Oops.

    I can see why he often emphasizes Second Stage Thinking. This is a quality entirely absent from the sincere on the left. The insincere know perfectly well what happens next is the hidden agenda they’ve been galloping with since the SDS’ Port Huron ‘statement’ in 1962.

    Like

  22. geeez2014 says:

    Baysider, I’m not sure the Right is doing much better these days…I hope so.

    Mal, you a beer drinker?!

    Like

  23. kidme37 says:

    boco, Yea just a silly comment. I did some MJ back in the early 70’s – waste of time and money. I’m thinking the stuff out there these days is a lot stronger which I will qualify as ‘not a good thing’. Like replacing beer with Bacardi 151.

    I’m a basmati rice fan. Dry, light and used in Indian dishes mostly with peas and other light veg mixed in.

    Bangkok. I’ve only seen some images and it sure looks like a wild place. I’ve had some work mates tell me they’ve never had better food than they did in Hong Kong. The Chinese can cook some food and so I expect Thailand does as well. My wife’s Dad was a Flying Tiger waist gunner in a B-17 in WWII and came to America through Canada with 10 bucks after the war and opened a Chinese restaurant in Detroit, then brought the family over. What a chef he was. It sure was a treat to visit and I sure miss talking to him. Needless to say Madeline is one heck of a cook. I’m a lucky man.

    Like

  24. kidme37 says:

    @AOW, When you hear that O’Reilly for example was making 37 million a year, it’s just out of bounds. I mean really, I’d do the same job for 36.5.

    I made a joke of this on one of my blog posts, but honestly I wonder how many people are going to wake up in a couple months and realize they don’t need to stare at a bunch of millionaires playing with a ball for three hours several times a week. This could end up being a good thing.

    @Z, The ant Did Abide, but now he/she brought a bunch of friends back. Oh well, if they don’t bother the cat they won’t bother me.
    @Z, Ha Why does Trump have to spell Covid? Mad has the radio on in the morning sometimes and when a sports event is being advertised by one of the local ticket selling people, they have to spell SEAT for the listeners. “Call 333- S.. E.. A..T” hahahaha I guess there are people that stupid. My boss’ wife is a teacher in a low income area and has students with names like Quincy but the student spells it KWNCE. Two other students at one time were name Male and Female, pronounced MAl EE, and FEM ALL EEE.. The mom explained that the hospital put that on their birth certificates and she liked the names so she kept them. I’m not kidding.

    Like

Leave a comment